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Public Works Contractor Registration Act

On April 11, 2000, the “Public Works Contractor Registration Act” (Act), P.L. 1999, c. 238, went into effect.
The Act, N.JS.A. 34:11-56.48 et seq., requiresthat all contractors, subcontractors and sub-subcontractors
(contractors) register with the Department of Labor prior to bidding or engaging on certain public works
contracts that exceed the prevailing wage threshold. The prevailing wage threshold is $10,743 for
municipalities and $2,000 for all norrmunicipal entities, such as boards of education, authorities, fire districts,
counties, etc.

According to N.J.S.A. 34:11-56.50, public works projects are any construction, reconstruction, demolition,
alteration, repair or maintenance of a public building regularly open to and used by the general public or a
public institution. Excluded are pumping stations, treatment plants or other facilities associated with utility and
environmental work. It should be noted that while such projects and work are excluded from the Act, they are
still subject to the appropriate prevailing wage thresholds. For the purpose of determining what qualifies as a
“public building regularly open to and used by the general public”, the test is not the frequency of use by the
general public but rather whether the public has access to such buildings.

For example, take a municipality that uses its Department of Public Works' garage to administer the rabies
vaccination program twice ayear. If amunicipality wanted to add an additional bay to the public works garage
and the cost of the project exceeded $10,743, the contractors on the project would be required to be registered
under the Act. The contractors would have to be registered because the garage is open to the general public at
least twice ayear.

In addition, while maintenance includes painting and decorating, it does not include routine landscape
maintenance or janitorial services. Further, work done by the government agency’ s workersis excluded from
the requirements of the Act.

The Act requires al contractors, including out of state contractors, to register with the Department of Labor. A
contractor is defined as a “person, partnership, association, joint stock company, trust, corporation, or other
legal business entity or successor thereof who entersinto a contract” which is subject to the provisions of the
New Jersey Prevailing Wage Act (N.J.S.A. 34:11-56 et seq.). To register, a contractor must provide the
Department of Labor with its employer identification number, proof of workers compensation insurance
coverage and alist of company officers. The initial registration fee is $300 for the first year and $300 for the
second year. Upon successful completion of two consecutive years of registration, a contractor may elect to
register for atwo-year period and pay aregistration fee of $500.

Director's Office Local Government  Financial Regulation Local Finance Local Management Authority Regulation Fax

(609) 292-6613 Research and Assistance Board Services (609) 984-0132 (609) 984-7388
(609) 292-6110 (609) 292-4806 (609) 292-0479 (609) 292-7842

101 South Broad Street P.O. Box 803 Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0803

http://www.state.nj.us/dca/lgspages/dcadlgs.htm



Local Finance Notice AU 2000-2 August 8, 2000 Page 2

Contractors on public works projectsthat began prior to April 11, 2000, are also required to register
with the Department of Labor if the projects exceed the respective prevailing wage threshold.

Registration certificates are valid for one calendar year from the date of registration. A registration certificate
must be renewed no less than 30 days before it expires. The Department of Labor shall review the application
and make a determination regarding registration within 30 days of receipt of the application. The contractor can
continue to work on the project while the application is being process, unless it is rejected by the Department of
Labor, if that happens the contractor will be notified accordingly.

The Act requires that a copy of the contractor registration must be submitted with the receipt of public bidsin
accordance with the L ocal Public Contracts Law. In addition, N.J.S.A. 40A:11-23.2 requires that the following
be submitted with the bids:

A bid guarantee asrequired by N.J.SA. 40A:11-21;

A certificate from a surety company, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 40A:11-22;

A statement of corporate ownership, pursuant to N.J.SA. 52:25-24.2;

A listing of subcontractors as required by N.J.S.A. 40A:11-16; and

A document for a bidder to acknowledge the receipt of any notice or revisions or addendato the

advertisement or bid documents or, if not applicable, bidder acknowledges same, pursuant to

N.JSA. 40A:11-23.2.e.

Failure to submit any mandatory item is deemed a fatal defect and renders the bid proposal unresponsive, and is
adefect that cannot be waived or cured by a governing body. Because of the Act’srequirement for
submission with the bid, the Certification of Registration is now the sixth mandatory bid checklist item
and isnon-curable after receipt of bids.

On a public works project, a general contractor (GC) is often responsible for overseeing the project, which
includes the hiring of the subcontractors and sub-subcontractors. A copy of the filed application is required to
be submitted until receiving a certificate from the Department of Labor. At that time, the GC should notify and
provide the contracting unit with a copy of the certificate. It isthe position of the Department of Labor that
either a copy of an application or certificate must be submitted each time a GC submits a bid for a public works
project as defined by the Act. While a GC must submit a copy of his own certificate or application with the bid,
he is not required to do so for all named subcontractors and known sub-subcontractors. Once awarded a
contract, the GC is responsible for certification or application compliance for all other subcontractors and sub-
subcontractors at such time when they begin work on the project site. It is suggested that |anguage be included
in the specifications advising the GC that any subcontractor and/or sub-subcontractor utilized by the GC will
have to register with the Department of Labor. The municipality is not responsible to determine if the
subcontractors and/or sub-subcontractors on the public works project are registered under the law.

If a GC has not received aregistration at the time abid is submitted (or is currently on ajob) the GC is required
to submit a copy of an application filed with the Department of Labor. Once the certificate is received, the GC
should provide the contracting unit with a copy of the certificate. It isthe position of the Department of Labor
that either a copy of an application or certificate must be submitted each time a GC submits a bid for a public
works project as defined by the Act.

If the cost of aproject is above the appropriate prevailing wage threshold but below the bid threshold, the
certification of registration can bereceived after the solicitation of quotationsand prior to the
commencement of work. The contracting unit may keep the contractor’s certification of registration on file
only for future projects below the bid threshold where quotations will be received.
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Emergency work is not excluded from the provisions of either the Prevailing Wage Act or the Public Works
Contractor Registration Act. Compliance with the Act should be sought before processing a contractor’s
regquest for payment for the completed emergency work.

Certifications can be confirmed by contacting the Department of Labor’s Division of Wage and Hour
Compliance at (609) 292-9464. There are no penalties for the local contracting unit, and the Department of
Labor will not stop a project if violations are found on a project. The Department of Labor will work with the
general contractor(s) aswell as all tier contractor(s) to remedy outstanding violations of the Act. However, if
outstanding violations are not corrected within timeframes imposed by the Department of Labor, the genera
contractor will be subject to appropriate penalties and fines for any violation(s) found.

Enclosed for your use is a copy of the registration application and instructions. Y ou may copy and distribute
them to any contractor that may be subject to the Act’s requirements.

If you have any questions regarding the registration process you can contact:

Contractor Registration Unit

New Jersey Department of Labor
Division of Wage and Hour Compliance
PO Box 389

Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0389

Telephone:  609-292-9464
Fax: 609-633-8591
E-mail: contreg@dol.state.nj.us

If we can assist you in general matters concerning the Act, please call the Division of Local Government
Services at (609) 292-7842.

Ulrich H. Steinberg, Jr., Diregtor
Division of Loca Govern t Services

Distribution: Municipal Mayor and Governing Body. County Boards of Chosen Freeholders and Chief
Executives, Authority and Fire District Boards of Commissioners



