ORDER NO. E21-08

STATE OF NEW JERSEY
DEPARTMENT OF BANKING AND INSURANCE

IN THE MATTER OF:

)
Proceedings by the Commissioner of Banking )
and Insurance, State of New Jersey, to fine, ) ORDER TO SHOW CAUSE

suspend, and/or revoke the insurance license )
of Wayne A. Schultz, Reference No. 8205434. )

)
TO: Wayne A. Schultz Wayne A. Schultz
190 Mitchell Road 971 Route 202 North, Suite 5
Oxford, NJ 07863 Branchburg, NJ 08876

THIS MATTER, having been opened by the Commissioner of Banking and Insurance
(“Commissioner”), State of New Jersey, upon information that Wayne A. Schultz (“Respondent™),
may have violated various provisions of the insurance laws of the State of New Jersey; and

WHEREAS, Respondent was licensed as a resident insurance producer in the State of New
Jersey pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-32(a) from March 22, 1983 until his license expired on October
31, 2018; and

WHEREAS, Respondent is subject to the provisions of the New Jersey Insurance Producer
Licensing Act of 2001, N.J.S.A. 17:22A-26 to -48 (“Producer Act”); and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40(a)(2), an insurance producer shall not violate
any insurance law, regulation, subpoena, or order of the Commissioner or of another state’s

insurance regulator; and



WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40(a)(16), an insurance producer shall not have
committed any fraudulent act; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40(a)(19), an insurance producer shall notify the
Commissioner within 30 days of the final disposition of any formal disciplinary proceedings
initiated against the insurance producer, or disciplinary action taken against the producer, by the
Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (“FINRA™), any successor organization, or other similar
non-governmental regulatory authority with statutory authority to create and inforce industry
standards of conduct, or of any other administrative actions or criminal prosecutions; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-47(a), an insurance producer shall report to the
Commissioner any administrative action taken against the insurance producer in another
jurisdiction or by another governmental agency in this State within 30 days of the final disposition
of the matter, which report shall include a copy of the order, consent order, or other relevant legal
documents; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40(a), the Commissioner may place on
probation, suspend, revoke, or refuse to issue or renew an insurance producer’s license for
violating the Producer Act; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-45(c), any person violating the Producer Act is
subject to a penalty not exceeding $5,000.00 for the first offense, and not exceeding $10,000.00
for each subsequent offense; additionally, the Commissioner may order restitution of moneys owed
any person and reimbursement of costs of the investigation and prosecution; and

ALLEGATIONS COMMON TO ALL COUNTS

IT APPEARING THAT, at all relevant times, Respondent was licensed as an attorney in

New Jersey; and



IT APPEARING THAT, in 1996, 1998, and 2001, Respondent issued commercial notes
(“Notes”) to a client who had retained Respondent for legal services, which Notes were issued by
a defunct shell corporation, Wealthvest Financial Services, and failed to repay the Notes; and

IT APPEARING THAT, in April 2015, FINRA began an investigation concerning the
Notes; and

IT APPEARING, that on February 5, 2016, Respondent entered into a FINRA Letter of
Acceptance, Waiver, and Consent (“FINRA Consent Letter”); and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that pursuant to the FINRA Consent Letter, Respondent was
barred from associating with any FINRA member firm in any capacity due to his failure to comply
with FINRA Rule 8210 in that Respondent failed and refused to provide documents and
information requested by FINRA in connection with FINRA’s investigation concerning the Notes;
and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that Respondent failed to notify the Commissioner that he
was barred from associating with any FINRA member firm in any capacity within 30 days, or at
all, as required by N.J.S.A. 17:22A-47(a);

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that on July 19, 2016, the State of New Jersey Bureau of
Securities (“Bureau of Securities”) issued a Summary Revocation Order revoking Respondent’s
agent registration pursuant to N.J.S.A. 49:3-58 due to Respondent being barred by FINRA from
associating with any FINRA member firm in any capacity pursuant to the FINRA Consent Letter;
and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that Respondent failed to notify the Commissioner of his
agent registration being revoked by the Bureau of Securities within 30 days, or at all, as required

by N.J.S.A. 17:22A-47(a); and



IT FURTHER APPEARING, that on or about December 5, 2019, the New Jersey Supreme
Court imposed a six month suspension of Respondent’s law license due to his violation of the New
Jersey Rules of Professional Conduct in connection with the issuance of the Notes; and

COUNT ONE

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that by issuing the Notes to his client from a defunct shell
corporation and by failing to repay the Notes, Respondent committed a fraudulent act in violation
of N.J.S.A. 17:22S-40a(16); and

COUNT TWO

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that Respondent, by failing to notify the Commissioner of
the FINRA Consent Letter barring Respondent from associating with any FINRA member firm in
any capacity within 30 days, or at all, violated N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40(a)(19) and N.J.S.A. 17:22A-
47(a); and

COUNT THREE

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that Respondent, by failing to notify the Commissioner of
the Bureau of Securities order revoking his agent registration within 30 days, or at all, violated
N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40(a)(19) and N.J.S.A. 17:22A-47(a); and

COUNT FOUR

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that by violating the New Jersey Rules of Professional
Conduct and having his New Jersey law license suspended, Respondent demonstrated
unworthiness to hold an insurance producer license.

NOW, THEREFORE, IT ISon this 25th day of February, 2021,

ORDERED, that Respondent appear and show cause why his New Jersey insurance

producer license should not be suspended or revoked pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40(a); and



IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that Respondent appear and show cause why the
Commissioner should not assess a civil penalty not exceeding $5,000.00 for the first violation, and
not exceeding $10,000.00 for each subsequent violation of the Producer Act, and order Respondent
to pay restitution of moneys owed to any person, pursuant to the provisions of N.J.S.A. 17:22A-
45(c); and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that Respondent appear and show cause why he should not
be required to reimburse the Department for the cost of the investigation and prosecution, as
authorized pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-45(c); and

IT IS PROVIDED, that Respondent has the right to request an administrative hearing, to
be represented by counsel or other qualified representative, at his own expense, to take testimony,
to call or cross-examine witnesses, to have subpoenas issued, and to present evidence or argument
if a hearing is requested; and

IT ISFURTHER PROVIDED, that unless a request for a hearing is received within twenty
(20) days of the service of this Order to Show Cause, the right to a hearing in this matter shall be
deemed to have been waived by Respondent, and the Commissioner shall dispose of this matter in
accordance with law. A hearing may be requested by mailing the request to Virgil Dowtin, Chief
of Investigations, Department of Banking and Insurance, P.O. Box 329, Trenton, New Jersey
08625, or by faxing the hearing request to the Department at (609) 292-5337. A copy of the request
for a hearing shall also be sent to Deputy Attorney General Brian R. Fitzgerald at: Division of
Law, P.O. Box 117, Trenton, NJ 08625, fax (609) 777-3503. The request shall contain the
following:

(@) Respondent’s full name, current address, and daytime telephone number;

(b) A statement referring to each charge alleged in this Order to Show Cause
and identifying any defense intended to be asserted in response to each



(©)

(d)

charge. Where the defense relies on facts not contained in the Order to
Show Cause, those specific facts must be stated,

A specific admission or denial of each fact alleged in this Order to Show
Cause. Where the Respondent has no specific knowledge regarding a fact
alleged in the Order to Show Cause, a statement to that effect must be
contained in the hearing request. Allegations of this Order to Show Cause
not answered in the manner set forth above shall be deemed to have been
admitted; and

A statement requesting the hearing.
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Marlene Caride
Commissioner



