Corson’s Inlet State
Park was established in 1969 to help protect and preserve
one of the last undeveloped tracts of land along the state’s
oceanfront. The area’s natural habitats are rich in
the diversity of its wildlife with primary and secondary
sand dune systems, shoreline overwash, marine estuaries and
upland areas in which hundreds of wildlife species live and
breed. The park offers outstanding scenic beauty and endless
opportunities for observing a multitude of migratory and
residential wildlife species. Corson’s Inlet is extremely
popular for hiking, fishing, crabbing, boating and sunbathing.
Through the Carry-In/Carry-Out Program you can help us keep the parks clean and beautiful by carrying out the trash you carry in. Please bring a biodegradable bag with you when visiting to take your trash home. Thank you for your cooperation and remember to recycle.
Attention Mobile Sport Fishing Anglers: Be aware that the beach at Corson's Inlet is inaccessible at high tide. Hurricane Sandy caused severe erosion to the beach. It is suggested you visit the beach to view the conditions before you purchase your permit. Refunds will not be issued due to the existing conditions.
Corsons Inlet State Park Area Map
Natural Area (98 acres)
An area of undeveloped beachfront and undisturbed
sand dunes that serves as a protected nesting site for the
endangered Piping Plover, the Least Tern and Black skimmers.
Other shorebirds and waterfowl, such as the American Oystercatcher,
various species of sandpipers, gulls, herons, sanderlings
and ducks can also be observed at certain times of the year.
Pets are not allowed April 1st to September 15th in any area of Corsons.
Special Use Permit Application
Special Use Permit Application Package
A Special Use Permit is utilized to accommodate a specific activity or event being conducted over a short duration. There are two types of special use permits: Non-Commercial and Commercial and fees are based on NJ residency and Non-residents. A completed application must be submitted to the park/forest area where the activity or event is being held at least 90 days prior to the event. If the special use or event is extremely large or complex, at least one-year’s prior notice is recommended.
Corson's Inlet provides an excellent opportunity
for any type of boating, ranging from canoes to large motor
boats, sailboats, sailboards and jet skis. Boating is subject
to New Jersey Boating Regulations and Marine Law.
The boat ramp is open 24 hours day,
seven days a week year round. There is ramp access for people
New Jersey Resident $12 per launch
Non-Resident $20 per launch
New Jersey Resident $60
• Fees are charged at Corson's
Inlet beginning on Memorial Day weekend and ending on Labor Day inclusive.
Annual launch fee permits are available at the Belleplain
State Forest office.
Launch Ramp Permit Information Sheet
Be aware that the beach at Corson's Inlet is inaccessible at high tide. Hurricane Sandy caused severe erosion to the beach. It is suggested you visit the beach to view the conditions before you purchase your permit. Refunds will not be issued due to the existing conditions.
Saltwater fishing is subject to New
Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife and State Park Service
regulations. Information regarding saltwater fishing regulations
can be found in the Fish and Wildlife Digest, which is available
at local tackle dealers. Corson's Inlet provides excellent
opportunities to catch bluefish, kingfish, striped bass
Download an Annual Mobile Sportfishing Permit application: Mobile Sport Fishing Vehicle Annual permit (PDF Format - 187 KB)
Issued decals should be treated as cash. They will not be replaced if lost or stolen.
The SPS will continue to replace decals only upon presentation of paid receipt and the remnants of old decals, such as scraped off the old vehicle's bumper when someone has bought a new vehicle. The replacement fee is $25.
Mobile Sportfishing Vehicle Permit Information Sheet (PDF Format - 102 KB)
Mobile Sportfishing Vehicle permits to operate
4-wheel drive vehicles on the fishing beaches at Corson's
Inlet are also available at the Belleplain
State Forest office.
MANDATORY EQUIPMENT FOR A MOBILE SPORTFISHING VEHICLE (MSFV)
Permits are issued to 4-wheel drive vehicle owners for fishing purposes only. Carrying the basic equipment listed is required whenever the MSFV is on the beach.
1) Fishing equipment and bait and tackle for each person over 12 years of age;
2) Tire gauge;
3) Spare tire;
4) Workable jack and board/support for jack in sand (3/4 in. x 12 x 12 in. plywood square minimum size)
5) Tow chain or snatch line;
8) Fire extinguisher;
9) Auto first aid kit;
10) Litter/trash bag;
11) Minimum of 1/4 tank of fuel.
A current tide chart is highly recommended. Jumper cables for the vehicle's specific battery type are also recommended
NOTE: The beach is closed to vehicles
May 15 - September 15.
New Jersey Resident $50.00