ORDER NO. E17- G

STATE OF NEW JERSEY
DEPARTMENT OF BANKING AND INSURANCE

IN THE MATTER OF:

Proceedings by the Commissioner of Banking
and Insurance, State of New Jersey, to fine,
suspend, and/or revoke the Insurance Producer
License of Shannon Shaw, Reference No.
1303859

ORDER TO SHOW CAUSE

e g S L

TO:  Shannon Shaw

50 Magnolia Avenue

Pitman, NJ 08071

This matter, having been opened by the Commissioner of Banking and Insurance
(“Commissioner”), State of New Jersey, upon information that Shannon Shaw (“Respondent™)
may have violated various provisions of the insurance laws of the State of New Jersey; and

WHEREAS, Respondent was licensed as a resident insurance producer, pursuant to
N.JS.A. 17:22A-32, until her license expired on July 31, 2015; and

WHEREAS, Respondent is subject to the provisions of the New Jersey Insurance Producer
Licensing Act of 2001, N.J.S.A. 17:22A-26 et seq. (“Producer Act”); and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40a(2), an insurance producer shall not violate
any insurance law, regulation, subpoena or order of the Commissioner or of another state’s

insurance regulator; and



WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40a(6), an insurance producer shall not be
convicted of a felony or crime of the fourth degree or higher; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40a(18), an insurance producer shall not fail to
notify the Commissioner within 30 days of his conviction of any crime, indictment or the filing of
any formal criminal charges or the suspension or revocation of any insurance license or authority
by a state, other than this State, or the initiation of formal disciplinary proceedings in a state, other
than this State, affecting the producer’s insurance license; or fail to obtain the written consent
pursuant to sections 1033 and 1034 of Title 18, United States Code (18 U.S.C. 1033 and 1034); or
fail to supply any documentation that the Commissioner may request in connection therewith; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.I.S.A. 17:22A-47b, within 30 days of the initial pretrial hearing

date, an insurance producer shall report to the Commissioner any criminal prosecution of the
producer taken in any jurisdiction, which report shall include a copy of the initial complaint filed,
the order resulting from the hearing and any other relevant legal documents; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S. A, 17:22A-40d, the Commissioner shall retain the authority
to enforce the provisions of and impose any penalty or remedy authorized by the Producer Act and
Title 17 of the Revised Statutes or Title 17B of the New Jersey Statutes against any person who is
under investigation for or charged with a violation of the Producer Act or Title 17 of the Revised
Statutes or Title 17B of the New Jersey Statutes even if the person’s license or registration has
been surrendered or has lapsed by operation of law; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.I.S.A. 17:22A-45¢, any person violating any provision of the

Producer Act shall be liable to a penalty not exceeding $5,000.00 for the first offense and not

exceeding $10,000.00 for each subsequent offense; additionally, the Commissioner may order

IJ



restitution of moneys owed any person and reimbursement of costs of the investigation and
prosecution; and
ALLEGATIONS COMMON TO ALL COUNTS

IT APPEARING, that from November 8, 2013 through January 7, 2014, Respondent was
employed as a licensed insurance producer at the Affordable Insurance Agency in Haddon
Township (“Affordable Insurance™); and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that one of Respondent’s duties at Affordable Insurance was
to prepare applications for motor vehicle insurance coverage to be issued through the State of New
Jersey’s Special Automobile Insurance Policy Program; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that from November 8, 2013 through January 7,

2014, Respondent electronically submitted 33 applications for Special Automobile Insurance
Policies, indicating that payment would be made, and thereby binding coverage for the insured;
and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that in each of these 33 transactions Respondent
misappropriated the $185.00 initial premium payment provided to her by the applicant instead of
forwarding the premium payment; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that on or about November 5, 2014, Respondent pled guilty
to Accusation No. 3361-11-14 charging her with third-degree Insurance Fraud, in violation of
N.JL.S.A. 2C:21-4.6a(2); and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that Respondent failed to notify the Commissioner within 30

days that she had been formally charged with a crime; and



COUNT ONE

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that on or about February 6, 2015, Respondent was convicted

of third-degree Insurance Fraud, in violation of N,J.S.A. 2C:21-4.6a(2), and was sentenced to three

years’ probation, ordered to pay a $1,000.00 penalty to the State, ordered to pay restitution to
Affordable Insurance in the amount of $6,105.00, and ordered to forfeit her insurance producer’s
license for five years, which conviction constitutes a violation of N.I.S.A. 17:22A-40a(6); and
COUNT TWO
IT FURTHER APPEARING, that Respondent failed to advise the Commissioner of the

filing of formal charges and subsequent conviction within 30 days, in violation of N.J.S.A. 17:22A-
40a(18) and N.J.S.A. 17:22A-47b; and

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS on this /) ?;g;of ) oodsd- 207

ORDERED, that Respondent appear and show cause why her New Jersey insurance
producer license shall not be suspended or revoked pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40a; and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that Respondent appear and show cause why the
Commissioner should not assess a civil penalty of up to $5,000.00 for the first violation and
$10,000.00 for each subsequent violation of the Producer Act pursuant to the provisions of

N.J.S.A. 17:22A-45¢; and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that Respondent appear and show cause why she
should not be required to pay restitution and to reimburse the Department for the cost of the

investigation and prosecution fees, as authorized pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-45¢; and

IT IS PROVIDED, that Respondent has the right to request an administrative

hearing, to be represented by counsel or other qualified representative, at her own expense, to take



testimony, to call or cross-examine witnesses, to have subpoenas issued, and to present evidence
or argument if a hearing is requested; and

IT IS FURTHER PROVIDED, that unless a request for a hearing is received within

twenty (20) days of the service of this Order to Show Cause, the right to a hearing in this matter
shall be deemed to have been waived by the Respondent, and the Commissioner shall dispose of
this matter in accordance with the law. A hearing may be requested by mailing the request to
Virgil Dowtin, Chief of Investigations, Department of Banking and Insurance, P.O. Box 329,
Trenton, New Jersey 08625, or by faxing the hearin g request to the Department at (609) 292-5337.
The request shall contain the following:

(a) Respondent’s full name, address, and daytime telephone number;

(b) A statement referring to each charge alleged in this Order to Show Cause
and identifying any defense intended to be asserted in response to each
charge. Where the defense relies on facts not contained in the Order to
Show Cause, those specific facts must be stated;

(©) A specific admission or denial of each fact alleged in this Order to Show
Cause. Where the Respondent has no specific knowledge regarding a fact
alleged in the Order to Show Cause, a statement to that effect must be
contained in the hearing request. Allegations of this Order to Show Cause
not answered in the manner set forth above shall be deemed to have been

admitted; and

(d) A statement requesting the hearing.
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