ORDER NO. E21-37

STATE OF NEW JERSEY
DEPARTMENT OF BANKING AND INSURANCE

IN THE MATTER OF:

Proceedings by the Commissioner of Banking )

and Insurance, State of New Jersey, (o line ) CONSENT
Josh McClain Hagelin, Relerence No. 1318727 ) ORDER

To:  Josh McClain Hagelin

4022 Rock Run Road

Havre De Grace, MD 21078

This matler, having been opened by the Commissioner of Banking and Insurance
(“Commissioner”), State of New Jersey, upon information that Josh McClain Hagelin
(“Respondent”) may have violated the insurance laws of the State ol New Jersey; and

WHEREAS, Respondent was previously licensed as an individual nonresident insurance
producer until his license expired on July 31, 2013 and is not currently licensed as a producer in
the State of New Jersey; and

WHEREAS, Respondent is subject to the provisions of the New Jersey Insurance
Producer Licensing Act of 2001, N.J.S.A. 17:22A-26 (o -48 (the "Producer AcL") and the
regulations governing Insurance Producer Standards of Conduct, NJA.C. 11:17A-1.1 to
11:17D-2.8; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.SA 17:22A-29, a person shall not sell, solicit, or negoliate
insurance in this State unless the person is licensed for that line of authority in

accordance with the Producer Act; and



WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-41b, a person shall not accepl a
commission, service lee brokerage or other valuable consideration for selling, soliciting
or negoliating insurance in this State il that person is required to be licensed under this
actl and is not so licensed; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.JLA.C. 11:17A-1.3(a), no person shall act as an
insurance producer or maintain or operate any office in this State for the transaction of
the business of an insurance producer , or receive any commission, brokerage lee,
compensation or other consideration for services rendered as an insurance producer,
without first obtaining a license from the Commissioner granting authority for the kind of
insurance transacted; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to NJA.C. [ 1:17A-1.3(b), unless otherwise provided by the
Producer Act, any person who solicits, negotiates, or sells contracts of insurance in New
Jerscy shall be considered to be transacting the business of insurance in New Jersey so as
to require licensure as an insurance producer; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to NJA.C. 11:17A-1.3(c), engaging in a single act or
transaction of the business of an insurance producer, or holding oneself out to the public
or an insurance producer as being so engaged, shall be sufficient proof of engaging in the
business of an insurance producer as to require licensure pursuant to the Producer Act;
and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 11:17A-1.4(a), no person shall solicit, negotiate
or sell an insurance contract in New Jersey unless he or she is a licensed insurance

producer; and



WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-45(c), any person violating the
Producer Act is subject to a penalty not exceeding $5,000.00 for the first offense and not
exceeding $10,000.00 for each subsequent offense; additionally, the Commissioner may
order restitution ol moneys owed any person and reimbursement of cost of the
investigation and prosecution; and
WHEREAS, during the period lrom July 26, 2017 to March 5, 2018, Respondent
transacted insurance business and signed homeowners’ insurance applications for New Jersey
insureds JT, BM, CR and TR, even though he was not then licensed as an insurance producer, in
violation of N.J.SA 17:22A-29, N.J.S.A. 17:22A-41b,N.J.A.C. 1 1:17A-1.3(a), (b) and (c) and
NJAC. [1:17A-1.4(a); and
WHEREAS, the Respondent;
1) Has admitted responsibility for the alorementioned violations; and
2) Has cooperated with the investigation conducted by the New Jersey Department
of Banking and Insurance (“Department”); and
WHEREAS, cause does exist under N.J.S.A. 17:22A-45c¢ to impose a tine; and
WHEREAS, the Respondent has waived his right to a hearing on the
aforementioned violations and consented to the payment of a fine in the amount of one
thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500.00); and
WHEREAS, this matter should be resolved upon the consent of the parties
without resort to a formal hearing;
NOW, THEREFORE, IT [Sonthis 24  dayof August . 2021
ORDERED AND AGREED, that the Respondent pay a fine in the amount of

$1,500.00 to the Department; and
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New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance
Attention: Virgil Dowtin - Chicf ol Investizations
9" Iloor. Consumer Protection Services, Inlorcement
P O Box 329
Trenton. New Jersey 08625-0329
and
ITIS FURTHER ORDERED AN AGREED. that the provisions of this Consent

Orduer represent a final ageney decision and constitute a final resolution of the violations
contmned herem; and

TS TURTHER ORDERED AND AGRELD. that the Respondent shall cease

and desist engaging i the conduet that save rise to this Consent Order.
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Marlene Cande
Commissionet

Consented 1o as to Form,
Foatry and Content

By Lot %M_
“/ Josh McClain Hadelin
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