

#### OFFICE OF LICENSING

PO Box 717, Trenton, NJ 08625-0717 1 (877) 667-9845

#### **CHILD CARE CENTER APPLICATION DOCUMENTS**

- How to Start a Licensed Child Care Center
- Child Care Center License Application Instructions
- Application for a License to Operate a Child Care Center
- Drinking Water Testing Statement of Assurance
- Drinking Water Testing Checklist
- Staff Records Checklist
- Children's Records Checklist
- Information to Parents Document
- Child Care Center Self-Assessment Checklist
- N.J.A.C. 3A:52, Manual of Requirements for Child Care Centers at www.nj.gov/dcf/providers/licensing/laws/CCCmanual.pdf

# New Jersey Department of Children and Families Office of Licensing 1 (877) 667-9845

#### **HOW TO START A LICENSED CHILD CARE CENTER**

Under the provisions of the Manual of Requirements for Child Care Centers, N.J.A.C.3A:52 every person or organization caring for six or more children below 13 years of age is required to secure a license from the Office of Licensing (OOL) in the Department of Children and Families (DCF) unless the program is exempt by law. Refer to 3A:52-1.3 for a list of these exemptions.

## TAKE THESE STEPS TO START THE LICENSING PROCESS: Review the Manual of Requirements for Child Care Centers, N.J.A.C.3A:52:

The Manual includes requirements for: staff qualifications; supervision; staff/child ratios; program activities and equipment; health and sanitation practices; food and nutrition; provisions for rest and sleep; parent and community participation; administrative and record keeping; background checks, comprehensive liability insurance; physical plant and transportation.

- The Manual is available on the DCF website at <u>www.nj.gov/dcf/providers/licensing/laws/CCCmanual.pdf</u> or send a request along with your name, mailing address and \$5.00 check or money order made payable to the "Treasurer, State of New Jersey" to: NJDCF, OOL, Publication Fees, PO Box 657, Trenton NJ 08646-0657. Application documents will also be included with the manual request.
- To obtain application documents please send an email request to ccl.registration@dcf.state.nj.us.

#### **Identify a potential site for the center:**

- Contact the zoning officer in the town or municipality where the potential site is located
  to determine if the property is zoned to include a child care center. If the site is not
  zoned for a child care center determine if a variance (permission to operate) is
  possible and if the variance requirements may be met.
- Once you establish the potential site is zoned for a child care center or a variance is possible, you may contact the OOL 1(877) 667-9845 to request a courtesy inspection.

#### **Ensure environmental requirements are met:**

- Review the NJ Department of Environmental Protection's (DEP) website at <u>www.nj.gov/dep/dccrequest/</u> for environmental guidance for child care centers, including sites for centers co-located in buildings or structures where tenants may impact the child care site.
- Review the NJ Department of Consumer Affairs' (DCA) website at <u>www.state.nj.us/dca/divisions/codes/alerts/childcare.html</u> for additional environmental quidance for child care centers.
- Review the NJ Department of Health's (DOH) website at <u>www.nj.gov/health/ceohs/environmental-occupational/indoor-envi-education-facilities/index.shtml</u> for information on Indoor Environmental Health Assessments (IEHA) and Safe Building Interior Certificates (SBIC).

#### Obtain a Certificate of Occupancy (CO) from the municipal construction official:

- The CO must reflect the building's compliance with applicable requirements of the New Jersey Uniform Construction Code (NJUCC). The CO must be one of the following use groups:
  - I-4 (Institutional) for children 0 13 years of age;
  - E (Educational) for children 2 ½ years of age or older; or
  - I-4, E or A-3 (Assembly) for school age child care programs.

#### Submit architectural plans for centers with building renovations or new construction:

- Submit a full set of architectural plans, including a site plan identifying the location of the outdoor play area and any other tenants on the same block and lot to: NJDCF, OOL, Child Care Plan Review Unit, PO Box 717, Trenton, NJ 08625-0717.
- Contact OOL at (609) 826-3888 if you have questions pertaining to architectural plan reviews.

#### Obtain CARI and CHRI Background Checks:

- The center sponsor, sponsor representative and all regularly scheduled staff members must complete both a Child Abuse Record Information (CARI) background check regardless of age and a Criminal History Record Information (CHRI) fingerprint background check, for staff 18 years of age or older.
- After receipt of the new center application and fee, OOL will mail the CARI and CHRI forms which include the center's unique license ID number.

#### <u>Determine and Submit the Applicable License Application Fee, 3A:52-2.1(c)</u>:

Center Capacity	Three Year Fee
6 – 15 children	\$110
16 – 30 children	\$140
31 – 60 children	\$165
61 – 100 children	\$195
101 – 180 children	\$220
181 and up	\$250

 For Head Start Centers, centers in operation for 8 weeks a year or less, school-age child care centers that do not charge fees or require other compensation or services from parents, and Life/Safety Approval Centers, the three year center fee is \$110 regardless of capacity.

If you plan to pursue licensing, please contact the Office of Licensing Toll-Free at 1 (877) 667-9845 or as noted below.

#### Northern Region (609-826-3980)

Bergen, Essex, Hudson, Hunterdon, Morris, Passaic, Somerset, Sussex, Warren

#### Southern Region (609-777-5945)

Atlantic, Burlington, Camden, Cape May, Cumberland, Gloucester, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, Ocean, Salem, Union

#### CHILD CARE CENTER LICENSE APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

#### Submit the Following:

- 1. **Application and application fee.** Make check or money order payable to "Treasurer, State of New Jersey" and mail to: NJDCF, OOL, Publication Fees, PO Box 657, Trenton, NJ 08646-0657. See 3A:52-2.1 or "How to Start a Licensed Child Care Center" enclosure for license application fee schedule. <u>Please Note</u>: Upon receipt of the application and application fee, the OOL will assign a license ID # to the proposed center and forward you the required Child Abuse Record Information (CARI) and Criminal History Record Information (CHRI) forms with the center's ID#.
- 2. Completed CARI Forms for sponsors, sponsor representatives and all regularly scheduled staff, including volunteers, and a \$10.00 check or money order per form and mail to: NJDCF, Office of Legal Affairs, Child Care Center CARI's and Fees, PO Box 658, Trenton, NJ 08646-0658.
- 3. CHRI Clearance Letter for sponsors, sponsor representatives and all regularly scheduled staff, including volunteers, from the Department of Human Services, Central Fingerprint Unit or for programs operated by a public school district, Clearance Letters from the Department of Education, Criminal History Review Unit.
- 4. Valid Certificate of Occupancy (CO), New Jersey Uniform Construction Code (NJUCC) Form F-260, issued by the municipality in which the center is located, reflecting the building's compliance with the applicable provisions of the NJUCC (N.J.A.C 5:23) for one of the following use group classifications:
  - I-4 (Institutional) for buildings accommodating children 0- 13 years of age;
  - E (Educational) for buildings accommodating children 2 ½ years of age or older;
  - E, I-4 or A-3 (Assembly) for buildings accommodating school-age child care programs; or
  - A Certificate of Continued Occupancy (CCO), NJUCC Form F-260, issued by the municipality in which the center is located, indicating that the building had been used and approved prior to the year 1977 and is continuing to be used for one of the use group classifications listed above.
- 5. Response Action Outcome Letter (RAO) from a Licensed Site Remediation Professional (LSRP) indicating that no further action is needed for the site on which the center is located, including the outdoor play areas. Check the DEP website at <a href="https://www.state.nj.us/dep/dccrequest">www.state.nj.us/dep/dccrequest</a> or call (609) 984-3081 for more information.
- 6. Water Testing Report for lead and copper is required if the center is serviced by a public community water system. Report should be attached to the enclosed Drinking Water Statement of Assurance and Testing Checklist. See 3A:52-5.3 for Certification of Acceptable Drinking Water from DEP, Bureau of Safe Drinking Water (BSDW) if the center is on a private well. Check the DEP, BSDW website at <a href="https://www.nj.gov/dep/watersupply/schools.htm">www.nj.gov/dep/watersupply/schools.htm</a> or call (609) 292-5550 for more information for centers on private wells.
- 7. Letter of Prior Use from the municipality, county or State indicating whether the building has ever housed a use classified under the UCC, N.J.A.C. 5:23, as Group F (factory/industrial); Group H (high hazard); Group S (storage); Group B (dry cleaner or nail salon), Group M (gas station) or Group A/B (funeral home) per the DCA letter to construction officials. Check the DCA website at <a href="www.state.nj.us/dca/divisions/codes/alerts/childcare.html">www.state.nj.us/dca/divisions/codes/alerts/childcare.html</a> or call DCA at (609) 984-7609 for more information.
- 8. Safe Building Interior Certificate (SBIC) from the DOH, Indoor Environments Program if the center: is co-located in a building or structure that contains a dry cleaner or nail salon; has one of the prior uses: F, H, S, B (dry cleaner or nail salon), M (gas station), A (funeral home); is located in a building built in 1978 or earlier; or located near a hazardous site. Check the DOH website at <a href="www.state.nj.us/health/ceohs/environmental-occupational/indoor-envi-education-facilities/">www.state.nj.us/health/ceohs/environmental-occupational/indoor-envi-education-facilities/</a> or call (609) 826-4923 for more information.
- 9. Lead Paint Inspection Report prepared by a Lead Inspector/Risk Assessor, who is certified by the New Jersey DCA and employed by either a public health agency or a certified lead evaluation contractor, indicating that the indoor and outdoor areas of the center used by the children are either Lead Free or Lead Safe, for buildings built in 1978 or earlier. Lead hazards must be abated by a certified lead abatement contractor. Check the DCA website at www.state.nj.us/dca/divisions/codes/offices/leadhazard\_abatement.html or call (609) 633-6224 for more information.

<u>Note</u>: A completed application, including items #1 through #9, must be submitted to the OOL at least 45 days prior to the anticipated opening of the center. Items # 4 through # 9 may be submitted with the application, mailed to NJDCF, OOL, PO Box 717, Trenton, NJ 08625-0717 or faxed to (609) 826-3972. <u>Include center name, center license ID# and your contact information on all documents.</u>

OOL 3/8/18



PHIL MURPHY
Governor

SHEILA OLIVER

Lt. Governor

DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILIES OFFICE OF LICENSING PO BOX 717 TRENTON, NJ 08625-0717 1-877-667-9845

CHRISTINE NORBUT BEYER

Commissioner

## **Application for a License to Operate a Child Care Center**

Under the State Child Care Center Licensin more children, (below 13 years of age) mus							
Name of Center:		Telephone Number:		Fax Number:			
Center Address:		City:		Zip:	County:		
Mailing Address (if different than Center A	Address):	City:		Zip:	County:		
Center Email Address:							
Reason for	Application: (C	heck all appro	priate bo	oxes)			
☐ Applying for First License	☐ Renewing Existing	License	☐ Relocat	ing to a New	Site		
☐ Changing Center Sponsorship	☐ Changing Center I		g Federal Tax ID# (FEIN)				
If Center is relocating, indicate previous ad	dress:						
If Center is changing its name, indicate pre	vious name:						
If Center is changing its sponsorship and/or	r FEIN, indicate previou	s sponsor and/or FEIN	<b>V</b> :				
	Sponsor/Owne	er Information	·				
Federal Employer Identification Number:							
Submit a Federal IRS Form SS-4 or LTR 1 application. If the sponsor does not have a Internal Revenue Service (IRS). For informaddition, submit the Certificate of Incorpor	FEIN, an Application for mation contact the IRS @	or the Federal Identific 1-800-829-4933 or	cation Numbe	er must be su	bmitted to the		
Name of Center Sponsor/Owner (as indicated 147C):	ted on SS-4 or LTR	Sponsor Mailing Address:					

If the Sponsor is an entity owned or operated by 2 or more individuals, a corporation or governing board, the sponsor shall designate an individual to represent the interests on behalf of the sponsor. **Note: The center is required to notify the Office of Licensing of any sponsor changes within 3 working days.** 

1	
Sponsor Representative / Title:	
Telephone Number:	Fax Number:
Sponsor Representative Email:	
	Tr C4 - 4
	<u>Tax Status</u>
Is the Center sponsor (owner) o	operated as: (check one)
☐ A for-profit enterprise (a corporation	n, partnership or sole proprietorship whose profits, if any, are not exempt from taxes)
☐ A not-for-profit corporation (an ent given a tax-exempt status)	ity incorporated in accordance with the law which is prohibited from making a profit and is
☐ A public agency (Federal, State, con	unty or municipal government)
**If the center is a corporation, enclo information.	se a copy of the incorporation papers and a list of board members with their contact
Is the Center a: Head Start program	
☐ School-age program that does not ch	narge a fee or require other compensation or service from parents
	Ages Served (check all that apply)
☐ Infants/Toddlers * (0 – 2 ½ years)	☐ Preschool (2 ½ to 6 years) ☐ School-age (6 to 13 years)
Outdoor Play Area Location:	
Proximity to Center:	
	Center Staff
	who meet the staff qualification requirements for licensure. See the Manual of Requirements 4.2, for specific staff qualifications and requirements.
Name of On-Site Center Director:	
Name of Director Designee:	
Name of Head Teacher:	
Name of Group Teacher	
(if applicable) Name of Consulting Head Teacher	
(if applicable)	
Name of Program Supervisor	
(for centers serving School-age children)	
	Transportation Services (check one)
Does the Center provide daily transport	ation to and/or from the Center?   Yes   No

## **Schedule of Operation**

Day of the week	Hours of O	Operation	Hours for additional Session			
Monday	AM	PM	AM	PM		
Tuesday	AM	PM	AM	PM		
Wednesday	AM	PM	AM	PM		
Thursday	AM	PM	AM	PM		
Friday	AM	PM	AM	PM		
Saturday	AM	PM	AM	PM		
Sunday	AM	PM	AM	PM		

Sessions (check all that apply):										
☐ Half Day (less than 3 hours)	$\square$ Half Day (more than 3 hours) $\square$ Full Day									
☐ Before School	☐ After School ☐ School Holidays/Vacations									
Does the Center remain open (chec	·k one)·									
☐ Year Round ☐ School Year ☐ Seasonal/short term (indicate number of week)										
	<b>Progr</b>	ams Offere	<u>ed</u>							
Does the Center operate any of the										
☐ Sick Care ☐ Night Care (a	fter 7pm) $\square$ Spec	cial Needs (50% of	children classifie	d as special needs)						
Does the Center operate an approve Yes No If yes, please ind		~	* *							
in tes in the in yes, pieuse mu	reace camp needse nameer.	·								
Emp	oloyer-Sponsore	d or Suppo	rted Child	Care						
Does the Center receive financial s	upport from a public or priv	vate agency, busine	ess, industry, hosp	oital or other corporation in return						
for serving some or all of the childs	ren of that corporation's or	agency's employee	es? 🗆 Yes	□ No						
If yes, indicate the type of corporat	• • •			_						
	nty/State College	Government A	Agency	Hospital						
☐ Private College ☐ Scho	ool	☐ Labor		Other						
Name of Corporation or Agency pr	oviding financial support:									
Languages Spoken at the C	enter:									
	<u>Buildin</u>	g Informat	<u>ion</u>							
When was the building constructed If unknown, please contact the mur		☐ 1978 or earlie information.	r	☐ After 1978						
Is the Center located in a public scl	hool building concurrently	used as a public scl	hool?	□ No						
If yes, what is the name of the publ	lic school and school distric	et?								
1										

Is the Center a Charter School or located in a Charter School?	☐ Yes ☐ No							
Is the Center co-located in a building or structure that contains a dry	v cleaner or nail salon?  Yes  No							
If yes, you <u>MUST</u> submit a Clearance Letter from the Department of Health (DOH), Indoor Environments Program. For information, contact DOH at (609) 826-4923 or <u>www.nj.gov/health/ceohs/environmental-occupational/child-care-edu/</u>								
Has the building or structure <b>ever</b> been used for or located near a dr	y cleaner, nail salon, gas station, funer	al home, storage facility,						
factory/industrial use, or other hazard site? (check one) $\Box$ Y								
If unknown, please contact the municipal, county or State construct	ion official for this information.							
You <u>MUST</u> submit a Letter of Prior Use from the municipality, councimunity Affairs (DCA) at 609-984-7609 or <u>www.state.nj.us/dca</u>		he Department of						
Indicate the building's water supply source: (check one) $\square$ public	community water system (PCWS)	□other (private well)						
Submit the most recent water bill and water testing report for lead a Drinking Water Quality from the Department of Environmental Pro For information contact DEP at 609-292-5550 or <a href="www.state.nj.us/d">www.state.nj.us/d</a>	tection (DEP), Bureau of Safe Drinking							
Has the building had a Courtesy Inspection? $\square$ Yes	□ No							
If yes, what was the date of the inspection?								
Has the building had a architectural plan review conducted by the C	Office of Licensing?	□ No						
If yes, what was the date of the plan review?								
Has the Center/Sponsor ever had a Child Care Center License, a Ce Certificate of Registration or a Licensed denies, suspended, revoked (check one)    Yes    No  If yes, please explain:								
*************	******	*******						
I certify that all Center staff members have complied with requirem Record Information fingerprint background checks. I certify that all best of my knowledge. I understand that all of the information on the by representatives of the Department of Children and Families. I read be ground for denial, suspension or revocation of the Center's Licenthe processing of the Center's License.	ents for Child Abuse Record Information information on this application is accurate application is subject to verification alized that falsification of any information	on and Criminal History trate and complete to the through on-site inspections ion on this application may						
Print Name:	Title:							
Signature:	Date:							
Mail this Application and Licensing Fee to:  NJ Department of Children and Families Office of Licensing Child Care Center Licensing Application and Fees PO Box 657 Trenton, New Jersey 08646-0657	Mail Child Abuse Record Info Forms and Fees to: NJ Department of Children and Famil Office of Legal Affairs Child Care Center CARI's and Fees PO Box 658 Trenton New Jersey 08646-0658							

# State of New Jersey Department of Children and Families Office of Licensing

### DRINKING WATER TESTING STATEMENT OF ASSURANCE

• PROGRAMS IN OPERATING PUBLIC SCHOOLS ARE NOT REQUIRED TO COMPLETE THIS FORM•

Name of Child Care Center:		License ID:
Site Address (Building # and Street):		
Municipality:	County:	
Sponsor/Sponsor Representative:		Phone #:
Sponsor/Sponsor Representative Email:		
Additional Contact Person:		Phone #:
Title:	Email:	
1. The center, as decribed above, has reviewed the Marequiring testing for lead and copper in drinking was implementation of a testing program was completed by our completion of the attached Drinking Water	ater and provides ass ed in accordance wit	surance that the development and
2. The center, as decribed above, provided all notifications this subchapter.	ations of test results	consistent with the requirements of
3. The center, as decribed above, will continue to full the continuance of any actions taken in response to provide bottled water and/or maintain any reme	o a lead or copper ac	ction level exceedance (e.g., continue
<b>CERTIFICATION</b> : By signing below, the <b>Spon</b> statements above are true and accurate:	sor or Sponsor Re	epresentative certifies that all
Sponsor/Sponsor Representative: (PRINT)		
Signature:		
Signature Date:		

State of New Jersey
Department of Children and Families
Office of Licensing

#### DRINKING WATER TESTING CHECKLIST

Note: This form is for child care centers that are supplied water by a community water system.

•PROGRAMS IN OPERATING PUBLIC SCHOOLS ARE NOT REQUIRED TO COMPLETE THIS FORM•

CHILD CARE CENTER INFORMATION

	VIII VI	02			
Name of Child Care Center:				License ID:	
Site Address of Center:			Municipality:		County:
Sponsor/Sponsor Representative:		Phone Number:		Email:	
CERTIFICATION OF CO	MPLIANCE WITH LEA	AD & COPPER	SAMPLING	AT THE ABOVE	CHILD CARE CENTER
Sampling Date(s):					
1. YES NO	Does the center have a signopper analysis?	gned contract wit	h a New Jersey	Certified Drinking W	/ater Laboratory for lead &
2. YES NO	Is there an onsite water o	utlet assessment	in accordance v	vith technical guidar	nce?
3. YES NO	Is there a floor plan in acc	cordance with tec	hnical guidance	?	
4. YES NO Sample Date:	Were all the drinking water food preparation and out				may have access (including
5. YES NO Sample Date:	Were at least 50% of all ir	ndoor water fauce	ets utilized by th	e center sampled?	
6. YES NO	Does the child care center sampled? Please attach of		of custody and a	nalytical reports for	all drinking water outlets
7. YES NO	Was all the drinking water outlet closest to the point		in the sequence	e determined by the	e floor plan beginning with the
8. YES NO	Were all samples taken af hours?	ter the water sat	undisturbed in	pipes for at least 8 h	nours but no more than 48
9. YES NO	Were samples collected in sample containers?	n pre-cleaned hig	h density polyet	hylene (HDPE) 250 r	ml wide mouth single use rigid
10. YES NO	Were all existing aerators	, screens, and filt	ers left in place	prior to and during	the sampling event?
11. YES NO	Were only cold water sam	nples collected?			
12. YES NO	Did no pre-stagnant flush flushing log?	ing take place un	less the outlet d	eviated from norma	al use and documented on
13. YES NO	Was all point of use treati	ment on outlets,	such as filters, d	ocumented?	
14. YES NO	Did any result exceed the	action level for le	ead (15 µg/L) or	copper (1300 µg/L)	?
15. YES NO N/A	If a result exceeded the acoutlets immediately disco		d (15 μg/L) or co	opper (1300 µg/L) w	as use of all drinking water
16. □YES □NO □N/A	If a result exceeded the addrinking and food prepara		d (15 µg/L) or co	opper (1300 µg/L) w	as bottled water provided for
17. □YES □NO □N/A	If a result exceeded the act that the outlets are not to				ere signs posted to indicate

18. YES NO N/A	Did all drinking water outlets with a result that exceeded the action level for lead (15 $\mu$ g/L) or copper (1300 $\mu$ g/L) have a follow-up flush sample conducted?								
19. YES NO	a result exceeded the action level for lead (15 µg/L) or copper (1300 µg/L) was the local health office otified of results?								
20. YES NO N/A	If any of the results exceeded the action level for lead (15 $\mu$ g/L) or copper (1300 $\mu$ g/L), was notification, including results and remediation measures, provided to the parent(s) of all children attending the center, the staff, and NJDCF?								
21. YES NO N/A	Were any drinking water outlets or potable plumbing replaced or repaired as a remedy for an action level exceedance?								
22. YES NO N/A Sample Date:	If any drinking water outlet or potable plumbing was replaced or repaired, were additional samples collected after installation?								
23. YES NO N/A	Was any chemical treatment unit or process installed to remedy an action level exceedance (e.g., corrosion control treatment)?								
24. YES NO N/A Sample Date:	If a chemical treatment unit or process was installed to remedy an action level exceedance (e.g., corrosion control treatment), were additional samples collected after the installation?								
25. YES NO N/A	Was a mechanical process implemented to remedy an action level exceedance (e.g., flushing program)?								
26. YES NO N/A	If a mechanical process was implemented to remedy an action level exceedance (e.g., flushing program), were additional samples collected after the implementation?								
27. YES NO N/A	If no remedial action was taken, such as those indicated in 21 through 26 above, has the center implemented a written plan of action for use of bottled water for drinking and food preparation?								
3	signing below, the <b>Sponsor or Sponsor Representative</b> certifies that all ist are true and accurate:								
Sponsor/Sponsor Repr	esentative: (PRINT)								
Signature:									
Signature Date:									
	,								

#### **DRINKING WATER TESTING RESOURCES**

Schools - Lead Sampling Information http://www.nj.gov/dep/watersupply/schools.htm

Lead Sampling in Schools Technical Guidance FAQs <a href="http://www.nj.gov/dep/watersupply/pdf/leadfaq.pdf">http://www.nj.gov/dep/watersupply/pdf/leadfaq.pdf</a>

3Ts for Reducing Lead in Drinking Water: Testing <a href="https://www.epa.gov/dwreginfo/3ts-reducing-lead-drinking-water-testing">https://www.epa.gov/dwreginfo/3ts-reducing-lead-drinking-water-testing</a>

Quick Reference Guide Sampling For Lead in Drinking Water in Schools: http://www.nj.gov/dep/watersupply/pdf/quickref.pdf

List of NJ Certified Laboratories:

https://www13.state.nj.us/DataMiner/Search/SearchByCategory?isExternal=y&getCategory=y&catName=Certified+Laboratories

Drinking Water Outlet Inventory Form:

http://www.nj.gov/dep/watersupply/doc/SP\_Attachment%20C.docx

Sampling Water Use Certification:

http://www.nj.gov/dep/watersupply/doc/SP\_Attachment%20F.docx

Filter Inventory Form:

http://www.nj.gov/dep/watersupply/doc/SP\_Attachment%20D.docx

Results Letter Template:

http://www.nj.gov/dep/watersupply/doc/resultsletter.doc

#### STAFF RECORDS CHECKLIST

Staff shall not be left alone to supervise a child or group of children until orientation is complete and CARI and CHRI background check results are received.

CENTER NAME: LICENSE ID:

STAFF NAME, POSITION	Signed Application <sup>1</sup>	Criminal Disclosure Statement	Discipline Policy (proof of receipt)	Information to Parents (proof of receipt)	Release Policy (proof of receipt)	Signature for Parental Notification Methods (if applicable, proof of receipt)	Policy on the Use of Technology and Social Media (proof of receipt)	*CARI² Date Mailed	*CARI² Clearance on File	*CHRl <sup>3</sup> Appointment Date	*CHRI³ Clearance on File	Record of Mantoux Results	Record of Medical Exam	Orientation Training Date Completed	Understanding Licensing Date (if applicable)	**INITIAL & DATE

<sup>\*\*</sup>Check each box as documentation is received. Initial and date attesting that records are completed for each staff and maintain on file at the center.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>Signed application shall include staff name, address, phone, education & experience, and two references.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup>Child Abuse Record Information (CARI) checks are required for all regularly scheduled staff age 14 years and older and must be completed upon hire and every 3 years at renewal.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup>Criminal History Record Information (CHRI) checks are required for staff 18 years of age and older and must be done within 2 weeks of each staff's start date.

### **CHILDREN'S RECORDS CHECKLIST**

CENTER NAME: LICENSE ID:

Child's Name	Signed Application <sup>1</sup>	Custody Document (if applicable)	Information to Parents (proof of receipt)	Expulsion Policy (proof of receipt)	Policy on the Use of Technology & Social Media (proof of receipt)	Communicable Diseases (proof of receipt)	Release Policy (proof of receipt)	Parental Notification Methods, If Applicable (proof of receipt)	Health Care Provider Name and Phone	Pre-School (0-6) Universal Health Record (indicate Physical Date and update annually)	Pre-School (0-6) Immunization Records (updated as required)	School Age (6-13) Health Statement & Special Needs	Emergency Medical Care Authorization	**Initial & Date

<sup>\*\*</sup>Check each box as documentation is received. Initial and date attesting that records are completed and maintained on file at the center for each child.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>Signed Application shall include the child's name, address, birthday, enrollment date, parent's employer information, emergency contacts and phone numbers.

# Department of Children and Families Office of Licensing

#### INFORMATION TO PARENTS

Under provisions of the *Manual of Requirements for Child Care Centers (N.J.A.C. 3A:52)*, every licensed child care center in New Jersey must provide to parents of enrolled children written information on parent visitation rights, State licensing requirements, child abuse/neglect reporting requirements and other child care matters. The center must comply with this requirement by reproducing and distributing to parents and staff this written statement, prepared by the Office of Licensing, Child Care & Youth Residential Licensing, in the Department of Children and Families. In keeping with this requirement, the center must secure every parent and staff member's signature attesting to his/her receipt of the information.

Our center is required by the State Child Care Center Licensing law to be licensed by the Office of Licensing (OOL), Child Care & Youth Residential Licensing, in the Department of Children and Families (DCF). A copy of our current license must be posted in a prominent location at our center. Look for it when you're in the center.

To be licensed, our center must comply with the Manual of Requirements for Child Care Centers (the official licensing regulations). The regulations cover such areas as: physical environment/life-safety; staff qualifications, supervision, and staff/child ratios; program activities and equipment; health, food and nutrition; rest and sleep requirements; parent/community participation; administrative and record keeping requirements; and others.

Our center must have on the premises a copy of the Manual of Requirements for Child Care Centers and make it available to interested parents for review. If you would like to review our copy, just ask any staff member. Parents may view a copy of the Manual of Requirements on the DCF website at <a href="http://www.nj.gov/dcf/providers/licensing/laws/CCCmanual.pdf">http://www.nj.gov/dcf/providers/licensing/laws/CCCmanual.pdf</a> or obtain a copy by sending a check or money order for \$5 made payable to the "Treasurer, State of New Jersey", and mailing it to: NJDCF, Office of Licensing, Publication Fees, PO Box 657, Trenton, NJ 08646-0657.

We encourage parents to discuss with us any questions or concerns about the policies and program of the center or the meaning, application or alleged violations of the Manual of Requirements for Child Care Centers. We will be happy to arrange a convenient opportunity for you to review and discuss these matters with us. If you suspect our center may be in violation of licensing requirements, you are entitled to report them to the Office of Licensing toll free at 1 (877) 667-9845. Of course, we would appreciate your bringing these concerns to our attention, too.

Our center must have a policy concerning the release of children to parents or people authorized by parents to be responsible for the child. Please discuss with us your plans for your child's departure from the center.

Our center must have a policy about administering medicine and health care procedures and the management of communicable diseases. Please talk to us about these policies so we can work together to keep our children healthy.

Our center must have a policy concerning the expulsion of children from enrollment at the center. Please review this policy so we can work together to keep your child in our center.

Parents are entitled to review the center's copy of the OOL's Inspection/Violation Reports on the center, which are available soon after every State licensing inspection of our center. If there is a licensing complaint

investigation, you are also entitled to review the OOL's Complaint Investigation Summary Report, as well as any letters of enforcement or other actions taken against the center during the current licensing period. Let us know if you wish to review them and we will make them available for your review or you can view them online at https://data.nj.gov/childcare\_explorer.

Our center must cooperate with all DCF inspections/investigations. DCF staff may interview both staff members and children.

Our center must post its written statement of philosophy on child discipline in a prominent location and make a copy of it available to parents upon request. We encourage you to review it and to discuss with us any questions you may have about it.

Our center must post a listing or diagram of those rooms and areas approved by the OOL for the children's use. Please talk to us if you have any questions about the center's space.

Our center must offer parents of enrolled children ample opportunity to assist the center in complying with licensing requirements; and to participate in and observe the activities of the center. Parents wishing to participate in the activities or operations of the center should discuss their interest with the center director, who can advise them of what opportunities are available.

Parents of enrolled children may visit our center at any time without having to secure prior approval from the director or any staff member. Please feel free to do so when you can. We welcome visits from our parents.

Our center must inform parents in advance of every field trip, outing, or special event away from the center, and must obtain prior written consent from parents before taking a child on each such trip.

Our center is required to provide reasonable accommodations for children and/or parents with disabilities and to comply with the New Jersey Law Against Discrimination (LAD), P.L. 1945, c. 169 (N.J.S.A. 10:5-1 et seq.), and the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), P.L. 101-336 (42 U.S.C. 12101 et seq.). Anyone who believes the center is not in compliance with these laws may contact the Division on Civil Rights in the New Jersey Department of Law and Public Safety for information about filing an LAD claim at (609) 292-4605 (TTY users may dial 711 to reach the New Jersey Relay Operator and ask for (609) 292-7701), or may contact the United States Department of Justice for information about filing an ADA claim at (800) 514-0301 (voice) or (800) 514-0383 (TTY).

Our center is required, at least annually, to review the Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC), unsafe children's products list, ensure that items on the list are not at the center, and make the list accessible to staff and parents and/or provide parents with the CPSC website at <a href="https://www.cpsc.gov/Recalls">https://www.cpsc.gov/Recalls</a>. Internet access may be available at your local library. For more information call the CPSC at (800) 638-2772.

Anyone who has reasonable cause to believe that an enrolled child has been or is being subjected to any form of hitting, corporal punishment, abusive language, ridicule, harsh, humiliating or frightening treatment, or any other kind of child abuse, neglect, or exploitation by any adult, whether working at the center or not, is required by State law to report the concern immediately to the *State Central Registry Hotline*, *toll free at (877) NJ ABUSE/(877) 652-2873*. Such reports may be made anonymously. Parents may secure information about child abuse and neglect by contacting: DCF, Office of Communications and Legislation at (609) 292-0422 or go to <a href="https://www.state.nj.us/dcf/">www.state.nj.us/dcf/</a>.

# Center's **Self-Assessment Checklist** to Assist in Preparing for Inspection by the Office of Licensing (OOL) for Compliance with the Manual of Requirements for Child Care Centers (N.J.A.C. 3A:52)

The Department of Children and Families Is authorized to Inspect and examine the physical plant or facilities, including, but not limited to, storage areas and additional floor levels, and program of a child care center without delay or an escort, and inspect all documents, records, files, or other data maintained pursuant to the Child Care Center Licensing Act, N.J.S.A. 30:5B-1 et seq., during the center's normal operating hours and without prior notice.

SA	EC	Physical Facility: Indoors
		Am I complying with licensed capacity in my facility and each room and written conditions on my license?
		Do I only use space that the OOL has approved? Is unapproved space inaccessible to children?
		Are all approved spaces labeled (i.e. signs with room numbers or letters)?
		Am I complying with co-location requirements in multi-use buildings?
		Do we have a telephone on site?
		Is the structure of my building in secure and in good condition? (i.e. leaks, drafts, etc.)
		Do windows and/or doors used for ventilation have screens in good repair?
		Is lighting and heating adequate throughout the center (i.e. 68 degrees minimum of heat)?
		Are walls, doors, and trim paint throughout the center in good condition (clean, not chipping)?
		Are my vents operable, clear, and clean?
		Are radiators, fans, steam and hot water pipes, and lally columns properly covered?
		Are the electrical outlets covered/tamper resistant for early childhood rooms/areas?
		Are window blinds clean and in good condition, with cords out of children's reach?
		Are my floor tiles, rugs, and carpets clean, secure, and in good condition?
		Are my ceiling tiles clean, secure, and in good condition?
		Have I removed all electric space heaters from the center?
		Is all shelving, and furniture clean, secured, in good repair, and not overloaded?
		Are appliances (televisions, computers, etc.) secured to a stable surface?
		Do I keep interior doors of rooms used by children unlocked?
		Do I have barriers to separate groups of more than 12 children 0-18 months old; 20 children 18 months-5 years old; 30 children 6-13 years old?
		Are toxic products like cleaners, air fresheners, hand sanitizers, etc. stored in locked cabinets and/or inaccessible to children?
		Do I have a designated area equipped with rest equipment where an ill child can be separated from other children? Is the equipment washed and disinfected after each use?
		Are garbage receptacles durable, leak-proof, covered, and clean?
		Is my indoor equipment sturdy, safe, free of hazards, and used in accordance with manufacturer's instructions?
		Have I reviewed the website, www.cpsc.gov/recalls to ensure that items listed are not at the center?
		Do I need to remove excess storage and/or combustibles from the furnace room?
		Are my lighting covers secured and in good condition?
		Are pesticides applied after operating hours, and are toys removed first?
		Do I have a commercial disinfectant? Do I and my staff know how long it must sit wet to disinfect the surface?
		Are toilets, toilet seats, sinks, sink faucets, and drinking fountains washed and disinfected daily?
		Are water table and water play equipment; and play tables washed and disinfected daily?
		Are smooth surfaced non-porous floors in areas used by children washed and disinfected daily?
SA	EC	Physical Facility: Outdoors
		Are outdoor play areas, routes to the outdoor play area, walks, etc. safe, well lit, and free from hazards?
		Is my fence secured, in good condition (no protruding wires or splintering wood) and gate easily operable?
		Are there any tripping hazards, like exposed concrete footings, tree stumps, or rocks that need to be removed?
		Have I removed or remediated the cause of any stagnant water on the play area or equipment?

		Is my equipment sturdy, safe, in good condition, free of hazards, used in accordance with manufacturer's instructions?
		Does my playground equipment and design meet public playground design standards (ASTM F-1487)? Do I have
		documentation for my equipment on file?
		Does community playground equipment and design used comply with applicable Playground Safety Subcode?
		Do I need to replenish resilient surfacing (ASTM F-1292) under play equipment and use zones?
		Does any equipment need repairs like open "S" hooks, cracks, rusting, protruding or rusted bolt ends?
		Have I removed any debris or overgrown vegetation?
		Is sand in the outdoor play area asbestos-free and maintained in a sanitary manner?
		Are children taken outdoors daily?
		Do I have helmets for children riding bicycles?
		Is my equipment age and developmentally appropriate?
		Have I prohibited the use of wading pools?
		Do I limit the number of children using the outdoor play area to the maximum capacity?
CΛ	FC	Emergency Preparedness
JA	LU	Do I have a first aid kit and first aid manual? Is it stocked appropriately?
		Are there 2 staff members trained in First Aid and CPR in the center at all times?
		Do I have disposable gloves for staff to use when handling blood or vomit?
		Have I conducted the required monthly fire drill and at least one fire drill during naptime ensuring everyone evacuated within 3 minutes?
		Have I checked all of my fire safety equipment (exit signs, emergency lights, and extinguishers) is
		maintained/operable?
		Do I have locking devices used during lockdown procedures that do not pose a risk of harm to children and that staff
		are trained to use?
		Have I conducted a lock down drill?
		Are all of my emergency exits easily operable and egress areas unobstructed?
SA	EC	Staffing and Programming
		Is my staff providing direct supervision of children at all times?
		Does my staff always know the number and ages of children when I ask, wherever they are?
		Do I utilize a minimum of 2 staff on trips even when ratios require less?
		Do I have at least 2 staff in the facility and on walks even when ratios require 1 staff?
		Are the staff/child ratios correct for single and/or mixed age groups? Can my staff figure out a mixed ratio?
		Do I provide 2 staff in the facility when 6 or more children are present, even when ratios allow for 1 staff?
		Do I provide 2 staff on any field trip, outing, or special event away from the center regardless of transportation even
		when ratios allow for 1 staff?
		When using a minimum of 1 staff, is another staff member immediately accessible?
		Is staff below 18 years old directly supervised by a staff member who is 18 years of age or older?
		Do I have staff supervising newly hired staff that have not completed orientation and CARI and CHRI clearances?
		Do I work at least 50% of center's daily operating hours? Have I appointed a designee to carry out my responsibilities
		and ensure that he or she does not have full time classroom responsibilities in my absence?
		Are my head teacher and/or group teacher scheduled to work at a least 75% of the center's daily operating hours, or
		at least 6 hours a day, whichever is less and have scheduled time in classrooms?
		Are staff implementing the center's discipline policy appropriately?
		Are my staff properly implementing the two step washing and disinfecting process?
		Are staff interacting appropriately with the children?
		Are the children presented with a variety of activities geared to the ages and developmental levels of the children
		served, that promote language development, thinking and problem-solving skills, curiosity, exploration, large and
		small muscles, coordination and movement skills, social competence, self-esteem, and positive self-identity; and are
		relevant to the cultural background of the children and foster intercultural awareness?
		Are the activities/time frames of activities age and developmentally appropriate for the children?

		Do the children have free choice of materials? Are materials accessible to children at all times?
		Is there a mixture of staff directed and child selected activities? Active and quiet experiences?
		Do I have a written outline of daily activities that staff follow?
		Are children prohibited from being inactive for more than 30 minutes unless sleeping, eating, needs to complete a seated activity, or is ill?
		Do I make daily unannounced visits to every group of children?
		Can parents visit at any time without prior approval?
		Do I have enough supplies, furniture and equipment for the required activities in each room?
		Does our daily schedule include indoor and outdoor energetic physical activity that promotes coordination and movement skills as required?
		Is staff implementing the center TV/Video/Computer Policy? Are children under age 2 prohibited from use?
		Do I have at least 5 distinct areas of activities with at least 5 activities in each area in rooms for children ages 2.5 -13?  4 distinct areas of activities with at least 4 activities in each area in infant/toddler rooms?
		Are infants provided with age-appropriate, supervised tummy time at least twice per day?
		Is use of infant equipment including, but not limited to swings, exersaucers, and bouncers to limited to no more than 30 minutes at a time?
		Are infants/toddlers removed from their cribs when they are awake?
		Are toys mouthed by infants and toddlers washed and disinfected after each use?
		Do I have primary caregivers assigned for groups of 4 infants and 6 toddlers?
		Do the school age children participate in making rules or are they made aware of the discipline rules?
		Are the school age children given opportunities for involvement in activity planning?
		Is my program supervisor scheduled to work at a least 75% of the center's daily operating hours, or at least 6 hours a day, whichever is less?
		Do I provide 2 staff with more than 12 school-age children on walks?
		Are children taken outdoors daily?
		Is my staff carefully supervising children on the playground to make sure they're safe?
		Does my staff know how many children they have with them outside?
		Do children wear helmets when riding bicycles?
		Are children playing with equipment that is age-appropriate?
		Do children wash their hands with soap and water immediately after outdoor play?
SA	FC.	Feeding and Nutrition
		Is a written plan for feeding schedules for children less than 12 months made available to the staff? Are there accommodations for breast feeding mothers?
		Have I made sure that pacifiers do not have straps or any other attachments?
		Are tables or feeding chair trays washed and disinfected directly before each meal?
		Is uneaten food in a child's dish discarded: and unused food stored appropriately and discarded after 24 hours if not
		consumed?
		Do I serve nutritious meals and/or snacks and beverages that comply with the manual and CACFP standards?
		Do I have age-appropriate seating for children who no longer need to be held for feeding? Are safety straps used?
		Is each child's bottle labeled with their name and the date and not propped when feeding?
		Are sippy cups labeled with the child's name?
		Do I make sure milk, formula, and/or breast milk is not warmed in a microwave oven?
		Is formula or breast milk that is served but not completely consumed discarded immediately or refrigerated and
		consumed within 24 hours?
		Are bottles, cups, and pacifiers removed when children are crawling or walking?
		Do I have/have access to a working refrigerator for perishable foods or medication?
		Do I maintain a barrier to the kitchen area to prevent accidental access by children?
		Are microwaves/toaster ovens: out of children's reach; secured; not used when children are in the area?
		Do I ensure that staff are not withholding food as a means of discipline or disciplining a child for failing to eat?
		por chours that stair are not withholding rood as a means of discipline of disciplining a child for failing to eat:

SA	EC	Toileting and Diapering
		Are platforms available for children who can't reach an adult toilet or a sink?
		Do I have a supply of soap/toilet tissue/individual or disposable towels?
		Do the children wash their hand with soap and water immediately after toileting?
		Does staff wash their hands after assisting each child in toileting?
		Are toilet training seats and potty chairs washed and disinfected after each use?
		Are toilets, sinks, plumbing fixtures, stalls, secured, clean, free of rust, and operable?
		Does my hot tap water does not exceed 110 degrees Fahrenheit (EC) or 120 degrees Fahrenheit (SA)?
		Is the staff/adult toilet facility identified? Is a lock provided for privacy?
		Are potty chairs located in areas separate from food?
		Are children afforded age and developmentally appropriate privacy when toileting?
		Do I ensure that children are not disciplined for soiling him or herself?
		Are children unable to lock themselves in bathrooms?
		Are diapers changed frequently?
		Is the diapering area not used for food preparation and within 15 feet of a sink not used for food preparation?
		Is the diapering surface flat, non-absorbent, in good repair, etc. and clear of supplies?
		Do the children was their hands with soap and water after diaper changes?
		Is the changing area washed and disinfected after each use?
		Are soiled diapers placed in closed, lined containers, and removed daily?
		Does the staff wash their hands with soap and water after each diaper change?
		Are cleaners, creams, or other toxic substances and/or medications inaccessible to children?
		Are platforms available to assist staff in infant/toddler handwashing, if needed?
		Are fabric washcloths used for cleaning children washed and disinfected after each use?
SA	EC	Rest and Sleep
		Do I provide infants/toddlers with opportunities to leave their sleeping equipment to crawl, walk, and play?
		Do I provide daily rest/sleep as needed for each child less than 18 months?
		Is daily rest/sleep provided children over 18 months and under 4 years who attends the center for 4 or more consecutive hours?
		Does sleeping equipment (cribs, cots, mats, etc.) meet CPSC standards and OOL requirements?
		Do I make sure that only one child uses a crib that is labeled (or other sleeping equipment) at a time?
		Do i make sure that only one child uses a chib that is labeled (of other sleepling equipment) at a time:
		lls slooping aguinment labeled in good condition, and washed and disinfected weekly?
		Is sleeping equipment labeled, in good condition, and washed and disinfected weekly?  Are mats that are not stored separately washed and disinfected after each use?
		Are mats that are not stored separately washed and disinfected after each use?
		Are mats that are not stored separately washed and disinfected after each use?  Are the cribs/cots/mats spaced to leave a 3 foot unobstructed aisle?
		Are mats that are not stored separately washed and disinfected after each use?  Are the cribs/cots/mats spaced to leave a 3 foot unobstructed aisle?  Do I keep pillows, soft bedding, bumpers, loosely fitted sheets, and other hazards out of cribs and playpens?
		Are mats that are not stored separately washed and disinfected after each use?  Are the cribs/cots/mats spaced to leave a 3 foot unobstructed aisle?  Do I keep pillows, soft bedding, bumpers, loosely fitted sheets, and other hazards out of cribs and playpens?  Are sheets and blankets: provided to each child over 12 months; labeled; stored separately; and washed and
		Are mats that are not stored separately washed and disinfected after each use?  Are the cribs/cots/mats spaced to leave a 3 foot unobstructed aisle?  Do I keep pillows, soft bedding, bumpers, loosely fitted sheets, and other hazards out of cribs and playpens?  Are sheets and blankets: provided to each child over 12 months; labeled; stored separately; and washed and disinfected weekly? Do I have a supply of extras for when parents forget their child's sheet and/or blankets?
		Are mats that are not stored separately washed and disinfected after each use?  Are the cribs/cots/mats spaced to leave a 3 foot unobstructed aisle?  Do I keep pillows, soft bedding, bumpers, loosely fitted sheets, and other hazards out of cribs and playpens?  Are sheets and blankets: provided to each child over 12 months; labeled; stored separately; and washed and disinfected weekly? Do I have a supply of extras for when parents forget their child's sheet and/or blankets?  Is swaddling prohibited?
		Are mats that are not stored separately washed and disinfected after each use?  Are the cribs/cots/mats spaced to leave a 3 foot unobstructed aisle?  Do I keep pillows, soft bedding, bumpers, loosely fitted sheets, and other hazards out of cribs and playpens?  Are sheets and blankets: provided to each child over 12 months; labeled; stored separately; and washed and disinfected weekly? Do I have a supply of extras for when parents forget their child's sheet and/or blankets?  Is swaddling prohibited?  Are naptime preparations completed before reducing to naptime ratios?
		Are mats that are not stored separately washed and disinfected after each use?  Are the cribs/cots/mats spaced to leave a 3 foot unobstructed aisle?  Do I keep pillows, soft bedding, bumpers, loosely fitted sheets, and other hazards out of cribs and playpens?  Are sheets and blankets: provided to each child over 12 months; labeled; stored separately; and washed and disinfected weekly? Do I have a supply of extras for when parents forget their child's sheet and/or blankets?  Is swaddling prohibited?
		Are mats that are not stored separately washed and disinfected after each use?  Are the cribs/cots/mats spaced to leave a 3 foot unobstructed aisle?  Do I keep pillows, soft bedding, bumpers, loosely fitted sheets, and other hazards out of cribs and playpens?  Are sheets and blankets: provided to each child over 12 months; labeled; stored separately; and washed and disinfected weekly? Do I have a supply of extras for when parents forget their child's sheet and/or blankets?  Is swaddling prohibited?  Are naptime preparations completed before reducing to naptime ratios?  Are all children under 12 months: asleep before reducing to naptime ratios; initially placed on their back to sleep,
		Are mats that are not stored separately washed and disinfected after each use?  Are the cribs/cots/mats spaced to leave a 3 foot unobstructed aisle?  Do I keep pillows, soft bedding, bumpers, loosely fitted sheets, and other hazards out of cribs and playpens?  Are sheets and blankets: provided to each child over 12 months; labeled; stored separately; and washed and disinfected weekly? Do I have a supply of extras for when parents forget their child's sheet and/or blankets?  Is swaddling prohibited?  Are naptime preparations completed before reducing to naptime ratios?  Are all children under 12 months: asleep before reducing to naptime ratios; initially placed on their back to sleep, prohibited from using a blanket?
		Are mats that are not stored separately washed and disinfected after each use?  Are the cribs/cots/mats spaced to leave a 3 foot unobstructed aisle?  Do I keep pillows, soft bedding, bumpers, loosely fitted sheets, and other hazards out of cribs and playpens?  Are sheets and blankets: provided to each child over 12 months; labeled; stored separately; and washed and disinfected weekly? Do I have a supply of extras for when parents forget their child's sheet and/or blankets?  Is swaddling prohibited?  Are naptime preparations completed before reducing to naptime ratios?  Are all children under 12 months: asleep before reducing to naptime ratios; initially placed on their back to sleep, prohibited from using a blanket?  When children rest, are their faces uncovered and enough light provided to oversee the children properly?
		Are mats that are not stored separately washed and disinfected after each use?  Are the cribs/cots/mats spaced to leave a 3 foot unobstructed aisle?  Do I keep pillows, soft bedding, bumpers, loosely fitted sheets, and other hazards out of cribs and playpens?  Are sheets and blankets: provided to each child over 12 months; labeled; stored separately; and washed and disinfected weekly? Do I have a supply of extras for when parents forget their child's sheet and/or blankets?  Is swaddling prohibited?  Are naptime preparations completed before reducing to naptime ratios?  Are all children under 12 months: asleep before reducing to naptime ratios; initially placed on their back to sleep, prohibited from using a blanket?  When children rest, are their faces uncovered and enough light provided to oversee the children properly?  Do I meet staff/child ratios during nap time? Is additional staff readily accessible to go back to awake ratios?
		Are mats that are not stored separately washed and disinfected after each use?  Are the cribs/cots/mats spaced to leave a 3 foot unobstructed aisle?  Do I keep pillows, soft bedding, bumpers, loosely fitted sheets, and other hazards out of cribs and playpens?  Are sheets and blankets: provided to each child over 12 months; labeled; stored separately; and washed and disinfected weekly? Do I have a supply of extras for when parents forget their child's sheet and/or blankets?  Is swaddling prohibited?  Are naptime preparations completed before reducing to naptime ratios?  Are all children under 12 months: asleep before reducing to naptime ratios; initially placed on their back to sleep, prohibited from using a blanket?  When children rest, are their faces uncovered and enough light provided to oversee the children properly?  Do I meet staff/child ratios during nap time? Is additional staff readily accessible to go back to awake ratios?  Do I utilize a staff member in each sleeping area and ensure children are directly supervised?