New Jersey Radon Certification Procedures
New Jersey law requires that the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) certify radon measurement and mitigation businesses and radon measurement and mitigation professionals.
There are two types of radon business certification in New Jersey:
- Radon Measurement Business
- Radon Mitigation Business
Please review the New Jersey regulations for Certification of Radon Testers and Mitigators for certification requirements. Contact the Radon Program at (800) 648-0394 within New Jersey or (609) 984-5425 (from outside New Jersey) to obtain a New Jersey radon business certification application and further information.
As of April 1, 2016, the Radon Section will no longer administer the certification exam or maintain an approved list of initial and continuing education training courses. The American Association of Radon Scientists and Technologists (AARST) National Radon Proficiency Program (NRPP) will administer the New Jersey exam and maintain a list of all approved training courses that can be taken for New Jersey certification.
NOTE: If you are already New Jersey certified you do NOT need to take the NRPP-NJ exam or retake initial training, just continue with your continuing education by taking NRPP approved courses as discussed below under Annual Certification Renewal.
There are four types of radon professional certification in New Jersey:
||Initial Training Course
||Annual Continuing Education
Individuals who want to become a New Jersey certified radon professional must:
- On or after April 1, 2016, attend an entry-level training course approved by NRPP for the number of hours shown above depending upon the certification category. Be sure to take a NRPP course that is approved for New Jersey Certification.
If an individual takes a New Jersey approved initial training course prior to April 1, 2016, and they do not submit their New Jersey certification application until after this date, the courses will still be accepted.
- Pass the NRPP-New Jersey Certification Examination for that certification category. New Jersey is no longer administering the exam. Individuals will be able to take the NRPP-New Jersey exam immediately after specified NRPP initial training courses. The NRPP-New Jersey exam will be available to take at your convenience as of July 1, 2016 at various locations in New Jersey and surrounding states. NRPP exam information will be available on the NRPP website after April 1, 2016. Review the following study materials: For Measurement; for Mitigation
- Affiliate with a certified radon measurement or mitigation business and obtain an affiliation letter from the business to submit with their initial application.
- Meet the requirements of the New Jersey regulations for Certification of Radon Testers and Mitigators (N.J.A.C. 7:28-27) for the certification category.
- Submit an initial New Jersey radon certification application. Please follow the instructions provided.
Upon approval, an individual is issued a provisional certification to allow them to obtain 6 months of radon work experience. After 6 months, the business with which the individual is affiliated must submit a letter to the Radon Section documenting the individual's radon work experience. At that time the individual will become fully certified.
Annual Certification Renewal
Annual New Jersey certification renewal is required for businesses and professionals. A pre-printed version of the application will be sent to the mailing address that is in our database. The application needs to be reviewed for accuracy. Any changes need to be documented on the application before returning the renewal application to the Radon Section.
An individual is required to take continuing education (CE) for the number of hours shown above depending upon the certification category:
On or after April 1, 2016, take a NRPP approved CE course
As long as a continuing education course is approved and on the NRPP list, regardless of whether it is on the list for measurement or mitigation, it can be used to fulfill the continuing education requirements for radon professional certification in New Jersey.
If an individual takes a New Jersey approved continuing education course prior to April 1, 2016, and they do not submit their New Jersey certification application until after this date, the courses will still be accepted.
Contact the Radon Program at (800) 648-0394 within New Jersey or (609)984-5425 (from outside New Jersey) to obtain further information.