

State of New Jersey

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION

PHILIP D. MURPHY
Governor

SHEILA Y. OLIVER
Lt. Governor

DIVISION OF WATER SUPPLY & GEOSCIENCE
Water System Operations Element
Bureau of Water System Engineering
401 East State Street
P.O. Box 402, Mail Code 401-04Q
Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0420
Tel. (609) 292-2957 ◆ Fax (609) 633-1495
www.nj.gov/dep/watersupply

SHAWN M. LATOURETTE

Commissioner

MEMORANDUM

TO: New Jersey State Water and Wastewater Licensed Operators

DATE: June 30, 2021

RE: Training Contact Hour (TCH) Waiver for Licensed Operators

The New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) understands that the unprecedented circumstances of the COVID-19 pandemic created limitations for many regulated entities, including water and wastewater operators. DEP has been working to ensure that we are responsive to these circumstances by providing the needed regulatory flexibility while protecting public health and safety, including the responsibility to ensure the provision of safe drinking water to New Jersey residents.

In recognition of the constraints on licensed professionals due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the DEP is issuing a proportionate credit waiver of Training Contact Hours (TCHs) for licensed operators. This waiver is being conducted in accordance with Temporary Rule Modification, through the authority: N.J.S.A. 13:1D-1 et seq., 58:10A-1 et seq., 58:11-64 et seq., and 58:12A-1 et seq., N.J.S.A. App.A:9-45 & App. A:9-47; Executive Order No. 103 (Murphy)(EO 103) for an insertion to the Licensed Operator rules. During the effective period of EO 103, the Department may temporarily waive or modify continuing education obligations based upon this authority.

On June 4, 2021, legislation (A5820/S3866) was signed enabling the end of the COVID-19 Public Health Emergency that has been in place since March 9, 2020. At the same time, the legislation also extends administrative orders, directives, and waivers issued by State agencies during the public health emergency until January 11, 2022. State agencies may continue, modify, or revoke any such action until January 11, 2022. EO 103 Temporary Rule Modification; Licensed Operator rules (N.J.A.C. 7:10A-1.16) falls under the extension.

The proportional reduction is based on the duration of the public health emergency and extension, which lasted 1 year and 6 months (March 2020 through September 2021) during the current 3-year TCH cycle that ends on September 30, 2021.



TCHs will be waived based on the classification of each license as follows:

			TCHs Required for
License	TCHs Required		Renewal on September
Classification	(per 3-year cycle)	TCHs Waived	30, 2021
Class 3 and 4	36	18	18
Class 1 and 2	18	9	9
VSWS	12	6	6

The DEP strongly encourages all licensed operators to continuing to take advantage of existing training opportunities to stay current with new laws and regulations and expand skills that are essential to the operation of NJ water and wastewater systems. To that end, the DEP is committed to working with the course providers to facilitate training opportunities and improve communication with the licensed operator community moving forward.

Licensees can check existing TCHs balances through the DEP's DataMiner system at https://www13.state.nj.us/DataMiner. Note that existing balances will not reflect the portion of TCHs that are being waived at this time.

Should you have any questions, you may contact staff in the Bureau of Water System Engineering at TCH@dep.nj.gov or 609-292-2957.

