

Spruce Run Recreation Area

Summer Boat Storage Selection Procedures and Regulations



The State Park Service provides 300 boat storage spaces at Spruce Run Recreation Area. Please read the following selection procedures and regulations before completing the attached application.

Selection Procedures:

- For new applicants, storage sites will be assigned on a first come, first served basis beginning March 1st.
- All valid summer storage spot holders will be given the opportunity to renew their storage space for the same spot number for the next summer season. Renewal applications will be sent out the first week of January and are due back to the park office no later than the deadline. If the storage spot holder does not return the application with full payment by the assigned deadline, the spot will be reassigned on a first come first served basis.
- All applications must be completely filled out. Any non-applicable fields should be noted N/A.
- The first 300 applicants will be issued a permit. All remaining applicants will be placed on a priority waiting list, in the order they were received, and will be notified if a space becomes available.

Regulations:

- The boat storage season extends from April 1st through October 31st. Boat owners will be assessed a late removal fee of \$35 and a boat storage fee of \$20/day for boats not removed by the deadline. Any boats left on State Park premises after the deadline will be subject to towing at the owner's expense.
- Stored boats are limited to a length of 25 feet and a maximum height of 30 feet above the water line.
- Stored boats must be removed from the water and placed in assigned storage spaces each night.
- Issued boat storage decals must be permanently affixed to each stored boat. All vehicles must display pass upon entry.
- Stored boats greater than 12 feet in length (except canoes and kayaks) or motor powered boats (regardless of length and type) must display a current registration number and sticker.
- The State of New Jersey and its employees or agents are not responsible for the protection of boats or any equipment stored and are not liable if vandalized, damaged or stolen.
- The State of New Jersey reserves the right to discontinue boat launching for special events or, if in its opinion, the reservoir reaches a level which is considered unsafe for boating or boat launching. The State Park Service is not responsible for, nor guarantees, the water level at the reservoir during the boat storage season.

- If a boat sticker or vehicle hangtag is destroyed, damaged or lost, a replacement permit may be issued. To receive a replacement, proof of the lost, damaged or stolen permit is required by providing permit remnants, police reports for stolen or damaged vehicle/boat or any other documentation that provides reasonable proof of loss or damage.
- The boat storage fee includes the daily parking fee for one vehicle. Vehicle hangtags must be displayed in the permittee's vehicle or the daily parking fee will be charged.
- Cancellations and refund requests for a boat storage permit will be prorated and require a \$35 cancellation fee. This eliminates the option for renewal of the same spot for next year.
- Boat storage permit holders will not make use of the Spruce Run Boat Storage Area contrary to park regulations. Violators may be subject to penalties under NJAC 7:2-2.13. A full text of rules is posted and is available upon request.

For additional information, please contact: Spruce Run Recreation Area 68 Van Syckles Road Clinton, NJ 08809 (908) 638-8572 Sprucerun@dep.nj.gov * Highlands Trail Summer Boat Storage Area **LEGEND** #260**→** #223 Sailing #222-#183 Parking #182**→** -#138 **Boating** #137⊸ #91 Car Top 4 Hiking #90 -#45 Restroom #44 -#1 Car Top Launch Р Accessible Facility Telephone Car Top Fishing **Boat Launch**

Spruce Run Reservoir

Wildlife Observation