
ORDER NO. E22-89 
 

STATE OF NEW JERSEY 
DEPARTMENT OF BANKING AND INSURANCE 

 
 
IN THE MATTER OF: 
_____________________________________ 
 
Proceedings by the Commissioner of Banking 
and Insurance, State of New Jersey, to fine 
Revenue Cycle Billing Services, Inc. d/b/a RC 
Billing 
_____________________________________ 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
 
 

 
 

ORDER TO SHOW CAUSE 
 
 

 
TO: Revenue Cycle Billing Services, Inc. 

1501 Volta Drive 
Suite 100 
Cedar Park, Texas 78641 
 

    

THIS MATTER, having been opened by the Commissioner of Banking and Insurance 

(“Commissioner”), State of New Jersey, upon information that Revenue Cycle Billing Services, 

Inc. dba RC Billing (“Respondent”), may have violated various provisions of the insurance laws 

of the State of New Jersey; and 

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17B:27B-1, a third party billing service is defined as a 

person or entity that is paid by a health care provider to process claims or claims payments on 

behalf of the health care provider; and 

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17B:27B-16 and N.J.A.C. 11:23-5.1(a), no person shall 

act as, offer to act as or hold himself out to be a third party billing service without being certified 

by the Commissioner; and 

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 11:23-5.1(b), all third party billing services shall obtain 

certification prior to operating in this State; and 
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WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17B:27B-24, any third party billing service that violates 

N.J.S.A. 17B:27B-16 is subject to a civil administrative penalty in an amount not less than $250 

nor more than $5,000 for each day that a third party billing service is in violation of the act; and 

COUNT ONE 

IT APPEARING THAT, Revenue Cycle Billing Services, Inc., a Wyoming corporation, 

was originally incorporated on December 26, 2003; and  

IT FURTHER APPEARING THAT, Revenue Cycle Billing Services, Inc. commenced 

business as a third party billing service in New Jersey on or about August 8, 2011; and 

IT FURTHER APPEARING THAT, between August 8, 2011 and the present, Respondent 

has acted as a third party billing service in New Jersey; and 

IT FURTHER APPEARING THAT, Revenue Cycle Billing Services, Inc. was certified by 

the Commissioner as a third party billing service on September 7, 2021;  

IT FURTHER APPEARING THAT, Revenue Cycle Billing Services, Inc. acted as a third 

party billing service in New Jersey when it was not certified as a third party billing service for a 

period of 3,671 days; and 

IT FURTHER APPEARING THAT, between August 2011 and September 2021, while not 

certified as a third party billing service, Respondent performed third party billing services for at 

least one client in New Jersey; and  

IT FURTHER APPEARING THAT, because Respondent acted as a third party billing 

service in New Jersey without the required certification, it violated N.J.S.A. 17B:27B-16, N.J.A.C. 

11:23-5.1(a), and N.J.A.C. 11:23-5.1(b); and 

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS on this   30             day of    November                 , 2022,  
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ORDERED, that Respondent appear and show cause why the Commissioner should not 

assess a civil penalty in an amount not less than $250 nor more than $5,000 for each day 

Respondent was in violation of N.J.S.A. 17B:27B-16, pursuant to the provisions of N.J.S.A. 

17B:27B-24; and  

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that Respondent has the right to request an administrative 

hearing, to be represented by counsel or other qualified representative, at their own expense, to 

take testimony, to call or cross-examine witnesses, to have subpoenas issued, and to present 

evidence or argument if a hearing is requested; and 

 IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that unless a request for a hearing is received within twenty 

(20) days of the service of this Order to Show Cause, the right to a hearing in this matter shall be 

deemed to have been waived by Respondent, and the Commissioner shall dispose of this matter in 

accordance with law.  A hearing may be requested by mailing the request to Virgil Dowtin, Chief 

of Investigations, Department of Banking and Insurance, P.O. Box 329, Trenton, New Jersey 

08625, or by faxing the hearing request to the Department at (609) 292-5337. A copy of the request 

for a hearing shall also be sent to Deputy Attorney General Chandra M. Arkema at: Division of 

Law, P.O. Box 117, Trenton, New Jersey 08625, fax (609) 777-3503.  The request shall contain 

the following: 

(a) Respondent’s full name, current address, and daytime telephone number; 
 

(b) A statement referring to each charge alleged in this Order to Show Cause 
and identifying any defense intended to be asserted in response to each 
charge.  Where the defense relies on facts not contained in the Order to 
Show Cause, those specific facts must be stated; 

 
(c) A specific admission or denial of each fact alleged in this Order to Show 

Cause.  Where the Respondent has no specific knowledge regarding a fact 
alleged in the Order to Show Cause, a statement to that effect must be 
contained in the hearing request.  Allegations of this Order to Show Cause 
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not answered in the manner set forth above shall be deemed to have been 
admitted; and 

 
(d) A statement requesting the hearing.    

 

       
      _________________________________ 
      Marlene Caride 
      Commissioner 


