
ORDER NO.  OCF22-28 

STATE OF NEW JERSEY 
DEPARTMENT OF BANKING AND INSURANCE 

IN THE MATTER OF: 
_____________________________________________

Pinto Automotive Group LLC, 
Reference No. 1300388. 
_____________________________________________

 
) 
) 
) 
 

CONSENT ORDER 

TO: Pinto Automotive Group LLC 
1018 Brunswick Avenue 
Trenton, New Jersey 08638 

THIS MATTER having been opened by the Commissioner of the New Jersey 

Department of Banking and Insurance (“Commissioner”), upon information that Pinto 

Automotive Group LLC (“Respondent”), may have violated various provisions of the Retail 

Installment Sales Act of 1960, N.J.S.A. 17:16C-1 to -61 (“Act”); and 

WHEREAS, Respondent is currently licensed as a motor vehicle installment seller 

pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:16C-2; and 

WHEREAS, Respondent is subject to the provisions of the Act; and 

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:16C-2, no person shall engage in or continue to 

engage in the business of a motor vehicle installment seller in this State without first obtaining a 

license from the Commissioner as provided for in the Act; and 

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:16C-10(a)(1), the Commissioner may revoke, 

suspend or refuse to renew a license or impose a penalty pursuant to the Act if the Commissioner 

finds, after notice and an opportunity for a hearing, that any person, applicant for or holder of the 

license has violated any of the provisions the Act or any order, rule or regulation made or issued 

pursuant to the Act; and  



 2 

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:16C-10(a)(5), the Commissioner may revoke, 

suspend or refuse to renew a license or impose a penalty pursuant to the Act if the Commissioner 

finds, after notice and an opportunity for a hearing, that any person, applicant for or holder of the 

license has demonstrated unworthiness, incompetence, bad faith or dishonesty in the transacting 

of business as a licensee; and 

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:16C-10(a)(6), the Commissioner may revoke, 

suspend or refuse to renew a license or impose a penalty pursuant to the Act if the Commissioner 

finds, after notice and an opportunity for a hearing, that any person, applicant for or holder of the 

license has engaged in any other conduct which would be deemed by the Commissioner to be the 

cause for denial of the license; and  

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:16C-55, any person, and any director, officer, 

employee, agent, or representative thereof, who or which shall engage in this State in the 

business of a motor vehicle installment seller without having first obtained a license, as required 

by the Act, shall be liable to a penalty of not more than $1,000.00 for each offense; and 

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:16C-56, any person conducting business the Act 

and any director, officer, partner, member, employee, agent, or representative thereof who shall 

knowingly violate any provision of the Act or shall directly or indirectly counsel, aid or abet 

such violation shall be liable to a penalty of not more than $500.00 for each offense; and 

WHEREAS, the Commissioner issued Order to Show Cause E22-16 on March 15, 2022, 

alleging violations of the Act by Respondent as follows: 

COUNT 1 

IT APPEARING that Respondent was first licensed with the 
Department as a motor vehicle installment seller in June 2013; and 



 3 

IT FURTHER APPEARING that Respondent’s motor vehicle 
installment seller license expired on June 30, 2017 because 
Respondent failed to renew it; and 

IT FURTHER APPEARING that Respondent applied for a new 
motor vehicle installment seller license on November 2, 2018; and 

IT FURTHER APPEARING that in the new license application, 
Respondent disclosed continuing to engage in the motor vehicle 
installment seller business with an expired license; and  

IT FURTHER APPEARING that on November 14, 2018, 
Respondent obtained a new motor vehicle installment seller 
license; and  

IT FURTHER APPEARING that by engaging in the motor vehicle 
installment seller business with an expired license, Respondent 
violated N.J.S.A. 17:16C-2; N.J.S.A. 17:16C-10(a)(1), (a)(5), and 
(a)(6); and 

COUNT 2 

IT FURTHER APPEARING that by email dated March 8, 2019, 
the Department investigator requested that Respondent provide 
copies of installment sales contracts which Respondent issued with 
an expired license; and  

IT FURTHER APPEARING that Respondent failed to respond to 
the Department’s request and failed to provide the required 
documents; and 

IT FURTHER APPEARING on July 20, 2021, the Department 
sent a demand letter to Respondent by certified and regular mail 
requesting that Respondent provide the following documents: (1) 
copies of all executed New Jersey retail installment contracts and 
retail purchase agreements from July 1, 2017 to November 14, 
2018; and (2) list of all the finance companies/lenders used for the 
above referenced transactions during the same timeframe; and 

IT FURTHER APPEARING that Respondent failed to respond to 
the Department’s demand letter and failed to provide the required 
documents; and 

IT FURTHER APPEARING that by failing to submit to the 
Department’s investigation and by failing to provide the requested 
documents, Respondent violated N.J.S.A. 17:16C-15, N.J.S.A. 
17:16C-10(a)(1), (a)(5), and (a)(6); and 
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WHEREAS, on May 11, 2022, Respondent requested a hearing, and this matter was 

transmitted to the Office of Administrative Law as a contested matter; and 

WHEREAS, Respondent subsequently provided copies of two installment contracts for 

two retail installment sales transactions it conducted without a license from June 30, 2017 to 

November 14, 2018; and  

WHEREAS, Respondent was given notice of the aforesaid allegations and an opportunity 

to contest them at a hearing; and 

WHEREAS Respondent admits and agrees to take responsibility for the aforementioned 

violations of the Act; and  

WHEREAS Respondent has waived its right to a hearing on this matter and consents to 

payment of a penalty in the amount of $2,500.00; and 

WHEREAS this matter should be resolved, upon the consent of all parties without resort 

to a formal hearing; and 

WHEREAS good cause exists to impose a civil penalty in this matter; and 

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS on this ____ day of ______________2022,  

IT IS ORDERED AND AGREED that simultaneously with execution of this Consent 

Order by Respondent, it shall pay a civil penalty in the amount of $2,500.00 for the violations 

admitted to herein by certified check, official bank check, or money order made payable to the 

“State of New Jersey,” which shall be sent to counsel for the Department; and  

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED AND AGREED that the provisions of this Consent Order 

represent a final agency decision and constitute final resolution of the violations contained 

herein; and 

 18 October 
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IT IS FURTHER ORDERED AND AGREED that Respondent shall cease and desist 

from engaging in the conduct that gave rise to this Consent Order, and from any other violations 

of the Act. 

____________________ 
Marlene Caride 
Commissioner 



CONSENTED TO AS TO FORM, CONTENT AND ENTRY: 

Date: oZ 
By: Anthony into 
(On behalf of Pinto Automotive Group LLC) 

Owner 
(Title) 

MATTHEW J. PLATKIN 
ACTING ATTQRNEY GENERAL OF NEW JERSEY 
Attorney for the New Jersey 
Department of Banking and Insurance 

Date: ~d ~o •ZZ 
By: Garen Gazaryan 

Deputy Attorney General 
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