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 It has come to the attention of the Small Employer Health Benefits (“SEH”) Program Board that 
some carriers may have not been paying benefits consistent with N.J.A.C. 11:21-7.14.  That regulation 
provides the following: 
 

 (a) In paying benefits for covered services under the terms of the small 
employer health benefits plans provided by health care providers not subject to capitated 
or negotiated fee arrangements, small employer carriers shall pay covered charges on a 
reasonable and customary standard based on the Prevailing Healthcare Charges System 
profile for New Jersey, incorporated herein by reference published and available from 
the Health Insurance Association of America, 1025 Connecticut Avenue, NW, 
Washington, DC  20036-3998. 
  1. The maximum allowable charge shall be based on the 80th 
percentile of the profile. 
  2. Carriers shall use the profile effective as of July 1993, and 
shall update their databases within 60 days after receipt of periodic updates released by 
the Prevailing Healthcare Charges Systems. 
 

Pursuant to this regulation, carriers must pay benefits based on one of the following: (1) a negotiated rate; 
(2) the reasonable and customary charge based on the HIAA database; or (3) actual charges.  This rule 
applies to all types of charges, including hospital charges.  The rule does not permit the use of balanced 
billing when the carrier pays a negotiated rate or actual charges. 
 
 Please be advised that any carrier not conforming with the SEH Board’s regulation is subject to fines 
and penalties permitted under law.  Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17B:27A-43, a carrier violating the SEH Act may 
be liable to a penalty of not less than $2,000 and not greater than $5,000 for each violation. 
 


