

State of New Jersey

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION Natural and Historic Resources Division of Fish and Wildlife P.O. Box 420; Mail Code 501-03 Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0420 TEL: (609) 292-2965 FAX: (609) 984-1414 Visit our Website: WWW.NJFISHANDWILDLIFE.COM Larry Herrighty, Director

CATHERINE R. McCABE Commissioner

January 2, 2019

Dear New Jersey Summer Flounder Permit Holder: New Jersey Summer Flounder Dealer:

As required by N.J.A.C. 7:25-18.12(i)2xii, the Department must notify all New Jersey Summer Flounder Permit holders of the annual season allocations. This letter shall serve as notice regarding the 2019 New Jersey commercial summer flounder quota, seasons, and trip limits.

The preliminary 2019 summer flounder coast wide commercial quota is 6,670,000 pounds. The commercial quota includes an accountability measure of 1,040,000 pounds from higher than expected discards during the 2017 commercial fishing season. This results in a New Jersey commercial quota of 1,115,557 pounds, 16.7 percent of the coast wide commercial allocation.

This quota does not represent any overages that may have occurred by the end of the 2018 season. After allocating ten percent, but not more than 200,000 pounds of the quota for by-catch landings as required by N.J.A.C. 7:25-18.12(i)2, the directed fishery quota for 2019 is 1,004,001 pounds. This quota is allocated for six seasons as follows:

Directed Season	Directed	By-Catch
	(pounds)	(pounds)
January 6 - February 28	281,120	31,236
March 3 - April 30	110,440	12,271
May 5 - June 30	105,420	11,713
July 7- August 31	105,420	11,713
September 1 - October 31	291,160	32,351
November 3- December 31	110,440	12,271

The daily trip limits and maximum weekly (Sunday to Saturday) landing days for the directed fishery for each season are listed below. Note: Trip Limits will remain unchanged for the 2019 commercial fishing year.

Jan-Feb 750 pound trip limit with a maximum of two landings per 2 week period OR 1,500 pound trip limit with a maximum of one landing per 2 week period.

SHEILA Y. OLIVER Lt. Governor

	Each two week period shall begin on Sunday and end on the second Saturday with the first two week period beginning on the first Sunday of January.
Mar-Apr	400 pound trip limit with a maximum of two landings per week OR 800 pound trip limit with a maximum of one landing per week.
May-June	250 pound trip limit with a maximum of six landings per week OR 500 pound trip limit with a maximum of three landings per week.
July-Aug	250 pound trip limit with a maximum of six landings per week OR 500 pound trip limit with a maximum of three landings per week.
Sept-Oct	250 pound trip limit with a maximum of four landings per week OR 500 pound trip limit with a maximum of two landings per week OR 1,000 pound trip limit with a maximum of one landing per week
Nov-Dec	500 pound trip limit with a maximum of two landings per week OR 1,000 pound trip limit with a maximum of one landing per week

When the directed fishery is closed, no vessel shall land or possess any summer flounder in excess of the by-catch trip limit. By-catch landings of summer flounder may not exceed ten percent (10%) by weight, of all species landed and sold with a maximum daily trip limit of 100 pounds from May 1 through October 31 and 200 pounds from November 1 through April 30.

All New Jersey Summer Flounder Dealers must provide daily reports during the period January 1 through February 28 and weekly (Sunday to Saturday) reports during the period March 1 through December 31 to the Division of Fish and Wildlife listing the amount of summer flounder landed on a daily basis by vessel and size category. Reports must be filed electronically through the Standard Atlantic Fisheries Information System (SAFIS) no later than 10:00 AM on the following day for daily reports and 12:01 PM on Monday following the week's end for weekly reports. If no landings occurred, a report to that effect is required. **If a dealer is reporting electronically through SAFIS, a faxed report is not required.**

In addition, any vessel participating in the directed summer flounder fishery must email (<u>njdfwcommercialnotify@dep.nj.gov</u>) or call the Marine Enforcement Office at 609-748-2050 at least two (2) hours prior to offloading and that any such offloading may occur only between the hours of 6:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m. from November 1 through April 30 and between 6:00 a.m. and 8:00 p.m. from May 1 through October 31.

Commercial seasons, quotas, opening, and closing information is available on the Division of Fish and Wildlife website at <u>http://www.njfishandwildlife.com/comquotas.htm.</u>

If you have any questions, please call the Bureau of Marine Fisheries at 609-748-2020 or 609-292-7794.

Sincerely,

Jegu A Lund

Joseph A. Cimino, Marine Fisheries Administrator