

## **ENFORCEMENT ADVISORY**

# Compliance Alert

Making You Aware of Anticipated Enforcement Activities

**Compliance and Enforcement** 

Issued: June 2004

#2004-05

## **DEP to Step Up Enforcement of Idling Vehicles**

#### Who is affected by this initiative?

Department of Environmental Protection regulations at N.J.A.C. 7:27-14 prohibit diesel-powered vehicles from idling for more than three consecutive minutes if the vehicle is not in motion. As part of a statewide effort by the DEP to implement measures to reduce diesel emissions in New Jersey, the DEP will be targeting various types of diesel-powered vehicles that operate on the roadways of the state. These include charter buses, public-transportation buses, long-haul trucks and short-haul delivery trucks to ensure their owners and operators are complying with the idling regulations.

#### Why is DEP targeting idling vehicles?

The idling of diesel-powered vehicles produces a wide variety of air pollutants, including particulates, nitrogen oxides, volatile organic compounds, formaldehyde and other toxic air pollutants. Some of these air pollutants are known carcinogens. Particulate matter can cause health problems ranging from difficulty in breathing to heart attacks. While the DEP has responded to citizen complaints about idling vehicles for many years now, it is especially important to reduce idling during the warmer months when poor air quality impacts vulnerable parts of the population, such as children, the elderly and people with respiratory or coronary disease. In fact, the number of premature deaths in New Jersey each year caused by exposure to particulates exceeds the number of deaths from homicides and motor vehicle accidents.

In addition to the environmental risks, idling vehicles unnecessarily consume fuel and increase long-term engine maintenance costs. Idling is also an occupational hazard as it exposes drivers to dangerous levels of particulates and other toxins.

#### What is DEP doing?

DEP inspectors will target bus staging areas, convenience stores, public entertainment venues, retail centers, truck yards, warehouse distribution centers and loading/unloading areas to ensure that diesel-powered vehicles are complying with all applicable regulations. We also will respond aggressively to resident complaints with the help of the local environmental health agencies throughout the state. Residents can call the DEP 24-hour hotline (1-877-WARN-DEP) to register suspected violations of the idling standards. Failure to comply with the idling standards will result in enforcement actions and civil administrative penalty assessments for the property owner and the vehicle operator, starting at \$200 per day.

## **ENFORCEMENT ADVISORY**

#### What should I do?

Carefully review the following general guidelines to ensure compliance but please refer to the regulations at http://www.nj.gov/dep/aqm/rules.htm for a comprehensive list of the requirements.

- Ensure that diesel-powered vehicles do not idle for more than three consecutive minutes if the vehicle is not in motion (some allowable exceptions to this requirement are noted in the following two bullet points). Consider posting a sign on your property if trucks frequently idle at your location.
- Ensure that diesel-powered motor vehicles at the vehicle operator's place of business (i.e., home base) do not idle except when absolutely necessary, but never for more than 30 consecutive minutes.
- Ensure that diesel-powered motor vehicles that are not located at the operator's place
  of business do not idle except when absolutely necessary. These vehicles are
  permitted to idle for a maximum of 15 minutes if the vehicle engine has been stopped
  for three or more hours.
- Adopt a no-idling policy for your fleet drivers and encourage them to do their part. It will save you money and protect their health.
- Explore alternatives to idling, such as engine block heaters for cold weather starts or incabin heaters.

### Whom should I contact with questions or complaints?

DEP Diesel Risk Reduction Team for general questions Northern Field Office for complaints in:	609-633-2306 973-299-7700
Hunterdon, Morris, Passaic, Somerset, Sussex and Warren	
counties	
Metro Field Office for complaints in:	973-669-3935
Bergen, Essex and Hudson counties	
Central Field Office for complaints in:	609-584-4100
Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, Ocean and Union counties	
Southern Field Office for complaints in:	856-614-3601
Atlantic, Burlington, Camden, Cape May, Cumberland, Gloucester	
and Salem counties	

Please note this advisory is intended to be a summary explanation of a DEP initiative. It does not include all potentially applicable requirements. If you have any questions related to compliance with this initiative, please contact the numbers listed above.