Governor Phil Murphy • Lt.Governor Sheila Oliver
NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs  
State of New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection
State of New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection
DEP Home | About DEP | Index by Topic | Programs/Units | DEP Online 
news releases

December 20, 2012

Contact: Bob Considine (609) 984-1795
Larry Ragonese (609) 292-2994
Lawrence Hajna (609) 984-1795

Indoor water conservation still urged in parts of Middlesex, Monmouth, Somerset and Union counties

(12/P156) TRENTON – A statewide water emergency ordered by Governor Christie following Hurricane Sandy is being lifted today, though voluntary water conservation is still being requested in sections of four New Jersey counties, Department of Environmental Protection Bob Martin announced.

The specific water restrictions set forth by Commissioner Martin in a Nov. 1 Administrative Order included, among others, a ban of non-essential outdoor water use, including the washing of paved surfaces and use of water for aesthetic purposes, as well as a call for reduced indoor water use, including showers, baths and domestic cleaning.

The water emergency has now been terminated based on substantially improved power and infrastructure conditions.

Despite the lifting of the water emergency and accompanying restrictions, as a precaution the DEP is urging voluntary indoor water conservation by residents in municipalities served by the Sayreville pump station of the Middlesex County Utilities Authority (MCUA) and the Bayshore Regional Sewerage Authority, which are experiencing occasional, but ongoing operating issues.   
Municipalities served by MCUA’s Sayreville pump station include: Bound Brook, Bridgewater, Cranbury, Dunellen, East Brunswick, Fanwood, Franklin Township, North Plainfield, Green Brook, Helmetta, Highland Park, Jamesburg, Metuchen, Middlesex, Milltown, Monroe, New Brunswick, North Brunswick, portions of Old Bridge, Piscataway, Plainfield, Sayreville, Scotch Plains, South Bound Brook, South Plainfield, South River, Spotswood, Warren and Watchung, plus portions of Edison.

Municipalities served by the Bayshore Regional Sewerage Authority include: Union Beach, Hazlet, Matawan, Aberdeen, Keansburg, Keyport, Morganville and portions of Holmdel.

The DEP also reminds residents and visitors of certain Ocean County barrier island communities that a “Do Not Consume” and “Do Not Flush” notice remains in effect due to storm-related compromises to their water and wastewater systems. Those communities include Mantoloking, Chadwick Beach, Seaside Heights, Seaside Park, South Seaside Park, Pelican Island, Normandy Beach, Ortley Beach, Dover Beach North and Dover Beach South.

To view Governor Christie’s Executive Order terminating the water emergency, please visit:

To view Commissioner Martin’s Administrative Order rescinding water usage restrictions, please visit:

For tips and programs on water conservation, please visit:



News Releases: DEP News Home | Archives
Department: NJDEP Home | About DEP | Index by Topic | Programs/Units | DEP Online
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs

Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996-2019

Last Updated: December 17, 2012