ORDER NO. E18-JO

STATE OF NEW JERSEY
DEPARTMENT OF BANKING AND INSURANCE

IN THE MATTER OF:

)
Proceedings by the Commissioner of Banking )
and Insurance, State of New Jersey, to fine, ) ORDER TO SHOW CAUSE
suspend, and/or revoke the insurance producer )
license of Brian Tripp, Reference No. 1531920 )

)

TO: Brian Tripp
81 Still Run
Clayton, NJ 08312

THIS MATTER, having been opened by the Commissioner of Banking and Insurance
("Commissioner"), State of New Jersey, upon information that Brian Tripp (“Respondent”) may
have violated various provisions of the insurance laws of the State of New Jersey; and

WHEREAS, Respondent was licensed as a resident insurance producer, pursuant to
N.J.S.A. 17:22A-32a, until his license expired on December 31, 2015; and

WHEREAS, Respondent is subject to the provisions of the New Jersey Insurance
Producer Licensing Act of 2001, N.J.S.A. 17:22A-26 to -48 (“Producer Act™); and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40d, the Commissioner shall retain the
authority to enforce the provisions of and impose any penalty or remedy authorized by the

Producer Act and Title 17 of the Revised Statutes or Title 17B of the New Jersey Statutes against



any person who is under investigation for or charged with a violation of the Producer Act or Title
17 of the Revised Statutes or Title 17B of the New Jersey Statutes even if the person’s license or
registration has been surrendered or has lapsed by operation of law; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40a(2), an insurance producer shall not violate
any insurance law, regulation, subpoena, or order of the Commissioner or another state’s
insurance regulator; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40a(8), an insurance producer shall not use
fraudulent, coercive or dishonest practices, or demonstrate incompetence, unirustworthiness or
financial irresponsibility in the conduct of insurance business in this State or elsewhere; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.I.S.A. 17:22A-40a, the Commissioner may place on
probation, suspend, revoke or refuse to issue or renew an insurance producer’s license for
violating the Producer Act; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-45¢, any person violating any provision of the
Producer Act shall be liable to a penalty not exceeding $5,000.00 for the first offense and not
exceeding $10,000.00 for each subsequent offense; additionally, the Commissioner may order
restitution of moneys owed any person and reimbursement of costs of the investigation and
prosecution, as appropriate; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to 42 C.F.R. 422.2268(d), in conducting marketing activities,
Medicare Advantage organizations may not solicit door-to-door for Medicare beneficiaries or
through other unsolicited means of direct contact, including calling a beneficiary without the

beneficiary initiating the contact; and



WHEREAS, pursuant to 42 C.F.R. 422.2268(0), in conducting marketing activities,
Medicare Advantage organizations may not engage in any marketing activity prohibited by
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (“*CMS”) in its marketing guidance; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to the CMS 2014 Medicare Marketing Guideline, 70.5, Plans/Part
D Sponsors may not market through unsolicited contact, including but not limited to: door-to-
door solicitation, including leaving information such as a leaflet or flyer at a residence or car,
approaching potential enrollees in common areas (e.g., parking lots, hallways, lobbies,
sidewalks, etc.), and telephonic or electronic solicitation, including leaving electronic voicemail
messages or text messaging; and

COUNT 1

IT APPEARING, that at all relevant times, Respondent was an insurance agent for
AmeriHealth Insurance Company of New Jersey (“AmeriHealth”), a subsidiary and affiliate of
Independence Blue Cross; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that in 2014 Respondent marketed AmeriHealth Medicare
Advantage products by directly soliciting: “ER1” on or about March 19, 2014 at a church in
Camden, New Jersey; “AM” on or about August 19, 2014 at a transportation center in Camden,
New Jersey; “WB” on or about August 20, 2014 outside an apartment complex in Newark, New
Jersey; “GM™ on or about August 21, 2(14 at a transportation center in Camden, New Jersey;
and “ER2” on or about August 21, 2014 outside a church in Camden, New Jersey; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that each of these five instances in which Respondent
approached and directly solicited consumers in order to market an AmeriHealth Medicare
Advantage product, constitutes a separate violation of 42 C.F.R. 422.2268(d) and (o) and

N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40a(2) and (8); and



COUNT 2

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that during each of the five direct solicitations, Respondent
completed an application for the consumer for an AmeriHealth 65 Preferred HMO Plan; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that in conjunction with each of the five applications,
Respondent completed a CMS Scope of Sales Appointment Confirmation form; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that each of the five Scope of Appointment forms state that
Respondent’s “Initial Method of Contact™ with the consumer was via “walk-in"; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that the Scope of Appointment form states that, per CMS
Guidelines, the form must be completed “a minimum of 48 hours prior to the appointment” with
the consumer and, if the form is completed less than 48 hours before the appointment, the agent
“must provide an explanation of extenuating circumstance”; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that Respondent’s explanation on each of the five Scope of
Appointment forms for the extenuating circumstance regarding his solicitation and sale of the
AmeriHealth Medicare Advantage Plan was “unexpected guest at appointment”; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that Respondent submitted applications to AmeriHealth for
ER1, AM, WB, GM, and ER2; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that as a result of Respondent’s submission of the
applications to AmeriHealth, AmeriHealth 65 Preferred HMO Plan policies were issued to ER1,
AM, WB, GM, and ER2; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that each these five instances where Respondent made
material misrepresentations on CMS Scope of Sales Appointment Confirmation forms by stating
that the consumers were contacted via “walk-in” and were an “unexpected guest at

appointment,” when, in fact, the consumers were approached in public common areas and
pp pp p



directly solicited for Medicare Advantage Plans, and each of these five instances constitutes a

separate violation of N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40a(8); and

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS on this l 35" dayof W&gﬂ"’ ,

ORDERED, that Respondent appear and show cause why his New Jersey insurance

2018

producer license should not be suspended or revoked pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40a; and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that Respondent appear and show cause why the
Commissioner should not assess a civil penalty of up to $5,000.00 for the first violation and
$10,000.00 for each subsequent violation of the Producer Act and order Respondent to pay
restitution of moneys owed to any person, pursuant to the provisions of N.J.S.A. 17:22A-45¢;
and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that Respondent appear and show cause why he should not
be required to reimburse the New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance (“Department™)
for the cost of the investigation and prosecution, as authorized pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-45c;
and

IT IS PROVIDED, that Respondent has the right to request an administrative hearing, to
be represented by counsel or other qualified representative, at his own expense, to take
testimony, to call or cross-examine witnesses, to have subpoenas issued, and to present evidence
or argument if a hearing is requested; and

IT IS FURTHER PROVIDED, that unless a request for a hearing is received within
twenty (20) days of the service of this Order to Show Cause, the right to a hearing in this matter
shall be deemed to have been waived by the Respondent, and the Commissioner shall dispose of

this matter in accordance with the law. A hearing may be requested by mailing the request to



Virgil Dowtin, Chief of Investigations, Department of Banking and Insurance, P.O. Box 329,
Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0329, or by faxing the hearing request to the Department at (609)
292-5337. A copy of the request for a hearing shall also be sent to Deputy Attorney General
Ryan 8. Schaffer at Division of Law, Banking and Insurance Section, 25 Market Street, P.O. Box
117, Trenton, NJ 08625-0117, or by faxing the hearing request to (609) 777-3607. The request
shall contain the following:

(a) Respondent’s full name, address, and daytime telephone number;

(b) A statement referring to each charge alleged in this Order to Show Cause
and identifying any defense intended to be asserted in response to each
charge. Where the defense relies on facts not contained in the Order to
Show Cause, those specific facts must be stated;

(c) A specific admission or denial of each fact alleged in this Order to Show
Cause. Where the Respondent has no specific knowledge regarding a fact
alleped in the Order to Show Cause, a statement to that effect must be
contained in the hearing request. Allegations of this Order to Show Cause
not answered in the manner set forth above shall be deemed to have been

admitted; and

(d) A statement requesting the hearing,

Peter'L. Haftt
Director of Insurance



