STATE OF NEW JERSEY DEPARTMENT OF BANKING AND INSURANCE

)

))

IN THE MATTER OF:

Proceedings by the Commissioner of Banking) and Insurance, State of New Jersey, to fine,) suspend and/or revoke the insurance license of) Francesco Maneri, Reference No. 8101947.)

ORDER TO SHOW CAUSE

TO: Francesco Maneri 13-07 Sunnyside Avenue Fairlawn, NJ 07410

THIS MATTER, having been opened by the Commissioner of Banking and Insurance ("Commissioner"), State of New Jersey, upon information that Francesco Maneri ("Respondent"), may have violated various provisions of the insurance laws of the State of New Jersey; and

WHEREAS, Respondent is licensed as a resident individual insurance producer in the State of New Jersey, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-32(a); and

WHEREAS, Respondent is subject to the provisions of the New Jersey Insurance Producer

Licensing Act of 2001, N.J.S.A. 17:22A-26 to -48 ("Producer Act"); and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40(a)(2), an insurance producer shall not violate any insurance law, regulation, subpoena or order of the Commissioner or of another state's insurance regulator; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40(a)(4), an insurance producer shall not improperly withhold, misappropriate or convert any monies or properties received in the course of doing insurance business; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40(a)(8), an insurance producer shall not use any fraudulent, coercive, or dishonest practices, or demonstrate incompetence or untrustworthiness in the conduct of insurance business; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 11:17A-4.10, an insurance producer acts in a fiduciary capacity in the conduct of his or her insurance business; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 11:17C-2.1(a), all premium funds shall be held by an insurance producer in a fiduciary capacity and shall not be misappropriated, improperly converted to the insurance producer's own use, or illegally withheld by the licensee; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 11:17C-2.2(b), all premiums due the insured shall be paid to the insured or credited to the insured's account within five business days after receipt by the insurance producer from the insurer or other insurance producer or premium finance company; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.8(f)(2), all licensees shall provide in the format prescribed by the Department notification of any change of business mailing or location address, residence address, phone numbers and email addresses within 30 days of the change and maintain a proof of notification for five years or until receipt of a license or other documentation from the Department showing the new address; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40(a), the Commissioner may place on probation, suspend, revoke or refuse to issue or renew an insurance producer's license for violating the Producer Act; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-45(c), any person violating the Producer Act is subject to a penalty not exceeding \$5,000.00 for the first offense and not exceeding \$10,000.00 for each subsequent offense; additionally, the Commissioner may order restitution of moneys owed any person and reimbursement of costs of the investigation and prosecution; and

ALLEGATIONS COMMON TO ALL COUNTS

IT APPEARING, that starting July 25, 2003, Respondent became a licensed insurance producer in the State of New Jersey; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that between 2014 and 2018, Respondent was employed by United Insurance Company of America ("United") as an agent; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that while Respondent was employed by United as agent, he collected \$550.00 from a policyholder on January 31, 2018, which was not deposited with United; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that Respondent was terminated by United as an agent in March 2018; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that Respondent did not notify the Department of the change of his business address until July 30, 2019, more than one year after his business address changed; and

COUNT ONE

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that by collecting premium funds from a policyholder and failing to remit those funds to the carrier, Respondent violated N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40(a)(2), (4), and (8), N.J.A.C. 11:17A-4.10, N.J.A.C. 11:17C-2.1(a) and N.J.A.C. 11:17C-2.2; and

COUNT TWO

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that Respondent failed to notify the Department of his business mailing address change within thirty (30) days, in violation of N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40(a)(2) and (8) and N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.8(f)(2); and

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS on this <u>11</u> day of <u>April</u>, 2022,

ORDERED, that Respondent appear and show cause why his New Jersey insurance producer license should not be suspended or revoked pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40(a); and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that Respondent appear and show cause why the Commissioner should not assess a civil penalty of up to \$5,000.00 for the first violation and \$10,000.00 for each subsequent violation of the Producer Act and order Respondent to pay restitution of moneys owed to any person, pursuant to the provisions of N.J.S.A. 17:22A-45(c); and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that Respondent appear and show cause why he should not be required to reimburse the Department for the cost of the investigation and prosecution pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-45(c); and

IT IS PROVIDED, that Respondent has the right to request an administrative hearing, to be represented by counsel or other qualified representative, at his own expense, to take testimony, to call or cross-examine witnesses, to have subpoen issued, and to present evidence or argument if a hearing is requested; and

IT IS FURTHER PROVIDED, that unless a request for a hearing is received within twenty (20) days of the service of this Order to Show Cause, the right to a hearing in this matter shall be deemed to have been waived by Respondent, and the Commissioner shall dispose of this matter in accordance with law. A hearing may be requested by mailing the request to Virgil Dowtin, Chief

4

of Investigations, Department of Banking and Insurance, P.O. Box 329, Trenton, New Jersey 08625, or by faxing the hearing request to the Department at (609) 292-5337. A copy of the request for a hearing shall also be sent to Deputy Attorney General Chandra M. Arkema at: Division of Law, P.O. Box 117, Trenton, NJ 08625. The request shall contain the following:

- (a) Respondent's full name, address and daytime telephone number;
- (b) A statement referring to each charge alleged in this Order to Show Cause and identifying any defense intended to be asserted in response to each charge. Where the defense relies on facts not contained in the Order to Show Cause, those specific facts must be stated;
- (c) A specific admission or denial of each fact alleged in this Order to Show Cause. Where Respondent has no specific knowledge regarding a fact alleged in the Order to Show Cause, a statement to that effect must be contained in the hearing request. Allegations of this Order to Show Cause not answered in the manner set forth above shall be deemed to have been admitted; and
- (d) A statement requesting the hearing.

Maride

Marlene Caride Commissioner