Governor Phil Murphy • Lt.Governor Sheila Oliver

NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs  

Division of Land Use Regulation
State of New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection

DEP Home | About DEP | Index by Topic | Programs/Units | DEP Online

Division Information
HomeNews & NoticesForms & ChecklistsMaps & GuidanceLaws & RulesContact Land UseSubscribe to E-Newsletter

PermittingCommon Project TypesFreshwater WetlandsStreams & Rivers (FHA)Coastal AreasTidelandsHighlandsMitigationPermit Extension ActElectronic (E) ServicesApplication Status

Related InformationFederal AgenciesPrograms/Commissions

NJDEP Floodplain Management Section

The Floodplain Management Section of the NJDEP, Bureau of Dam Safety and Flood Control is divided into three main units consisting of the Flood Risk Mitigation Unit, the Flood Risk Analysis and Mapping Unit, and the Community Assistance Program Unit. The Floodplain Management Section also includes the office of the NJ State NFIP Coordinator, which is responsible for coordinating NFIP program aspects of floodplain management throughout the State of NJ.

The NJ Department of Environmental Protection is authorized “to adopt land use regulations for the flood hazard area, to control stream encroachments, to coordinate effectively the development, dissemination, and use of information on floods and flood damages.” The state’s approach to effectively providing this information was to develop flood risk hazard area maps. The Floodplain Management Section is the repository of the NJ State Adopted Regulatory Floodplain Risk Map (effective hydrologic & hydraulic models, plan delineations and water surface profiles) library that are used for floodplain management by the Land Use Regulation Program.

Additionally, through the Community Assistance Program Unit of the NJ State NFIP Coordinators Office, we provide floodplain management assistance to local communities throughout the state that participate in the NFIP. This is a voluntary program based on a mutual agreement between the Federal government and the local community: In exchange for adopting and enforcing a Flood Damage Prevention Ordinance, Federally-backed flood insurance is made available to property owners throughout the community. New Jersey has 566 municipalities with 549 participating in the National Flood Insurance Program.

The Floodplain Management Office has led the efforts on the NJ Governor Delaware River Flood Mitigation Task Force (2006), the Delaware River Basin Interstate Flood Mitigation Task Force (2007) and the NJ Governor Passaic River Flood Advisory Commission (2011).

Joseph Ruggeri, P.E., CFM
Supervising Engineer
NJ Department of Environmental Protection
Office of Engineering & Construction
Bureau of Dam Safety & Flood Control
NJ State NFIP Coordinator's Office
501 East State Street
Mail Code 501-01A
P. O. Box 420
Trenton, NJ 08625-0420
Phone: (609) 292-2296
Fax: (609) 984-1908

bottom bar

Division: home | news/notices | laws/rules | forms/checklists | maps/guidance | contact
Department: njdep home | about dep | index by topic | programs/units | dep online
Statewide: njhome | citizen | business | government | services A to Z | departments | search

Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996-2021
Last Updated: February 2, 2021