ORDER NO. E18-77

STATE OF NEW JERSEY
DEPARTMENT OF BANKING AND INSURANCE

to fine, suspend and/or revoke the insurance
producer license of Eileen Colon Pellot,
Reference No. 9615737.

IN THE MATTER OF: '

. ) ORDER
Proceedings by the Commissioner of ) TO
Banking and Insurance, State of New Jersey, ) SHOW CAUSE

)
)

TO: Eileen Colon Pellét

39 Haring Street,

Bergnfield, New Jersey 07621

This matter, having been opened by the Commissioner of Banking and Insurance
(“Commissioner”), State of New Jersey, upon information that Eileen Colon Pellot (“Respondent™)
may have violated various provisions of the insurance laws of the State of New Jersey; and

WHEREAS, Respondent was licensed as a resident insurance producer pursuant to
N.J.S.A. 17:22A-32a, until her license expired on February 28, 2018; and

WHEREAS, Respondent is subject to the provisions of the New Jersey Insurance Producer
Licensing Act 0of 2001, N.J.S.A. 17:22A-26 to -48 (“Producer Act”), and the regulations governing
Insurance Producer Standards of Conduct, N.J.A.C. 11:17A-1.1 to 11:17D-2.8; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40d, the Commissioner shall retain the authority
to enforce the provisions of and impose any penalty or remedy authorized by the Producer Act and
Title 17 of the Revised Statutes or Title 17B of the New Jersey Statutes against any person who is
under investigation for or charged with a violation of the Producer Act or Title 17 of the Revised
Statutes or Title 17B of the New Jersey Statutes even if the person’s license or registration has

been surrendered or has lapsed by operation of law; and



WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40a(2), an insurance producer shall not violate
any insurance law, regulation, subpoena, or order of the Commissioner or of another state’s
insurance regulator; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40a(4), an insurance producer shall not
improperly withhold, misappropriate or convert any monies or properties received in the course of
doing insurance business; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40a(8), an insurance producer shall not use
fraudulent, coercive or dishonest practices, or demonstrate incompetence, untrustworthiness, or
financial irresponsibility in the conduct of insurance business in this State or elsewhere; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40a(16), an insurance producer shall not commit
any fraudulent act; and

WHEREAS, bpursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40a(18), an insurance producer shall not fail to
notify the Commissioner within 30 days of his or her conviction of any crime, indictment or the
filing of any formal criminal charges, or the suspension or revocation of any insurance license or
. authority by a state, other than this State, or the initiation of formal disciplinary proceedings in a
state, other than this State, affecting the producer's insurance license; or fail to supply any
documentation that the Commissioner may request in connection therewith; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-47b, an insurance producer shall report to the
Commissioner within 30 days of the initial pretrial hearing date, any criminal prosecﬁtion of the
producer taken in any jurisdiction; and this report shall include a copy of the initial complaint filed,

the order resulting from the hearing and any other relevant legal documents; and



WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 11:17C-2.1(a), all premium funds shall be held by an
insurance producer in a fiduciary capacity and shall not be misappropriated, improperly converted
to the insurance producer’s own use or illegally withheld by the licensee; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 11:17C-2.2(a), with certain exceptions, all premium
funds shall be remitted to the insurer or other insurance producer, as applicable, within five days
of feceipt of the funds; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40a, the Commissioner may place on probation,
suspend, revoke or refuse to issue or renew an insurance producer’s license, and may levy a civil
penalty, for a violation of the Préducer Act; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-45c, any person violating any provision of the
Producer Act shall be liable to a penalty not exceeding $5,000.00 for the first offense and not
exceeding $10,000.00 for each subsequent offense; moreover, the Commissioner may order
restitution of moneys owed any person and reimbursement of costs of investigation and
prosecution; and

ALLEGATIONS COMMON TO ALL COUNTS

IT APPEARING, that at all relevant times, Respondent was employed as an insurance
producer at an insurance agency, Strategic Insurance Partners (“SIP”); and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that on or about April 15, 2013, a customer of SIP, “TC”, a
cons'u"uction company based in Essex County, remitted a cash payment in the amount of $875 to
Respondent, with an expectation that Respondent bind accident insurance coverage for TC; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that Respondent accepted the casix payment but failed to

deliver the cash to SIP and failed to bind insurance coverage for TC; and



IT FURTHER APPEARING, that Respondent issued a fabricated certificate of insurance
to TC in order to falsely represent that the insurance coverage was bound; and

IT FURTHER APPEARIN 9, that on February 2, 2015, TC caused damages to a third party
while completing a construction project in Orange, New Jersey; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that on February 4, 2015, TC contacted SIP to assist in filing
an insurance claim for the damages to the third party; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that as a result of an internal investigation, SIP discovered
that Respondent never bound coverage for TC despite accepting the cash payment; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that when confronted with this discovery, Respondent
admitted to SIP that she accepted the cash payment from TC but had failed to deliver the cash to
SIP and failed to bind insurance coverage; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that on February 4, 2015, SIP terminated Respondent’s
employment at the insurance ag;mcy; and

‘IT FURTHER APPEARING, that on August 25, 2016, Respondent was indicted by a grand
jury sitting in Essex County on one ‘count of theft by unlawful taking in the third degree, in
violation of N.J.S.A. 2C:20-3a, and three counts of forgery in the fourth degree, in violation of
N.J.8.A. 2C:21-1(a)(2) and (3); and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that on December 2, 2016, Requndent was enrolled into the
Pre-Trial Intervention program; and

COUNT 1

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that Respondent withheld and misappropriated an insurance

premium payment, in violation of N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40a(2), (4), (8), and (16), and N.J.A.C. 11:17C-

2.1(a) and 2.2(a); and



COUNT 2
IT FURTHER APPEARING that, Respondent issued and presented a fabricated certificate
of insurance to an insured in order to falsely represent that the insurance coverage was bound, in
violation of N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40a(2), (8), and (16); and
COUNT 3
IT FURTHER APPEARING, that Respondent failed to report to the Commissioner within
30 days that she had been indicted, in violation of N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40a(18) and N.J.S.A. 17:22A-
47b; and
' e
NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS on this 2.(1 day of : ; U\l‘-7 , 2018,
ORDERED, that Respondent appear and show cause why her New Jersey insurance
producer license should not be suspended or revoked pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40; and
IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that Respondent appear and show cause why the
Commissioner should not assess a civil penalty of not more than $5,000.00 for the first violation
and $10,000.00 for each subsequent violation of the Producer Act and order restitution of moneys
owed to any person, pursuant to the provisions of N.J.S.A. 17:22A-45c; and
IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that Respondent appear and show cause why, in addition to
any other penalty, she should not be required to reimburse the Department for the costs of the
investigation and prosecution as authorized by N.J.S.A. 17:22A-45c; and
IT IS FURTHER PROVIDED, that Respondent has the right to request an administrative
hearing, to be represented by counsel or other qualified representative, at her own expense, to take
testimony, to call or cross-examine witnesses, to have subpoenas issued, and to present evidence

or argument if a hearing is requested; and



IT IS FURTHER PROVIDED, that unless a request for a hearing is received within twenty
(20) days of the service of this Order to Show Cause, the right to a hearing in this matter shall be
deemed to have been waived by Respondent and the Commissioner shall dispose of this matter in
accordance with law. A hearing may be requested by mailing the request to Virgil Dowtin, Chief
of Investigations, Department of Banking and Insurance, P.O. Box 329, Trenton, New Jersey
08625, or by faxing the hearing request to the Department at (609) 292-5337. A copy of the request
for a hearing shall also be sent to Deputy Attorney General Garen Gazaryan at P.O. Box 117,
Trenton, New Jersey 08625. The request shall contaip the following:

A. Respondent’s full name, address, and &yﬁme telephone number‘; '

B. A statement referring to each charge alleged in this Order to Show Cause and identifying
any defense intended to be asserted in response to each charge. Where the defense relies
on facts not contained in the Order to Show Cause, those specific facts must be stated;

C. A specific admission or denial of each fact alleged in this Order to Show Cause. Where
Respondent has no specific knowledge regarding a fact alleged in the Order to Show

Cause, a statement to that effect must be contained in the hearing request. Allegations of
this Order to Show Cause not answered in the manner set forth above shall be deemed to

have been admitted; and

PETER L. HARTT
Director of Insurance

D. A statement requesting a heanng




