
ORDER NO. E22-17 

 

STATE OF NEW JERSEY 

DEPARTMENT OF BANKING AND INSURANCE 

 

 

IN THE MATTER OF: 

_____________________________________ 

 

Proceedings by the Commissioner of Banking 

and Insurance, State of New Jersey, to fine, 

suspend, and/or revoke the public adjuster 

licenses of John Marcondes, Reference No. 

1216605 

_____________________________________ 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

 

 

 

 

 

ORDER TO SHOW CAUSE 

 

TO: John Marcondes 

1629 Northstream Pkwy 

Point Pleasant Boro, NJ 08742 

 

  THIS MATTER, having been opened by the Commissioner of the New Jersey 

Department of Banking and Insurance (the “Department”), State of New Jersey, upon information 

that John Marcondes (“Respondent”), may have violated various provisions of the insurance laws 

of the State of New Jersey; and 

  WHEREAS, Respondent is currently licensed as a public adjuster pursuant to 

N.J.S.A. 17:22B-5; and   

WHEREAS, Respondent is subject to the provisions of the New Jersey Public 

Adjusters’ Licensing Act, N.J.S.A. 17:22B-1 to -20 (“Public Adjusters’ Act”) and the regulations 

governing the licensing of public adjusters, N.J.A.C. 11:1-37.1 to -37.19; and 

  WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22B-14(a)(1), and N.J.A.C. 11:1-37.14(a)(1), 

a public adjuster shall not violate any provision of the insurance laws, including any rules 
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promulgated by the Commissioner, or violate any law in the course of his or its dealings as an 

adjuster; and 

  WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22B-14(a)(3) and N.J.A.C. 11:1-37.14(a)(3), 

a public adjuster shall not commit any fraudulent or dishonest act; and 

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22B-14(a)(4) and N.J.A.C. 11:1-37.14(a)(4), 

no public adjuster shall demonstrate their incompetency, lack of integrity, bad faith, dishonesty, 

financial irresponsibility, or untrustworthiness to act as a public adjuster; and 

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 11:1-37.14(a)(17), the Commissioner may 

suspend or revoke the license of a public adjuster if the licensee has committed any other act, or 

omission which the Commissioner determines to be inappropriate conduct by a licensee of this 

State; and 

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22B-17 and N.J.A.C. 11:1-37.14(b), any 

person violating any provision of the Public Adjusters’ Act shall, in addition to any other sanctions 

provided by law, be liable for a civil penalty of not more than $2,500 for the first offense and not 

more than $5,000 for the second and each subsequent offense; and 

FACTUAL ALLEGATIONS  

IT APPEARING, that Respondent became a licensed public adjuster in the State of 

New Jersey on or about November 1, 2009; and  

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that Respondent was the owner of State Wide 

Adjusters, LLC (“Statewide”); and  

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that “J.V.” was the owner of Journeyman 

Construction (“Journeyman”); and 



3 

 

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that J.V. and Respondent did business together, under 

their companies Journeyman and Statewide, respectively; and 

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that Statewide paid Journeyman for services rendered 

over the course of several years, in the form of handwritten checks; and 

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that Respondent was the only one that handles checks 

and payments on behalf of Statewide; and 

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that J.V. became a public adjuster at some point in 

2018; and 

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that according to a November 7, 2019 interview with 

J.V.,  Respondent and J.V. were competing for adjusting business; and 

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that on or about October 4, 2019, the Commissioner 

received a complaint from “J.L,” a licensed public adjuster, against her employer, J.V. The 

complaint was signed and dated May 1, 2019 (“Complaint”); and 

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that on or about October 24, 2019, J.L. denied writing 

the Complaint; and 

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that on October 24, 2019, J.L. provided the 

Department with a handwriting sample; and 

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that on October 26, 2019, Handwriting Expert, LLC 

determined that the checks issued by Statewide to Journeyman contained the same handwriting as 

the Complaint that was filed with the Department; and 

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that Respondent filed a false Complaint against J.V. 

and forged J.L.’s signature on the Complaint filed with the Department; and 
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COUNT ONE 

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that Respondent filed a false Complaint against J.V. 

and forged J.L.’s signature on the Complaint filed with the Department,  in violation of N.J.S.A. 

17:22B-14(a)(1), (3), and (4),  and N.J.A.C. 11:1-37.14(a)(1), (3), (4), and (17); and  

  NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS on this _23___ day of __March____________, 2022: 

  ORDERED, that Respondents shall appear and show cause why their public 

adjuster licenses shall not be suspended or revoked by the Commissioner pursuant to the provisions 

of N.J.S.A. 17:22B-14(a); and  

  IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that Respondents shall appear and show cause why 

the Commissioner should not assess a civil penalty of up to $2,500.00 for the first violation and 

not exceeding $5,000.00 for each subsequent violation of the Public Adjusters’ Act, pursuant to 

the provision of N.J.S.A. 17:22B-17; and 

  IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that Respondents shall appear and show cause why 

the Commissioner should not order restitution and reimbursement of the costs of the investigation 

and prosecution by the Department in accordance with N.J.S.A. 17:22B-17; and 

  IT IS PROVIDED, that Respondents have the right to request an administrative 

hearing, to be represented by counsel or other qualified representative, at their own expense, to 

take testimony, to call or cross-examine witnesses, to have subpoenas issued and subpoenas duces 

tecum issued and to present evidence or argument if a hearing is requested; and 

  IT IS FURTHER PROVIDED, that unless a request for a hearing is received within 

twenty (20) days of the service of this Order to Show Cause, the right to a hearing in this matter 

shall be deemed to have been waived by the Respondents and the Commissioner shall dispose of 

this matter in accordance with the law. A hearing may be requested by mailing the request to Virgil 
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Dowtin, Chief of Investigations, Department of Banking and Insurance, P.O. Box 329, Trenton, 

New Jersey 08625, or by faxing the hearing request to the Department at (609) 292-5337. A copy 

of the request for a hearing shall also be sent to Deputy Attorney General Telge N. Peiris,  

Banking and Insurance Section, R.J. Hughes Justice Complex, 25 Market Street, P.O. Box 117, 

Trenton, NJ 08625-0117.  The request shall contain the following: 

(a) Respondent’s full name, address, and daytime telephone number; 

 

(b) A statement referring to each charge alleged in this Order to Show Cause and identifying 

any defense intended to be asserted in response to each charge. Where the defense relies 

on facts not contained in the Order to Show Cause, those specific facts must be stated; 

 

(c) A specific admission or denial of each fact alleged in this Order to Show Cause. Where 

the Respondent has no specific knowledge regarding a fact alleged in the order to Show 

Cause, a statement to that effect must be contained in the hearing request.  Allegations 

of this Order to Show Cause not answered in the manner set forth above shall be deemed 

to have been admitted; and 

 

(d) A statement requesting a hearing. 

 

 ___________________________________ 

Marlene Caride  

Commissioner 

 

 


