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BULLETIN NO. 24-16 
 
 
TO:  ALL HOSPITAL, MEDICAL AND HEALTH SERVICE CORPORATIONS, 

INSURANCE COMPANIES AND HEALTH MAINTENANCE 
ORGANIZATIONS AUTHORIZED TO ISSUE HEALTH BENEFITS 
PLANS IN NEW JERSEY 

 
FROM:  JUSTIN ZIMMERMAN, COMMISSIONER 
 
RE: COVERAGE FOR HEARING AIDS AND COCHLEAR IMPLANTS (P.L. 

2023, c. 275) AND MAXIMUM COST SHARING FOR TREATMENT OF 
DIABETES, EPINEPHRINE AUTO-INJECTOR DEVICES, AND ASTHMA 
INHALERS (P.L. 2023, c. 105) 

 
The purpose of this Bulletin is to provide guidance to hospital, medical and health service 
corporations, insurance companies and health maintenance organizations authorized to issue health 
benefits plans in New Jersey (“carriers”) concerning two recently enacted statutes, P.L. 2023, c. 
275 (“Chapter 275”), concerning the coverage of hearing aids and cochlear implants, and P.L. 
2023, c. 105 (“Chapter 105”), concerning cost sharing for the treatment of diabetes, epinephrine 
auto-injector devices, and prescription asthma inhalers.   
 
Coverage for Hearing Aids and Cochlear Implants 

 
Chapter 275, approved January 16, 2024 and effective for plans, policies, or contracts delivered, 
issued, executed or renewed on or after April 15, 2024, requires carriers to provide benefits for 
medically necessary expenses incurred in the purchase of a hearing aid or cochlear implant.   

 
Chapter 275 amends P.L. 2008, c. 126 (“Grace’s Law”), New Jersey’s first law requiring limited 
insurance coverage for children’s hearing aids.  Chapter 275 removes the 15-year age limit on 
hearing aids and the $1,000 limit on coverage per hearing impaired ear imposed by Grace’s Law, 
to expand coverage to any covered person with benefits limited to one hearing aid for each hearing-
impaired ear every 24 months.   
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Chapter 275 also provides coverage for the cost of treatment related to cochlear implants, including 
coverage for procedures for the implantation of cochlear devices and costs for any parts, 
attachments, or accessories of the device, as well as replacement of obsolete external cochlear 
implant processors. 
 
The Department advises that consistent with Bulletin No. 09-17, the cost sharing applicable to 
primary care provider visits shall apply to hearing aids.  Hearing aids, including cochlear implants, 
shall not be treated as durable medical equipment for purposes of determining the appropriate cost 
sharing. 
 
Maximum Cost Sharing for the Treatment of Diabetes, Epinephrine Auto-Injector Devices, 
and Prescription Asthma Inhalers 

 
Chapter 105, approved July 10, 2023 and effective January 1, 2025, requires carriers to provide 
the following: 

 
• Coverage for the purchase of a short-acting, intermediate-acting, rapid-acting, long-acting, 

and pre-mixed insulin product recommended or prescribed by a participating physician or 
participating nurse practitioner/clinical nurse specialist.  Coverage shall not be subject to 
any deductible, and no copayment or coinsurance for the purchase of insulin shall exceed 
$35 per 30-day supply.  The limits on copayments or coinsurance extend to any insulin 
product prescribed to a patient as part of a 30-day supply, regardless of the number of 
prescriptions issued to the patient as part of a 30-day supply or the amount or type of insulin 
needed to fill each such prescription.  For example, if a covered person is prescribed both 
a short-acting insulin product and a long-acting insulin product, both prescriptions would 
be subject to Chapter 105’s cost sharing limitations and the copayment or coinsurance 
cannot exceed $35 per prescription for a 30-day supply.   

• Coverage for at least one epinephrine auto-injector device, if recommended or prescribed 
by a participating physician or participating nurse practitioner/clinical nurse specialist.  
Coverage for the purchase of an epinephrine auto-injector device shall not be subject to 
any deductible, and no copayment or coinsurance for the purchase of an epinephrine auto-
injector device shall exceed $25 per 30-day supply.  

• Coverage for expenses incurred for a prescription asthma inhaler, if prescribed by a 
participating physician or participating nurse practitioner/clinical nurse specialist.  
Coverage for the purchase of a covered prescription asthma inhaler shall not be subject to 
any deductible, and no copayment or coinsurance for the purchase of a covered prescription 
asthma inhaler shall exceed $50 per 30-day supply, regardless of the type of prescription 
asthma inhaler prescribed. 

 

Chapter 105 also requires coverage for equipment and supplies for the treatment of diabetes, 
including blood glucose monitors and blood glucose monitors for the legally blind; test strips for 
glucose monitors and visual reading and urine testing strips; insulin; injection aids; cartridges for 
the legally blind; syringes; insulin pumps and appurtenances thereto; insulin infusion devices; and 
oral agents for controlling blood sugar.  Coverage shall also include diabetes self-management 
education, including:  

https://www.nj.gov/dobi/bulletins/blt09_17.pdf
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• Health care services provided for self-management education and education relating to diet 
shall be limited to visits medically necessary upon the diagnosis of diabetes; upon diagnosis 
by a participating physician or participating nurse practitioner/clinical nurse specialist of a 
significant change in the enrollee's or other covered person's symptoms or conditions which 
necessitate changes in that person's self-management; and upon determination of a 
participating physician or participating nurse practitioner/clinical nurse specialist that 
reeducation or refresher education is necessary.  

• Diabetes self-management education shall be provided by a participating dietitian 
registered by a nationally recognized professional association of dietitians or a health care 
professional recognized as a Certified Diabetes Educator by the American Association of 
Diabetes Educators or, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 26:2J-4.7, a registered pharmacist in the State 
qualified with regard to management education for diabetes by any institution recognized 
by the Board of Pharmacy of the State of New Jersey. 

 
Questions regarding the content of this Bulletin should be directed to the Department’s Office of 
Life and Health at lifehealth@dobi.nj.gov. 
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