ORDER NO. El17-

STATE OF NEW JERSEY
DEPARTMENT OF BANKING AND INSURANCE

IN THE MATTER OF:

Proceedings by the Commissioner of

)
Banking and Insurance, State of )
New Jersey, to fine, suspend and/or ) FINAL ORDER
)
)
)

revoke the insurance producer
license of Garrett Smith,
Reference No. 1279157

TO: Garrett Smith
636 Jackson Avenue
Roselle, NJ 07203
THIS MATTER, having been opened by the Commissioner of
Banking and Insurance (“Commissioner”), State of New Jersey,
upon issuance of Order to Show Cause No. E17-16 alleging that

Garrett Smith (“Smith” or “"Respondent”), may have violated

various provisions of the insurance laws of the State of New

Jersey; and

WHEREAS, Smith was licensed as a resident insurance

producer pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-32 until the expiration of

his license on September 30, 2016; and

WHEREAS, Smith is subject to the provisions of the New

Jersey Insurance Producer Licensing Act of 2001, N.J.S.A.

17:22A-26 et seq. (“Producer Act”), the New Jersey Insurance

Fraud Prevention Act, N.J.S.A. 17:33A-) et seqg. ("Fraud Act”)

and the regulations promulgated thereunder, N.J.A.C. 11:16-1.1
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and the regulations governing Insurance Producer

et seq.
Standards of Conduct, N.J.A.C. 11:17A-1.1 et seq.; and

WHEREAS, pursuant te N.J.S.A, 17:228-40a(2), an

insurance producer shall not violate any insurance law,

regulation, subpoena or order of Lhe Commissioner or of another

state’s insurance regulator; and

pursuant to N.J.S5.A. 17:22A-40a(6), an

WHEREAS,

insurance producer shall not have been convicted of a felony or

crime of the fourth degree or higher; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22R-40a(8), an

insurance producer shall not use fraudulent, coercive, or

dishonest practices, or demonstrate incompetence,

untrustworthiness, or financial irresponsibility in the conduct

of insurance business in this State or elsewhere; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:228~40a(16), an

insurance producer shall not commit any fraudulent act; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A~40a(18), an

insurance producer shall not fail to notify the Commissioner

within 30 days of his conviction of any crime, indictment or the

filing of any formal criminal charges, or the suspension or

revocation of any insurance license or authority by a state,
other than this State, or the initiation of formal disciplinary

proceedings in a state, other than this State, affecting the



procducer’s ainsurance license; or fail to obtain the written
consenl pursuant to sections 1033 and 1034 of Title 18, United
States Code (18 U.S5.C. 55.1033 and 1034); or fail to supply any
documentation Lhat the Commissioner may’ request in connection
Lherewith; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-47b, an insurance
producer shall, within 30 days of the initial pretrial hearing
date, report to the Commissioner any criminal prosecution of the
producer taken in any jurisdiction and said report shall include
a copy of the initial complaint filed, the order resulting from
thé hearing and any other relevant legal documents; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 11:17A-4.8, an insurance
producer shall reply, in writing, to any inquiry of the New
Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance (“Department”)
relative to the business of insuranée within the time requested
in said inquiry, or no later than 15 calendar days from the date
the inquiry was made or mailed in cases where no response time
is given; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A~45¢c, any person
violating any provision of the Producer Act shall be iiable for
a civil penalty not exceeding $5,000 for the first offense and

not exceeding 310,000 for each subsequent offense, as well as

restitution of moneys owed any person and reimbursement of the



costs of investigation and proseculion; and

WHEREAS, pursuanl to N.J.S.A. 17:33A-4a(1), no person

shall present or cavse to be presented any written or oral

statemenl. as part of, or in support of or opposition to, a claim

for payment or other beneflt pursuant to an insurance policy or

the “Unsatisfied Claim and Judgment Fund Law,” P.L.1952, ¢.174

(C.39:6-61 et seq.), knowing that the statement contains any

false or misleading information concerning any fact or thing

material to the claim; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:33A-4a(3), no person

shall conceal or knowingly fail to disclose the occurrence of

any event which affects any person’s initial or continued right

or entitlement to (a) any insurance benefit or payment or (b)

the amount of any benefit or payment to which the person is

entitled; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A, 17:33A-5a and ¢,

viclations of the Fraud Act subject the violator to a civil and

administrative penalty not to exceed $5,000.00 for the first

not to exceed $10,000.00 for the second violation and

vicolation,
not to exceed $15,000.00 for each subsequent violation;
morecover, the Commlissioner may issue a final order recovering

costs of prosecution, including attorneys’ fees in accordance

with N.J.A.C. 11:16-7.9(c); and



WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:33A-5.1, any person

who is found in any legal proceeding to have committed insurance
fraund shall be subject to a surcharge in the amount of

$1,000.00; and
WHEREAS, pursuant tao N.J.S.A. 17:22A-490d, the

Commissioner shall retain the authority to enforce the

provisions of and impose any penalty or remedy authorized by the
Producer Act and Title 17 of the Revised Statutes or Title 17B
of the New Jersey Statutes against any person who is under
investigation for or charged with a violation of the Producer
Act or Title 17 of the Revised Statutes or Title 17B of the New

Jersey Statutes even if the person’s license or registration has

been surrendered or has lapsed by operation of law; and

WHEREAS, the Commissioner issued Order to Show Cause

No. E17-16 (“OTSC”}) on March 24, 2017, alleging violations of

New Jersey insurance laws by Smith as follows:

IT APPEARING, that on or about December
30, 2010, the Respondent submitted a false
automobile accident claim to New Jersey
Manufacturers Insurance Company stating that
his mother’s 2001 Lincoln Town Car had been
damaged on December 26, 2010 during a “hit
and run” incident while parked in front of
the insured’s residence when, in fact, the
vehicle had been damaged while the
Respondent was operating it on December 25,
2010; Respondent fled the scene of the
accident and subsequently garaged the
vehicle at an alternate location, in
violation of N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40a(2), (8) and
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(16) and N.J.S.A. 17:33A-4a(1) and (3): and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that on or about
January 17, 2014, the Respondent Was
indicted by the State of New Jersey and
charged with second degree insurance fraud
in violation of N.J.S5.A. 2C:21-4.6a{l) and
fourth degree false reporting to law
enforcement in violation of N.J.S.A. 2C:28-

4; and

I't FURTHER APPEARING, that on or about
February 24, 2015, the Respondent pleaded
guilty to one count of second degree
insurance fraud in vioclation of N.J.S.A.
2C:21-4.6a{1) and was sentenced on or about
April 10, 2015 to probation for a period of
three years with 90 days of jail time, in
violation of N.J.S.A. 17:22R-40a(2), (6) and

(16): and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that the
Respondent failed to advise the Department
of the aforementioned incidents within 30
days, in violation of N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40a(2)
and (18} and N.J.S.A. 17:22A-47b; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that the
Respondent failed to provide a written
response with supporting documentation
relative to the aforementioned <criminal
activity pursuant to correspondence issued
by the Department on April 1, 2015, in
violation of N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40a(2) and

N.J.A.C. 11:17A-4.8; and
WHEREAS, as set forth in the Certification of Service

of Deputy Attorney General Richard E. Wegryn, Jr., attached

hereto as Exhibit A, Smith was given notice of the aforesaid

charges and an opportunity to contest the charges at a hearing

pursuant to the OTSC, which was duly served by certified and



regular malil upon Smith al his last known business or mailing

address, according to files malintained by the Department in
accordanpce with N.J.A.C., 11:17D-2.1(a)3; and
WHEREAS, although due notice of the charges provided

an opportunity Lo oppose the allegations, Smith failed to
provide writren responses to the charges contained in the 0T5C,
and therefore Smith has waived his right to a hearing to contest

these charges and the charges are deemed admitted, pursuant to

N.J.A.C. 11:17D-2.1{(b}1; and
NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS on this da of
" day O(rv Ger_ "

2017:
ORDERED that the charges contained in the OTSC are

deemed admitted by Smith due to his failure to respond to the

alleged violations pursuant to N.J.A.C. 11:17D-2.1(b)1; and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that, pursuant to N.J.S5.A.

17:22A~-40a and N.J.A.C. 11:17D-2.1(b)2, the insurance producer

license of Smith is hereby REVOKED; and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that, pursuant to N.J.5.A.
17:22A-495¢c and N.J.S$.A. 17:33A-5, Smith shall be liable for the
payment of a civil penalty in the amount of $7,500.00 for the
violations of the Producer Act and for the payment of a civil
penalty in the amount of $2,500.00 for the violation of the

Fraud Act as set forth in the OTSC, and a statutory surcharge in
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the amount of $1,000,00 pursuant Lo N.J.S.A. 17:23A-5.1; and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that, pursuant. to N.J.S.A, 17:223-

45¢ and N.J.A.C. 11:1-32.4(b)20, Smith shall reimburse the

Department for the costs associated with the investigation of

this matler, as evidenced by the Certification of Costs by

Investigator Daxesh M. Patel, attached hereto as Exhibit “BY,

totaling $612.50; and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Smith shall pay the above
fines and costs totaling $11,612.50 in full by remitting payment

to the Commissioner of Banking and Insurance, State of New
Jersey, 20 West State Street, P.0. Box 329, Trenton, New Jersey
08625, Attention: Virgil Dowtin, Chief of Investigations by

certified check, cashier’'s check or noney order made payable to
the “State of New Jersey, General Treasury,” within ten (10)

days from the date of service of this Order; and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that in the event full payment

of the fines and costs are not made, the Commissioner may

exercise any and all remedies available by law, including but

not limited to recovery of any unpaid penalties, in accordance

with the Penalty Enforcement Law of 1999, N.J.S.A. 2A:58-10 et

seq.; and
IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the fines in this Final

Order are imposed pursuant to the police powers of the State of
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New Jersey for the enforcemenl of the law and the protection of
the public health, safety and welfare, and are not intended to

constitute debts which may be limited or discharged in a

bankruptey proceeding; and

1T I8 FURTHER ORDERED that the provisions of this
Final Order represent a final agency decision and constitute a

final resolution of the allegations contained in the OTSC.

o

Peter L, Hartt~
Director of Insurance



