ORDER NO. E22-04

STATE OF NEW JERSEY
DEPARTMENT OF BANKING AND INSURANCE

IN THE MATTER OF:

Proceedings by the Commissioner of Banking
and Insurance, State of New Jersey, to fine,
suspend and/or revoke the insurance license of
Anka Bojic, Reference No. 9951347,

ORDER TO SHOW CAUSE

ot N’ Vo’ Nt Nt St

TO: Anka Bojic
11 Kent Avenue
Wayne, NJ 07470

THIS MATTER, having been opened by the Commissioner of Banking and Insurance
(“Commissioner”), State of New Jersey, upon information that Anka Bojic (“Respondent”), may
have violated various provisions of the insurance laws of the Staie of New Jersey; and

WHEREAS, Respondent is licensed as a resident individual insurance producer in the State
of New Jersey, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-32(a); and

WHEREAS, Respondent is subject to the provisions of the New Jersey Insurance Producer
Licensing Act of 2001, N.J.S.A. 17:22A-26 to -48 (“Producer Act”) and the New Jersey Insurance
Fraud Prevention Act, N.J.S.A. 17:33A-1 to -30 (“Fraud Act™); and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40(a)(2), an insurance producer shall not violate
any insurance law, regulation, subpoena or order of the Commissioner or of another state’s

insurance regulator; and






WHEREAS, pursvant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40(a)(8), an insurance producer shall not use any
fraudulent, coercive, or dishonest practices, or demonstrate incompetence or untrustworthiness in
the conduct of insurance business; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40(a)(16), an insurance producer shall not
commit any fraudulent act; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-45(a), the Commissioner shall have the power
to conduct investigations, to administer oaths, 1o interrogate licensees and others, and to issue
subpoenas to any licensee or any other person in connection with any investigation, hearing or
other proceeding pursuant to this act, without fee; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40(a), the Commissioner may place on
probation, suspend, revoke or refuse to issue or renew an insurance producer’s license for violating
the Producer Act; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-45(c), any person violating the Producer Act is
subject to a penalty not exceeding $5,000.00 for the first offense and not exceeding $10,000.00 for
each subsequent offense; additionally, the Commissioner may order restitution of moneys owed
any person and reimbursement of costs of the investigation and prosecution; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:33A-4(a)(1), no person shall present or cause to be
presented any written or oral statement as part of, or in support of or opposition to, a claim for
payment or other benefit pursuant to an insurance policy, knowing that the statement contains any
false or misleading information concerning any fact or thing material to the claim; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:33A-5(a) and (¢), violations of the Fraud Act subject
the violator to a civil and administrative penalty not to exceed $5,000.00 for the first offense, not

to exceed $10,000.00 for the second offense and not to exceed $15,000.00 for each subsequent






offense; moreover, the Commissioner may issue a final order recovering costs of prosecution,
including attorneys’ fees in accordance with N.J.A.C. 11:16-7.9(c); and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:33A-5.1, any person who is found in any legal
proceeding to have committed insurance fraud shall be subject to a surcharge in the amount of
$1.000.00; and

ALLEGATIONS COMMON TO ALL COUNTS

IT APPEARING, that starting August 27, 1999, Respondent became a licensed insurance
producer in the State of New Jersey; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that on January 8, 2009, Respondent submitted a claim to
Chubb Insurance Company of New Jersey (“*Chubb”) for a platinum and diamond engagement
ring, allegedly purchased by her husband in 1999, from Costco, valued at $6,399.00, as well as a
wedding band valued at $2,538.00, and allegedly lost when flushed down the toilet by a family
member; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that on January 8, 2009, Chubb paid Respondent $8,937.00
for the claim; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that on July 18, 2011, Respondent submitted another claim
to Chubb for a platinum and diamond engagement ring, valued at $17,000.00, which she allegedly
lost in the ocean; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that on July 27, 2011, Chubb paid Respondent $5,000.00,
minus a $2,500.00 deductible, for the engagement ring; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that on February 16, 2016, Respondent submitted a claim to
Homesite Home Insurance (“Homesite™) for a platinum and diamond engagement ring valued at

$17,000.00, allegedly lost while shopping the day before; and






IT FURTHER APPEARING, that Respondent was not paid for the Homesite claim,
because, once her claim was denied for failure to provide proof of ownership that the ring was
replaced in 2011, she allegedly found the ring and withdrew the claim; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that Respondent’s husband did not purchase a Costco
membership until 2003, and therefore could not have purchased the rings from Costco in 1999;
and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that Respondent never owned a platinum and diamond
engagement ring valued at $17,000.00; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that the jeweler from whom Respondent said she purchased
her platinum and diamond engagement ring, valued at $17,000.00, never sold her a diamond ring;
and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that Respondent had no appraisal, gemology certification, or
other proof of ownership of value to submit with the 2011 or 2016 claims, because all paperwork
was allegedly destroyed in a flood; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that the purported appraisal Respondent obtained from Six
Star Jewelers in Wayne, New Jersey, on July 22, 2011, for a platinum and diamond engagement
ring, and which she submitted to Chubb and Homesite as proof of ownership, was actually an
estimate for a ring created seven (7) days after her ring was allegedly lost for the second time; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that Respondent had not actually lost a ring when she
tendered the claim to Homesite on February 16, 2016; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that on January 8, 2018, that Respondent ended an interview
with investigators of the Bureau of Fraud Deterrence, Department of Banking and Insurance of the

State of New Jersey, and refused to participate further with the investigation; and






COUNT ONE
(Producer Act)

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that Respondent provided false information to an insurance
company in relation to three claims for payment on a homeowners insurance policy, each claim
constituting a separate offense under the Producer Act, in violation of N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40(a)(2),
(8), and (16); and

COUNT TWO
(Producer Act)

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that Respondent ended and declined to participate further
during an interview with Department investigators on January 8, 2018, in violation of N.J.S.A.
17:22A-40(a}(8); and

COUNT THREE
(Fraud Act)

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that Respondent presented oral and written statements in
support of three claims, each claim constituting a separate offense under the Fraud Act, for
payment pursuant to an insurance policy, knowing that the statements contained false or
misleading information concerning material facts, in violation of N.J.S.A. 17:33A-4(a)(1), and

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS on this _24 day of _ January , 2022,

ORDERED, that Respondent appear and show cause why her New Jersey insurance
producer license should not be suspended or revoked pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40(a); and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that Respondent appear and show cause why the
Commissioner should not assess a civil penalty of up to $5,000.00 for the first violation and
$10,000.00 for each subsequent violation of the Producer Act and order Respondent to pay
restitution of moneys owed to any person, pursuant to the provisions of N.J.S.A. 17:22A-45(c);

and






IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that Respondent appear and show cause why she should not
be required to reimburse the Department for the cost of the investigation and prosecution, including
attorneys’ fees, as authorized pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-45(c), N.J.S.A. 17:33A-5(c), and
N.JLA.C. 11:16-7.9(¢); and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that Respondent appear and show cause why the
Commissioner should not assess a civil penalty of up to $5,000.00 for the first offense, up to
$10,000.00 for the second offense, and up to $15,000 for each subsequent offense of the Fraud Act
pursuant to the provisions of N.J.S.A. 17:33A-5(c) and N.J.A.C. 11:16-7.9(a); and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that Respondent appear and show cause why the
Commissioner should not impose a $1,000.00 surcharge against her in accordance with N.J.S.A.
17:33A-5.1; and

IT IS PROVIDED, that Respondent has the right to request an administrative hearing, to
be represented by counsel or other qualified representative, at her own expense, to take testimony,
to call or cross-examine witnesses, to have subpoenas issued, and to present evidence or argument
if a hearing is requested; and

IT IS FURTHER PROVIDED, that unless a request for a hearing is received within twenty
(20) days of the service of this Order to Show Cause, the right to a hearing in this matter shall be
deemed to have been waived by Respondent, and the Commissioner shall dispose of this matter in
accordance with law. A hearing may be requested by mailing the request to Virgil Dowtin, Chief
of Investigations, Department of Banking and Insurance, P.O. Box 329, Trenton, New Jersey
08625, or by faxing the hearing request to the Department at (609) 292-5337. A copy of the request
for a hearing shall also be sent to Deputy Attorney General Chandra M. Arkema at: Division of

Law, P.O. Box 117, Trenton, NJ 08625. The request shall contain the following:






(a)
(b)

(c)

(d)

Respondent’s full name, address and daytime telephone number;

A statement referring to each charge alleged in this Order to Show Cause
and identifying any defense intended to be asserted in response to each
charge. Where the defense relies on facts not contained in the Order to
Show Cause, those specific facts must be stated;

A specific admission or denial of each fact alleged in this Order to Show
Cause. Where Respondent has no specific knowledge regarding a fact
alleged in the Order to Show Cause, a statement to that effect must be
contained in the hearing request. Allegations of this Order to Show Cause
not answered in the manner set forth above shall be deemed to have been
admitted; and

A statement requesting the hearing.

Marlene Caride
Commissioner







