ORDER NO. E22-31

STATE OF NEW JERSEY
DEPARTMENT OF BANKING AND INSURANCE

IN THE MATTER OF:

)
Proceedings by the Commissioner of Banking )
and Insurance, State of New Jersey, to fine, ) ORDER TO SHOW CAUSE

suspend and/or revoke the insurance license of )
Octavio Montoya, Reference No. 1088466. )

)

TO: Octavio Montoya
274 Goffle Road
Apartment 1
Hawthorne, New Jersey 07506-3605
THIS MATTER, having been opened by the Commissioner of Banking and Insurance
(“Commissioner”), State of New Jersey, upon information that Octavio Montoya (“Respondent”),
may have violated various provisions of the insurance laws of the State of New Jersey; and
WHEREAS, at all relevant times, Respondent is licensed as a resident individual insurance
producer in the State of New Jersey pursuant to N.J.S.A.17:22A-32(a); and
WHEREAS, Respondent is subject to the provisions of the New Jersey Insurance Producer
Licensing Act of 2001, N.J.S.A. 17:22A-26 to -48 (“Producer Act”); and
WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40(a)(2), an insurance producer shall not violate
any insurance law, regulation, subpoena or order of the Commissioner or of another state’s
insurance regulator; and
WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40(a)(5), an insurance producer shall not

intentionally misrepresent the terms of an actual or proposed insurance contract, policy or

application for insurance; and



WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40(a)(7), an insurance producer shall not have
admitted or been found to have committed any insurance unfair trade practice or fraud; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40(a)(8), an insurance producer shall not use any
fraudulent, coercive, or dishonest practices, or demonstrate incompetence or untrustworthiness in
the conduct of insurance business; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40(a)(16), an insurance producer shall not
commit any fraudulent act; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40(a), the Commissioner may place on probation,
suspend, revoke or refuse to issue or renew an insurance producer’s license for violating the
Producer Act; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-45(c), any person violating the Producer Act is
subject to a penalty not exceeding $5,000.00 for the first offense and not exceeding $10,000.00 for
each subsequent offense; additionally, the Commissioner may order restitution of moneys owed
any person and reimbursement of costs of the investigation and prosecution; and

ALLEGATIONS COMMON TO ALL COUNTS

IT APPEARING, that on December 28, 2006, Respondent became a licensed insurance
producer in the State of New Jersey; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that on or about November 5, 2015, Respondent completed
an Allstate New Jersey Property and Casualty Insurance Company (“Allstate) application for
automobile insurance, which became effective on or about November 12, 2015; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that on or about November 5, 2015, Respondent sought to
insure his 2011 Mazda CX-9, 2007 Infiniti G35, and 2000 Honda Accord in the Allstate application

for automobile insurance; and



IT FURTHER APPEARING, that on or about November 5, 2015, Respondent listed only
himself and his wife, Digna Montoya, as members of the household who drove the vehicles; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that Respondent and Digna Montoya resided at 274 Goffle
Road, Apartment 1, Hawthorne, New Jersey 07506; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that on or about November 14, 2015, Respondent’s son,
Brandon Montoya, was involved in a motor vehicle accident while operating Respondent’s 2000
Honda Accord; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that Brandon Montoya resided with Respondent and was an
operator of Respondent’s listed vehicles; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that, had Respondent disclosed Brandon Montoya as a
resident driver in his application, his premium would increase $753.00 over a six month policy
period; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that on or about February 4, 2016, Allstate voided
Respondent’s policy at the inception of the policy because its investigation revealed that the policy
was obtained or renewed through material misrepresentation, fraud or concealment of material fact;
and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that on or about November 4, 2016, Respondent entered into
a Consent Order with the Bureau of Fraud Deterrence in which he admitted that he violated the
New Jersey Insurance Fraud Prevention Act, N.J.S.A. 17:33A-1 to -30 (“Fraud Act”) because he
knowingly supplied false and misleading statements on an Automobile Insurance Policy
Application with Allstate Insurance Company dated November 5, 2015 by failing to disclose an

additional resident of the policy address and operator of a policy vehicle; and



COUNT ONE

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that while licensed as an insurance producer, Respondent
knowingly prepared and made a written statement, intended to be presented to any insurance
company or producer for the purpose of obtaining an insurance policy, knowing that the statement
contains any false or misleading information concerning any fact or thing material to an insurance
application; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that specifically, when Respondent applied for a new
insurance policy he concealed the fact that his son, Brandon Montoya, resided with him and
operated the listed vehicles, thereby committing insurance fraud in violation of the Fraud Act and
violating N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40(a)(2), (5), (7), (8), and (16); and

NOW, THEREFORE, IT ISon this__7 _ day of April , 2022

ORDERED, that Respondent appear and show cause why his New Jersey insurance
producer license should not be suspended or revoked pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40(a); and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that Respondent appear and show cause why the
Commissioner should not assess a civil penalty of up to $5,000.00 for the first violation and
$10,000.00 for each subsequent violation of the Producer Act and order Respondent to pay
restitution of moneys owed to any person, pursuant to the provisions of N.J.S.A. 17:22A-45(c); and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that Respondent appear and show cause why he should not
be required to reimburse the Department for the cost of the investigation and prosecution, including
attorneys’ fees, as authorized pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-45(c) and N.J.A.C. 11:16-7.9(c); and

IT ISPROVIDED, that Respondent has the right to request an administrative hearing, to be
represented by counsel or other qualified representative, at his own expense, to take testimony, to
call or cross-examine witnesses, to have subpoenas issued, and to present evidence or argument if
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a hearing is requested; and

IT IS FURTHER PROVIDED, that unless a request for a hearing is received within twenty

(20) days of the service of this Order to Show Cause, the right to a hearing in this matter shall be

deemed to have been waived by Respondent, and the Commissioner shall dispose of this matter in

accordance with law. A hearing may be requested by mailing the request to Virgil Dowtin, Chief

of Investigations, Department of Banking and Insurance, P.O. Box 329, Trenton, New Jersey

08625, or by faxing the hearing request to the Department at (609) 292-5337. A copy of the request

for a hearing shall also be sent to Deputy Attorney General William E. Vaughan at: Division of

Law, P.O. Box 117, Trenton, NJ 08625. The request shall contain the following:

(@)
(b)

(©)

(d)

Respondent’s full name, address and daytime telephone number;

A statement referring to each charge alleged in this Order to Show Cause and
identifying any defense intended to be asserted in response to each charge.
Where the defense relies on facts not contained in the Order to Show Cause,
those specific facts must be stated;

A specific admission or denial of each fact alleged in this Order to Show
Cause. Where Respondent has no specific knowledge regarding a fact
alleged in the Order to Show Cause, a statement to that effect must be
contained in the hearing request. Allegations of this Order to Show Cause
not answered in the manner set forth above shall be deemed to have been
admitted; and

A statement requesting the hearing.
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Marlene Caride, Commissioner



