ORDER NO. E17-i(s

STATE OF NEW JERSEY
DEPARTMENT OF BANKING AND INSURANCE

IN THE MATTER OF:

Proceedings by the Commissioner
of Banking and Insurance, State
of New Jersey, to fine, suspend
or revoke the insurance license
of Garrett Smith, Reference

No. 1279157

ORDER TO SHCOW CAUSE

e Tl )

To: Garrett Smith
636 Jackson Avenue
Roselle, NJ 07203
THIS MATTER, having been opened by Richard J. Badolato,
Commissioner, New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance
{“Commissioner”), upon information that Garrett Smith
{"Respondent”), licensed as a resident producer pursuant to
N.J.S.A. 17:22A-32 until his license expired on September 30, 2016,
may have violated various provisions of the insurance laws of the
State of New Jersey; and
WHEREAS, Respondent is subject to the provisions of the
New Jersey Insurance Producer Licensing Act of 2001, N.J.S.A.
17:22A-26 et seq. {(“Producer Act”), the New Jersey Insurance Fraud

Prevention Act, N.J.S.A. 17:33A-1 et seq. {("“Fraud Act”) and the



regulations promulgated thereunder, N.J.A.C. 11:16-1.1 et seq., the
Producer Licensing regulations, N.J.A.C. 11:17-1 et seqg., and the
regulations governing Insurance Producer Standards of Conduct,
N.J.A.C. 11:17A-1.1 et seq.; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40a{2), an insurance
producer shall not violate any insurance law, regulation, subpoena
or oxder of the Commissioner or of another state’s insurance
regulator; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40a(6), an insurance
producer shall not have been convicted of a felony or crime of the
fourth degree or higher; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40a(8), an insurance
producer shall not use fraudulent, coercive or dishonest practices,
or demonstrate incompetence, untrustworthiness or financial
irresponsibility in the conduct of insurance business in this State
or elsewhere; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40a (16}, an
insurance producer shall not commit any fraudulent act; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40a(18), an
insurance producer shall not fail to notify the Commissioner within
30 days of his conviction of any crime, indictment or the filing of
criminal charges, or the suspension or revocation of any insurance
license or authority by a state, other than this State, or the

initiation of formal disciplinary proceedings in a state, other



than this State, affecting the producer’s insurance license; or
fail to obtain the written consent pursuant to sections 1033 and
1034 of Title 18, United Stated Code (18 U.S.C. ss. 1033 and 1034);
or fail to supply any documentation that the Commissioner may
request in connection therewith; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-47b, an insurance
producer shall, within 30 days of the initial pretrial hearing
date, report to the Commissioner any criminal prosecution of the
producer taken in any jurisdiction and said report shall include a
copy of the initial complaint filed, the order resulting from the
hearing and any other relevant legal documents; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 11:17A-4.8, an insurance
producer shall reply, in writing, to any inguiry of the New Jersey
Department of Banking and Insurance (“Department”) relative to the
business of insurance within the time requested in said inquiry, or
no later than 15 calendar days from the date the inquiry was made
or mailed in cases where no response time is given; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S8.A. 17:33A-4a(l), no person
shall present or cause to be presented any written or oral
statement as part of, or in support of or opposition to, a claim
for payment or other benefit pursuant to an insurance policy or the
"Unsatisfied Claim and Judgment Fund Law,” P.L.1952, ¢.174 (C:39:6-

61 et seq.), knowing that the statement contains any false or



misleading information concerning any fact or thing material to the
claim; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:33A-4a(3), no person
shall conceal or knowingly fail to disclose the occurrence of any
event which affects any person’s initial or continued right or
entitlement to (a) any insurance benefit or payment or (b) the
amount of any benefit or payment to which the person is entitled;
and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:33A-5a and c, violations
of the Fraud Act subject the violator to a civil and administrative
penalty not to exceed $5,000.00 for the first offense, not to
exceed $10,000.00 for the second offense and not to exceed
$15,000.00 for each subsequent offense; moreover, the Commissioner
may issue a final order recovering costs of prosecution, including
attorneys’ fees in accordance with N.J.A.C. 11:16-7.9(c); and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:33A-5.1, any person who
is found in any legal proceeding to have committed insurance fraud
shall be subject to a surcharge in the amount of $1,000.00; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-45c, any person
violating the Producer Act is subject to fines of up to $5,000.00
for the first offense, and up to $10,000.00 for each subseguent
offense; moreover, the Commissioner may order restitution of moneys
owed any person and reimbursement of costs of the investigation and

prosecution; and



WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-404, the
Commissioner shall retain the authority to enforce the provisions
of and impose any penalty or remedy authorized by the Producer Act
and Title 17 of the Revised Statutes or Title 17B of the New Jersey
Statutes against any person who is under investigation for or
charged with a violation of the Producer Act or Title 17 of the
Revised Statutes or Title 17B of the New Jersey Statutes even if
the person’s license or registration has been surrendered or has
lapsed by operation of law; and

IT APPEARING, that on or about December 30, 2010, the
Respondent submitted a false automobile accident claim to New
Jersey Manufacturers Insurance Company stating that his mother's
2001 Lincoln Town Car had been damaged on December 26, 2010 during
a “hit and run” incident while parked in front of the insured’s
residence when, in fact, the vehicle had been damaged while the
Respondent was operating it on December 25, 2010; Respondent fled
the scene of the accident and subsequently garaged the wvehicle at
an alternate location, in violation of N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40a(2), (8)
and (16) and N.J.S.A. 17:33A-4a(l) and (3);: and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that on or about January 17, 2014,
the Respondent was indicted by the State of New Jersey and charged
with second degree insurance fraud in violation of N.J.S.A. 2C:21-
4.6a(1) and fourth degree false reporting to law enforcement in

violation of N.J.S.A. 2C:28-4; and



IT FURTHER APPEARING, that on or about February 24, 2015,
the Respondent pleaded guilty to one count of second degree
insurance fraud in violation of N.J.S.A. 2C:21-4.6a{l) and was
sentenced on or about April 10, 2015 to probation for a period of
three years with 90 days of jail time, in violation of N.J.S.A.
17:22A-40a(2), (6) and (16); and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that the Respondent failed to advise
the Department of the aforementioned incidents within 30 days, in
violation of N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40a(2) and (18) and N.J.S.A. 17:22A-
47b; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that the Respondent failed to
provide a written response with supporting documentation relative
to the aforementioned criminal activity pursuant to correspondence
issued by the Department on April 1, 2015, in violation of N.J.S.A.

17:22A-40a(2) and N.J.A.C. 11:17A-4.8; and

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS on this ;Q}J”day oif/bqqfﬁfégf,
2017

ORDERED, that Respondent appear and show cause why his
New Jersey insurance producer license shall not be suspended or
revoked pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40a; and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that Respondent appear and show
cause why the Commissioner should not assess a civil penalty of up
Lo $5,000.00 for the first offense, $10,000.00 for the second

offense, and $15,000 for each subsequent offense of the Fraud Act



pursuant to the provisions of N.J.S.A. 17:33A-5¢ and N.J.A.C.
11:16-7.9(a); and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that Respondent appear and show
cause why the Commissioner should not impose a $1,000.00 surcharge
against him in accordance with N.J.S.A. 17:33A-5.1; and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that Respondent appear and show
cause why the Commissioner should not assess a c¢ivil penalty of up
to $5,000.00 for the first wviolation and 3$10,000.00 for each
subsequent violation of the Producer Act pursuant to the provisions
of N.J.8.A. 17:22A-45¢; and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that Respondent appear and show
cause why he should not be required to reimburse the Department for
the cost of the investigation and prosecution, including attorneys’
fees, as authorized pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-45¢, N.J.S.A.
17:33A-5¢, and N.J.A.C. 11:16-7.9{c}); and

IT IS PROVIDED, that Respondent has the right to request
an administrative hearing, to be represented by counsel or other
qualified representative, at his own expense, to take testimony, to
call or cross-examine witnesses, to have subpoenas issued, and to
present evidence or argument if a hearing is requested; and

IT IS FURTHER PROVIDED, that unless a regquest for a
hearing is received within twenty (20) days of the service of this
Order to Show Cause, the right to a hearing in this matter shall be

deemed to have been waived by the Respondent, and the Commissioner



shall dispose of this matter in accordance with the law. A hearing
may be requested by mailing the request to Virgil Dowtin, Chief of
Investigations, Department of Banking and Insurance, P.0O. Box 329,
Trenton, New Jersey 08625, or by faxing the hearing request to the
Department at (609) 292-5337. The request shall contain the
following:

(a) Respondent’s full name, address, and daytime
telephone number;

(b} A statement referring to each charge alleged in this
Order to Show Cause and identifying any defense intended to be
asserted in response to each charge. Where the defense relies on
facts not contained in the Order to Show Cause, those specific
facts must be stated;

(c) A specific admission or denial of each fact alleged
in this Order to Show Cause. Where the Respondent has no specific
knowledge regarding a fact alleged in the Order to Show Cause, a
statement to that effect must be contained in the hearing request.
Allegations of this Order to Show Cause not answered in the manner

set forth above shall be deemed to have been admitted; and



(d} A statement requesting the hearing.

Peter L. MXrtt ™
Director of Insurance



