ORDER TO SHOW CAUSE NO. -8

STATE OF NEW JERSEY
DEPARTMENT OF BANKING AND INSURANCE

IN THE MATTER OF':

Proceedings by the Commissioner
of Banking and Insurance, State
of New Jersey, to fine,
suspend, and/or revoke the
insurance producer licenses of
Freeway Insurance Services of
NJ, d/b/a First Americano
Insurance and Royale Insurance
Agency, Reference No. 1311688,
Remberto Perez, Reference No.
8053047, and Marta Perez,
Reference No. 9019699

ORDER TO SHOW CAUSE

— et Mt et et M et e Maeet Tt Tt Temar et

TO: Freeway Insurance Services of NJ
d/b/a First Americano Insurance
and Royale Insurance Agency
6913 Bergenline Avenue
Guttenberg, NJ 07093

Remberto Perez
123 Knickerbocker Road
Tenafly, NJ 07670
Marta Perez
123 Knickerbocker Road
Tenafly, NJ 07670
THIS MATTER, having been opened by the Commissioner of

Banking and Insurance ("Commissioner"), State of New Jersey,

upon information that Freeway Insurance Services of NJ, d/b/a



First Americano Insurance and Royale Insurance Agency
(“Freeway”), Remberto Perez, and Marta Perez, (collectively
“Respondents”), licensed as resident insurance  producers
pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-26 et seq., may have violated
various provisions of the insurance laws of the State of New
Jersey; and

WHEREAS, Respondents are subject to the provisions of
the New Jersey Insurance Producer Licensing Act of 2001,
N.J.S.A. 17:22A-26 et seq. (“Producer Act”); and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A~-40a(2), an
insurance producer shall not violate any insurance laws or
violate any regulation, subpoena or order of the Commissioner;
and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40a(8), an
insurance producer shall not use fraudulent, coercive or
dishonest practices, or demonstrate incompetence,
untrustworthiness or financial irresponsibility in the conduct
of the insurance business; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 11:1-24.4, no premium
shall differentiate in rates on the basis of payment by credit
cards, charge cards, debit cards, or direct account deduction;

and

(o ]



WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 11:17B-3.1(a), insurance
producers may charge a fee for services rendered in the sale of
personal lines property/casualty or personal lines surplus lines
insurance, subject to N.J.A.C. 11:17B-3.2; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 11:17B-3.1(b)1, an
insurance producer charging a fee to an insured or prospective
insured shall first obtain a written agreement, separate and
apart from all other agreements and applications, and shall
contain a clear statement of the amount of the fee to be charged
and the nature of the service to be provided therefor;

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 11:17B-3.1(c), any fee
charged by an insurance producer shall bear a reasonable
relationship to the services provided and shall not be
discriminatory; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 11:17B-3.2(a)1, an
insurance producer may charge a fee for services rendered in the
sale or service of personal lines property/casualty and no
service fee for any one policy shall exceed $20.00; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 11:17B-3.2(a)9, an
insurance producer may charge a fee for services rendered in the
sale or service of ©personal lines property/casualty and
insurance producers may charge a service fee for new automobile

insurance applications, subject to the $20.00 per policy limit



and the other conditions referenced in N.J.A.C. 11:17B-3.2{(a)l
through 8, as reimbursement for out-of-pocket costs in obtaining
documents or other materials related to the underwriting
process, if: i. The producer retains verifiable proof of the
costs incurred; ii. The producer provides copies of all such
documents or other materials to the applicant, regardless of
whether the costs incurred by the producer in procuring the
documents or materials exceeded the $20.00 limit; and iii. The
applicant does not provide the producer with a copy of the
underwriting document dated within the previous 90 days; and
WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 11:17B-3.3{a)l. ii, iii
and 1v, an insurance producer who acts as a motor club
representative or receives any compensation, directly or
indirectly, or on account of the sale of a motor club service
contract purchased in connection with the negotiation or sale of
an automobile insurance policy or contract shall obtain at the
time of the initial application for the motor club service
contract a dated written agreement, separate and apart from any
other agreements, signed by both the insurance producer and the
insured or prospective insured, stating that the motor club
contract is optional, that the motor club membership fee is not
related to or included in the automobile insurance premium

charge, and cannot lawfully be included in a premium finance



agreement entered into by the insured or prospective insured,
and stating the amount of the motor club fee and the automobile
insurance premium charge; and
COUNT 1

IT APPEARING that Respondents charged insureds fees in
excess of the maximum fee limit dictated by New Jersey
regulations; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that on or about May 14, 2012,
insured C.H. obtained automobile insurance through insurance
producer Kevin Barrios, an employee of Respondents; and

IT FUTHER APPEARING that C.H. provided Respondents
with a money order for $882.00 as a down payment toward his
insurance premium; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that C.H. discovered that only
$737.00 was applied toward his policy premium, a difference of
5145.00; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that on or about August 5, 2012,
C.H. submitted a complaint to the New Jersey Department of
Banking and Insurance (“Department”) regarding the
misapplication of his down payment; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that on or about September 7,
2012, Barrios stated to the Department that C.H.'s premium down

payment was $737.00, and that C.H. was also charged $100.00 for



a motor club membership through National Safe Drivers (“*NSD”), a
$20.00 broker’s fee, a $20.00 Motor Vehicle Report (“MVR”) fee,
and a $5.00 processing fee; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that, during the Department’s
investigation, Respondents informed the Department that
Respondents had charged 1,158 insureds fees in excess of $20.00
during the period of October 2011 to December 2014; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that Respondents charged at least
1,158 insureds fees in excess of the $20.00 maximum fee limit,
in violation of N.J.S.A. 17:228-40a(2), (8), and N.J.A.C.
11:17B-3.2(a)l ; and

COUNT 2

IT FURTHER APPEARING that on or about January 18,
2013, Respondents provided the Department with a copy of its
standard service fee agreement; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that Respondents’ standard service fee

agreement included a $20.00 “MVR and/or Clue report” fee, and a
$20.00 “Advice, explanation of benefits and options available”
fee; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that Respondents’ standard
service fee agreement did not include a $5.00 processing fee;

and



IT FURTHER APPEARING that C.H.'s service fee agreement
did not include a $5.00 processing fee, even though Respondents
admit that C.H. was charged a $5.00 processing fee; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that on November 29, 2012,
Respondents described their $5.00 fee to the Department as fee
collected “for handling, submitting, and prosecuting the
application..”; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that on October 10, 2014,
Respondents informed the Department that their $5.00 processing
fee is charged only to insureds that pay their premium using a
credit card; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that Respondents charged C.H. a
$5.00 processing fee even though C.H. did not use a credit card
to pay his premium; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that, during the Department’s
investigation, Respondents informed the Department that
Respondents charged a $5.00 fee to 10,616 insureds who elected
to use a credit card for payment of insurance premiums during
the period of October 2011 to December 2014; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that Respondent charged a credit
card and/or “processing” fee to at least 10,616 insureds, in
viclation of N.J.A.C. 11:1-24.4 and N.J.A.C. 11:17B-3.2(a)l, and

without providing the insureds with a separate written fee



agreement, in violation of N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40a(2) and (8), and
N.J.A.C. 11:17B-3.1(b);: and
COUNT 3

IT FURTHER APPEARING that Respondents charged fees to
insureds for MVRs that were not reimbursement for actual out-of-
pocket expenses; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that, on or about July 18, 2014,
Respondents provided the Department with a list of approximately
1,240 customers who had been charged a $20.00 MVR fee during the
period of January 2014 to May 2014; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that Respondents also provided

the Department with contracts between Respondents and Travelers

Insurance Company (“Travelers”), Mercury Insurance Group
("Mercury”) and Progressive Insurance Company (“Progressive”):;
and

IT FUORTHER APPEARING that on or about August 9, 2014,
the Director of North East Marketing at Mercury informed the
Department of Mercury’s shared cost program with Respondents;
and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that Mercury requires Respondents
to write policies for 80% of the customers for whom Mercury runs

MVRs; and



IT FURTHER APPEARING that if Respondents fail to do
S0, Mercury charges Respondents $9.01 per MVR that is run and
not written within 90 days of the initial gquote; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that, on or about August 19,
2014, the New Jersey Product Specialist at Progressive informed
the Department about Progressive’s shared cost program with
Respondents; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that if a policy is sold within
30 days of Respondents’ MVR order, Progressive covers the full
cost of the MVR; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that if the percentage of MVR
orders leading to a sale of a policy is at or above 80% for a
particular month, Progressive covers the full cost of all
Respondents’ MVR orders that month. Alternatively, Respondents
pay $12.13 per MVR; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that, on or about August 27,
2014, the Product Director at Travelers informed the Department
of Travelers’ shared cost program with Respondents; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that Respondents may order, from
Travelers, 1.5 MVRs per issued driver at no cost to Respondents.
The cost per MVR beyond that allowance is $12.00; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that Respondents informed the

Department, during its investigation, that Respondents charged



MVR fees to 2,315 customers during the period of October 2011 to
December 2014, even though Respondents previously reported MVR
charges to approximately 1,240 during the five month period of
January-May 2014 alone; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that Respondents have not
adequately explained why MVR fees of $20.00 have been charged to
thousands of customers when three of its major insurance
carriers charge Respondents little or no cost to run MVRs as
part of the underwriting process; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that Respondents charged a
service fee for motor vehicle reports that were not
reimbursement for out of pocket costs in obtaining documents or
other materials related to the underwriting process, in
violation of N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40a(2) and {8), and N.J.A.C.
11:17B-3.2(a)9%; and

COUNT 4

IT FURTHER APPEARING that, on or about February 21,
2013, Respondents submitted copies of NSD motor club and/or
travel club contracts for 18 randomly selected customers; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that none of the 18 motor club
and/or travel club contracts contained: a signature from an

agent/producer, a statement that this feature is optional, or a



description of both the motor club charge and automobile
insurance premium insurance charge; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that NSD informed the Department
that the Respondents’ commission for selling one of NSD's motor
club products is 90% of the suggested retail price; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that for every NSD motor club or
travel club product sold to Respondents’ customers for 5100.00,
Respondents received a commission of $90.00; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that, on or about December 1,
2014, a representative from NSD informed the Department that NSD
had received 6,561 motor c¢lub and/or travel «club service
contracts from Respondents during the period of June 1, 2014
through November 15, 2014; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that Respondents utilized
improper motor club agreements that failed to disclose that the
motor club service was optional, that it was not related to or
included in the insurance premium charged, failed to indicate
the amount of the insurance premium charged and failed to
contain the signature of the producer, in violation of N.J.S.A.
17:22A-40a(2) and (8), and N.J.A.C. 11:17B-3.3(a)l. ii, iii, and

iv; and

i



4, 4
NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS on this ‘ day of , 2016

ORDERED, that pursuant to the provisions of N.J.S.A.
17:22A-40a, Respondents shall appear and show cause why their
insurance producer licenses shall not be revoked by the
Commissioner; and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that Respondents shall appear
and show cause why the Commissioner should not assess fines not
exceeding 55,000.00 for the first violation and not exceeding
$10,000.00 for each subsequent violation, pursuant to the
provisions of N.J.S.A. 17:22A-45¢c, due to their failure ¢to
comply with New Jersey's insurance laws and regulations; and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that, pursuant to N.J.S.A.
17:22A-45c, Respondents shall appear and show cause why they
should not be subject to additional penalties, including
restitution to wvictims and reimbursement of the costs of
investigation and prosecution by the Department of Banking and
Insurance; and

IT IS PROVIDED that, Respondents have the right to
request an administrative hearing, to be represented by counsel
or other qualified representative, at their own expense, to take
testimony, to call or cross-examine witnesses, to have subpoena
and subpoena duces tecum issued and to present evidence or

argument if a hearing is requested; and

12



IT IS FURTHER PROVIDED that, unless a request for a
hearing is received within twenty (20) days of the service of
this Order to Show Cause, the right to a hearing in this matter
shall be deemed to have been waived by the Respondents and the
Commissioner shall dispose of this matter in accordance with
law, A hearing may be requested by mailing the request to
Virgil Dowtin, Chief of Investigations, New Jersey Department of
Banking and Insurance, P.0. Box 329, Trenton, N.J. 08625 or by
faxing the request to the Department at (609) 292-5337. A copy
of the request for a hearing shall also be sent to Deputy
Attorney General Kevin McGowan at fax number (609) 777-3503. The
request shall contain:

(A) The licensee's name, address, and daytime telephone number;

(B) A statement referring to each charge alleged in this Order
to Show Cause and identifying any defense intended to be
asserted in response to each charge. Where the defense
relies on facts not contained in the Order to Show Cause,
those specific facts must be stated;

{C) A specific admission or denial of each fact alleged in this
Order to Show Cause. Where the Respondent has no specific
knowledge regarding a fact alleged in this Order to Show
Cause, a statement to that effect must be contained in the
hearing request. Allegations of this Order to Show Cause
not answered in the manner set forth above shall be deemed

to have been admitted; and

(D) A statement requesting a hearing.

Peter Marct = U/ ™\

Director of Insurance
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