## **AN OVERVIEW OF THE A-901 APPLICATION PROCESS:**

- 1. An application for an A-901 License consists of the following forms, which are required for each application:
  - a. Business Disclosure Form
  - b. Personal History Disclosure Forms are for <u>each</u> Owner, Officer, Family Member, Key Employee and Salesperson of the Company
  - c. A copy of the IRS Federal Tax ID Number for the Company
  - d. A copy of the New Jersey Certificate of Formation
  - e. Register for Sales and Use Tax for your company at this link:

https://www1.state.nj.us/TYTR\_BusinessFilings/jsp/common/Login.jsp?taxcode=55

You must submit each of these forms to the Division of Law, by mailing them to:

Environmental Permitting and Counseling Section, A901 Unit 25 Market Street, P.O. Box 093
Trenton, NJ 08625-3270

The forms are available at <a href="https://www.nj.gov/dep/dshw/a901/a901frms.htm">https://www.nj.gov/dep/dshw/a901/a901frms.htm</a>

- 2. The application will be reviewed and if all requested information has been provided and is correct, the information will be entered into the computer, and this will generate a bill for the A-901 Application Fee. The Application Process currently takes approximately 14-16 months before an A-901 License or denial is issued. You **cannot** operate until you are A-901 Licensed. We do not offer Temporary Permits or Licenses.
- 3. After the billing statement is paid, your application will be sent to the New Jersey State Police to begin the Investigation Process. If you live in New Jersey the State Police will contact you directly for fingerprints. If you live out of state, please refer to the fingerprint instructions.
- 4. The State Police will retain your application for approximately 9 months while they conduct the investigation. When the investigation is complete, the application will be returned to the Division of Law and assigned to Attorney Review.
- 5. The Attorney will review your application and the State Police Reports. You will be contacted directly via phone, email, or a formal Request for Information if any questions arise during this Attorney Review process.

- 6. The Attorney will make a recommendation. This recommendation will be sent to DEP. Based on the recommendation, DEP will issue an A-901 License or denial via email.
- 7. During the application process, you will be responsible for completing the yearly A-901 Update that is due every year on November 1<sup>st</sup>. Failure to complete this form by November 1<sup>st</sup> every year will be grounds to be fined by DEP and automatic denial of the A-901 License application. Filing this Annual Update is a <u>REQUIRED</u> process regardless of licensure status as of November 1<sup>st</sup>. If you receive an update in the mail or via email from the Div. of Law, you are required to fill it out and submit it by November 1st.
- 8. Feel free to contact our office during the A-901 review process for an update on your application status by calling (609) 376-3270. You may also email us at <a href="mail@law.njoag.gov">A901mail@law.njoag.gov</a>