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Finding Hunters

Check local newspaper 
classified ads for hunters 
and/or hunting clubs 
seeking land.

The New Jersey Federation 
of Sportsmen’s Clubs has 
county chapters. 

See 
www.njsfsc.org/counties/ 

or 
Facebook for contact 

information.

Deer Depredation Permits

These permits are valid 24-hours a day, 
seven days a week, on farmland assessed as 
cultivated lands with existing crop damage. 
Note that these permits can be issued 
to include the entire growing season if 
necessary. Permits can also be issued during 
February and March with documented past 
dam-age. Note that the permit is no longer 
valid once the crop is harvested. 

For more information see:
NJFishandWildlife.com/pdf/farmerapp_pos.pdf.

Questions?
Contact NJ DEP Fish and Wildlife
Bureau of Wildlife Management

Jodi Powers (Northern NJ)
Jodi.Powers@dep.nj.gov

609-259-6965

Joe Leskie (Southern NJ)
Joe.Leskie@dep.nj.gov

856-629-0552

Did You Know?

Landowners granting permission 
to hunt are protected from liability 
under the New Jersey Landowner’s 

Liability Act (NJ Statutes 2A:42A-2 et 
seq.), provided you do not charge a 

fee to hunt.

Some hunting clubs, like the NJ 
Federation of Sportsmen’s Clubs, 

cover their members with $1 million 
in liability insurance. Other clubs or 

organizations may also have liability 
insurance, or you can stipulate that a 
hunting club must have insurance to 

hunt on your property.



Harvesting antlerless deer should be mandated.

Farmers have these options to control 
deer populations on their properties:

1- Participate in the hunting season. Farmers 
and their immediate families can receive FREE 
deer season permits for all the properties they 
farm, and hunting licenses are not required on 
lands upon which the farmer and immediate 
family occupy.

2 - Allow hunters onto your property. Nearly 
80% of the State remains in private ownership, 
so allowing access to hunters is key to 
successfully managing deer in New Jersey 
(see Guidelines section).

3 - Apply for a farmer depredation permit. This 
FREE permit is available to farmers in response 
to or in anticipation of deer damage. Farmers 
recruit their own agents (i.e., shooters). These 
permits are generally issued during periods 
when the deer hunting season is closed (see 
Deer Depredation Permits section).

4 - Apply for a DMAP permit. Deer 
Management Assistance Program (DMAP) 
permits are available to all landowners in deer 
management zones with restrictive bag limits 
and allows the permittee to harvest more 
antlerless deer. See www.njfishandwildlife.
com/dmap.htm for more information.

Guidelines for Managing Hunters

Allowing hunting is not enough. Landowners 
must actively manage hunters and hunting 
practices to ensure that deer control objectives 
are being met. Hunting is usually the most 
efficient method of deer control, minimizing 
impacts on the landowner’s time and expense.

Within the established deer season framework, 
it should be the landowner who decides when, 
where, how and who will hunt. Often, the 
landowner has little or no involvement with 
the hunting program and thus little control 
over what is achieved. To ensure success, 
landowners must get involved.

Use as many of the available deer hunting days 
as possible. Make it a condition of access that an 
established amount of hunting be focused on 
antlerless deer. Archery seasons may be more 
useful in sensitive areas where noise or blaze 
orange might be troubling for neighbors.

Maximize hunter density on as many days as 
possible. A recommended density guideline 
for bow is one hunter per every 10 acres. For 
firearm it is one hunter per every 15 acres.

REQUIRE HUNTERS TO TAKE ANTLERLESS DEER 
(two or more adult females) for each buck they 
harvest. Landowners with significant damage 
may require that hunters take a specific number 
of ant-lerless deer by the end of the seasons. 

Require information from your hunters about 
the deer harvested on your property. Have 
hunters fill out a daily hunt log and inspect 
each day’s harvest to ensure that enough 
females are being taken.

Offer incentives, which could include a reduced 
lease fee for an adequate antlerless harvest.

Try to coordinate hunting efforts with 
neighboring landowners.

Landowner/Hunter Communication

The landowner should make it clear to 
hunters what is expected in terms of deer 
harvest and conduct while hunting. 
This may include:

Times and dates when hunting is permitted.

Specific hunting and parking locations (i.e., 
areas to be avoided like buildings or where 
livestock is kept).

Property boundaries and locations of 
structures within the 450-foot safety 
zone for firearms or 150-foot safety zone 
for archery (or the landowner may grant 
permission to hunt within the safety zone).

Number and sex of deer to be taken.

Penalties of non-compliance (revoking the 
privilege to hunt on your land).


