

Marriage License Fee Reimbursement Guidelines

July 1, 2022 – December 31, 2022

January 1, 2023 – June 30, 2023

State of New Jersey Philip D. Murphy, Governor

Department of Community Affairs Lt. Governor Sheila Y. Oliver, Commissioner

New Jersey Department of Community Affairs 101 S. Broad Street Trenton, NJ 08625 P.O. Box 803 <u>MLR@DCA.NJ.GOV</u>

PROGRAM OVERVIEW

On June 30 2022, the State Legislature enacted P.L.2022, c.23, an act concerning fees for issuing marriage and civil union licenses and makes an appropriation.

- Notwithstanding the provisions of R.S.37:1-12, section 1 of P.L.1981, c.382 (C.37:1-12.1), or any other law to the contrary, for the period beginning July 1, 2022 and ending June 30, 2023, a licensing officer shall not charge or collect a fee for issuing a marriage or civil union license from a marriage license or civil union license applicant.
- 2. The State shall reimburse a municipality for the fees authorized by R.S.37:1-12 which have been suspended by the provisions of section 1 of this act. To assist in the reimbursements authorized by this section, the Office of Vital Statistics and Registry in the Department of Health shall provide to the Division of Local Government Services in the Department of Community Affairs marriage certificates submitted to the office by municipalities.
- 3. There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Department of the Treasury an amount not to exceed \$2,000,000, subject to the approval of the Director of the Division of Budget and Accounting, for the purpose of reimbursing municipalities pursuant to section 2 of this act.
- 4. This act shall take effect on July 1, 2022 and shall expire on June 30, 2023.

REIMBURSEMENT PROCEDURES

Municipalities will be required to submit a reimbursement claim in two phases to the Division of Local Government Services (DLGS):

Period	Due Date	
July 1, 2022 – December 31, 2022	March 10, 2023	
January 1, 2023 – June 30, 2023	July 31, 2023	

Reporting Requirements:

Municipalities are required to submit their reimbursement claim utilizing the DLGS Marriage License Reimbursement excel templates for each period:

				d 12/31/22. Your "TOTAL APPLICATIONS" uance collumn of each entry for any error		
				MUNICIPALITY	COUNTY 🗸	
Li	icense Number 💌	Applicant A Last Name 🗾	Applicant B Last Name 🗾	Date of Issuance (M/DD/YY)		
					\$3.00 \$3.00	
					\$3.00 \$3.00	
-					\$3.00	
Г					\$3.00	\$0.00

The Certified Municipal Registrar (CMR) is required to certify the submittal by completing the following:

Certified Municipal Registrar (CMR) Certification	
I hereby certify that the information provided in this request is a true account	
of the marriage licenses issued during the period of July 1, through December 31, 2022 for which	
no fees were collected in accordance with P.L.2022, c.23. dated June 30, 2022	
Name & Title:	
CMR Number:	Date:

Submission:

Municipalities are required to submit the completed Marriage License Reimbursement excel templates in the following file name format:

4-digit Muni Code_Municipality Name_MLR_Period Ending.xls

Example: 0811_Monroe Township_MLR_12-31-2022.xls 0811_Monroe Township_MLR_6-30-2023.xls

Files are to be submitted to <u>mlr@dca.nj.gov</u> with subject line reading:

4-digit Muni Code_Municipality Name_MLR_Period Ending.xls

Example: 0811_Monroe Township_MLR_12-31-2022.xls 0811_Monroe Township_MLR_6-30-2023.xls

******Files submitted with incorrect file names will be rejected.

ASSISTANCE

Municipalities may contact program staff at (609) 913-4401 or submit questions via e-mail to mlr@dca.nj.gov.