STATE OF NEW JERSEY
DEPARTMENT OF BANKING AND INSURANCE

IN THE MATTER OF: ) CONSENT ORDER
North Brunswick Auto Inc., ) AR17-1602429
Reference No. AR17-1602429 ) AR18=-1602429
Reference No. AR18-1602429 )

TO: NORTH BRUNSWICK AUTO INC.

504 George Road

North Brunswick, NJ 0B902

THIS MATTER, having been opened by the Office of Consumer
Finance within the Division of Banking of the Department of
Banking and Insurance ("Department"), State of New Jersey, upon
information that North Brunswick Autc Inc. (“Respondent”),
previously licensed as a motor vehicle installment seller
pursuant to N.J.S5.A. 17:16C-1 to -103, (“Act”) may have violated
certain provisions of the Act and other applicable law; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:1C-33, the Legislature
found and declared that the Division of Banking has a statutory
obligation to protect the interests of New Jersey consumers and
to oversee the financial industry that it licenses, and in order
to maintain adequate oversight and performance of its regulatory
responsibilities, it 1is necessary to establish a dedicated

funding mechanism; and



WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:1C-35a, on or before
August 15t in each year, the Director of the Division of Budget
and Accounting shall ascertain and certify to the Commissioner
of the Department (“"Commissioner”) the total amount of expenses
incurred with respect to the special functions of the Division
of Banking relative to financial regulation in the preceding
fiscal year; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S5.A. 17:1C-35b(l), no later than
September 1%t of each year, the Commissioner shall issue the
assessment for the amount of expenses incurred; and

WHEREAS, pursuant te N.J.S.A. 17:1C=-35b(2) and 46,
assessments shall be distributed among all requlated entities in
accordance with regulations promulgated by the Commissioner; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 3:1-7.6(a), individuals or
entities licensed by the Department as motor vehicle installment
sellers are required to file an annual report for the preceding
year on or before April 1 of each year; and

WHEREAS, as a matter of administrative accommodation, the
Department requires annual reports to be filed by May 1 of each
vear; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:16C-10 and -19, and
N.J.A.C. 3:1-7.6, the Commissioner is authorized to take action

on the license of a licensee who fails to file an annual report,



and impose a fine of not more than $100 per day for each day the
annual report is not filed; and

IT APPEARING that, by letter dated January 31, 2017, the
Department reminded Respondent that it was required to file its
2016 annual report by May 1, 2017 (“2016 annual report”); and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that the Department sent five e-mail
notices to Respondent, dated February 17, 2017, March 21, 2017,
April 6, 2017, April 13, 2017, and April 24, 2017, advising that
the 2016 annual report had not yet been filed, and that it must
be submitted by May 1, 2017 to avoid liability for penalties for
late filing; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that Respondent failed to file the
2016 annual report by May 1, 2017; and

IT FURTHER  APPEARING that, on June 7, 2017, the
Commissioner issued a Notice of Violation to Respondent, Order
Ho. AR17-1602429 (“2017 Notice of Violation”}; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that, on or about June 28, 2017,
Respondent submitted a response to the 2017 Notice of Violation
and reguested a hearing; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that Respondent filed the 2016 annual
report on January 28, 2019; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that, by letter dated January 31,

2018, the Department reminded Respondent that it was required to



file its 2017 annuwal report by May 1, 2018 (“2017 annual
report”); and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that the Department sent five e-mail
notices to Respondent, dated February 21, March 20, April 3,
April 16, and April 23, 2018, advising that the 2017 annual
report had not yet been filed, and that it must be submitted by
May 1, 2018 to avoid liability for penalties for late filing:
and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that Respondent failed to file the
2017 annual report by May 1, 2018; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that the Department sent an e-mail
notice to Respondent dated May 2, 2018 advising that the 2017
annual report was not filed by May 1, and that it must be
submitted immediately to avoid liability for penalties; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that, on June 8, 2018, the
Commissioner issued a Notice of Violation to Respondent, No.
AR18-9824510 (“2018 Notice of Vioclation”); and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that, on or about June 29, 2018,
Respondent submitted a response to the 2018 Notice of Violation
and requested a hearing; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that Respondent filed the 2017 annual

report on September 14, 2018; and



IT FURTHER APPEARING that Respondent’s motor vehicle
installment seller license expired on June 30, 2017; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that Respondent failed to pay an
annual assessment of $2535.00 for the calendar year 2017 which
was due by November 26, 2018; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that Respondent acknowledges that it
has been provided with notice that it would have had the
opportunity for a ©plenary hearing before the Office of
Administrative Law in connection with the Commissioner’s Orders;
and that it knowingly and wvoluntarily waives its right to a
plenary hearing in this matter; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that this matter should be resolved
uponn the consent of the parties without resort to a formal
hearing; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that good cause exists to enter into
this Consent Order; and N5

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS on 'I:h:i.s/ day of @’17 , 2019,

ORDERED AND AGREED that Respondent admits and accepts
responsibility for the actions described above in violation of
N.J.S.A., 17:16C-10 and 19, and N.J.A.C. 3:1-7.6; and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED AND AGREED that, pursuant to N.J.A.C.
3:1-7.6, Respondent shall pay an administrative penalty in the

amount of $2,000.00 for the violations admitted to herein; and



IT IS FURTHER ORDERED AND AGREED that Respondent shall pay
a past due assessment in the amount of £255.00 for the calendar
year 2017; and
IT IS FURTHER ORDERED AND AGREED that Respondent shall pay
the total settlement amount of $2,255.00 on the following terms:
1. Respondent shall make an initial payment in the
amount of §755.00, by certified check, cashier’s
check or money order made payable to the “Treasurer,
State of New Jersey,” due and payable immediately
upon the execution of this Consent Order by
Respondent.
2. The initial payment, together with a signed copy of
this Consent Order, shall be sent to:
Garen Gazaryan, Deputy Attorney General
State of New Jersey, Division of Law
Banking and Insurance Section
R.J. Hughes Justice Complex
25 Market Street, Second Floor, West Wing
P.0O. Box 117
Trenton, New Jersey 08625
3. Respondent shall make six subsequent monthly
payments in the amount of §$250.00, by certified
check, cashier’s check or money order made payable
to the "Treasurer, State of New Jersey,” due and

payable on the first of each month, starting on May

1, 2019.



4, The monthly payments described in the preceding
Point 3 shall be sent to:

Fose V. McGill

Collections Department

New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance
20 West State Street, 10th Floor

P.0O. Box 325

Trenton, New Jersey 0B625
IT IS FURTHER ORDERED AND AGREED that the provisions
of this Consent Order represent a final agency decision and

constitute final resolution of the violations contained in Order

No. AR17-1602425 and in Order No. AR18-1602429.

S S

Thomas Hunt
Assistant Division Director




Consented to as to Form, Content and Entry:

runswick Auto Inc.
aymond Kassas

GURBIR S. GREWAL
ATTORNEY GENERAL OF NEW JERSEY
Attorney for the New Jersey

Department of Banking and Insurance

s Y4[39/17

A

By: Garen Gazaryan
Deputy Attorney General

Date:
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