
NEW JERSEY
Fish & Wildlife Digest

NEW JERSEY
Fish & Wildlife Digest

A SUMMARY OF RULES AND MANAGEMENT INFORMATIONA SUMMARY OF RULES AND MANAGEMENT INFORMATION
New Jersey Department Of Environmental Protection - Division of Fish & Wildlife Vol. 13 No. 3  May 2000

Conserve Wildlife
License Plates

Support Endangered and
Nongame Species 

See page 16

Visit our website at:
www.state.nj.us/dep/fgw

NOTICE
Striped Bass Provisions

Included herein

WILL NOT BE IN EFFECT

Until the legislature votes and the
provisions become law

Check newspapers for announcements,
or see NJ Division of Fish and Wildlife’s 
website at www.state.nj.us/dep/fgw for
updates. For those without Internet
access, the Marine Fisheries Trenton
telephone menu will be updated regard-
ing striped bass regulations. Call 609-
292-2083. Select Option 1 for the
Bureau of Marine Fisheries (both times)
to access the recreational finfish regula-
tions. The process takes just over one
minute to reach the striped bass update.

Until that time, the 1999 
law stating a 2 fish daily limit,

and 28” minimum size shall
remain in effect.
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Bob McDowell, Director

In December 1999, legislation was approved
and signed into law granting the Division a
much-needed increase in hunting and fishing
license fees. This increase will finally allow the
Division to restore programs that had been cur-
tailed due to budgetary shortfalls as well as to
implement new programs. However, this fund-
ing is restricted to programs related to inland
fish and wildlife. 

The Division’s Marine Fisheries
Administration (Bureaus of Marine Fisheries
and Shellfisheries) is funded through an annual
appropriation from the State’s general Treasury
(New Jersey tax dollars) and from the Federal
Aid in Sportfish Restoration Program. The fed-
eral funds received are a result of excise taxes
charged on fishing equipment and motorboat
fuel, and are distributed to the states based
upon a formula which includes land area of a
state and the number of licensed anglers. Since
New Jersey has only a freshwater fishing
license, our estimated one million saltwater
anglers are not counted in the funding formula. 

The result has New Jersey considered a min-
imum state for receiving these federal dollars.
Most of the Sportfish Restoration funding goes
to other states. It is ironic that the states of
Nevada and New Mexico both receive more
Sportfish Restoration funding for fisheries
management than does New Jersey.

New Jersey’s marine recreational and com-
mercial fishing industries are valued between
$1.5 and $2.5 billion, annually. The Marine
Fisheries Administration is responsible for
management programs that protect, conserve
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Seeking the Best Marine
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On the Cover: Division personnel Heather Corbett and Russ Allen collecting scales from a striped bass tagging operation in the Delaware Bay.



DELAWARE LOCATIONS:
Brandywine:
1000 Brandywine Pkwy.     302.477.9577
Christiana:
100 Center Dr                   302.738.8322

you get the guaranteed lowest 
price. We’ve shopped the 

competition, but if you find a 
lower price we’ll match it. Find a 

lower price after the sale and we’ll 
refund the difference...that’s our promise. 

(See store locations for complete details.)

RIGHT PRICE PROMISEDICK’SSTORE HOURS
Sun. 11am to 6pm

Mon.-Fri. 10am to 9:30pm
Sat. 9am to 9:30pm

With

You can e-mail us with any comments regarding service at customer.service@dcsg.com or call our toll free number at 1.800.690.7655 ext. 3570

PHILADELPHIA LOCATIONS:
Franklin Mills 215.637.3230
Oxford Valley 215.946.8750
Exton 610.518.5200
Roosevelt Boulevard 215.831.5722
Willow Grove 215.657.8977

NEW JERSEY LOCATIONS:
Moorestown 856.802.1225
Mays Landing 856.407.1711
Deptford 856.384.8533
Burlington 609.747.0400
NOW OPEN!
PRINCETON 609.419.1661

Limited to stock on hand. We reserve the right to limit quantity. Not responsible for typographical errors. All savings off regular or original price.

*

COUPON VALID THROUGH 12/31/01
Bring in your fishing reel

& we’ll put on up to
300 yards of

Trilene® FREE!

FREE
WINDING!

LineFREE

The BestThe Best

Can’t Get to a store shop us On-Line at

selectionsselections

GUARANTEED!

Limit 1 reel per customer. Cannot be combined with any other coupon offer or used on previously purchased merchandise. Not valid towards
the purchase of gift cards. Sorry, no rainchecks or layaways. Cannot be used for on-Line purchases at dsports.com. Coupon valid 12/31/01

Can’t Get to a store shop us On-Line at

WE LOVE FISHING AS MUCH AS YOU DO!

4-20 lb. test

at the Lowest prices…at the Lowest prices…
GUARANTEED!



HUNTING – FISHING – ARCHERY
CAMPING – CLOTHING

LAW ENFORCEMENT DIVISION
Equipment and Uniforms

POLICE – FIRE – INDUSTRIAL

Indoor Shooting Range
Gunsmithing-HandgunProficiency Course

FIREARMS Bought-Sold-Traded

NJ & PA Hunting & Fishing Licenses

Phone 908-561-4400  Fax 908-561-4956
Hours: Monday-Saturday 9am–10pm Sunday 9am-6pm

Serving The Sporting Public Since 1947

559 Route 22 West, North Plainfield, NJ

From Zero To Fishing...
Or Wherever Else You Want To Go.

Suzuki Has The Power And Quiet You Want.Suzuki Has The Power And Quiet You Want.

For complete information on our full line of outboards, call or visit one of these dealers nearest you.

North Jersey Marine
9 Howard Blvd.

Mt. Arlington
(973) 770-0400

Chestnut Neck Boat Yard
758 Old New York Road

Port Republic
(609) 652-1119

Blue Water Yacht Sales
197 Princeton Ave.

Brick
(732) 295-3500

150 HP
DIGITAL EFI
Prop Shaft
Horsepower:
150
Cylinders:
V-6 (60-degree)
Displacement:
164.3 cu. in. (2.7 L)
Shaft Length:
Long 20”

140 HP
DIGITAL EFI
Prop Shaft
Horsepower:
140
Cylinders:
V-6 (60-degree)
Displacement:
164.3 cu. in. (2.7 L)
Shaft Length:
Xlong 25”

115 HP
DIGITAL EFI
Prop Shaft
Horsepower:
115
Cylinders:
V-6 (60-degree)
Displacement:
164.3 cu. in. (2.7 L)
Shaft Length:
Xlong 25”
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Motor Boat Regulations
for information write:

Division of Motor Vehicles
P.O. Box 403, Trenton, NJ 08625-0403

or contact your local DMV 
office for a boat “NJ” number

Hull numbers are issued by 
State Police after their inspection.

State Police Troop “F”
Marine Law Enforcement Stations
Bivalve 856-785-1330
North Wildwood 609-522-0393
Atlantic City 609-441-3586
Burlington 609-387-1221
Ocean 609-296-5807
Point Pleasant 732-899-5050
Monmouth Cty. Det. 732-842-5171
Lake Hopatcong 973-663-3400
Newark Bay 973-578-8173

and enhance the resources that support these
fish. The Administration plays an active role in
the development, implementation and enforce-
ment of coastwide fishery management plans
of the Mid-Atlantic Fishery Management
Council and the Atlantic States Marine
Fisheries Commission. 

The Administration has a fine list of accom-
plishments (including marine habitat protection
and enhancement; fish and shellfish resource
surveys) despite a relatively low level of fund-
ing. Yet we recognize there is a lot that remains
to be done. 

Consider that for the development of sound
management strategies, data collection and
analysis requirements can be enormous proj-
ects. One only needs to attend a public hearing
to realize there is a demand for more thorough
information to justify the numerous fishery
management programs. The Division complete-
ly supports the philosophy of improving the
quantity and quality of marine fisheries infor-
mation. Unfortunately, the only way to get bet-
ter scientific information upon which to base
fishery management decisions is to substantial-
ly increase the level of funding. Marine fish-
eries funding has remained essentially
unchanged since 1995 while the number of
fishery management plans and requirements
has increased exponentially. 

If we are to provide the best information
possible to make management decisions, we
must acquire a level of funding for marine fish-
eries management proportional to the value of
our marine fisheries resources. As the new mil-
lennium begins, the challenge to us all is how
best to accomplish this initiative.

Seeking the Best Marine Fisheries Information
continued from page 2

by Bruce Halgren
Supervising Biologist

Regulatory changes for the 2000 fishing season include important recreational species
such as striped bass, summer flounder, winter flounder and scup.

STRIPED BASS: Throughout the 1999 fishing season, the daily catch or posses-
sion limit for recreational anglers was two fish of at least 28 inches in length. Addendum
IV to Amendment 5 of the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission (ASMFC)
Interstate Fishery Management Plan (FMP) for Striped Bass, which was adopted in
October 1999, called for a 14% reduction in the harvest of striped bass age 8 or older. A
number of management options were developed in order to comply with the requirements
of the FMP.  Following several public hearings, the management option supported by the
State’s recreational fishermen were one striped bass greater than or equal to 24 inches yet
less than 28 inches in addition to one striped bass 28 inches or greater as the daily posses-
sion limit for New Jersey marine waters. This management option was approved by the
ASMFC and later introduced in the State Legislature. The Division of Fish and Wildlife
anticipates the approval of this management option for the 2000 recreational fishing sea-
son. At press time, statutory changes had not been finalized. Until that time, the 1999 rules
remain in effect. See the striped bass NOTICE on the cover for more details and how to
learn about the updated regulation when it is in effect.

The New Jersey striped bass bonus fish program which allows participants one addition-
al striped bass 28 inches or greater per day, with an annual quota of 225,000 pounds will
likely remain unchanged for 2000. Existing striped bass seasonal closures will remain the
same for 2000. 

For an in-depth explanation of New Jersey’s striped bass management over the past 15
years, see the article, “Striped Bass Management: “Looking Back - Looking Ahead”, on
page 6 in this Digest.

SUMMER FLOUNDER (FLUKE): Recreational anglers will be pleased to know
that the open recreational summer flounder fishing season has been extended in 2000 from
May 15 through October 11 (1999 season) to May 6 through October 20. The minimum
legal size limit in 2000 will remain at 151/2”, with a possession limit of eight summer
flounder.

Each winter the ASMFC and the Mid-Atlantic Fishery Management Council (MAFMC)
meet to review the previous year’s summer flounder coastal landings and the updated
stock assessment to develop management measures for the coming year. In 2000, a 41 per-
cent reduction, by number, from 1998 landings is required. The ASMFC has determined
that a liberalized recreational summer flounder season together with a 151/2” minimum
legal size limit and a possession limit of eight fish will maintain New Jersey’s compliance

REGULATORY UPDATE

continued on page 6

2 FREE FRESH WATER FISHING DAYS
Saturday and Sunday,

June 3 & 4, 2000

On these two days, anyone may fish New Jersey’s public fresh waters
without a license or a trout stamp. 

However, all other regulations,
including size and daily catch
limits, remain in effect.



By Tom Baum, Principal Fisheries 
Biologist

The Atlantic striped bass (Morone sax-
atilis) has been for centuries one of the most
important coastal species from Maine to
North Carolina, supporting historically valu-
able commercial and recreational fisheries.
The popularity of this species to fishermen,
the complex nature of its seasonal distri-
bution, and decline in harvest with poor
recruitment during the 1970’s stimu-
lated interest in the development
of a cooperative interstate fish-
eries management plan. In
1981, the Atlantic States
Marine Fisheries
Commission (ASMFC)
developed and adopted the
Interstate Fisheries Management
Plan (Plan) for Striped Bass of the
Atlantic Coast from Maine to North
Carolina. Since then there have been five
amendments to the Plan, with nine addenda
to the most recent two amendments, totaling
14 changes to the Plan over 18 years. 

Management strategies for the coastal
striped bass population during the past fifteen
years had to adapt first to regulating a deplet-
ed, overfished stock during the mid 1980’s;
next to a recovering population during the
early 1990’s; then to a stock declared
restored in 1995. Amendment #3 called for
size regulations to protect the 1982 year
class, which was the first modest size group
since the previous decade. The objective was
to increase size limits to allow the majority of
the females from the 1982 year class an
opportunity to spawn at least once. This
would remain in effect until there were three
consecutive successful spawns of the
Chesapeake Bay stock.

In 1989, a very successful spawn of the
Chesapeake stock occurred, which prompted
the Management Board to adopt Amendment
#4. This amendment was designed to control
the reopening of the fishery, which was in the
initial stages of stock recovery. This adaptive
management strategy allowed the ASMFC to
make revisions to the management program
in response to changing circumstances.

There were five addenda to  Amendment
#4 that were adopted by ASMFC from 1991
through 1994. By the mid 1990’s, manage-
ment under  Amendment #4 became cumber-
some due to the vagueness of many of its
principal points.

The ASMFC declared that the Chesapeake
Bay stocks of Atlantic striped bass, which
supports the greatest portion of the coastal

stock, was recovered as of January 1995.
Amendment #5, adopted in March 1995, was
designed to regulate the 1995 – 1996 fish-
eries for striped bass. Since then, each
October, the ASMFC’s Striped Bass
Management Board has passed an addendum
to this Amendment, setting guidelines for the
following year’s fishery.

Amendment #5 completely replaced the
original Plan and all subsequent

amendments and addenda. The goal
of  Amendment #5 is to perpetu-

ate, through cooperative inter-
state fishery management,

migratory stocks of
Atlantic striped bass

so as to allow a
harvest consistent

with the long-term
maintenance of their

essential habitat. The
basic pattern of

Amendment #5 is to adopt a
target fishing mortality rate, and

then to establish regulatory pro-
grams for the various fisheries that

will meet this target.
The preferred alternative regime under this

amendment is a minimum size limit of 20
inches in producer areas and 28 inches along
the coast; a creel limit of one fish per day in
producer areas and two fish per day in
coastal fisheries. Fishing seasons are variable
between producer areas and 365 days in
coastal areas. 

Since 1995, coastal striped bass regulations
have remained at “status quo” (or two fish >
28 inches).  In October 1999, the 
ASMFC Striped Bass Management Board
approved Addendum IV to Amendment 
#5. This addendum called for a 14% reduc-
tion in the harvest of striped bass age 8 and
older. 

The benchmark for measuring the required
reductions is a two-fish daily 
limit and 28” minimum size. The reason for
this measure was the fishing mortality rate
from the 1998 fisheries exceeded the target
rate set by the guidelines in Amendment #5. 
It also instructs the Board to proceed with the
preparation of a new amendment to the Plan
and if the amendment is not approved for
2001, states will be required in 2001 to
implement additional reductions of the har-
vest on age 8 and older striped bass.

On February 7, 2000 representatives from
New Jersey presented three management
options to the ASMFC Striped Bass
Management Board, of which two were
approved. During the third week of February
2000, three public meetings were held in
New Jersey (Rochelle Park, Toms River and
Cape May Court House) in order to gather
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with the ASMFC summer flounder fishery
management plan while allowing New
Jersey’s fishermen to enjoy increased recre-
ational fishing days.

WINTER FLOUNDER: For 2000, the
recreational minimum size limit for winter
flounder has increased from 10” to 101/2”.
A further increase from 101/2” to 11” will
become effective January 1, 2001. This
step-wise increase in the winter flounder
size limit will lessen the immediate impact
of an anticipated ASMFC required size
limit increase and at the same time main-
tains New Jersey’s compliance with the
ASMFC fishery management plan for win-
ter flounder. New Jersey anglers can contin-
ue to enjoy a season that extends from
March 1 through May 31 and September 15
through December 31 with no winter floun-
der possession limit.

SCUP (PORGY): Although the legal
minimum size for scup will remain at 7” in
2000, recreational anglers should take
notice that there will be a daily possession
limit of 50 scup per angler.  Previously,
there had been no daily possession limit on
scup for recreational anglers.
During the winter meeting of the ASMFC
and the MAFMC, it was determined that
the 1999 coastwide scup recreational quota
was slightly exceeded. The 50 fish per day
possession limit for recreational scup fish-
ermen is designed to prevent an overage of
the 2000 coastwide scup recreational quota.

Additional commercial regulations have
been implemented for the blue crab, sum-
mer flounder, Atlantic menhaden, American
shad, scup and other commercial fisheries,
and are summarized in the Division’s 2000
Commercial Regulations publication, found
at the Division’s Website:
www.state.nj.us/dep/fgw.

Regulatory Update
continued from page 5

Striped Bass Management:
Looking Back - Looking Ahead

continued on page 16

NJ Fish and W
ildlife personnel tagging

striped bass during January sampling of

New Jersey’s ocean trawl survey.
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by Paul G. Scarlett, Principal Fisheries
Biologist,
Bureau of Marine Fisheries

Common Name: Winter Flounder,
also called Flounder, Blackback, Black
Flounder, Georges Bank Flounder, Lemon
Sole, Sole, Flatfish, Rough Flounder and
Mud Dab.

Scientific Name: Pleuronectes ameri-
canus

Range: Winter flounder live in estuarine
and coastal waters from Labrador to Georgia.
They are most common between Nova Scotia
and New Jersey.  Locally, winter flounder are
most abundant in New Jersey’s northern and
central estuarine and nearshore coastal areas
with numbers diminishing south of Barnegat
Bay.  Good populations of winter flounder
can be found in Raritan Bay, Sandy Hook
Bay, Navesink River, Shark River,
Manasquan River and parts of the Barnegat
Bay estuarine system.

Size: Winter flounder can grow to sizes
of more than 25 inches and weigh more than
8 pounds.  The New Jersey sport fish state
record was landed in 1992 and weighed 5
pounds, 11 ounces.  Females grow faster than
males and juvenile winter flounder can reach
a length of about 6 inches during their first
year.  Twelve inch winter flounder are gener-
ally 3 years old and may weigh slightly more
than a pound.  In New Jersey, few winter
flounder live past the age of 10.

Predators, Food and Feeding:
Natural predators of winter flounder include
sharks, oyster toadfish, summer flounder,
striped bass, monkfish and spiny dogfish.
When feeding, a winter flounder will lie
motionless, partly concealed on the bottom,
with its head raised off the bottom, braced by

the dorsal fin.  When prey is sighted, the fish
remains motionless, pointing toward the prey,
then lunges forward and downward to capture
it.  This semi-hidden feeding behavior enables
the fish to effectively capture prey while at the
same time providing a hiding mechanism to
protect the winter flounder from its predators.
Winter flounder are sight feeders and feed dur-
ing daylight.  Throughout their range, winter
flounder eat polycheate worms, amphipod and
isopod crustaceans, clam siphon tips and plant
material.  They are omnivorous and oppor-
tunistic, eating whatever is available.

Migration: In New Jersey, adult winter
flounder usually inhabit
nearshore coastal and
estuarine waters from
October through May.
During the summer, they
migrate just off the beach
to several miles offshore.
In the fall, most winter
flounder return to the
same estuary they inhabit-
ed the previous winter.
Juveniles spend their first year in estuaries
where they were spawned, after which they
join the adult migration.

Habitat: Estuaries and nearshore ocean-
ic water habitats are critically important to
the life cycle of winter flounder.  These areas
are used as wintering, summering and
spawning grounds by adults and as nursery
areas by juveniles.  Winter flounder prefer
sand or mud-sand mixture bottoms, but can
be found in creeks and sea grass beds with
muddy or silty substrates.

Spawning: In New Jersey, winter
flounder spawn in estuaries from February to
April at temperatures of 1oC to 10oC and
salinities ranging from 10 to 35 parts per

thousand.  Almost all winter flounder are
sexually mature by 3 years of age.  Females
can release as many as three million eggs,
with egg numbers directly related to fish size.
When hatched, winter flounder larvae are
about one-tenth of an inch long.  Larvae are
structurally similar to those of other fish
species, with one eye on each side of the
head.  By the time the larvae reach a size of
about one-half inch, the left eye has migrated
to the right side of the body and the fish
assume a true flatfish, bottom-associated
existence.

Importance: Winter flounder are a
highly prized food fish sought by both com-
mercial and recreational anglers.  The majori-
ty of landings from commercial fisheries are

taken by otter
trawl in the
spring and fall.
Commercial
fishermen usual-
ly land between
200,000 and
300,000 pounds 
of winter floun-
der in New
Jersey per year.

These fish are also a mainstay of the inshore
spring and fall sport fishery along the
Atlantic coast.  During the last 10 years, New
Jersey’s sport fishermen have harvested over
550,000 winter flounder per year.  In terms
of numbers, New Jersey annually ranks at or
near the top of per state winter flounder har-
vest among all East coast states.

Fishing Techniques: Winter floun-
der sport fishing occurs mainly within estu-
arine bays and rivers, usually from an
anchored boat or the bank.  A common
fishing outfit would include a six foot light
to medium action rod and a conventional or
spinning reel filled with 6 to 10 pound test.
Most freshwater fishing outfits also work
well for winter flounder.  Winter flounder
can be taken on small (#10) long shanked
hooks baited with clams, mussels or blood-
worms.  Whole kernel canned corn works
well as bait and can also be used as chum,
along with rice and crushed mussels.
Stirring up the bottom under an anchored
boat with heavy weights, an oar, or even a
plunger fastened to a long pole will attract
fish.  Hooks can be fished singly, in a mul-
tiple hook rig or with spreaders, with
sinkers heavy enough to hold bottom.
Winter flounder can provide lively action,
especially on light tackle.  Recreational har-
vest in New Jersey is controlled by a season
and size limit.  During 2000, the winter
flounder fishing season is March 1 through

Winter Flounder - A Profile

continued on page 24

PORTIONS OF THIS DIGEST ARE
AVAILABLE IN ENLARGED FORMAT FOR

THE  VISUALLY IMPAIRED.
WRITE TO:

NEW JERSEY DIVISION OF FISH &
WILDLIFE, DIGEST EDITOR, PO BOX 400

TRENTON, NJ 08625-0400
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NEW JERSEY WILDLIFE VIEWING GUIDE

WILDLIFE VIEWING GUIDE ORDER FORM

The NJ Division of Fish and Wildlife is proud to announce the publication
of the New Jersey Wildlife Viewing Guide.  The publication of the Guide is
the culmination of a two year project coordinated by the Division’s
Endangered and Nongame Species Program to establish a network of view-
ing sites throughout the state.

The Guide beautifully illustrates the
rich natural treasures that few people
realize exist in the state.  Experience
the amazing diversity of New Jersey’s
wildlife and habitats at 87 of the state’s
best Wildlife Viewing Areas.  The 165
page Guide is full of color photos and
illustrations and provides directions to
each site and information on site facili-
ties, best viewing seasons and which
animals and habitats can be seen.

Unique to the New Jersey Guide is the
addition of Wildlife Diversity Tours.  In
four regions, expanded information is
provided on five sites in each region that
when experienced through a 2-3 day trip provide a deeper understanding and
appreciation of the ecosystems and wildlife found in the region.

Order yours today by using the order form below.

The creation of the Wildlife Viewing Guide and the development of a
Watchable Wildlife Program for New Jersey was made possible in part
through grants from the EPA, US Fish and Wildlife Service, National Park
Service and Department of Defense.  Major funding has been provided
through proceeds from the sale of ‘Conserve Wildlife’ license plates.

Name________________________________________________________

Address______________________________________________________

City_________________________________________________________

State___________________ Zip_________________

Send Check or Money Order for $10.95 Plus $3.95 S/H to:

NJ Division of Fish and Wildlife
Endangered and Nongame Species Program
PO Box 400 • Trenton, NJ 08625-0400

N.J. Division of Fish, Game, & Wildlife
Endangered & Nongame Species Program

Conserve
Wildlife

APPLICATION
STRIPED BASS BONUS 

FISH PROGRAM

Date  ______________________________________

Name ________________________________________

Address ____________________________________

City ______________ State _____ Zip Code _________

County________________________________________

*Social Security # ________________________________

Telephone  Day__________________________________

Telephone Eve ________________________________

MAIL COMPLETE FORM TO:
NJ Division of Fish and Wildlife
Striped Bass Bonus Fish Program

P.O. Box 418
Port Republic, NJ 08241

*Required for processing application

You must enclose a self addressed, stamped

#10 business sized envelope for each appli-

cant to receive two fish possession cards

DIVISION OF FISH & WILDLIFE USE ONLY

Fish Possession Cards #’s Issued  
Date Mailed to Applicant 

Last

Number and Street

First Middle Initial

✃

Duplicate
Check
Initials

Call 1-800-645-0038
TODAY

Mention this ad
and pay

only $13.50
for a new
one-year

subscription.

New Jersey’s Natural
and Historic Resources

and Outdoor Recreation
Magazine

That’s

20% off

the cover price!

OnlyOnlyOnlyOnlyOnly

$13.50



HARRY’S ARMY & NAVY
691 RT 130, ROBBINSVILLE, NJ 08691
Monday thru Saturday 9-9, Sunday 9-4

PHONE: 609-585-5450
OUTSIDE NJ: 800-GUNS-USA • FAX: 609-585-4440

Look For Us On
The Internet

www.harrys.com

NEW JERSEY’S MOST UNUSUAL OUTDOOR STORE
CAMPING-GUNS-AMMO-RELOADING-FISHING

ARCHERY-BOOTS-CLOTHING GALORE-SURPLUS

• EXPANDED SELECTION OF SALTWATER
RODS, REELS, LURES & ACCESSORIES

• 50 RUNNING FEET OF BASS WORMS

• LARGEST SELECTION OF FRESHWATER
LURES IN THE STATE!

• WE HAVE A COMPLETE SELECTION OF
FLY TYING EQUIPMENT, INCLUDING RODS,
REELS, LURES, AND COMPONENTS

• NEW JERSEY & PENNSYLVANIA FISHING
& HUNTING LICENSES

• PROFESSIONALS AVAILABLE TO ASSIST
YOU WHETHER YOU ARE AN AMATEUR
OR AN EXPERT

Over
200 Canoes
& Kayaks
in Stock

ORVIS®

& a New
Fly Fishing Department

FRESHWATER/SALTWATER
FISHERMEN

Visit New Jersey’s largest Penn Fishing outlet

for all your fishing needs. We carry all Penn

rods and reels at guaranteed lowest prices!

Experience our new 3,000 sq. ft. fishing

showroom and find unsurpassed selection,

quality, and savings!

• EXTENSIVE WORK CLOTHING & BOOT SELECTION
• COMPLETE PAINTBALL DEPARTMENT

• MILITARY SURPLUS & INSIGNIA
NEW JERSEY’S LARGEST RETAIL GUN DEALER

OVER 5,000 GUNS IN STOCK

New Jersey’s newest RED WING SHOES®

dealer



FISH & HUNT IN NEW YORK
WITH

RAINBOW HILL GUIDE SERVICE

FISHING
BASS- WALLEYE-TROUT-PIKE

FISHING LAKES, RIVERS & STREAMS
FLY OR SPIN TACKLE - WADE OR CANOE

TACKLE & BAIT PROVIDED – FLYFISHING AND CASTING LESSONS

HUNTING
“GUARANTEED” SPRING & FALL TURKEY HUNTS

QUALITY DEER HUNTING
SMALL GAME, PREDATORS 

& WATERFOWL
ARCHERY, SHOTGUN & MUZZLELOADER

OUTDOOR FUN
CANOEING, CAMPING, HIKING, WINTER SPORTS

PHOTOGRAPHY & OUTDOOR COURSES

ALL TRIPS INCLUDE MEALS, LODGING & LICENSED GUIDES
ONE-ON-ONE, FATHER & SON and WOMEN’S TRIPS

VISIT US ON THE INTERNET AT:
WWW.MAXPAGES.COM/RAINBOWHILL

OR 
CALL OUR TOLL FREE NUMBER FOR A FREE BROCHURE

1-800-272-0439

YOUR HOSTS:
GEORGE FRANKE & PAULA HOLLOWAY
153 CARROLL LANE • NORWICH, NY 13815
FAX: 607-334-9813    E-Mail: RHGuides@yahoo.com

• UL Listed
• Certified Fire Protection
• Rack & Pinion Locking
• Patented Star Corner Bolts
• Ball bearing hard plate
• Drill deflector plates
• Concealed hinges
• Quadrated Door Frame
• Sergeant* Greenleaf Lock

• Maintenance Free
• Modular interiors
• F.O.I.L. Relocking System
• 7 luxurious baked on colors
• Large selection of options &    

accessories
• Lifetime Warranty
• Competitive Prices
• Over 20 Models

Garden State Hardware 1-800-544-0616

We Specialize In, In Home Safe Delivery

“Go With America’s
Best! I did, now I 

leave home with a
safe feeling.”

General Chuck Yeager

 

 

 

 

YOJ SPORTS
698 Rt. 206 South - Andover, NJ

973-786-7382 - Open 7 Days

• Licenses • Live Bait

• Rods • Reels • Combos

• Tackle

• Supplies

We have the
FRESHEST and BEST priced

BAIT in Sussex County
Visit our website at

w w w . y o j s p o r t s . c o m

MON - FRI 7-7 • SAT 5-7 • SUN 5-6
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Filleting
The filleting at sea of all fish with a size

limit is prohibited.  Party boats may fillet fish
at sea if they obtain a Special Fillet Permit.
Applications may be obtained from the
Marine Fisheries Administration.
Black Sea Bass

The minimum size limit for black sea bass
is 10 inches measured along the midline from
the snout to the end of the central portion of
the tail, not to include the tail filaments.
There is no possession limit and there is no
closed season.
Bluefish

Bluefish taken with hook and line may be
sold only from June 16 through August 7
and only if the harvester is in possession of a
valid commercial bluefish permit issued in
his or her name by the National Marine
Fisheries Service (978/281-9370). Any har-
vester in possession of a valid commercial
bluefish permit may possess more than 10
bluefish per day but only during the commer-
cial season of June 16 through August 7.
Shark

The minimum size limit for any species of
shark, except dogfish (see note below) is 48
inches total length. 
Sharks - Prohibited Species
basking shark sand tiger shark
whale shark bigeye sand tiger shark
white shark

The fins may not be removed from a
shark, except after fishing has ceased and
such shark has been landed.  A shark may be
eviscerated and the head removed prior to
landing, provided that the alternate length as
measured from the origin of the first dorsal
fin to the pre-caudal pit (located just forward

of the origin of the upper lobe of the tail fin)
is not less than 23 inches in length.  The pos-
session limit is 2 shark per vessel.

Note: To differentiate sharks from  dogfish –
the smooth dogfish has flat, tiny teeth; the
spiny dogfish has strong, dorsal spines, short-
er than, and in front of, the dorsal fin. Neither
is present in sharks.
Striped Bass 
(includes Hybrid Striped Bass)

The minimum size limits for striped bass
and hybrid striped bass in all marine waters
of the state is 28 inches.  The possession
limit in all marine waters is two fish, either
striped bass or hybrid striped bass, NOT of
each.

It is illegal to take, catch or kill any striped
bass from or in any marine waters of this
state, by means of a net of any description, or
by any methods other than angling with a
hook and line or by spear fishing.

It is illegal to possess any striped bass, or
parts of a striped bass from which the head
and / or tail has been removed (other than
while in preparation or being served as food),
which is less than the legal minimum size.

Harvest and possession of striped bass
from federal waters (outside 3 miles) is pro-
hibited.

Sale of striped bass in N.J. is prohibited.
Closed seasons:
Jan. 1 - Feb. 28 - All waters except the
Atlantic Ocean from 0-3 miles offshore.
April 1 - May 31 - Delaware River & Bay
and their tributaries from the upstream side of
the U.S. Route 1 bridge downstream to and
including the Salem River and its tributaries.
Striped Bass Bonus Fish Program
Fishermen may possess one (1) additional
striped bass per day under the Striped Bass
Bonus Fish Program subject to the following:

Resource Information
Anyone who takes fisheries resources

may be required to provide information on
the species, number, weight or other infor-
mation pertinent to management of
resources.
Methods of Fishing

No person shall take, catch, kill or
attempt to take, catch or kill any fish within
the marine waters of the State by any means
except in the manner commonly known as
angling with hand line or rod and line
unless specifically provided for by statute or
regulation.
Spear Fishing

Spear fishing can be conducted by means
of a spear, harpoon or other missile while
completely submerged in the marine waters
of the state for any species, except lobster.

Persons who fish with a spear for species
with size limits are reminded that it is their
responsibility to ensure the fish meets the
minimum size limits before being killed or
injured.
Fish Releasing 

All fish which are undersize, not intended
for eating or not to be kept for mounting,
educational or scientific purposes should be
released immediately to the wild. This
should be done GENTLY and QUICKLY.
Here are some specific suggestions:
* For small fish, grasp it with wet hands

around the “neck” from below, closing
the gill covers. Do NOT get fingers under
the gill covers into the gill area.  Grasp
the hook at its bend, either with fingers or
pliers, and gently shake it loose. If unsuc-
cessful cut the hook or leader as short as
possible with pliers. It is best to do this in
or over the water.  If not possible, do not
let fish flop on the deck.

* For large fish, do not attempt to handle it.
Reach out over the water and cut hook or
leader as short as possible.

* Use only plain hooks, not stainless, so
they will rust away quickly in the fish’s
mouth.

* To measure fish for legal size, have a
measuring device or template of that
length marked out on a flat surface for
quick access.

2000 Summary of Marine Fish & Shellfish Regulations
This is not the full law.  Consult the Division of Fish and Wildlife for further details.

All persons are reminded that statutes, code and regulations are the legal authorities.

FINFISH

continued on page 12
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1. The fisherman must apply for and receive a
fish possession card in advance of attempting
to take a bonus fish.
2. The minimum size limit for a striped bass
taken under the bonus program is 28 inches.
3. Fisherman must comply with all aspects of
the regulations. A guide to these regulations is
provided with the fish possession cards.
4. Two fish possession cards are issued to
each applicant. Only one card is good per day.
Cards are valid only during the year issued.
The pink card is good for the 2000 season
only.
5. Participants wishing to continue in the pro-
gram in future years can do so by mailing the
fishing logs enclosed with their cards.

Additional cards will be provided upon
checking fish at one of the 56 designated
check stations or by mailing the completed
card to the Division. For a list of Striped Bass
Bonus Program Check Stations, call 609-748-
2020.
Summer Flounder (Fluke)

The possession and minimum size limit for
summer flounder is 8 fish at 15 1/2 inches
and an open season from May 6 to October
20.
Tautog (BlackFish)

The minimum size limit for tautog is 14
inches. There is a 1 fish possession limit dur-
ing the period of June 1 through October 9
and a 10 fish possession limit during the peri-
od of October 10 through May 31.
Weakfish

The possession and minimum size limit for
weakfish is 14 fish, at least 14 inches in
length.
Winter Flounder

The minimum size limit for winter flounder
is 101/2”, increasing to 11” as of January 1,
2001.  For winter flounder the open season is
March 1 - May 31 and September 15 -
December 31. 
Additional Marine Fishing Seasons

See pages 17 and 18 for the clip out refer-
ence charts applicable to both New Jersey
State and Federal waters.
Prohibited Species

It is illegal to take, possess, land, purchase,
or sell any of the following species:
Atlantic Sturgeon
Basking Shark
Bigeye Sand Tiger Shark
Sand Tiger Shark
Shortnosed Sturgeon
Whale Shark
White Shark

It is illegal to intentionally molest, kill or
possess sea turtles or marine mammals, or
to possess any part thereof.

No license is required for the taking of
baitfish for personal use with the following
gear:
1. Dip nets 24” in diameter or less for the
taking of herring for live bait.
2. Bait seines 50 feet long or less.
3. Cast nets 20 feet in diameter or less.
4. Lift or umbrella nets four feet square or
less.
5. Not more than five (5) killipots for tak-
ing killifish for bait.
6. Not more than two miniature fykes or
pots for the taking of killifish or eels for
bait.

Fish taken in this manner may not be
sold or used for barter unless a commercial
bait net license is in possession.

No person shall take more than 35
alewife or blueback herring in aggregate
per day.

No person shall take or attempt to take
fish by any means from the Deal Lake
flume, Lake Takanasse spillway or Wreck
Pond spillway on any Monday, Wednesday
or Friday during the months of April and
May.

American Lobster
The legal possession size of whole lob-

sters, measured from the rear of the eye
socket along a line parallel to the center
line of the body shell to the rear of the body
shell, shall be not less than 3 1/4 inches
Lobster parts may not be possessed at sea
or landed.

The possession limit is 6 lobsters per per-
son. No person shall possess any lobster
with eggs attached or from which eggs have
been removed or any female lobster with a

v-notched tail, as illustrated above.
The use of spears, gigs, gaffs or other

penetrating devices as a method of capture
for lobsters is prohibited. A license is
required for the use of pots or traps for the
capture of lobsters.
Crabs
1. Crabs may be taken recreationally with
hand lines, manually operated collapsible
traps or scoop nets without a license. A
non-commercial crab pot license is required
for the use of not more than two (2) non-
collapsible Chesapeake-style crab pots (see
illustration on page 23) or two (2) trot lines
to harvest crabs. See page 23 for the non-
commercial crab pot license application or
stop by coastal bait and tackle shops.  The
possession limit of one (1) bushel per per-
son per day and the prohibition of sale
applies under this license.
2. It is illegal to harvest or possess more
than one bushel of crabs per day per person
or offer for sale any crabs without having in
your possession a valid commercial crab-
bing license.
3. Minimum size of crabs that may be har-
vested (measured from point to point of
shell) are as follows:
a. Peeler or shedder crab - 3 inches
b. Soft crab - 3 1/2 inch
c. Hard crab - 4 3/4 inches (for sale)
d. Hard crab - 4 1/2 inches (possession)

4. All female crabs with eggs attached and
all undersized crabs shall be returned to the
water immediately.
5. Recreational trot lines shall not exceed
150 feet in length with a maximum of 25
baits.
6. All pots and trot lines shall be marked
with the identification number of the owner.
7. All crab pots must be tended at least
once every 72 hours.
8. No floating line may be used on any crab
pot or crab pot buoy.
9. No crab pot shall be placed in any area
that would obstruct or impede navigation or
in any creek less than 50 feet wide.
10. Only the owner, his agent or a law
enforcement officer may raise or remove
contents of a legally set fishing device.
11. Crabs taken with a bait seine may be
retained for personal use only if the fisher-

BAIT FISH

CRUSTACEANS

SEA TURTLES & MARINE MAMMALS1999 Summary of Marine Fish and
Shellfish Regulations
continued from page 11

continued on page 13
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man possesses a bait net license, and may
not be bartered or sold unless the fisherman
possesses a commercial crab license.
12. No crabs may be harvested from the
Newark Bay Complex as described under
the section on Health Advisories, page 28.
13. Crab Pot/Trot Line seasons:
Delaware Bay and tributaries - April 16 to
Dec. 14; all other waters - Mar 15 to Nov
30. The following waters are closed to the
use of crab pots and trot lines: Cumberland
Co: Cohansey River and creeks named
Back, Cedar, Nantuxent, Fortesque,
Oranoken, and Dividing; Cape May Co:
West and Bidwell Creeks and the Cape
May Canal; Atlantic Co: Hammock Cove
(Dry Bay); Ocean Co.: on East shore of
Barnegat Bay, that area of Sedge Islands
WMA enclosed by a line drawn from the
northern bank of Fishing Creek on Island
Beach State Park to the northern tip of the
Sedge Island (Hensler Island), then south
from point to point along the western side
of the Sedge Islands WMA and terminating
on the most southwestern point of Island
Beach State Park.
14. The Division will issue a non-commer-
cial crab dredge license for the harvest of
not more that one bushel of crabs during
the crab dredge season. Crabs so taken may
not be sold or offered for barter. There is a
fee of $15.00 for this non-commercial crab
dredge license. Call the Marine Fisheries
Administration at 609/748-2040.

NOTICE: All non-collapsible Chesapeake-
style crab pots (see illustration on page 23)
must be constructed to include a biodegrad-
able panel designed to create an opening to
allow crabs and other organisms to escape
if the pot is lost or abandoned. All non-col-
lapsible Chesapeake-style crab pots set in
any man-made lagoon or any water body
less than 150 feet wide must also include a
turtle excluder device inside all pot
entrance funnels.

The harvest of horseshoe crabs is prohibited
without a permit. Applications are available
from the Marine Fisheries Administration.

1. All persons must be licensed to partici-
pate in the harvest of hard clams, soft
clams, surf clams and oysters.
2. It is illegal to harvest clams, oysters and
mussels from condemned waters, even for
bait purposes. It is also illegal to harvest
surf clams from beaches adjacent to water
classified as condemned.
Water classification charts are available
from license agents, any state shellfish
office or Marine Police Station. Charts are
updated annually.
3. Shellfish harvesting is prohibited before
sunrise, after sunset and on Sundays.
4. Harvesting of clams, oysters and mussels
on public grounds is restricted to the use of
hand implements. 
5. It is illegal to harvest shellfish from
leased grounds.  These grounds are delin-
eated by stakes or buoys set by the lease
holder. Charts of the leases may be exam-
ined at the Nacote Creek or Bivalve
Shellfish Offices during regular business
hours.
Hard Clams
1. No person shall harvest more than 150
clams per day unless such person is a hold-
er of a commercial clam license. Only certi-
fied shellfish dealers may purchase clams
from commercial harvesters. All persons
selling clams commercially must tag each
container listing date of harvest, name and
address of the harvester and the waters
from which the shellfish were harvested.
2. A non-resident recreational license is
valid only during the months of June, July,
August and September. 
3. Anyone engaged in any clamming activi-
ty with someone holding a commercial
clam license must also possess their own
commercial clam license.
4. It is illegal to dredge clams. Hand imple-
ments are the only legal harvest methods.
5. The minimum size of hard clams that
may be harvested is 1-1/2 inches in length.
Clams less than 1-1/2 inches in length must
be immediately returned to the bottom from
which they were taken.
6. It is illegal to harvest shellfish on Sunday
except on the seasonal waters of the
Navesink River between November 1 and
April 30.
Oysters
1. Oysters may be sold only to certified
dealers.
2. It is illegal to dredge oysters on public
grounds. All harvesting on public grounds

is restricted to the use of hand implements.
3. Shells taken in the process of harvesting
oysters must be culled from the live oysters
and returned immediately to the area from
where they were taken.
4. Specific seasons and regulations exist for
oyster beds in Great Bay, Delaware Bay,
the Mullica, Great Egg Harbor and
Tuckahoe rivers. Check with appropriate
shellfish offices for detailed regulations.
5. One license covers recreational and com-
mercial oystering.

New Jersey
Division of Fish & Wildlife

– Mission –
To protect and manage the

state’s fish and wildlife to maxi-
mize their long-term biological,
recreational and economic val-

ues for all New Jerseyans.

– Goals –
1. To maintain New Jersey’s

rich variety of fish and
wildlife species at stable,
healthy levels and to protect
and enhance the many habi-
tats on which they depend.

2. To educate New Jerseyans on
the values and needs of our
fish and wildlife and to fos-
ter a positive
human/wildlife co-exis-
tence.

3. To maximize the recreation-
al and commercial use of
New Jersey’s fish and
wildlife for both present
and future generations.

Coastal 
Workshop 

For Teachers 
NJ Division of Fish and Wildlife

hosts a weekend coastal workshop
annually in May at the Wetlands Institute 

In Stone Harbor.

Openings for this year may still be 
available. Or call to be placed on the 

mailing list for future workshops:

856-629-7214

1999 Summary of Marine Fish and
Shellfish Regulations
continued from page 12

HORSESHOE CRABS

MOLLUSKS (SHELLFISH)



New Jersey’s
Oldest Hatchery - Est. 1865

Musky Trout Hatchery, Inc.

Certified Whirling Disease FREE!
All Species of Game and Pan Fish in New Jersey

Fish Delivered or Picked-up at our Scenic Hatchery in Warren County
Our Hours are:  M - F 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM • Sat 8:00 AM - 2:00 PM

“We Specialize in Sportsmen’s Club Stocking”

279 Bloomsbury Road, Asbury, NJ 08802
Telephone (908) 479-4893

After 5:00 PM call Jeff or Vern Mancini (908) 638-8747

• Trout
• Largemouth Bass
• Bluegills
• Hybred Striped Bass
• Channel Catfish

• Bullhead Catfish
• Yellow Perch
• Fat Head Minnows
• White Amur (Grass Eating Carp)

• KOI

Where
Quality
Counts!

THERE’S A NEW CENTURY OF FISHING AHEAD!
COME SEE WHAT NORTH JERSEY MARINE HAS TO OFFER!

When it comes time to service your boat...CALL THE EXPERTS

North Jersey Marine
9 Howard Blvd., (Exit 30 Off Rt. 80) Mt. Arlington, NJ 07856

(973) 770-0400
Hours: Monday 9 am - 7 pm; Tuesday - Friday 9 am - 6 pm; Saturday 9 am - 1 pm

Factory Authorized Sales & Service for:

At North Jersey Marine We Specialize in Fishing Boats, Trailers, Outboards & Accessories
• Fish Finders • Trolling Motors • Down Riggers
• Custom Rigging • Fabrication • Fiberglass/Gel Cote Repairs
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New Jersey’s Reef Program



by John McClain, Principal Fisheries Biologist 
Barry Preim, Fisheries Technician

Recreational regulations were adopted
for sharks for the first time in 1999. These
regulations include a 48 inch total length
limit on all sharks; a two shark per vessel
possession limit and a prohibition on the
taking, possession, landing or sale of any
basking shark, whale shark, white shark or
sand tiger shark. These regulations do not
apply to smooth or spiny dogfish.

The N.J. Marine Fisheries Council 
and the Department of Environmental
Protection approved these regulations to 
be compatible with the previously adopted
federal management plan for Atlantic
sharks to protect and enhance shark popula-
tions. Because sharks and dogfish are fre-
quently taken incidentally while fishing for
other species, anglers don’t always know
what shark species they may have on the
end of their line. 

The following key to protected sharks
and other commonly caught sharks has
been taken, with the kind and appreciated
permission, from the “Anglers” Guide to
Sharks of the Northwestern United States’
published by the United States Department
of Interior, Fish and Wildlife Service,
Circular 179.

It is very important that anglers 
properly identify their shark catch for mul-
tiple reasons. One, of course, is so the
angler doesn’t risk a significant fine for a
mistake. Another is to recognize that pro-
tected species are listed based on concerns
about the apparent decline in population
levels, and care must be taken not to harm
the animal as you bring it to the boat for
release. 

Finally, all sharks, with the exception
of the two species of dogfish, can inflict
very serious bite injuries. Some sharks,
such as the sandbar shark and sand tiger
shark, come into our bays to give birth to
their young. The young “pups” may be
about the same size as the commonly
caught dogfish, but have sharp teeth and
can inflict a nasty bite. One additional word
of warning for anglers: the spines of a spiny
dogfish, located just in front of both dorsal
fins, can also inflict a wound which must
be cleaned thoroughly to prevent infection.
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Conserve Wildlife License Plates
Support Nongame and Endangered Species
Since 1972 the Endangered and Nongame species

Program (ENSP) has worked to protect and restore New
Jersey’s endangered and threatened wildlife. You can help
the program through the Income Tax Check-off and/or
through the Conserve Wildlife license plate.
These attractive $50 license plates let everyone know you believe in conservation, and
80% of your tax deductible payment goes directly to the ENSP. Personalized Wildlife
Plates are also available for $100.
Previously available by mail only, motorist may now purchase the plates in person at
DMV offices regardless of their current expiration date. Plates can also be purchased
from car dealers when buying or leasing a new car.

public input as to which option seemed
agreeable. The options are designed to: 1)
reduce the harvest of age 8 and older striped
bass by 14% or more in the year 2000 and
2) better utilize NJ’s striped bass resource in
both its coastal and producer waters while
complying with the mandatory 14% reduc-
tion.  

The two options were very similar: Option
1 proposes one fish per day greater than or
equal to 24 inches but less than 28 inches in
addition to one fish 28 inches or greater for
NJ marine waters, with the Bonus Fish
Program having one fish 28 inches or greater
per day and a 225,000 pound quota. Option
2 proposes one fish greater than or equal to
24 inches but less than 30 inches in addition
to one fish 30 inches or greater for NJ
marine waters, with the bonus fish program
having one fish 30 inches or greater per day
and a 225,000 pound quota. 

According to Amendment #5, if a state
wished to lower its coastal size limit, a spec-
ified reduction is required. These reductions
(lower size limit and the 14% reduction
required by Addendum IV) are satisfied by
having one fish 28 inches or greater in
length.  There are pluses and minuses of the
adaptive management strategies of plans like
those for striped bass and summer flounder.
On the negative side, management measures
are often complex and are modified fre-
quently, making it difficult for anglers to
maintain current knowledge of  the regula-
tions.

On the positive side, however, these man-
agement plans have been very successful in
allowing optimum utilization of the resource
while still achieving the goal of stock
restoration.

Future amendments to the Plan will look
into the feasibility of a uniform size  limit;
rather than the current dual size limit of pro-
ducer areas (20 inches) and coastal areas (28
inches). 

Striped Bass Management
continued from page 6

This year’s tournament will be held
Sunday, October 1st at Island Beach State
Park. Last year, more than 1,300 adults and
children registered for the event. The tourna-
ment generated more than $10,000 in regis-
tration fees which will be used for a variety
of conservation projects such as the construc-
tion of a beach access ramp, mobile fishing
education carts and specialized wheelchairs
for the disabled and elderly. The goal of the
tournament is to foster a life-long commit-
ment to marine conservation and the sport of
surf fishing.  The winner of the 1999
Governor’s Cup was Dorothy Harrison of
Wayne, New Jersey with a 29 inch Red
Drum.The Division would like to thank the
following organizations for their contribution
to the Eighth Annual Governor’s Surf Fishing
Tournament: Acme Tackle Company, Airlite
Plastics, Ande Inc., BASS Inc., Bill Lewis
Lures, Bry’s Marine, CK Co., Cabela’s,
Coleman Company, Cortland Line Company
Inc., Crowe Rope Industries LLC, DOA
Fishing Lures Inc., DeLorme, Dows Boat
Rental, Dubro Products, F.J. Neil, Fin-Nor
International, Fishing Tackle Co.Inc., Frank’s
Boats, Fulcrum Publishing, G. Loomis Inc.,
GBS Distribution LLC, H.D. Wood
Advertising, Hopkins Fishing Lures Co. Inc.,
Hoppe’s A Brunswick Company, Lamiglas
Inc., Leatherman Tool Group Inc., Legal
Limits, Mister Twister Inc., Morrison’s,
Ocean County Library, Ocean Fresh Seafood,
Orvis  (Paramus), Penn Fishing Tackle Mfg.
Company, Ramsey Outdoors (Ledgewood),
Ramsey Outdoors (Paramus), Rays Sport
Shop Inc. (N. Plainfield), SCS Limited,
SPRO Corporation, Scott’s Bait & Tackle,
Shakespeare, Sportsman’s Outpost,
Springfield Marine & Aluminum, TTI
Companies, Techsonic Industries Inc., The
Fisherman Magazine, Ultimus Lures, Water
Gremlin Co., and Wright & McGill Co. 

For more information and registration
forms contact: Division of Fish and Wildlife,
605 Pequest Rd., Oxford, NJ 07863 or call
908-637-4125.

Don’t Miss The Ninth Annual
Governor’s Surf Fishing TournamentKnow Your Sharks


