NJ COVID-19 CARES Act Marine Fisheries Assistance Grant Program

Take notice that the Department of Environmental Protection, in accordance with N.J.S.A. 52:14-34.4,
hereby publishes notice of the availability of the following grant funds:

A. Name of Grant Program
NJ COVID-19 CARES Act Marine Fisheries Assistance Grant Program
B. Purpose

H.R. 748, known as the CARES Act, was passed by the Federal Government on March 27, 2020. The
CARES Act allocated $300M in funding for coastal states to provide much needed assistance to fisheries-
related businesses. The purpose of this funding is to provide financial assistance to coastal and marine
fisheries-related businesses that have seen a greater than 35% loss in revenue caused by the impacts of
COVID-19.

C. Amount of Money in the Grant Program

The New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection (NJ DEP) will be distributing $11,247,242 to
eligible Marine Fisheries businesses in the form of direct payments. The funding has been issued from
NOAA through the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission (ASMFC), and on to NJ DEP.

D. Eligible Applicants

Eligible fisheries-related businesses include commercial fisheries, aquaculture businesses, processors,
dealers, and recreational fishery businesses including for-hire businesses as well as bait and tackle
shops.

MFA’s application will require applicants to select one of the following three sectors:

e Commercial

o Includes aquaculture businesses
e Recreational

o For-hire

o Bait & tackle shops
e Processors and Dealers

Applicants can apply for payment from each sector for which they participate in.
Bait and tackle shops must meet additional criteria in order to be considered eligible. They must meet
New Jersey’s small business definition of less than 100 full-time employees, and they must be able to

verify that marine bait and tackle sales account for at least 75% of their total revenue.

Aquaculture businesses must also not be otherwise eligible for assistance under the USDA Farm Service
Agency Disaster Assistance Programs listed under part 1416 of 7CFR. Aquaculture businesses should



reach out to their county Farm Service Agency Office before applying to ensure that they are not eligible
for this assistance.

E. Qualifications Needed by an Applicant to be Considered for Funding

All applicants must meet the following criteria in order to be considered eligible for funding:

w

Applicants must be able to demonstrate a greater than 35% loss in fishery related revenue
between March 1, 2020 and June 30, 2020, as compared to their 5-year average revenue from
the same time period of March 1°t through June 30%™. Applicants will be required to provide this
revenue information on their application.

a. Applicants must provide revenue data for all years between 2015 and 2019 in which the
business existed. If the business existed, but was inactive during any of those years, SO
in revenue must be used for that year.

b. Applicants do not have to provide revenue data for any years in which the entity did not
exist

c. Applicants must have at least 1 year of revenue history between the period of 2015 and
2019 to be eligible to receive payment

Applicants will be required to provide a total estimate of revenue for the full year of 2020
Applicant(s) must be the owner(s) of the business
Applicants must provide the following identification numbers
a. Tax ID Number
b. DUNs number
i. Applicants can apply for a DUNs number here

c. Bureau of Marine Fisheries ID Number (BMFID), Conservation ID Number (CID), Bureau
of Marine Water Monitory (BMWM) permit ID, and/or Department of Health license ID
numbers — depending on which sectors are chosen by the applicant

Individual applicants must be a New Jersey Resident. Businesses and corporations must be
located within New Jersey. Operations fishing in New Jersey waters, but not located within New
Jersey will not be eligible. Applicants must be 18 years age or older.
Applicants must provide a list of any and all COVID-19 assistance that they have applied for or
are going to apply for. While eligible fishery participants under this award may apply for other
assistance programs, applicants cannot be made more than whole by this or any combination of
this and other federal grant funding. Being made more than whole will be calculated based on
their total project revenue for the entirety of 2020.
Applicants must hold the following valid permits and licenses:
a. Commercial Fishery Sector:
i. Must be a resident of New Jersey
ii. Must have a current valid 2020 New Jersey commercial harvesting license
iii. Must have had a valid New Jersey commercial harvesting license for at least one
year between 2015 and 2019
b. Aquaculture (within Commercial Sector):
i. Must be resident of the State of New Jersey
ii. Must have a current valid 2020 New Jersey commercial shellfish license
iii. Must have had a valid commercial harvesting license for at least one year
between 2015 and 2019
iv. Must have a valid 2020 New Jersey aquaculture permit from Bureau of Marine
Water Monitoring


https://www.grants.gov/applicants/organization-registration/step-1-obtain-duns-number.html#:%7E:text=How%20to%20Register%20for%20a%20DUNS%20Number&text=or%20call%201%2D866%2D705,likely%20a%20scam%20or%20fraudulent.

V.

Must have had a valid aquaculture permit for at least one other year between
2017 and 2019

c. Recreational Fishery Sector:

For-Hire
1. Must be a resident of the State of New Jersey
2. Must have 2020 New Jersey saltwater registration for vessel
3. Must have had a New Jersey saltwater registration for the vessel for at
least one year between 2015 and 2019
4. Must be owner of the business
Bait Shops:
1. Business must be physically located in the State of New Jersey
2. Must be registered as a business with the State of New Jersey
3. Must meet the State of NJ’s Small Business definition of having under
100 full-time employees
4. 75% of revenue must come from saltwater bait & tackle supply sales
specifically

d. Dealers and Processors Sector:

Vi.

Business must be physically located in the State of New Jersey

Must hold 2020 New Jersey Department of Health license to operate a

wholesale food business

Must have held a New Jersey Department of Health license to operate a

wholesale food business for at least one year between 2015 and 2019.

If dealing federally managed species, must hold a valid 2020 Federal Dealers

Permit

If purchasing species requiring a NJ dealers permit, must hold a valid 2020

NJDFW permit(s) for them. The following species require a NJ dealers permit:
1. Summer flounder

2. Scup
3. Black sea bass
4. Menhaden

If handling oysters, clams or mussels, business must hold a valid 2020 New
Jersey Department of Health Certificate to handle oysters, clams, or mussels.

F. Procedure to apply, Application and Required Submissions

The application for funding under this grant program will be made available on New Jersey’s eGrants
website njsage.intelligrants.com known as SAGE. Applications will be completed and submitted online.
In order to access the online application, applicants will need to create an online portal through SAGE.
An online portal can be created here. Once the online application period is opened, applicants will be
able to access the application through the previously mentioned portal.

Applicants will need to provide the following information:

1. Applicant information
a. Address
b. Contact information
c. Type of entity
d. Fishery Sector(s)


https://njsage.intelligrants.com/Login2.aspx?APPTHEME=NJSAGE

e. Tax ID Number
f.  BMFID, CID Number, BMWM Permit ID #, Saltwater Registry #, and/or Department of
Health license number(s) depending on sector choices.
g. DUNs Number
2. 2020 revenue from March 1,2020 — June 30, 2020
3. Previous 5-year revenue history for the following:
a. March 1,2019 —June 30, 2019
b. March 1, 2018 — June 30, 2018
c. March1, 2017 —June 30, 2017
d. March 1, 2016 —June 30, 2016
e. March 1, 2015 - June 30, 2015
Estimated total revenue projection for the totality of 2020
Valid 2020 permit and/or license information required for your business
All permit and/or license information from 2015 through 2019
List of all COVID-19 assistance programs that applicant has received, applied for, or intends to
apply for
8. Signed affidavit stating that all information provided within this application is true and accurate
and that the applicant can provide supporting documentation proving revenue history and
losses, which must be provided if requested at any time.

Nowuv ks

I. Address for Application Submittal and Inquiries, and Filing Deadline

Any questions regarding the Grant Announcement may be submitted by email to
njfisheriesaid@dep.nj.gov.

Applications will be made available on SAGE on Monday, October 19, 2020. The application period will
be 30 days. The submission deadline be November 18, 2020 at midnight and no applications will be
accepted after this date.

J. Date by which Applicants shall be notified:

Applicants will be notified immediately at the time of their application submission if their application has
been accepted as eligible or if it will require a manual review to determine eligibility. Applicants that
require manual review will be notified as to the eligibility of their application within seven (7) days of
application submission. Applicants that require manual review and are deemed ineligible will be
notified within seven (7) days of application submission and will receive an appeal form in their online
SAGE portal and will be given 14 days to submit an appeal. Once an appeal has been submitted, the NJ
DEP will complete the appeal review within 10 days.

Payments will be disbursed to eligible applicants after all applications have been reviewed and
determined.


mailto:njfisheriesaid@dep.nj.gov

