N COMPLIANCE ADVISORY
Enforcement Alert

Environmental
Protection Making You Aware of Anticipated Enforcement Activities

DEP to Step Up Enforcement Against Idling of
Non-Road Construction Vehicles

Who is affected by this initiative?

Department of Environmental Protection regulations at N.J.A.C. 7:27-14 and 7:27-15
prohibit diesel- and gasoline-powered vehicles from idling for more than three consecutive
minutes if the vehicle is not in motion. As part of a statewide effort by the DEP to
implement measures to reduce vehicle emissions in New Jersey, the DEP will be targeting
non-road (also known as off-road) construction vehicles that operate in the State.

Why is DEP targeting idling non-road vehicles?

The idling of diesel-powered vehicles produces a wide variety of air pollutants, including
particulates, nitrogen oxides, volatile organic compounds, formaldehyde and other toxic air
pollutants. Some of these air pollutants are known carcinogens. Particulate matter can
cause health problems ranging from difficulty in breathing to heart attacks. The
construction sector contributes nearly half of all diesel mobile source emissions of PM;5in
New Jersey, approximately 1,600 tons per year. The number of premature deaths in New
Jersey each year caused by exposure to particulates exceeds the number of deaths from
homicides and motor vehicle accidents combined.

In addition to the environmental risks, idling vehicles unnecessarily consume fuel and
increase long-term engine maintenance costs. An average construction vehicle may use
as much as one gallon for each hour it idles. Reducing idling also reduces exposure for
vehicle operators.

What is DEP doing?

DEP officials have been conducting an outreach and education campaign aimed at the
construction sector to make them aware of these idling limits and the benefits to
construction companies from compliance with the idling rules. DEP has been contacting
construction trade organizations, construction equipment rental companies and individual
construction businesses. DEP will respond aggressively to citizen complaints, as will
local environmental health agencies throughout the state. Residents can call the DEP
24-hour hotline (1-877-WARN-DEP) to register suspected violations of the idling
standards. Local police also have authority to issue penalties for idling violations pursuant
to Chapter 39:3-70.2. Failure to comply with the idling standards will result in enforcement
actions and civil administrative penalty assessments for the property owner and the vehicle
operator, starting at $250 per day.



COMPLIANCE ADVISORY

What should | do?

Carefully review the following general guidelines to ensure compliance but please refer to
the regulations for Subchapter 14: Control and Prohibition of Air Pollution from Diesel-
Powered Motor Vehicles at http://www.state.nj.us/dep/agm/Subl14 Rule.pdf, and for
Subchapter 15: Control and Prohibition of Air Pollution from Gasoline-Fueled Motor
Vehicles at http://www.state.nj.us/dep/agm/Sub15v2002-12-26.pdf.

e Ensure that diesel-powered vehicles do not idle for more than three consecutive
minutes if the vehicle is not in motion.

e Adopt a no-idling policy for your vehicle operators and encourage them to do their part.
It will save you money and protect their health.

e Explore alternatives to idling, such as automatic shut-down devices and tailpipe retrofit
devices to reduce particulate matter emissions.

Whom should | contact with questions or complaints?
DEP 24-hour Hotline — for reporting suspected violations 1-877-WARN-DEP
DEP Diesel Risk Reduction Program -- for general questions  609-292-7953

Northern Field Office for complaints in: 973-656-4444
Bergen, Essex, Hudson, Hunterdon, Morris, Passaic, Somerset,
Sussex and Warren counties

Central Field Office for complaints in: 609-292-3187
Burlington, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, Ocean and Union
counties

Southern Field Office for complaints in: 856-614-3601
Atlantic, Camden, Cape May, Cumberland, Gloucester and Salem
counties

The following web sites can be accessed for additional information regarding this
advisory:

Idling Information: www.StopTheSoot.org

Air Enforcement: http://www.nj.gov/dep/enforcement/air.html

To Contact NJDEP: http://www.nj.gov/cgi-bin/dep/contactdep.pl

To comment on this advisory: http://www.nj.gov/dep/enforcement/survey.html

Please note this advisory is intended to be a summary explanation of a DEP initiative. It does not include all potentially
applicable requirements. If you have any questions related to compliance with this initiative, please contact the numbers
listed above.
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