Statewide Non-Residential Development Fees have been re-instated as of July 1, 2013.  The non-residential development fee was established by P.L. 2008, c. 46. The first moratorium was contained in P.L. 2009, c. 90. That moratorium ended July 1, 2010. The second moratorium was found in P.L. 2011, c. 122. This extended the moratorium to July 1, 2013.

As of July 1, 2013, the suspension of the Non-Residential Development Fee Act has again expired and municipalities are again required to impose a non-residential development fee of 2.5 percent of the equalized assessed value pursuant to the Statewide Non-Residential Development Fee Act on developments seeking approval subsequent to July 1, 2013.  The fee is NOT collected on projects that received site plan approval prior to that date provided that the construction permit is issued by July 1, 2015.

The NRDF Certification/Exemption Form (Form N-RDF rev/ 6/2016) has been updated to include an exemption for developments which received appropriate site plan approval prior to July 1, 2013.  All previous exemptions or exclusions under the Non-Residential Development Fee Act remain.  Form N-RDF is available on the Department of Treasury website at

All developers involved in the construction of non-residential development must complete Form N-RDF prior to applying for a construction permit or requesting a Certificate of Occupancy.  A Certificate of Occupancy will not be issued without proof of payment of a non-residential development fee or proof of an exemption.

Any questions concerning the Non-Residential Development Fee or municipal development fee ordinances should be directed to the Department of Community Affairs, Local Planning Services at 609-292-4317 or 609-292-3000.