ORDER NO. E23-08

STATE OF NEW JERSEY
DEPARTMENT OF BANKING AND INSURANCE

IN THE MATTER OF:

Proceedings by the Commissioner of Banking
and Insurance, State of New Jersey, to fine
DRD Medical Solutions LLC and Deborah L.
Britton

ORDER TO SHOW CAUSE

N N N N N N

TO: DRD Medical Solutions LLC
41 S. State Highway 73
Building 1, Suite 200
Winslow, New Jersey 08095
Deborah L. Britton

100 Waterway Road
Ocean City, New Jersey 08226

THIS MATTER, having been opened by the Commissioner of Banking and Insurance
(“Commissioner”), State of New Jersey, upon information that DRD Medical Solutions LLC and
Deborah L. Britton (collectively, “Respondents™), may have violated various provisions of the
insurance laws of the State of New Jersey; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17B:27B-1, a third party billing service is defined as a
person or entity that is paid by a health care provider to process claims or claims payments on

behalf of the health care provider; and



WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17B:27B-16 and N.J.A.C. 11:23-5.1(a), on and after
January 1, 2002, no person shall act as, offer to act as or hold himself out to be a third party billing
service without being certified by the Commissioner; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 11:1-12.2(a), active officers shall be held individually
responsible for all insurance related conduct of the corporate licensee; and

WHEREAS, on January 17, 2002, pursuant to Bulletin No. 02-03, the Department advised
third party billing services that they could continue to operate in this State until regulations
implementing N.J.S.A. 17B:27B-1 et seq. were adopted; and

WHEREAS, the aforementioned regulations were adopted March 10, 2005, and effective
April 4, 2005; and

WHEREAS, on April 27, 2005, pursuant to Bulletin No. 05-09, the Department advised all
third party billing services operating in this State prior to April 4, 2005, to file an application for
temporary initial certification with the Commissioner by August 2, 2005; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 11:23-5.1(b), all third party billing services that did not
file for temporary initial certification shall obtain certification prior to operating in this State; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17B:27B-24, any third party billing service that violates
N.J.S.A. 17B:27B-16 is subject to a civil administrative penalty in an amount not less than $250
no more than $5,000 for each day that a third party billing service is in violation of the act; and

COUNT ONE

IT APPEARING THAT, DRD Medical Solutions LLC, a New Jersey limited liability
company, was originally organized on October 6, 1998; and
IT FURTHER APPEARING THAT, DRD Medical Solutions LLC commenced business

as a third party billing service in New Jersey on or about March 1, 1999; and



IT FURTHER APPEARING THAT, Deborah L. Britton (“Britton™) is the owner of DRD
Medical Solutions LLC; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING THAT, as the sole owner of DRD Medical Solutions LLC,
Britton knew of and/or directed the illegal acts alleged herein and is thus liable for the violations
for that reason and under N.J.A.C. 11:1-12.2(a); and

IT FURTHER APPEARING THAT, between March 1999 and the present, Respondents
have acted as a third party billing service in New Jersey; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING THAT, DRD Medical Solutions LLC failed to file for
temporary initial certification with the Commissioner by August 2, 2005; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING THAT, between August 2005 and December 2021, while not
certified as a third party billing service, Respondents performed third party billing services for at
least thirty-three (33) clients in New Jersey; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING THAT, on December 22, 2021, DRD Medical Solutions LLC
submitted an application for certification as a third party billing service to the Commissioner; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING THAT, DRD Medical Solutions LLC was certified by the
Commissioner as a third party billing service on January 4, 2022;

IT FURTHER APPEARING THAT, DRD Medical Solutions LLC acted as a third party
billing service in New Jersey when it was not certified as a third party billing service from August
2, 2005, to December 22, 2021, for a period of 5,986 days; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING THAT, because Respondents acted as a third party billing
service in New Jersey without the required certification, they violated N.J.S.A. 17B:27B-16,
N.J.A.C. 11:23-5.1(a), and N.J.A.C. 11:23-5.1(b); and

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS on this 17 day of  February , 2023,



ORDERED, that Respondents appear and show cause why the Commissioner should not
assess a civil penalty in an amount not less than $250 no more than $5,000 for each day
Respondents were in violation of N.J.S.A. 17B:27B-16, pursuant to the provisions of N.J.S.A.
17B:27B-24; and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that Respondents have the right to request an administrative
hearing, to be represented by counsel or other qualified representative, at their own expense, to
take testimony, to call or cross-examine witnesses, to have subpoenas issued, and to present
evidence or argument if a hearing is requested; and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that unless a request for a hearing is received within twenty
(20) days of the service of this Order to Show Cause, the right to a hearing in this matter shall be
deemed to have been waived by Respondents, and the Commissioner shall dispose of this matter
in accordance with law. A hearing may be requested by mailing the request to Virgil Dowtin,
Chief of Investigations, Department of Banking and Insurance, P.O. Box 329, Trenton, New Jersey
08625, or by faxing the hearing request to the Department at (609) 292-5337. A copy of the request
for a hearing shall also be sent to Deputy Attorney General Chandra M. Arkema at: Division of
Law, P.O. Box 117, Trenton, New Jersey 08625, fax (609) 777-3503. The request shall contain
the following:

@ Respondent’s full name, current address, and daytime telephone number;

(b) A statement referring to each charge alleged in this Order to Show Cause
and identifying any defense intended to be asserted in response to each
charge. Where the defense relies on facts not contained in the Order to
Show Cause, those specific facts must be stated;

(©) A specific admission or denial of each fact alleged in this Order to Show
Cause. Where the Respondent has no specific knowledge regarding a fact

alleged in the Order to Show Cause, a statement to that effect must be
contained in the hearing request. Allegations of this Order to Show Cause



not answered in the manner set forth above shall be deemed to have been
admitted; and

(d) A statement requesting the hearing.

A1

Marlene Caride
Commissioner



