
APPLICATION FOR EXAMINATION IN 

DIAGNOSTIC RADIOGRAPHY, LIMITED RADIOGRAPHY OR RADIATION THERAPY 

Name Social Security Number 

Mr. 

Ms. 
Last First MI 

Address 

Date of Birth 

Telephone No.: 

# & Street Apt # (home) 

(work) 

City  State  Zip  Country Email: 

Check the Appropriate Category Diagnostic Limited Chest Limited Podiatric 

Radiation Therapy Limited Orthopedic Limited Urologic 

 

Due to changes in the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists' (ARRT) billing practices, candidates for examination must 
pay the examination fee directly to the ARRT.  As a result, the Department is providing the following two examination options.

 

____  Option 1: Examination without a review of your eligibility for a license (No cost)

 

____   Option 2: Examination with a review for pre-approval for you eligibility for a license ($160.00)

 
MORAL CHARACTER STATEMENT

Have you ever been convicted of any Federal or state crime(s)?     Yes No 

If yes, please submit official documentation from the court that includes the date(s) of conviction, the name and degree of the crime(s), the 

court sentence(s) and the status of completing the sentence(s). 

 NOTARIZE HERE 

I understand that any false statement made by me may be cause 
for the denial of this application and may subject me to penalties 
allowed by law. 

Signature of Applicant 

Maiden Name (if any) 

Sworn to and subscribed before me this 
 day of A.D.

Signature of Official Administering Oath 

Title (Official Seal) 

Bureau Use Only: 

Amount Received:  _____Check #   Date Processed  License #  Initials 

NJEMS #   
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This is an application for (please see reverse page for details and check an option):



APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS FOR A NEW JERSEY EXAMINATION IN 

DIAGNOSTIC RADIOGRAPHY, LIMITED RADIOGRAPHY, OR RADIATION 

THERAPY EFFECTIVE April 28, 2022.

General Instructions For Both Options:

 Make sure the application is complete with all appropriate questions answered.

 Under the Federal Privacy Act, 5 USC 552a disclosure of your Social Security Number is voluntary. It is used solely

as an internal identifier.

 All applicants must be 18 years of age at the time of application.

 All applicants must submit a copy of your diploma or other proof that you completed at least a high school level

education in the United States or its equivalent (such as a GED or a foreign education that has been evaluated and

deemed to be equivalent).

 Sign the application and have it notarized by a notary public with a current date.

Please send application and fee with the necessary supporting documentation to: 

Department of Environmental Protection, Bureau of X-Ray Compliance 

US Postal Service: PO Box 420 (Mail Code 25-01), Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0420 

Overnight Mailing Address:  25 Arctic Parkway, Ewing, New Jersey 08638 

 (Use this address for UPS, FedEx, etc.) 

Tel: (609) 984-5890 Fax: (609) 984-5811  Internet address: www.xray.nj.gov 

Explanations of Examination Options:
Option 1: Examination without a review of your eligible for a license.  There is no cost with this option.  However, 
you are still subject to pay directly to the ARRT the cost of the examination.  If you choose this option, the Department 
will only provide the ARRT your contact information.  The ARRT will bill you for the examination, administer the 
examination, and notify the Department of your examination result.  The Department will notify you of your score.  
HOWEVER, passing the examination may not result in a license, if you do not fulfill the educational and clinical 
competency requirements for the license.  You will need to submit proof of fulfilling these requirements when you apply 
for a license.

If you are a graduate of a New Jersey or JRCERT approved diagnostic radiography, limited radiography, or radiation therapy 
program within the last 5 years or if you graduated from a New Jersey or JRCERT approved radiography or radiation therapy 
program more than 5 years ago, but can obtain a letter from a supervising licensed qualified technologist or licensed physician 
attesting to your employment within the last 5 years to include the dates of employment, a detailed list of procedures performed 
and a statement regarding your competency in performing these procedures, you mostly do not need pre-approval prior to 
taking the examination.  You cannot obtain this work experience in New Jersey.  If you cannot document competent work 
experience that was legally obtained within the last 5 years, you are not eligible for examination.

Option 2:  Examination with a review for pre-approval of your eligibility for a license.  A nonrefundable/nontransferable 
fee of $160.00 must accompany the application. (Payment must be by personal check or money order, made payable to 
Treasurer, State of New Jersey).  If you choose this option, a determination of your eligibility for a license will be made.  If 
you are eligible, the Department will provide the ARRT with your contact information.  The ARRT will bill you for the 
examination, administer the examination, and notify the Department of your examination result.  The Department will notify 
you of your score.  If you pass the examination, you will only need to submit the examination eligibility letter and your 
examination score with your license application. 

You may want to consider this option, if you are not a graduate of a New Jersey or JRCERT approved diagnostic radiography, 
limited radiography, or radiation therapy program, since we will need to determine that you completed an equivalent program.  
You will need to submit information contained in the “Examination/License Appendix” that is available on our webpage.    
Also, needed is proof of documented competent work experience obtained within the last 5 years.  This requires a letter from a 
supervising licensed qualified technologist and licensed physician attesting your employment within the last 5 years to include 
the dates of employment, a detailed list of procedures performed and a statement regarding your competency in performing 
these procedures.  You cannot obtain this work experience in New Jersey.   If you cannot document competent work 
experience that was legally obtained within the last 5 years, you are not eligible for examination.

For examination information, please go to www.state.nj.us/dep/rpp/tec/LicInfo.htm and click on the category of interest.   For 
the cost that you must pay to the ARRT, please call the Bureau of X-ray Compliance at 609-984-5890.

https://www.state.nj.us/dep/rpp/tec/LicInfo.htm
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