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MARINE REGULATIONS

Regulations in red are new this year.

Crustaceans

American Lobster

The legal possession size limit of whole lobsters,
measured from the rear of the eye socket along a
line parallel to the center line of the body shell to
the rear of the body shell, shall be not less than 3%
inches nor greater than 5% inches. Lobster parts
may not be possessed at sea or landed. There is no
harvest or possession of lobster in Lobster Manage-
ment Area 4 from April 30—May 31 and Lobster
Management Area 5 from February 1-March 31.

The possession limit is six lobsters per person. No
person shall possess any lobster with eggs attached
or from which eggs have been removed or any female
lobster with a v-notched tail, as illustrated below.

Special Lobster
Restrictions: No
person shall use,
leave, deploy, or
tend any lobster,
fish or conch pot
within an artificial
reef located in state
waters except in
areas designated as
a full access zones. Within these designated full
access zones lobster, fish and conch pots shall be
used, left, deployed or tended only between sunrise
and sunset.

For information about lobster pot deployment
and New Jersey Reef Full Access Zone Locations,
go to NJFishandWildlife.com/pdf/2016/marlet-
reefgear02-11-16.pdf.

The use of spears, gigs, gaffs or other penetrating
devices as a method of capture for lobsters is prohib-
ited. A recreational lobster pot license is required
to use pots or traps to capture lobsters. For details
call (609) 748-2020. Lobsters taken recreationally
may not be sold or offered for sale.

Blue Crabs

1. Crabs may be taken recreationally with hand
lines, manually operated collapsible traps or
scoop nets withouta license. A non-commercial
crab pot license is required for the use of not
more than two non-collapsible Chesapeake-style
crab pots (see illustration on page 23) or two
trot lines to harvest crabs. See page 23 for the
non-commercial crab pot license information.

2. Itisillegal to harvest or possess more than one
bushel of crabs per day per person or offer for
sale any crabs without

having in your posses- Measure crabs
sion a valid commer- point to point.

cial crabbing license.

3. Minimum size for
crabs that may be har-
vested (measured from
point to point of shell)
are as follows:

a) Peeler or shedder
crab: 3 inches

b) Soft crab: 3% inches

c) Hard crab: 4% inches
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4. All female crabs with eggs attached and all
undersized crabs shall be returned to the water
immediately.

5. Recreational trot lines shall not exceed 150 feet
in length with a maximum of 25 baits.

6. Allpotsand trotlines shall be marked with the
identification number of the owner.

7. Allcrab pots must be tended at least once every
72 hours.

8. No floating line may be used on any crab pot
or crab pot buoy.

9. No crab pot shall be placed in any area that
would obstruct or impede navigation or in any
creek less than 50 feet wide.

10. Only the owner or a law enforcement officer
may raise or remove contents of a legally set
fishing device.

11. Crabs taken with a bait seine may be retained
for personal use only if the angler possesses a
bait netlicense, and may not be bartered or sold
unless the fisherman possesses a commercial
crab license.

12.No crabs may be harvested from the Newark
Bay Complex. For more information, see Health
Adpvisory on page 30.

13. Crab Pot/Trot Line seasons: Delaware Bay
and tributaries: April 6-Dec. 4. All other
waters: March 15—Nov. 30. The following
waters, and their tributaries, are closed to the
use of crab pots and trot lines: Cumberland Co.:
Cohansey River and creeks named Back, Cedar,
Nantuxent, Fortescue, Oranoken and Dividing;
Cape May Co.: West and Bidwell Creeks and
the Cape May Canal; Atlantic Co.: Hammock
Cove (Dry Bay); Ocean Co.: on east shore of
Barnegat Bay, that area of Sedge Islands Wild-
life Management Area enclosed by aline drawn
from the northern bank of Fishing Creek on
Island Beach State Park to the northern tip of
the Sedge Islands (Hensler Island), then south
from point to point along the western side of
the Sedge Islands WMA and terminating on
the most southwestern point of Island Beach
State Park.

14. Crab Dredge Seasons: Delaware Bay and
tributaries: Jan. 1 through April 15 and
Nov. 15 through Dec. 31. All other waters: Jan.
1 through March 31, Dec. 1 through Dec. 31.
Fish and Wildlife will issue a non-commercial
crab dredge license for the harvest of not more
than one bushel of crabs per day during the
crab dredge season. Crabs so taken may not be
sold or offered for barter. There is a fee of $15
for this non-commercial crab dredge license.
See page 23 for details on purchasing a non-
commercial crab dredge license.

Notice: All non-collapsible Chesapeake-style crab
pots (see illustration on page 23) must be con-
structed to include a biodegradable panel designed
to create an opening to allow crabs and other organ-
isms to escape if the pot is lost or abandoned. All
non-collapsible Chesapeake-style crab pots set in
any manmade lagoon or any water body less than
150 feet wide must also include a turtle excluder
device inside all pot entrance funnels.

NJFishandWildlife.com

Horseshoe Crabs

The harvest of horseshoe crabs is prohibited. Pos-
session of horseshoe crabs is also prohibited except
for those individuals holding a scientific collecting
permit for research and education and those fish-
ermen that can provide suitable documentation
that the horseshoe crabs in their possession were
harvested outside of New Jersey.

Mollusks

1. All persons must be licensed to harvest any
shellfish. See license information, page 23.
Shellfish means any species of benthic mollusks
(except conch) including hard and soft clams,
oysters, surf clams, bay scallops and mussels.

2. Itisillegal to harvest shellfish from condemned
waters, even for bait purposes. It is also illegal
to harvest shellfish including surf clams from
beaches adjacent to water classified as con-
demned. Shellfish water classification charts are
available from license agents or any state shell-
fish office. See page 23 for shellfish license
information. Charts are updated annually.

3. Shellfish harvesting is prohibited before sun-
rise and after sunset. Shellfish harvest is also
prohibited on Sundays except in the seasonally
approved areas of the Navesink and Shrewsbury
rivers, when harvesting is permitted between
Nov. 1 and April 30.

4. Harvesting shellfish on public grounds is
restricted to the use of hand implements.

5. It is illegal to harvest shellfish from leased
grounds. These grounds are delineated by stakes
or buoys set by the lease holder. Charts of the
leases may be examined at Fish and Wildlife’s
Nacote Creek or Delaware Bay shellfish offices
during regular business hours. Invasion onto
leased grounds is punishable by penalties up
to $3,000 and loss of all equipment.

Recreational Shellfishing

1. No holder of any recreational shellfish license
may take more than a total of 150 shellfish (in
aggregate) per day. See Shellfish License Informa-
tion, page 23.

2. Itisillegal to dredge shellfish on public grounds.
Use of hand implements are the only legal hat-
vest methods.

3. The minimum size of
hard clams that may be
harvested is 1% inches in
length. Clams less than
1% inches in length must
immediately be returned
to the bottom from which they were taken.
Specific seasons, regulations and size limits
exist for oyster beds in Great Bay, Delaware
Bay, plus the Mullica, Great Egg Harbor and
Tuckahoe rivers. Check with the nearest shell-
fish office (Nacote Creek or Delaware Bay) for
these detailed regulations.

4. Shells taken in the process of harvesting oys-
ters must be culled from the live oysters and
returned immediately to the area from where
they were taken.
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State Size and Possession Limits
MARINE REGULATIONS

2022 New Jersey Recreational Fishing Seasons, Minimum Size and Possession Limits

Regulations remain in effect until changed. For the most current regulations, go to NJFishandWildlife.com or call the marine fish “listen-only” information line at (609) 292-2083.
Regulations in red are new this year. See page 14 for how to measure fish. Note: No species of fish with a minimum size limit listed below may be filleted or cleaned at sea.
Party boats licensed to carry 15 or more passengers may apply for a permit to fillet these species. See also Summer Flounder, page 17.

Minimum Length Harvest & Possession Limit

American Eel?
Black Drum

Black Sea Bass
(Min. length excludes tail filament;
see page 14.)

Bluefish (Snapper)

Cobia

Cod

Haddock

Pollock

Red Drum

River Herring

Scup (Porgy)

Shad
Delaware River & tributaries
All Other Marine Waters

Shark® ¢,

Aggregated large coastal groupt
Hammerhead group’

Non-blacknose small coastal group®
Blacknose group®

Pelagic groupt

Spanish Mackerel

Striped Bass or Hybrid Striped Bass**
Delaware River & tributaries
(Calhoun St. bridge to Salem River & tributaries)
Delaware River & tributaries
(upstream of Calhoun St. bridge)
Atlantic Ocean (0—3 nautical miles from shore)
Rivers, bay and estuaries
3-200 nautical miles (federal waters)

Summer Flounder (Fluke)
Delaware Bay and tributaries®
Island Beach State Park, shore fishing

All water except as above

Tautog (Blackfish)

Weakfish
Winter Flounder
Blue Crab
peeler or shedder
soft
hard
Lobster (carapace length)
Hard Clam (license required)

No Closed Season

No Closed Season
May 17—June 19
July 1-Aug. 31
Oct. 7-0ct. 26
Nov. 1-Dec. 31

No Closed Season

No Closed Season
No Closed Season
No Closed Season
No Closed Season
No Closed Season
No Open Season
No Closed Season

No Closed Season
No Closed Season

Jan.1-May 14 and
July 16-Dec. 31

No Closed Season

No Closed Season
No Closed Season

March 1-March 31
and June 1-Dec. 31

March 1-Dec. 31

No Closed Season
March 1-Dec. 31
Prohibited

May 2—-Sept. 27
May 2—Sept. 27

May 2—-Sept. 27

Jan.1-Feb. 28
April 1-April 30
Aug. 1-Nov. 15
Nov. 16-Dec. 31
No Closed Season
March 1-Dec. 31

No Closed Seasond
No Closed Seasond
No Closed Seasond

See closed seasons on page 20

No Closed Season®

a Except 50 fish harvest/possession limit for party/charter boat employees.
b Not including dogfish; see description on page 16 under Sharks.

¢ See page 14 for a list of Prohibited Species.

9"

16"
1"
13"
13"
13"

None

3r"
21"
18"
19"
18"-27"
None
10"

None
None

Aggregated Large Coastal and
Pelagic: Shortfin Mako:
Male: 71" fork length
Female: 83" fork length
All others 54" fork length

Hammerheads: 78" fork length

Other listed sharks: None
14"

one @ 28" to less than 38"

17"
16"
two @ 17" to less than 18" and
one @ 18" or greater
15"
15"
15"
15"
13"
12"

-
3"
4"
3"
17"

d Unless using non-collapsible, Chesapeake-style crab pots, trot lines or crab dredges. See pages 20 and 23.

e Applies to Delaware Bay and tributaries, west of COLREGS line delineating Delaware Bay from Atlantic Ocean but does not include waters of Cape May Canal east of Cape May
Ferry Terminal. Transport of summer flounder caught in Delaware Bay, greater than or equal to 17 in. but less than 18 in., may occur in waters east of Cape May Ferry Terminal to
George Redding Br. (Rt. 47) located at entrance of Wildwood provided all fishing gear aboard the vessel is stowed with rigs removed; vessel may not stop to fish for any species.

f See page 15 under Bluefish regarding party/charter definition and regulations.

** See page 5 for specifics of non-offset circle hook requirements.

1 See page 22 for Federal Recreational Regulations.

10
2
10
15
5 fish per person while fishing from a party/charter vesself
3 fish per person for all other anglers
1 fish per vessel

No Limit

No Limit

No Limit
1
0
50

6 (maximum of 3 American shad)
6 (no American shad may be harvested or possessed)

One shark (of any species, except prohibited species)
per vessel per trip; plus one Atlantic sharpnose shark
per person per trip (no minimum size); plus one bonnet-
head shark per person per trip (no minimum size).

10

o
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1 bushel

6
150 clams

T Non-resident license valid only June — Sept. See water classification chart information at nj.gov/dep/bmw/nssphome.html#charts. 21
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Federal Limits

MARINE REGULATIONS

Regulations in red are new this year.

2022 Federal Recreational Fishing Regulations for Minimum Size, Possession Limits and Seasons
See page 14 for how to measure fish. See Recreational Minimum Size, Possession Limits and Seasons (page 21) for state waters listings of species not included in these

federal waters regulations (from 3—200nm). For federal regulation questions, please contact the National Marine Fisheries Service at (978) 281-9260, or go to www.nmfs.noaa.gov.

“mm o “

(number per angler per day
unless otherwise specified)

Year round 21" 10 per person per day
Strlped Bass NA NA No possession allowed in EEZ Possession prohibited in federal waters (3—200 nm).
Dolphin 10 per day, not to exceed 60 per vessel,  For current federal waters regulations (3—200nm), refer to
(Ma’iﬁ mahi) Year round None whichever is less — except on a charter or ~ fisheries.noaa.gov/topic/atlantic-highly-migratory-
headboat, then 10 per paying passenger.  species or call (727) 824-5326.
: ; 66" lower jaw— Billfish require Highly Migratory Species (HMS) permit when
Marlin, White Year round fork length None fishing in federal waters (3—200 nm). For permits refer to
" ; hmspermits.noaa.gov or call (888) 872-8862.
Marlin, Blue Year round Oy None i g I f i
) fork length During any sanctioned billfish tournaments offering prize
. i money, non-offset circle hooks are required for lures with
Roundscale Year round 66" lower jaw— None natural bait or natural/artificial bait combos.
Spearfish fork length o i
. - All non-tournament billfish landings must be
Sailfish S 63" lower jaw— None reported to NMFS within 24 hours, either online at
fork length hmspermits.noaa.gov or by calling (800) 894-5528.
s . e For current regulations refer to fisheries.noaa.gov/topic/
Spearfish, Longbill None None Prohibited A ) .
pearti 90! ! atlantic-highly-migratory-species or call (727) 824-5399.
Brivate boat: 3 fish per person, parrip In effect from the Virginia/North Carolina border north.
USCG uninspected for-hire vessel:  Private vessels targeting or retaining tilefish (including
Tilefish, Blueline May 1-Oct. 31 None 5 fish per person, per trip for-hire vessels on private trips) must possess a federal
USCG inspected for-hire vessel: Private Recreational Tilefish Permit and submit electronic
7 fish per person, per trip trip reports within 24 hours of returning to port. For more
Tilefish, Golden T None 8 per angler per trip information, visit mafme.org/rec-tilefish-evtr.
S For anglers: 1 per person, no more than ~ Swordfish, tuna and sharks require an HMS permit when

fork length if the head

4 per vessel per trip.

fishing in federal waters (3—200 nm). For permits, refer to
hmspermits.noaa.gov or call (888) 872-8862.

is naturally attached or ~ For charter vessels: 1 per paying pas-

22

ST Yearround 55w geithrum to caudal senger, no more than 6 per vessel per trip. Al nongourmﬂn;%nt svr\]/or%fzilsﬂ Iandinghs mUS|T be
keel if the head has ) reported to within ours either online at
For headboat vessels: 1 per paying pas- hmspermits.noaa.gov or by calling (800) 894-5528
been removed. senger, no more than 15 per vessel per rip. N pf L dy caling (800) North '
. uefin tuna are managed in two regions; Northern,
Tuna, Allbacore (Longfin)  Year round . e oNE extending north from the Great Egg Inlet and Southern
Tuna, Bigeye Yearround 27 CUV\I’Ied fork I“ength None extending south from Great Egg Inlet. Bluefin tuna
27"t0 <73 Limits can change during the season. retention limits may change throughout the season.
" Jan. 1-Dec. 31 curved fork length anfj Prior to departure, check Visit hmspermits.noaa.gov or call (888) 872-8862 or
Tuna, Bluefin or until season  one trophy fish > 73 hmspermits.noaa.gov or 888-USA-TUNA (978) 281-9260 for current information.

s closed. C“r\\l,‘zgsfglr Eé?ny%t:rper for up-to-date limits. All recreational bluefin tuna landings must be
Tuna. Skiniack e — None None reported to NMFS within 24 hours either online at
, OKIPJ hmspermits.noaa.gov or by calling (888) 872-8862.
For current federal waters regulations (3—200nm), refer
Tuna, Yellowfin Yearround 27" curved fork length 3 per person per trip to www.fisheries.noaa.gov/topic/atlantic-highly-
migratory-species or call (301) 713-2347 for swordfish/
sharks or (978) 281-9260 for tunas.
Sharks* Aggregated Large
Aggregated Large Cogif:tir;‘d,\;:gg'c See below for list of shark groups which MAY be kept or
Coastal Group o : - . MUST be released. Swordfish, tuna and sharks require an
Pelagic Group Male: 71 Iork length o fon pr?h|b|ted Selsles HMS permit when fishing in federal waters (3—200 nm).
Female: 83" fork length 1 authorized* shark/vessel/trip ; .
Year round " For permits, refer to hmspermits.noaa.gov or call
Non-blacknose All others 54" fork length plus 1 Atlantic sharpnose and 588) 872-8862. R tional fish (e el
Small Coastal Group 1 bonnethead shark/person/trip e e o it ZHEA LB EL ( S WELED I
Hammerheads: have a limited access commercial shark permit) can not sell,
Hammerhead Group 78" fork length barter or trade any Atlantic shark or shark pieces.
Blacknose Group Other listed sharks: None
Wahoo Year round None 2 per person per day For more information, contact the South Atlantic Fisheries
Wreckfish July 1—Aug. 31 None 1 per vessel per day Management Council at (843) 571-4366.

*Shark Species That May Be Kept (Authorized Species): Aggregated Large Coastal Shark—~blacktip, bull, lemon, nurse, tiger, spinner; Hammerhead Shark—scalloped
hammerhead, smooth hammerhead, great hammerhead; Non-Blacknose Small Coastal Shark—Atlantic sharpnose, bonnethead, finetooth; Blacknose Shark—blacknose;
Pelagic Shark—Shortfin mako, blue, porbeagle, oceanic whitetip and common thresher. Shark Species That MUST Be Released (Prohibited Species): Atlantic angel, bask-
ing, bigeye sand tiger, bigeye sixgill, bigeye thresher, bignose, Caribbean reef, Caribbean sharpnose, dusky, Galapagos, longfin mako, narrowtooth, night, sandbar, sand tiger,
sevengill, silky, sixgill, smalltail, whale and white.
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Shellfish License Information

A shellfish license (formerly called clamming
license) is required for harvesting all species of
benthic mollusks (except conchs, addressed in the
commercial marine fisheries regulations), including,
but not limited to, hard and soft clams, surf clams,
oysters, bay scallops and mussels. Other specific
commercial shellfish licenses exist such as surf clam
dredge, Delaware Bay oyster dredge boat and Dela-
ware Bay licenses to harvest in Areas 1, 2 and 3.

Anyone engaged in any shellfish harvesting activ-
ity with someone holding a commercial shellfish
license must also possess their own commercial
shellfish license.

For shellfishing regulations, see page 20. Prior
to harvesting any shellfish, you must consult the
Shellfish Growing Water Classification Charts
published by DEP’s Bureau of Marine Water Moni-
toring, available at shellfish license agents, state shell-
fish offices, online at nj.gov/dep/bmw/nssphome.
html#charts or call Marine Water Monitoring at
(609) 748-2000. Purchase shellfish licenses online at
https://nj.aspirafocus.com/internetsales.

Shellfish License Fees

+ Resident recreational shellfish: $10
Harvest limit: 150 shellfish (in aggregate) per
day. Sale of catch prohibited.

+ Non-resident recreational shellfish: $20
Harvest limit: 150 shellfish (in aggregate) per
day. Sale of catch prohibited. License valid
only during June, July, August and September.

+ Juvenile recreational shellfish: $2
For persons under 14 years of age. Subject to
same restrictions as resident or nonresident
adult recreational license holders.

+ Resident commercial shellfish: $50
Unlimited harvest. Shellfish may be sold only
to certified dealers.

+ Non-resident commercial shellfish: $250
Unlimited harvest. Shellfish may be sold only
to certified dealers.

+ Resident senior citizen recreational shellfish
license: FREE lifetime license ($2 application
fee). NJ residents age 62 years or older. Harvest
limit: 150 shellfish (in aggregate) per day. Sale of
shellfish prohibited.

+ Disabled veterans: Fish and Wildlife-certified
disabled veterans are eligible for free shellfish
license at any shellfish license agentlocation. To
become certified, call (609) 984-6213.

DEP Action Line,

24 Hrs.

The Department has a toll-free telephone
hotline number you can use to report
environmental incidents, abuses, and
complaints in New Jersey.

(877) WARN-DEP
\(877) 927-6337

LICENSE AND AGENTS

Quick Reference for Popular Fish!

For New Jersey’s most popular
recreational species, see the
quick reference chart of open

seasons and regulations:
NJFishandWildlife.com/pdf/
marine/recseasons.pdf.

\

Crab Pot License Information

Recreational Crab Pot/Trot Line Licenses and Non-
Commercial Crab Dredge Licenses are available for
purchase online at: https://nj.aspirafocus.com/
internetsales or at any Fish and Wildlife-certified
license agent including those license agents listed
below. For the most current list of Fish and Wildlife-
certified license agents, go to NJFishandWildlife.
com/agentlst.htm.

+ Recreational crab pot/trot line license: $2
Harvest limit: one bushel per day. Refer to the
shellfish regulations on page 20 for all recre-
ational crabbing regulations.

+ Non-commercial crab dredge license: $15
Harvest limit: one bushel per day during the crab
dredge season. See page 20 for recreational
crab regulations.

Terrapin Excluders and Biodegradable Panels
Are Required on Chesapeake-Style Crab Pots
NOTE:Itis illegal to catch or take diamondback
terrapins in New Jersey. Users of non-collapsible,
Chesapeake-style crab pots note: all pots set in any
body of water less than 150-feet wide at mean low
tide or in any manmade lagoon MUST include
diamondback terrapin excluder devices. Non-
collapsible, Chesapeake-style crab pots set in any
body of water MUST include biodegradable panels.

These crab pot modifications will help reduce the
unintentional drowning of terrapins allowing these
and other species to escape in the event that pots

are lost or abandoned. Terrapin excluder devices
must be no larger than 2-inch high by 6-inch wide
and securely fastened inside each funnel entrance.
Biodegradable panels must measure at least 645-inch
wide by 5-inch high and be located in the upper sec-
tion of the crab pot. The panel must be constructed
of, or fastened to the pot with, wood lath, cotton,
hemp, sisal or jute twine not greater than X" diam-
eter, or non-stainless steel, uncoated ferrous metal
not greater than %" diameter. The door or a side of
the pot may serve as the biodegradable panel ONLY
if it is fastened to the pot with any of the material
specified above., Crabbers should note: ALL non-
collapsible, Chesapeake-style crab pots MUST be
licensed and marked with the gear identification
number of the owner. For crab pot license informa-
tion and regulations, see page 20.

Chesapeake-Style Crab Pot

Shellfish and Non-Commercial

Crab Pot License Agents

Current listing now available online at NJFishandWildlife.com/agentist.htm.
Note: All license agents statewide can now sell all license and permit privileges.

2022 Marine Issue
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Marine Resource

STOCK ASSESSMENTS AND RECREATIONAL SURVEYS

Marine Fisheries: Recreational Surveys

Be Counted...

You may see New Jersey Fish and Wildlife interviewers at marine public access
fishing sites conducting the Access Point Angler Intercept Survey (APAIS). The
survey targets marine recreational anglers to obtain information about their fishing
effort and catch. The more data collected, the more successful the survey becomes
for estimating overall catch, which is an integral factor for managing fisheries. To
strengthen our estimates by collecting even more data, we have increased our total
individual assignments by more than 40% since 2020.

Marine Fisheries staff are eager to speak with fishing clubs/groups about the
importance of the APAIS. We rely heavily on our valued anglers, creating a joint effort
to preserve the state’s natural resources. Invite us to a group meeting or event.
Contact Maryellen Gordon at Maryellen.Gordon@dep.nj.gov. We look forward to
meeting you!

Fish and Wildlife staff continue to conduct the For-Hire Telephone Survey annually
from March through December. Weekly calls are made to vessel operators regarding
the previous week’s trips. This data is used to estimate fishing effort in the for-hire
sector and is combined with APAIS data. In 2021, 2242 vessels were contacted
averaging approximately 51 vessels per week with a 57% response rate.

If you're not contacted directly, you can submit an easy, online fishing report

after each saltwater trip to the New Jersey Volunteer Angler Survey at
NJFishandWildlife.com/marinesurvey.htm. Your reports have a real impact on
how our oceans are managed.

\

New Jersey: Stock Status & Management Updates

NEW Fish and Wildlife Website

= = I .
Arerlng In 2022' ﬁg:g;f:m Depleted; Not overfishing Benchmark stock assessment 2020
. . 0] American Depleted; Overfishing status e e —— 20
New Jersey Fish and Wildlife’s Shad unknown
H H H H ] Atlantic Overfished and overfishing ~ Traffic Light Analysis management
web5|te IS und9rg°lng a renovatlon' Croaker status unknown action triggered 2020
Soon there will be easier access to saltwater fishing regulations, Atlantic : o
management updates, public hearing information, data collected from Striped Bass Overfished; Overfishing Update stock assessment 2022
field surveys and more. Stay tuned! Black Sea
Bass Not overfished; Not overfishing  Update stock assessment 2021
Black Drum  Not overfished; Not overfishing Benchmark stock assessment 2023
Bluefish Overfished; Not overfishing Research track assessment 2022
Coastal . . http://www.asmfc.org/species/
Sharks VB G coastal-sharks
Cobia Not overfished; Not overfishing Benchmark stock assessment 2020
Horseshoe Status unknown; Moratorium  Adaptive Resource Management
Crab since 2008 assessment 2021
Scup Not overfished; Not overfishing ~ Update stock assessment 2021
Spanish Not overfished; Not overfishing Operational stock assessment 2022
Mackerel
Spiny Dogfish Not overfished; Not overfishing Peer review assessment 2022
SUmMmet Not overfished; Not overfishing  Update stock assessment 2021
Flounder
Tautog Overfished; Not overfishing Update stock assessment 2021
Weakfish Depleted; Not overfishing Update stock assessment 2019
Winter ' ) -
Flounder Overfished; Not overfishing Update stock assessment 2020
\ For updates or more information, please visit www.asmfc.org.
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