# CHILD PROTECTION AND F DEPT OF CHILDREN AND F STATE OF NEW JERSEY PO BOX 717 TRENTON NJ 08625-9921

PERMANENCY FAMILIES

SUSINES: POSTAGE WILL BE PAID BY ADDRESSEE S REP PERMIT NO.

### Safe Haven

- ► Allows a distressed parent to surrender the infant safely, legally and confidentially
- ► Protects the parent from arrest or prosecution for abandonment
- Requires no names or records
- Permits babies up to 30 days old to be given up at any hospital, police station, fire department, ambulance, first aid, or rescue squad
- Makes medical treatment and social services available to the birth mother - confidentially
- ► Puts the child into the custody of Child Protection and Permanency, which places the infant in a foster or pre-adoptive home

Certainly we would prefer that women call us while they are pregnant, not after giving birth, so we can provide proper medical care and counseling. But at the same time, we want to assure parents who choose not to keep their children that they will not go to jail if they deliver their babies to safe hands in a hospital, police station, fire department, ambulance, first aid, or rescue squad.

In New Jersey, no one ever has to abandon a child again.

**Safe Haven Hotline: 1-877-839-2339** 

### **These Numbers Can Also Help:**

Call 211 or visit www.nj211.org to connect with social service agencies in your community.

> Parents Anonymous of New Jersey Family Helpline 1-800-THE KIDS

> > Domestic Violence Hotline 1-800-572-SAFE

> > > Child Abuse Hotline 1-877-NJ ABUSE



**NJ Safe Haven Medical Questionaire** 

# no shame. no blame. no names.

**New Jersey has designated** safe havens for infants.

Anonymously surrender the baby to any hospital, police station, fire department, ambulance, first aid, or rescue squad.

> njsafehaven.org 1-877-839-2339

### What is Safe Haven?

It's a law: the New Jersey Safe Haven Infant Protection Act. Under this law a person may give up a baby anonymously. As long as the baby has not been abused, the person may do so without fear of arrest or prosecution.

### Why does New Jersey do this?

The purpose of Safe Haven is to protect unwanted babies from being hurt or killed from unsafe abandonment.

Abandoning a baby puts the infant in extreme danger. Too often, it results in the baby's death. It is also illegal, with severe consequences. But with Safe haven, this tragedy doesn't have to happen ever in New Jersey.

### How does it work?

A distressed parent who is unable to care for an infant can give up custody of a baby less than 30 days old safely, legally and anonymously. All that is required is that the baby be brought to a hospital, police station, fire department, ambulance, first aid, or rescue squad in New Jersey. As long as the child shows no signs of intentional abuse, no name or other information is required.

### Can only a parent bring in the baby?

No. The parent may choose to have someone else bring in the infant. It can be a family member, a friend, a clergy member, a social worker - practically anyone.

### Do you have to call before bringing in the baby?

No. You can walk in anytime.

## Can you help a parent decide where to bring the baby?

Yes. The parent can call the Safe Haven Hotline 1-877-839-2339 and get the address and directions for any hospital, police station, fire department, ambulance, first aid, or rescue squad in the state that are staffed 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

# Does a parent have to tell anything to the people taking the baby?

No. Nothing is required. However, any information that a parent is willing to share, such as the child's health, race, date of birth, place of birth or medical history of the parents will be recorded. This could be very useful in caring for the child. These questions can be answered anonymously on a medical questionnaire that is available at the Safe Haven.

## What happens if a woman voluntarily provides her personal identifying information to hospital staff while delivering her baby at the hospital or being admitted?

If a woman voluntarily provides her personal identifying information to hospital staff while delivering her baby or being admitted, her anonymity will no longer be protected under the New Jersey Safe Haven Law and the State will have the mandate to search for and contact the infant's father and/or relatives.

### What happens to the mother when she drops off a baby?

If the mother brings in the baby, she will be offered medical treatment and social services. She can, of course, refuse if she wishes. Once she has safely turned over the baby, she is free to go. She can complete an anonymous medical questionnaire and drop it in any mailbox.

### What happens to the baby once the baby is dropped off?

The child will be examined and given medical treatment, if needed. Then Child Protection and Permanency (CP&P) will immediately take custody and place the child in a foster or pre-adoptive home. After 21 days, CP&P will proceed with the permanent adoption of the baby. There are always many families available who want to adopt an infant.

## What happens if the mother, or a relative, wishes to regain custody of a baby?

If the mother, or a relative, wishes to regain custody of the baby they should contact the Safe Haven Hotline at 1-877-839-2339 so that they can begin the process towards a safe reunification.

Don't let another baby be abandoned. If you or someone you know is considering giving up a child, learn about your options.

> Safe Haven Hotline 1-877-839-2339

### Safe Haven Voluntary Medical Information

questions will help us take better care of th information you want to share. Then give it No stamp is required.	e child. F	Please fill out t	his form with a
Please tell us what you can about the	e baby:		
Since birth, has the baby been sick?	yes	no	don't know
Any physical handicaps?	yes	no	don't know
Any mental or developmental problems?	•		
(for example, the baby never cried or has trouble sucking)	yes	no	don't know
If you answered yes to any of these questio	ns, pleas	se give details:	
Was child given a name?	yes	no	don't know
If yes, please give only the child's first and/o	•	name:	
Date and place of birth?			
What is the child's race? Religi	ous or ci	ultural backgro	und?
Did mother receive medical care during her	pregnan	cy?	
	yes	no	don't know
Delivered in a hospital or birthing center?	yes	no	don't know
Was the baby full term (9 months)? If not, how long was the mother pregnant?	yes	no _	don't know
What was the birth weight?	pounds,		ounc
Why is the child being given up?			
Mother's medical history:			
If mother has other children, how many?			
Race of mother:		Age of mothe	r:
Did mother ever have a serious medical pro	blem?		
(heart disease, blood pressure, diabetes, cancer, etc.)	yes	no	don't know
History of mental illness?	yes	no	don't know
HIV-positive?	yes	no	don't know
Drug or alcohol abuse?	yes	no	don't know

Father's medical history: Race of father:		Age of father:	
Did father ever have a serious medical prob	lem?	J	
(heart disease, blood pressure, diabetes, cancer, etc.)	yes	no	don't know
History of mental illness?	yes	no	don't know
HIV-positive?	yes	no	don't know
Drug or alcohol abuse?	yes	no	don't know
If you answered yes to any of these question	ns, pleas	e give details:	

don't know

If yes, was it during the pregnancy?

THANK YOU FOR SHARING THIS INFORMATION