NJHMFA

First Generation Homebuyer



PROGRAM DESCRIPTION

First Generation Homebuyer

New Jersey Housing and Mortgage Finance Agency's (NJHMFA) First Generation Homebuyer Program provides qualified homebuyers with \$7,000 toward down payment and/or closing costs. The First Generation Homebuyer program must be paired with an NJHMFA first mortgage loan and the Down Payment Assistance Program (DPA). When coupled with the NJHMFA DPA, it provides qualified homebuyers with up to \$22,000 toward down payment and/or closing costs based upon the county of the property being purchased. The DPA is a forgivable loan with no interest and no monthly payments for eligible homebuyers purchasing a home in New Jersey. The First Generation Homebuyer DPA is forgiven if the Borrower resides in the premises as his/her principal residence for five years from the loan closing date and does not refinance or otherwise convey the first mortgage.

COUNTY LIST	Amount of Smart Start DPA	First Generation Homebuyer	Total Amount
Bergen, Essex, Hudson, Hunterdon, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, Morris, Ocean, Passaic, Somerset, Union	\$15,000	\$7,000	\$22,000
Atlantic, Burlington, Camden, Cape May, Cumberland, Gloucester, Salem, Sussex, Warren	\$10,000	\$7,000	\$17,000

ELIGIBLE BORROWERS

- Borrower(s) must purchase and occupy a residential home in New Jersey.
- The property must be occupied as the Borrower's primary residence within 60 days of closing.
- Borrower(s) must meet credit score and debt-to-income requirements.

A first-generation homebuyer is defined as a first-time homebuyer who is either:

A. An individual

- whose parents or legal guardians do not have any present ownership interest in any residential real property in any state or territory of the United States, or outside of the United States; and
- whose spouse, or domestic partner has not, during the three-year period ending upon acquisition of the
 eligible home to be acquired using such assistance, had any present ownership interest in any residential
 real property used as their principal residence in any state or territory of the United States, or outside of the
 United States;

OR

B. an individual who has at any time been placed in foster care in the State, was an emancipated youth, or was designated as a homeless, unaccompanied youth pursuant to the "McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act," as described in 42 U.S.C. s.11434a.

Please refer to NJHMFA first mortgage loan with DPA Fact Sheet for additional program information.