ORDER NO. E18- /277

STATE OF NEW JERSEY
DEPARTMENT OF BANKING AND INSURANCE

IN THE MATTER OF:

Proceedings by the Commissioner of Banking

)
and Insurance, State of New Jersey, to fine ) ORDER TO SHOW CAUSE
Bryan Davis. . ) ,
)
TO: Bryan Davis : Bryan Davis
3875 Franklin Towne Court 121 Ashbury Court
Murrysville, PA 15668 Monroeville, PA 15146

THIS MATTER, having been opened by the Commissioner of Banking and Insurance
(“Commissioner”), State of New Jersey, upon information that Bryan Davis (“Respondent”), may
have violated various provisions of the insurance laws of the State of New Jersey; and

WHEREAS, Respondent was and is not licensed in the State of New J ersey; and

WHEREAS, Respondent is subject to the provisions 'of the New Jersey Insurance Producer
Licensing Act 0f 2001, N.J.S.A. 17:22A-26 to -48 (“Producer Act™); and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-29, a person shall not sell, solicit, or negotiate
insurance in this State unless the person is licensed for that line of authority in accordance with
the Producer Act; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 11:17A-1.3(a), with certain exceptions, no person shall
act as an insurance producer without first obtaining a license from the Commissioner granting

authority for the kind of insurance transacted; and



WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 11:17A-1.3(b), unless otherwise provided by the
Producer Act, any person who solicits, negotiates, or sells contracts of insurance in New Jersey
shall be considered to be transacting the business of insurance in New Jersey so as to require
licensure as an insurance producer; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 11:17A-1.3(c), engaging in a single act or transaction of
the business of an insurance producer, or holding oneself out to the public or an insurance producer
as being so engaged, shall be sufficient proof of engaging in the business of an insurance producer
as to require licensure pursuant to the Producer Act; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-45c, any person violating the Producer Act is
subject to a penalty not exceeding $5,000.00 for the first offense and not exceeding $10,000.00 for
each subsequent offense; additionally, the Commissioner may order restitution of moneys owed
any person and reimbursement of cost of the investigation and prosecution; and

COUNT ONE

IT APPEARING, that at all times relevant hereto, Respondent was nof licensed in New
Jersey as an insurance producer, and is not currently licensed in New Jersey; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that Respondent sold a Prudential Insurance Company of
America (“Prudential™) life insurance policy in New Jersey to WG, a New Jersey resident; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that subsequently, Prudential cancelled the policy and
refunded the premium payment to WG; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that by acting as an insurance producer in this State and
selling insurance in New Jersey without a New Jersey insurance producer license, Respondent

violated N.J.S.A. 17:22A-29 and N.J.A.C. 11:17A-1.3(a) — (¢); and



NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS ontbisof}’“day of l&um ber s

ORDERED, that Respondent appear and show cause why the Commissioner should not
assess a civil penalty of up to $5,000.00 for the first violation and $10,000.00 for each subsequent
violation of the Producer Act, and order Respondent to pay restitution of any moneys owed to any
person, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-45c¢; and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that Respondent appear and show cause why he should not
be required to reimburse the Department for the cost of the investigation and prosecution as
authorized by N.J.S.A. 17:22A-45c¢; and

IT IS PROVIDED, that Respondent has the right to réquest an administrative hearing, to
be represented by counsel or other qualified representative, at his own expense, to take testimony,
to call or cross-examine witnesses, to have subpoenas issued, and to present evidence or argument
if a hearing is requested; and

IT IS FURTHER PROVIDED, that unless a request for a hearing is received within twenty
(20) days of the service of this Order to Show Cause, the right to a hearing in this matter shall be
deemed to have been waived by Respondent, and the Commissioner shall dispose of this matter in
accordance with Jaw. A hearing may be requested by mailing the request to Virgil Dowtin, Chief
of Investigations, Department of Banking and Insurance, P.O. Box 329, Trenton, New Jersey
08625, or by faxing the hearing request to the Department at (609) 292-5337. A copy of the
request for a hearing shall also be mailed or faxed to Deputy Attorney General Brian R. Fitzgerald
at: Division of Law, P.O. Box 117, Trenton, NJ 08625 or (609) 777-3503. The request shall
contain the following;:

(a) Respondent’s full name, current address, and daytime telephone number;

(b) A statement referring to each charge alleged in this Order to Show Cause
and identifying any defense intended to be asserted in response to each



(©)

@

charge. Where the defense relies on facts not contained in the Order to
Show Cause, those speclﬁc facts must be stated;

A specific admission or denial of each fact alleged in this Order to Show
Cause. Where Respondent has no specific knowledge regarding a fact
alleged in the Order to Show Cause, a statement to that effect must be
contained in the hearing request. Allegations of this Order to Show Cause
not answered in the manner set forth above shall be deemed to have been
admitted; and

A statement requesting the hearing.

Marlene Caride
Commissioner



