The Delaware and Raritan Canal Commission was established in October, 1974, when Governor Brendan Byrne signed the D&R Canal State Park Law. The Commission was created to accomplish three main tasks:

  • To review and approve, reject or modify any action by the State in the Canal Park, or any permit for action in the park;

  • To undertake planning for the development of the Canal Park; &

  • To prepare and administer a land use regulatory program that will protect the Canal Park from the harmful impacts of new development in central New Jersey.

Please note:  The Commission office has been experiencing intermittent loss of telephone service on the 609-397-2000 telephone number.  Should you have difficulty reaching our office at that number, please call 609-397-2001.

Meeting Announcement
The February 2020 meeting of the Delaware and Raritan Canal Commission will take place on February 19, 2020, as scheduled and announced pursuant to the Open Public Meetings Act. The meeting will take place at 10 a.m. at the Commission Offices at the Prallsville Mills, 33 Risler Street, Stockton, NJ 08559. Formal action will be taken at this meeting.

Agenda for the February 19, 2020 Commission Meeting

A synopsis of the projects to be reviewed at this meeting have been posted here in PDF file format and are listed below. To view/print one, or all, simply choose the item (one at a time) from the drop-down list below.

D & R Canal State Park Master Plan, 2nd Edition, 1989

Permanent Structural or Infrastructure Projects on State Property

Regulations For The Review Zone of the Delaware and Raritan Canal State Park

Bylaws of the Delaware and Raritan Canal Commission (Adopted April 18, 2018)

2017 Annual Report

The Canal Commission's Review Zone is now a layer on the Department of Environmental Protection's NJ-GeoWeb, an interactive map that allows users to access and interact with DEP data through their web browser. To access the map, click on the link below.

The D & R Canal Commission Interactive Review Zone Map on DEP's NJ-GeoWeb

For those that have access to the appropriate GIS software, our Review Zone map can also be viewed by downloading and saving the necessary files to their computers. Those files have been zipped into one and are available here for download. Click on the link below to access the zipped file.

The D & R Canal Commission Review Zone Map   (File Size: 430KB)

Members of the Commission 
Catherine R. McCabe, Commissioner, DEP
Olivia Glenn, Rep. for Commissioner McCabe
Julia Cobb Allen
John S. Loos, Vice Chairman
Phillip Lubitz
Douglas H. Palmer
Bruce D. Stout
John Hutchison, Executive Director

Melissa Abatemarco, Deputy Attorney General

Joseph Ruggeri, PE, Review Zone Officer

Damian Friebel, Review Zone Officer

M. Colleen Christie Maloney, Review Zone Officer

Tammy Romsdahl, Secretary,
Contact us via e-mail!