
The Department of Environmental Protection’s Division of Fish and 
Wildlife informs anglers that rules for the recreational harvest of 
summer flounder (fluke), black sea bass, tautog and river herring have changed. 

•	 The summer flounder recreational season is now May 5–Sept. 28. The 
recreational possession limit has decreased to five fish while the minimum 
size was reduced to 17.5 inches. 

•	 Also, the black sea bass recreational season has changed and is now  
May 19–Oct. 14; Nov. 1–Dec. 31. Note: The black sea bass season 
will likely change again during 2012. Visit our Web site at 
NJFishandWildlife.com or call the 24-hour marine fish “listen-only” line 
at (609) 292-2083 for the latest regulation updates.

•	 In an effort to encourage stock rebuilding of the coastwide tautog resource, 
new tautog regulations were put into place for 2012. The new minimum 
size for tautog is now 15 inches with the following possession limits and 
open seasons: four fish possession from Jan. 1–Feb. 28 ; four fish possession 
from Apr. 1–Apr. 30; one fish possession from July 27–Aug 31; one fish 
possession from Oct. 18–Nov. 15; four fish possession from Nov. 16–Dec. 31. 
Note: The tautog season will likely change again during 2012.

•	 Due to concern regarding the decline of river herring (alewife and blue-
back herring) stocks, the taking or possession of any river herring in New 
Jersey’s marine, tidal and freshwaters is prohibited. (See Last Call for River 
Herring in the 2011 Marine Digest for more information)

•	 At the time of publication, new recreational measures for black drum had 
not been adopted but could become effective during 2012. For the latest 
information on black drum visit our Web site at NJFishandWildlife.com 
or call the 24-hour marine fish “listen-only” line at (609) 292-2083.

These changes were implemented for New Jersey to remain in compli-
ance with the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission’s management 
plans for summer flounder and black sea bass. The new rules are aimed at 
providing adequate protection to these fish stocks while allowing New 
Jersey’s saltwater recreational anglers to participate to the fullest extent 
possible in these various fisheries.

New Jersey recreational marine regulations apply to all fish species when 
they are possessed in state waters or landed in New Jersey regardless of 
where they are caught.

Resource Information
Anyone who takes fisheries resources may be required to provide infor-
mation on the species, number, weight or other information pertinent to 
management of resources.

Methods of Recreational Fishing
No person shall take, catch, kill or attempt to take, catch or kill any fish 
within the marine waters of the state by any means except in the manner 
commonly known as angling with hand line or rod and line unless specifi-
cally provided for by statute or regulation.

Wanton Waste Prohibited
Fish of any species which are purposely killed shall become part of the 
angler’s daily possession limit and shall not be returned to the water from 
which they were taken. This does not apply to fish which are released 
alive and subsequently die, but does apply even to species without size/
possession limits.

Spear Fishing
Spear fishing may be conducted by means of a spear, harpoon or other 
missile while completely submerged in the marine waters of the state for 
any species, except lobster.

Persons who fish with a spear for species with size limits are reminded that 
it is their responsibility to ensure the fish meets the minimum size limits 
before being killed or injured.

Fish Measurement

Prohibited Species
It is illegal to take, possess, land, purchase, or sell any of the following species:
• Atlantic sturgeon	 • basking shark	 • big eye sand tiger shark	
• sand tiger shark	 • shortnose sturgeon	 • whale shark	 • white shark
• river herring (alewife and blueback herring; see herring illustrations, page 16)
•	 See Sharks (page 14) for the full list of prohibited shark species

Sea Turtles & Marine Mammals
It is illegal to intentionally molest, kill or possess sea turtles or marine 
mammals, or to possess any part thereof.

Finfish

How to Release Hooked Fish
Proper handling and releasing techniques reduce fish mortality.
•	 Land fish as quickly as possible, except when retrieving from depths 

of 40-feet or more. Fighting a fish to exhaustion increases mortality as 
does rapidly bringing up a fish through the changing water pressure and 
temperature gradients.

•	 Keep fish to be released in the water as much as possible. Plan ahead with 
tools and camera.

•	 Minimize physical injury. Do not touch gills or allow fish to flop around 
on deck.

•	 Carefully remove hooks using a dehooker or needle-nose pliers.
•	 Use plain hooks, not stainless, to rust away quickly if one must be left 

in a gut-hooked fish. Be prepared with long-handled dykes. Cut this line 
close to the hook’s eyelet.

•	 To bring a fish out of the water momentarily, use a neoprene net or one of 
knotless nylon. Handle the fish carefully using wet hands, wet cotton gloves 
or similar material to minimize loss of the fish’s protective slime layer.

•	 To revive lethargic fish hold in a normal, upright position. Move the fish 
forward in an “S” or figure-8 pattern so that water flows over the gills 
only from front to back.

•	 Use circle hooks (not offset) for species that bite and flee, such as striped 
bass, weakfish or sea bass. Consider pinching hook barbs.

Filleting
The filleting at sea of all fish with a size limit is prohibited. No parts of any fish 
caught on a previous fishing trip shall be in possession. Party boats may fillet fish 
at sea if they obtain a Special Fillet Permit. Applications may be obtained from 
Fish and Wildlife’s Bureau of Marine Fisheries. See Summer Flounder, page 14.

This is not the full law. Consult the Division of Fish and Wildlife 
for further details. All persons are reminded that the statutes, 
code and regulations are the legal authorities.
Red text in regulations indicates a change for this year. 
Green text denotes proposed regulation changes anticipated 
to be in effect later in 2012. 
Purple text indicates an important note.

1. �Lay fish flat on top of,  
or alongside a measuring 
rule, not measured over 
the body.

2. �Fish are measured  
from the tip of the snout 
(mouth closed) to the 
longest part of the tail.
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Black Sea Bass
The minimum size limit for black sea bass is 12.5 inches measured along the 
midline from the snout to the end of the central portion of the tail, not to 
include the tail filaments. (See fish measuring example above.) The possession 
limit is 25 fish with an open season of May 19–Oct. 14 and Nov. 1–Dec. 31.  
The black sea bass season will likely change during 2012. Visit our Web 
site at NJFishandWildlife.com or call the 24-hour marine fish “listen-only” 
line at (609) 292-2083 for the latest regulation updates.

Bluefish
The possession limit for bluefish is 15 fish. 

Black Drum
The minimum size limit for black drum is 16 inches in total length and the 
daily possession limit is three fish. There is no closed season for black drum. 

Proposed changes for black drum include a minimum size limit of 
32 inches (total length) with a daily possession limit of two fish. The 
“no closed season” for black drum would continue. Visit our Web site at 
NJFishandWildlife.com or call the 24-hour marine fish “listen-only” line at 
(609) 292-2083 for the latest regulation updates.

Red Drum
The red drum possession and size limits are one fish no less than 18 inches 
and not greater than 27 inches.

Striped Bass (includes Hybrid Striped Bass)
The possession limit for striped bass/hybrid striped bass is two fish with a 
minimum size limit of 28 inches for each fish. Anglers participating in the 

Striped Bass Bonus Program may possess an additional striped bass at least 
28 inches in length.

It is illegal to take, catch or kill any striped bass from or in any marine 
waters of this state, by means of a net of any description, or by any methods 
other than angling with a hook and line or by spear fishing.

It is illegal to possess any striped bass which is less than the legal minimum 
size of 28 inches. A person shall not fillet, or remove the head or tail, or parts 
thereof, of any striped bass at sea.

Harvest and possession of striped bass from federal waters (outside three 
miles) is prohibited.

Sale of striped bass in New Jersey is prohibited. 

Striped Bass Closed Seasons
No person may take, attempt to take, or have in possession any striped bass 
from the following closed waters:

Jan. 1–Feb. 28: All waters closed except the Atlantic Ocean from zero to 
three miles offshore. All inlets and bays are delineated from ocean waters 
by a Colregs Demarcation line.

April 1–May 31: Delaware River and Bay and their tributaries closed from 
the upstream side of the Calhoun St. bridge downstream to and including 
the Salem River and its tributaries. 

Note: Non-offset circle hooks are required to reduce striped bass bycatch 
mortality while fishing with natural bait during the striped bass springtime 
spawning area closure within the Delaware River and its tributaries. This 
restriction does not apply to hook sizes smaller than size 2.  >
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New Jersey’s Fishing Headquarters

www.RamseyOutdoor.com

It’s not just a new reel.
It’s a new way to fi sh.

Models— 
TU6000CI4, TU8000CI4, TU12000CI4

Lightweight with the power 
to stop big fi sh!

The lightest, most powerful 
rods ever built!

201-327-8141 
835 Rt. 17 South, Ramsey

201-261-5000 
240 Rt. 17 North, Paramus

973-584-7798 
281 Rt. 10 East, Succasunna

Greater security, 
greater comfort and
made in the USA — 

all in a single wallet.

Why use a front pocket wallet?
� ey’re not only better for your back, 
but they’re harder to pickpocket, too. 
Best of all, many of our wallets are 
made right here in Maine. And like all 
our wallets, this Rogue Bison Wallet is 
backed by our two year guarantee. 

So visit our website. 
We’re sure you’ll see something you like.

Rogue Wallet Co.
Portland, Maine  1-800-786-1768

www.roguewallet.com



These are the shark species that are prohibited from possession: Atlantic angel, 
basking, bigeye sixgill, bigeye thresher, bigeye tiger, bignose, Caribbean reef, 
Caribbean sharpnose, dusky, Galapagos, longfin mako, narrowtooth, night, 
sandbar, sandtiger, sevengill, silky, sixgill, smalltail, whale and white sharks.

Note: To differentiate sharks from dogfish—the smooth dogfish has flat, 
tiny teeth; the spiny dogfish has strong, dorsal spines, shorter than, and in 
front of, the dorsal fins. Neither are present in sharks.

Summer Flounder (Fluke)
The possession and minimum size limit for summer flounder is five fish at 
17.5 inches with an open season from May 5–Sept. 28.

Anglers may fillet one legal-sized summer flounder from their daily posses-
sion limit catch for use as bait. This carcass, commonly known as the rack, 
shall be kept intact so it can be measured for compliance with the minimum 
size limit. No parts of any summer flounder caught on a previous fishing 
trip shall be in possession; only fish just caught on this outing.

Tautog (Blackfish)
The minimum size limit for tautog is 15 inches. There is a four fish possession 
limit from Jan. 1–Feb. 28, a zero fish possession limit from March 1–March 
31, a four fish possession limit from April 1–April 30, a zero fish possession 
limit from May 1–July 26 (season closed), a one fish possession limit from July 
27–Aug. 31, a zero fish possession limit from Sept. 1–Oct. 17 (season closed), 
a one fish possession limit from Oct. 18–Nov. 15 and a four fish possession 
limit from Nov. 16–Dec. 31. 
Note: The tautog season will likely change again during 2012.

Weakfish (Gray & Spotted Seatrout)
The current possession and minimum size limit for weakfish is one fish at 
least 13 inches in length. 

Winter Flounder
The minimum possession and size limit for winter flounder is two fish at 12 
inches. For winter flounder the open season is March 23 –May 21.

Additional Marine Fishing Regulations
See pages 16–17 for the fish ID pages and pages 19–20 for the regulation charts.

Delaware Fishing License Requirement
A Delaware fishing license is now required for all non-resident anglers aged 16 and 
over fishing either fresh or tidal waters. Delaware fishing license information can be 
found at http://www.fw.delaware.gov/Fisheries/Pages/NewFishingLicense.aspx. 

New York License Requirement
New York's marine fishing license requirement has been suspended. New York 
is offering a free registry to all marine anglers. Visit http://www.dec.ny.gov/
permits/54950.html.

 Bait Fish
No license is required for the taking of baitfish for personal use with the 
following gear:
1.	 Dip nets 24 inches diameter or less for the taking of herring (excluding 

river herring) for live bait.
2.	 Bait seines 50 feet long or less.
3.	 Cast nets 20 feet in diameter or less.
4.	 Lift or umbrella nets four feet square or less.
5.	 Not more than five killipots.
6.	 Not more than two miniature fykes or pots for the taking of eels for bait.

The taking or possession of river herring is prohibited.
Fish taken in this manner may not be sold or used for barter unless a 

commercial bait net license is in possession.
No person shall take or attempt to take fish by any means from the Deal 

Lake flume, Lake Takanasse spillway or Wreck Pond spillway on any Monday, 
Wednesday or Friday during the months of April and May.

Striped Bass Bonus Program 
The Striped Bass Bonus Program will continue this year, where anglers 
possessing a bonus permit may keep a third striper at 28 inches or greater.

The current allocation from the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries 
Commission is 321,750 pounds. Should New Jersey exceed this quota, any 
overage would be subtracted from the following year’s quota.

Application Process: Striped Bass Bonus Program permits are only avail-
able online. Go to www.NJ.WildlifeLicense.com complete the application 
and immediately print one Bonus Permit (application fee, $2). The permit 
is non-transferable and valid for the current calendar year. Only one permit 
can be used per day. Harvest reporting also must be online.

Striped Bass Bonus Permit Harvest Reporting: All information on the Bonus 
Permit must be completed immediately after harvest and prior to transportation. 
After reporting harvest information at www.NJ.WildlifeLicense.com anglers 
are then eligible to receive another bonus permit for the $2 application fee. 
Note: Harvest information must be reported online.

Striped bass anglers are encouraged to report all fishing activity 
after each trip. Visit Fish and Wildlife's Volunteer Angler Survey at  
NJFishandWildlife.com/marinesurvey.htm.

Sharks
The minimum size limit for any species of shark, except small coastal 
group and dogfish is 54 inches fork length. See dogfish Note and measuring 
illustration for fork length below.

The 2012 shark regulations complement existing federal shark regulations 
(see 2012 Federal Recreational Regulations table, page 20). However, the 
following additional measures are required for state waters:
•	 In state waters, there is no minimum size limit for small coastal sharks* 

in the recreational fishery, but federal regulations include a 54-inch 
minimum size limit for blacknose and finetooth small coastal sharks.

•	 All sharks within the large coastal group* will have a closed season within 
state waters from May 15 through July 15 to protect spawning female 
sharks during the pupping season.

*	See page 20 footnote for species list defining small coastal, large coastal 
and pelagic sharks.
All sharks harvested by recreational fishermen must have heads, tails and fins 

attached naturally to the carcass until landed. Anglers may still gut and bleed 
the carcass as long as the tail is not removed. Filleting sharks at sea is prohibited.

Recreational anglers should access the following National Oceanic and 
Atmospheric Administration Web site, http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/sfa/
hms/sharks/2008/Rec_shark_ID_placard.pdf to view the publication 
Sharks That Can Be Legally Retained By Recreational Anglers In The Atlantic 
Ocean, Caribbean Sea And Gulf Of Mexico, an excellent pictorial guide to 
identifying sharks that are legal to harvest.

Shark

Fork Length

Red text in regulations indicates a change for this year.
Green text denotes proposed regulation changes anticipated 
to be in effect later in 2012. 
Purple text indicates an important note.
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Motor Boat Registration  
and Title Requirements
NJ Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC)

Registration
Most boats must be registered to operate on  
New Jersey waterways. 

•	 All titled boats must be registered also. 
•	 �Any boat (including jet skis and non-titled 

watercraft), mechanically propelled (incl. 
electric motors), regardless of length, must 
be registered. 

•	 �Boats greater than 12 feet in length, regardless 
of propulsion means, must be titled and 
registered at an MVC office.

Boats and marine equipment which need not be 
registered:

•	 �Those not based in New Jersey or operating 
here less than 180 consecutive days that 
are operating under a federally approved 
numbering system from another state

•	 Ship’s lifeboats
•	 �Non-motorized vessels used exclusively on 

small lakes and ponds on private property
•	 �Racing vessels with New Jersey State Marine 

Police permit
•	 �Non-motorized inflatable device, surfboard, 

racing shell, dinghy, canoe or kayak
•	 �Non-motorized vessel less than 12 feet in length

Title
For use on New Jersey waterways, all boats 
more than 12 feet in length must be titled, with 
the exception of ship’s lifeboat, canoe, kayak, 
inflatable, surfboard, rowing scull, racing shell, 
tender/dinghy used for direct transportation 
between a vessel and shore for no other purposes. 

Boat Operator License (MVC)
An operator license is required to operate power 
vessels on fresh, non-tidal waters such as lakes, 
creeks and rivers. (Minimum age 16 years; with 
certain exceptions.) 

For More Information:
New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission 
(888) 486-3339 toll free in NJ or 
(609) 292-6500 from out-of-state 
www.nj.gov/mvc/

Boat Safety Certificate (NJSP)
A boat safety certificate (from an approved boat 
safety course; see NJSP Web site, below) is required 
to operate a personal watercraft or power vessel, 
including electric motors, in NJ waters (tidal and 
non-tidal).

New Jersey State Police (NJSP) 
(609) 882-2000 
www.njsp.org/maritime
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The New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) established the New Jersey 
Saltwater Recreational Registry Program (NJSRRP), effective May 4, 2011, to exempt 
saltwater recreational anglers fishing in New Jersey’s marine and tidal waters from the 
federal registry and the $15 federal registration fee imposed in 2011. 

The goal of the registry is to provide the National Marine Fisheries Service with the 
most accurate information possible that can be used to determine the health of fish 
stocks. Reliable, universally trusted data will aid anglers, fisheries managers and other 
stakeholders in their combined efforts so that rules are set to effectively and fairly ensure 
the long-term sustainability of recreational fishing.

Registering with the NJSRRP is quick, easy and FREE.

Who needs to register? NOTE: Anglers with either a valid registration from the National 
Saltwater Angler Registry, a valid fishing license from another exempted state or a New 
Jersey freshwater fishing license are required to register (for free) with the NJSRRP. 
Registration with New Jersey will exempt you from having to register with the National 
Saltwater Angler Registry. New Jersey registered anglers must still comply with saltwater 
license requirements in other states.

Individual saltwater anglers age 16 and older MUST register if ANY of the following 
criteria are met:
•	 .Recreational fishing with a hand line or rod and line, spearfish or fish by hand 
•	 Recreational fishing in the marine and fresh tidal waters of the State of New Jersey
•	 �Recreational fishing in marine waters outside the State of New Jersey but landing the 

catch in New Jersey

The only means to register is online at SaltwaterRegistry.nj.gov

Individual saltwater anglers are EXEMPT from registering if either of the following apply:
•	 Under the age of 16
•	 Solely fish on for-hire (party and charter) vessels that are registered with the NJSRRP

For-hire vessel owners/operators MUST register if they:
•	 �Carry individuals who engage in recreational fishing in the marine and fresh tidal 

waters of the State of New Jersey  OR
•	 �Carry individuals who engage in recreational fishing in the marine waters outside the 

State of New Jersey but land their catch in New Jersey

Anglers who registered in 2011 are reminded that registrations expire at the end of each 
calendar year and must be renewed annually.

For more information on New Jersey’s registry program, visit the New Jersey Saltwater 
Recreational Registry Program website at SaltwaterRegistry.nj.gov.

For more information about the national overhaul of the recreational data collection survey, 
and how registry database information will be used, visit the website CountMyFish.noaa.gov.

}}�NEW Jersey Saltwater  
recreational registry program

Ray Ringen
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13.	 Crab Pot/Trot Line seasons:  
Delaware Bay and tributaries: April 6–Dec. 4 
All other waters: March 15–Nov. 30
The following waters, and their tributaries, are closed to the use of crab 
pots and trot lines: Cumberland Co.: Cohansey River and creeks named 
Back, Cedar, Nantuxent, Fortescue, Oranoken and Dividing; Cape May 
Co.: West and Bidwell Creeks and the Cape May Canal; Atlantic Co.: 
Hammock Cove (Dry Bay); Ocean Co.: on east shore of Barnegat Bay, 
that area of Sedge Islands Wildlife Management Area enclosed by a line 
drawn from the northern bank of Fishing Creek on Island Beach State 
Park to the northern tip of the Sedge Islands (Hensler Island), then south 
from point to point along the western side of the Sedge Islands WMA and 
terminating on the most southwestern point of Island Beach State Park.

14.	 Fish and Wildlife will issue a non-commercial crab dredge license for 
the harvest of not more that one bushel of crabs per day during the 
crab dredge season. Crabs so taken may not be sold or offered for barter. 
There is a fee of $15 for this non-commercial crab dredge license. See page 
21 for details on purchasing a non-commercial crab dredge license.
Notice: All non-collapsible Chesapeake-style crab pots (see illustration 
on page 21) must be constructed to include a biodegradable panel designed 
to create an opening to allow crabs and other organisms to escape if the 
pot is lost or abandoned. All non-collapsible Chesapeake-style crab pots 
set in any manmade lagoon or any water body less than 150 feet wide 
must also include a turtle excluder device inside all pot entrance funnels.

 Horseshoe Crabs
The harvest of horseshoe crabs is prohibited. Possession of horseshoe crabs 
is also prohibited except for those individuals holding a scientific collecting 
permit for research and education and those fishermen that can provide 
suitable documentation that the horseshoe crabs in their possession were 
harvested outside of New Jersey.

 Mollusks
1.	 All persons must be licensed to harvest any shellfish. See license infor-

mation, page 21. Shellfish means any species of benthic mollusks (except 
conch) including hard and soft clams, oysters, surf clams, bay scallops 
and mussels.

2.	 It is illegal to harvest shellfish from condemned waters, even for bait 
purposes. It is also illegal to harvest shellfish including surf clams from 
beaches adjacent to water classified as condemned. Shellfish water classifi-
cation charts are available from license agents or any state shellfish office. 
See page 21 for shellfish license information. Charts are updated annually.

3.	 Shellfish harvesting is prohibited before sunrise, after sunset and on 
Sunday, except in the seasonally approved areas of the Navesink and 
Shrewsbury rivers.

4.	 Harvesting shellfish on public grounds is restricted to the use of hand 
implements. 

5.	 It is illegal to harvest shellfish from leased grounds. These grounds are 
delineated by stakes or buoys set by the lease holder. Charts of the leases 
may be examined at Fish and Wildlife’s Nacote Creek or Delaware Bay 
shellfish offices during regular business hours. Invasion onto leased 
grounds is punishable by penalties up to $3,000 and loss of all equipment.

 Recreational Shellfishing
1.	 No holder of any recreational shellfish license 

may take more than a total of 150 shellfish 
(in aggregate) per day. See Shellfish License 
Information, page 21.

2.	 It is illegal to dredge shellfish on public 
grounds. Here, hand implements are the only 
legal harvest methods.

3.	 The minimum size of hard clams that may be 
harvested is 11⁄2 inches in length. Clams less than 11⁄2 inches in length must 
immediately be returned to the bottom from which they were taken.  >  

 Crustaceans
American Lobster
The legal possession size of whole lobsters, 
measured from the rear of the eye socket 
along a line parallel to the center line of the 
body shell to the rear of the body shell, shall 
be not less than 3 3⁄8 inches nor greater than 
51⁄4 inches. Lobster parts may not be possessed 
at sea or landed.

The possession limit is six lobsters per 
person. No person shall possess any lobster 
with eggs attached or from which eggs have 
been removed or any female lobster with a v-notched tail, as illustrated above.

Note: The lobster season will likely change again during 2012.
The use of spears, gigs, gaffs or other penetrating devices as a method of 

capture for lobsters is prohibited. A recreational lobster pot permit and fish 
pot license is required to use pots or traps to capture lobsters. For details call  
(609) 748-2020. Lobsters taken recreationally may not be sold or offered for sale.

Crabs
1.	 Crabs may be taken recreationally with hand lines, manually operated 

collapsible traps or scoop nets without a license. A non-commercial crab 
pot license is required for the use of not more than two non-collapsible 
Chesapeake-style crab pots (see illustration on page 21) or two trot 
lines to harvest crabs. See page 21 for the non-commercial crab pot 
license information. 

2.	 It is illegal to harvest or possess more than one bushel of crabs per day 
per person or offer for sale any crabs without having in your possession 
a valid commercial crabbing license.

3.	 Minimum size for crabs that may be 
harvested (measured from point to 
point of shell) are as follows:

a)	 Peeler or shedder crab: 3 inches
b)	 Soft crab: 31⁄2 inches
c)	 Hard crab: 41⁄2 inches (possession)

4.	 All female crabs with eggs attached 
and all undersized crabs shall be 
returned to the water immediately.

5.	 Recreational trot lines shall not 
exceed 150 feet in length with a 
maximum of 25 baits.

6.	 All pots and trot lines shall be marked with the identification number 
of the owner.

7.	 All crab pots must be tended at least once every 72 hours.
8.	 No floating line may be used on any crab pot or crab pot buoy.
9.	 No crab pot shall be placed in any area that would obstruct or impede 

navigation or in any creek less than 50 feet wide.
10.	Only the owner, his agent or a law enforcement officer may raise or 

remove contents of a legally set fishing device.
11.	 Crabs taken with a bait seine may be retained for personal use only if 

the fisherman possesses a bait net license, and may not be bartered or 
sold unless the fisherman possesses a commercial crab license.

12.	 No crabs may be harvested from the Newark Bay Complex. For more 
information, see Health Advisory on page 28.

Measure crabs point to point.

Lobster

V notch

Red text in regulations indicates a change for this year.
Green text denotes proposed regulation changes anticipated 
to be in effect later in 2012. 
Purple text indicates an important note.

1½"

18	 |	 New Jersey Fish & Wildlife Digest		  May 2012 
		  2012 Marine Issue	 NJFishandWildlife.com	

Mollusks & Crustaceans
marine REGULATIONS



2012 New Jersey Recreational Fishing Seasons, Minimum Size 
and Possession Limits Regulations in red are new this year. See page 12 for how to measure fish.

Species Open Season Minimum  
Length

Harvest & Possession Limit 
(per person unless noted)

American Eel No Closed Season 6" 50
Black Druma No Closed Season 16" 3

Black Sea Bassa May 19–Oct. 14
Nov. 1–Dec. 31 12.5"* 25

Bluefish No Closed Season None 15
Cobia No Closed Season 37" 2
Cod No Closed Season 21" No Limit
Haddock No Closed Season 21" No Limit
King Mackerel No Closed Season 23" 3
Pollock No Closed Season 19" No Limit
Red Drum No Closed Season 18" 1 not greater than 27"
River Herring No Open Season None 0

Scup (Porgy) Jan. 1–Feb. 28
July 1–Dec. 31 9" 50

Shad No Closed Season None 6

Sharkb,c

Large coastal group† Jan. 1–May 14
July 16–Dec. 31

54" fork 
length 

One Shark (of any species, 
except prohibited species) 
per vessel per trip; plus one 
Atlantic sharpnose shark per 
person per trip (no minimum 
size); plus one bonnethead 
shark per person per trip  

(no minimum size).

Small coastal group† No closed season None

Pelagic group† No closed season 54" fork 
length

Smooth Dogfish No Closed Season None No Limit
Spanish Mackerel No Closed Season 14" 10
Striped Bass or Hybrid Striped Bass
Delaware River & tributaries** 
(Calhoun St. bridge to Salem 
River & tributaries)

March 1–March 31  
and  

June 1–Dec. 31

28" 2
Delaware River & tributaries** 
(upstream of Calhoun St. bridge) March 1–Dec. 31

Atlantic Oceand 
(0–3 nautical miles from shore)

No Closed Season

Rivers, bay and estuaries March 1–Dec. 31
3–200 nautical miles 
(federal waters) Prohibited – 0

Summer Flounder May 5–Sept. 28 17.5" 5

Tautog
a

Jan. 1–Feb. 28 15" 4
March 1–March 30 – 0

April 1–April 30 15" 4
May 1–July 26 – 0

July 27–Aug. 31 15" 1
Sept. 1–Oct. 17 – 0
Oct. 18–Nov. 15 15" 1
Nov. 16–Dec. 31 15" 4

Weakfish No Closed Season 13" 1
Winter Flounder March 23–May 21 12" 2
Note: No species of fish with a minimum size limit listed above may be filleted or cleaned at sea. Party boats licensed 
to carry 15 or more passengers may apply for a permit to fillet the above species. See Summer Flounder, page 14.
Blue Crab

peeler or shedder No Closed Seasone 3"
1 bushelsoft No Closed Seasone 3½"

hard No Closed Seasone 4½"

Lobstera (carapace length) No Closed Season 33/8" 6
Hard Clam (license required) No Closed Season 1½" 150 clams
	a	 Regulation changes possible during 2012.
	b	 Not including dogfish; see description on page 14 under Sharks.
	c	 See page 12 for a list of Prohibited Species.
	d	 Atlantic Ocean greater than three miles from shore: harvest and possession prohibited.
	e	 Unless using non-collapsible, Chesapeake-style crab pots. See sections on crab pots, pages 18 and 21.
	*	 Excluding tail filaments. (See illustration, page 12.) 
	**	 See Closed Seasons (page 13) for specifics of springtime non-offset circle hook requirements.
	†	 See page 20 for Federal Recreational Regulations.

Specific seasons, regulations and size limits exist 
for oyster beds in Great Bay, Delaware Bay, plus 
the Mullica, Great Egg Harbor and Tuckahoe 
rivers. Check with the nearest shellfish office 
(Nacote Creek or Delaware Bay) for these 
detailed regulations.

4.	 It is illegal to harvest shellfish on Sunday 
except in the seasonal waters of the Navesink 
and Shrewsbury rivers between Nov. 1 and 
April 30.

5.	 Shells taken in the process of harvesting 
oysters must be culled from the live oysters 
and returned 
immediately to 
the area from 
where they were 
taken.

Commercial Shellfishing
1.	 Shellfish may be sold only to certified dealers. 

All persons selling shellfish commercially must 
tag each container listing date of harvest, name 
and address of the harvester and the waters 
from which the shellfish were harvested.

2.	 It is illegal to dredge shellfish on public grounds. 
All harvesting on public grounds is restricted 
to the use of hand implements.

3.	 Shells taken in the process of harvesting 
oysters must be culled from the live oysters 
and immediately returned to the area from 
where they were taken.

4.	 The minimum size of hard clams that may be 
harvested is 11⁄2 inches in length. Clams less than 
11⁄2 inches must immediately be returned to the 
bottom from which they were taken. Specific 
seasons, regulations and size limits exist for 
oyster beds in Great Bay, Delaware Bay, plus 
the Mullica, Great Egg Harbor, and Tuckahoe 
rivers. Check with the nearest shellfish office 
(Nacote Creek or Delaware Bay) for these 
detailed regulations.

5.	 It is illegal to harvest shellfish on Sunday except 
in the seasonal waters of the Navesink and 
Shrewsbury rivers between Nov. 1 and April 30 
when it is legal. 

Low Cost Insurance—Boat & Equipment
•Tournament coverage  •Fishing equipment coverage 
•Broad cruising area  •Optional fi shing guide coverage

For a free quote call 866-532-1829
mention priority code 4876

or apply online at BoatUSAngler.com
Policies subject to limits and exclusions.
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2012 Federal Recreational Regulations for Minimum Size, Possession Limits and Seasons  
See page 12 for how to measure fish. See Recreational Minimum Size, Possession Limits and Seasons (page 19) for state waters listings of species 
not included in these federal waters regulations (from 3–200nm). For federal regulation questions, please contact the National Marine Fisheries Service at 
(978) 281-9260, or go to www.nmfs.noaa.gov.

Species Season Minimum Size
Possession Limit  

(number per angler per day  
unless otherwise specified)

Notes

Cod Year round 22" 10 per person per day For more information go to www.nero.noaa.gov/nero/regs/

Striped Bass NA 28" total length 2, plus bonus fish with card,  
no possession allowed in EEZ

Possession prohibited in federal waters (3–200 nm). 
See pages 13 and 19 for NJ waters.

Dolphin  
(Mahi mahi)

Year round None
10 per day, not to exceed 60 per vessel, 

which ever is less — except on a charter or  
headboat, then 10 per paying passenger.

For current federal waters regulations (3–200nm), 
refer to www.nmfs.noaa.gov/sfa/hms/ or call 
(727) 824-5399.

Marlin, White Year round 66" lower jaw–  
fork length None

Billfish require Highly Migratory Species (HMS) permit 
when fishing in federal waters (3–200 nm). For permits 
refer to www.hmspermits.gov or call (888) 872-8862. 

During any sanctioned billfish tournaments offering 
prize money, non-offset circle hooks are required for 
lures with natural bait or natural/artificial bait combos. 

All non-tournament billfish landings must be 
reported to NMFS within 24 hours, either online at 
www.hmspermits.gov or by calling (800) 894-5528. 

For current regulations refer to 
www.nmfs.noaa.gov/sfa/hms/ or call (727) 824-5399.

Marlin, Blue Year round 99" lower jaw–  
fork length None

Roundscale 
Spearfish

Year round 66" lower jaw–  
fork length None

Sailfish Year round 63" lower jaw– 
fork length None

Spearfish, 
Longbill

None None Prohibited

Golden Tilefish Year round None None For current federal waters regulations (3–200nm), refer 
to www.safmc.net or call toll free (866) SAFMC-10.

Swordfish Year round

47" lower jaw–  
fork length if the head 
is naturally attached 
or 29" cleithrum to 

caudal keel if the head 
has been removed.

For anglers: 1 per person, no more than  
4 per vessel per trip.

For charter vessels: 1 per paying passen-
ger, no more than 6 per vessel per trip.

For headboat vessels: 1 per paying passen-
ger, no more than 15 per vessel per trip.

Swordfish, tuna and sharks require an HMS permit 
when fishing in federal waters (3–200 nm). For permits, 
refer to www.hmspermits.gov or call (888) 872-8862. 

All non-tournament swordfish landings must be 
reported to NMFS within 24 hours either online at 
www.hmspermits.gov or by calling (800) 894-5528. 
†Bluefin tuna are managed in two regions; Northern, 
extending north from the Great Egg Inlet and Southern 
extending south from Great Egg Inlet. Fishing for bluefin 
tuna in the Gulf of Mexico is prohibited. Bluefin tuna 
retention limits may change throughout the season. 
Visit www.hmspermits.gov or call (888) 872-8862 or 
(978) 281-9260 for current information.

All recreational bluefin tuna landings must be 
reported to NMFS within 24 hours either online at 
www.hmspermits.gov or by calling (888) 872-8862. 

For current federal waters regulations (3–200nm), 
refer to www.nmfs.noaa.gov/sfa/hms/ or 
call (301) 713-2347 for swordfish/sharks or 
(978) 281-9260 for tunas.

Tuna, Albacore 
(Longfin) Year round None None

Tuna, Bigeye Year round 27" curved fork length None

Tuna, Bluefin†

January 1, 2012 to 
December 31, 2012 

or until season is 
closed.

<27"  
curved fork length Prohibited

>27" to <73"  
curved fork length

BFT limits can change during the season. 
Charter/headboat regs changed in  

April 2012. Prior to departure,  
check www.hmspermits.gov or  

888-USA-TUNA for up-to-date limits.
Tuna, Skipjack Year round None None

Tuna, Yellowfin Year round 27" curved fork length 3 per person per trip

Sharks*, other 
than spiny or 
smooth dogfish

Year round

54" fork length for 
authorized species* 
except no minimum 

size for Atlantic 
sharpnose or  

bonnethead sharks

1 authorized* shark/vessel/trip  
plus 1 Atlantic sharpnose and  

1 bonnethead shark/person/trip

See below for list of shark groups which MAY 
be kept or MUST be released. Swordfish, tuna 
and sharks require an HMS permit when fishing 
in federal waters (3–200 nm). For permits, refer 
to www.hmspermits.gov or call (888) 872-8862. 
Recreational fishermen (those that do not have a 
limited access commercial shark permit) can not sell, 
barter or trade any Atlantic shark or shark pieces.

Wahoo Year round None 2 per person per day For more information, contact the South Atlantic 
Fisheries Management Council at (727) 824-5326.Wreckfish None None Prohibited

*�Shark Species That May Be Kept (Authorized Species): Large Coastal Shark—blacktip, bull, lemon, nurse, tiger, spinner, scalloped hammer-
head, smooth hammerhead, great hammerhead; Small Coastal Shark—Atlantic sharpnose, bonnethead, blacknose, finetooth; Pelagic Shark—Shortfin 
mako, blue, porbeagle, oceanic whitetip and common thresher. Shark Species That MUST Be Released (Prohibited Species): Atlantic angel, 
basking, bigeye sand tiger, bigeye sixgill, bigeye thresher, bignose, Caribbean reef, Caribbean sharpnose, dusky, Galapagos, longfin mako, narrowtooth, 
night, sandbar, sand tiger, sevengill, silky, sixgill, smalltail, whale and white.

Regulations concerning highly migratory species (HMS) such as tuna, swordfish, shark and billfish, are subject to change. Refer to www.nmfs.noaa.gov/sfa/hms/ 
for a list of complete federal regulations for highly migratory species. For questions/clarification of the federal highly migratory species regulations, contact the 
National Marine Fisheries Service at (301) 713-2347 or go to www.nmfs.noaa.gov.
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entrance. Biodegradable panels must measure at least 6½-inch wide by 5-inch 
high and be located in the upper section of the crab pot. The panel must be 
constructed of, or fastened to the pot with wood lath, cotton, hemp, sisal or jute 
twine not greater than 3/16" diameter, or non-stainless steel, uncoated ferrous 
metal not greater than 3/32" diameter. The door or a side of the pot may serve 
as the biodegradable panel ONLY if it is fastened to the pot with any of the 
material specified above. Crabbers should be aware that ALL non-collapsible, 
Chesapeake-style crab pots MUST be licensed and marked with the gear 
identification number of the owner. For crab pot license information and 
regulations, see the regulations on page 18 and license agents below. 

Shellfish License Information
A clamming license is now called a shellfish license and is required for harvesting 
of all species of benthic mollusks (with the exception of conchs, addressed 
in the commercial marine fisheries regulations), including, but not limited 
to, hard and soft clams, surf clams, oysters, bay scallops and mussels. Other 
specific commercial shellfish licenses exist such as surf clam dredge, Delaware 
Bay oyster dredge boat, and Delaware Bay licenses to harvest in Areas 1, 2 and 3. 

Anyone engaged in any shellfish harvesting activity with someone holding 
a commercial shellfish license must also possess their own commercial 
shellfish license. 

The senior shellfish license is a lifetime license.
For shellfishing regulations, see pages 18–19. Prior to harvesting any 

shellfish, be certain to consult the Shellfish Growing Water Classification 
Charts published by DEP’s Bureau of Marine Water Monitoring, 
available at any shellfish license agent, state shellfish offices, online at 
http://www.nj.gov/dep/bmw/waterclass.htm or call the Bureau of Marine 
Water Monitoring at (609) 748-2000. Shellfish licenses are available for 
purchase online at www.NJ.WildlifeLicense.com. 

Shellfish License Fees
•	 Resident recreational shellfish: $10 

Harvest limit of 150 shellfish (in aggregate) per day. Sale of catch prohibited.
•	 Non-resident recreational shellfish: $20 

Harvest limit of 150 shellfish (in aggregate) per day. Sale of catch prohibited. 
License valid only during the months of June, July, August and September.

•	 Juvenile recreational shellfish: $2 
For persons under 14 years of age. Subject to same restrictions as resident 
or nonresident adult recreational license holders. 

•	 Resident commercial shellfish: $50 
Unlimited harvest. Shellfish may be sold only to certified dealers.

•	 Non-resident Commercial Shellfish: $250  
Unlimited harvest. Shellfish may be sold to certified dealers only.

•	 Senior citizen recreational shellfish license: FREE ($2 application fee)  
NJ residents age 62 years or older. Harvest limit, 150 shellfish (in aggregate) 
per day. Sale of shellfish prohibited.

•	 Disabled veterans: Fish and Wildlife-certified disabled veterans are 
eligible for free shellfish license at any shellfish license agent location. 
For more information on how to become certified, call (908) 637-4125.

Crab Pot License Information
Crab Pot licenses are available at all agent locations:
Recreational Crab Pot/Trot Line Licenses and Non-Commercial Crab Dredge 
Licenses are available for purchase online at: www.NJ.WildlifeLicense.com or 
at any Fish and Wildlife-certified license agent including those license agents 
listed at right. For the most current list of Fish and Wildlife-certified license 
agents, go to NJFishandWildlife.com/agentlst.htm.

•	 Recreational crab pot/trot line license: $2 
Harvest limit of one bushel per day. Refer to the shellfish regulations 
on page 18 for all recreational crabbing regulations. 

•	 Non-commercial crab dredge license: $15 
Harvest limit of one bushel per day during the crab dredge season. Refer 
to the crab regulations on page 18 for all recreational crabbing regulations.

Terrapin Excluders and Biodegradable Panels 
Are Required on Chesapeake-Style Crab Pots
Users of non-collapsible, Chesapeake-style crab pots should be aware that 
all pots set in any body of water less than 150-feet wide at mean low tide 
or in any manmade lagoon MUST include diamondback terrapin excluder 
devices. In addition, all non-collapsible, Chesapeake-style crab pots set in 
any body of water MUST include biodegradable panels.

These crab pot modifications will help reduce the unintentional drowning 
of terrapins and allow for escapement of these and other species in the event 
that pots are lost or abandoned. Terrapin excluder devices must be no larger 
than 2-inch high by 6-inch wide and securely fastened inside each funnel 

Shellfish and Non-Commercial  
Crab Pot License Agents (For over-the-counter sales only.)
ATLANTIC COUNTY 
Egg Harbor True Value, 208 N. Philadelphia Ave., Egg Harbor City... (609) 965-0815
Fish Finder Marina, 3645 Atlantic-Brigantine Blvd., Brigantine.......... (609) 457-5384
Main Street Hardware, 6016 Main St., Mays Landing…………........ (609) 625-4941
NJ Div. Fish and Wildlife, 360 Rt. 9 N (milepost 51), Port Republic...(609) 748-2021
Zeus Sporting Goods, 6679 Black Horse Pike, Egg Harbor Twp...... (609) 646-1668
CAMDEN COUNTY
Towne News, 81 So. Whitehorse Pike, Berlin.................................. (856) 768-9132
CAPE MAY COUNTY 
Avalon Hodge Podge, 2389 Ocean Dr., Avalon................................ (609) 967-3274
Belleplain Supply, 346 Handsmill Rd., Bellplain................................. (609) 861-2345
Budd’s Bait & Tackle, 109 Fullingmill Rd., Villas................................. (609) 886-6935
Capt. Tate’s Tackle Box, 450 No. Route 47, Cape May CH.............. (609) 861-4001
City of Ocean City, 861 Asbury Ave., Ocean City............................ (609) 525-9328
Just Sports, 21 Mechanic St., Cape May Court House.................... (609) 465-6171
Smuggler’s Cove, 370 83rd St., Stone Harbor................................. (609) 368-1700
Upper Township, 2100 Tuckahoe Rd., Tuckahoe ............................. (609) 628-2805
Wal*Mart, 3159 Rt. 9S, Rio Grande................................................. (609) 465-7760 
CUMBERLAND COUNTY 
AIR Bait & Tackle, 222 Bridgeton Fairton Rd., Bridgeton................... (856) 451-1800
Beaver Dam Boat Rentals, 514 Old Beaver Dam Rd., Newport....... (856) 447-3633
Big Daddy’s Sport Haven, 595 Sherman Ave., Millville..................... (856) 453-9009
Delaware Bay Office, 1672 E. Buckshutem Rd., Millville.................. (856) 785-0730
Shire Products, 389 S. Lincoln Ave., Vineland ................................. (856) 692-3646
GLOUCESTER COUNTY 
Sportsman’s Outpost, 2517 Fries Mill Rd., Williamstown................. (856) 881-3244
HUDSON COUNTY
Caso’s Gun-A-Rama, 176 Danforth Ave., Jersey City...................... (201) 435-5099
MIDDLESEX COUNTY
Auto Parts of Woodbridge, 108 Main St., Woodbridge..................... (732) 634-6264
Sayreville Sportsman Shop, 52 Washington Ave., Sayreville............ (732) 238-2060
MONMOUTH COUNTY 
Brielle Tackle, 800 Ashley Ave., Brielle............................................. (732) 528-5720
L & H Woods and Water, 2045 Rt. 35, Wall...................................... (732) 282-1812
OCEAN COUNTY
American Sportsman, 857 Mill Creek Rd., Manahawkin................... (609) 597-4104
The Bait Shop, 57 Main St., Bradley Beach...................................... (732) 361-8500
Bob Kislin’s, 1214 Rt. 37 East, Toms River....................................... (732) 929-9300
Chumbucket, 381 Rt. 9, West Creek............................................... (609) 294-2500
Downes Bait & Tackle, 287 Brennan Concourse, Bayville................. (732) 269-0137
Fish Bonz Bait & Tackle, 103 Lacey Rd., Forked River...................... (609) 971-2928
Grizz’s Forked River B & T,232 N. Main St., Forked River................. (609) 693-9298
Lacey Marine, 308 Rt. 9, So., Forked River...................................... (609) 693-0151
L & H Woods and Water, 403 Rt. 9, Waretown................................. (609) 242-1812
Pell’s Fish & Sport Shop, 335 Mantoloking Rd., Bricktown............... (732) 477-2121
Surf City Bait & Tackle, 317 Long Beach Blvd., Surf City.................. (609) 494-2333
Tip’s Hardware, 218 Main St., West Creek....................................... (609) 296-3192
SOMERSET COUNTY
Efinger Sporting Goods, 513 W. Union Ave., Bound Brook.............. (732) 356-0604
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