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 August 29, 2019 

 

XXX 

XXXX 

XXXXX 

    

 

Re:  3rd Quarter Organized Delivery System (ODS) Report Filings  

       

  

XXX, 

 

The purpose of this correspondence is to standardize financial reporting for Organized Delivery 

Systems (ODS) licensed in New Jersey, and to ensure that data is properly captured in order to be 

in compliance with statute and regulations.  All filings are due no later than the indicated due date.  

If the due date falls on a Saturday, a Sunday, or a holiday, then the deadline is the Friday 

before. The filing shall be in accordance with Statutory Accounting Practices using the most 

current format for the NAIC Health blank, and in accordance with the NAIC quarter instructions 

for the Health blank. Contact the NAIC directly at (816) 842-3600 if you require copies of the 

instructions. These instructions implement the requirements of the Accounting Practices, and 

Procedures effective January 1, 2018. The NAIC Health blank forms are available for purchase 

through several independent insurance service companies throughout the United States.  Please 

note that items outlined in “bold” are new and/or changes in requirements from last year’s 

guidelines. 

 

Please note that the Commissioner of Banking and Insurance has the regulatory authority per 

N.J.S.A. 17:48H-1 et seq. to impose enforcement remedies against an ODS for violations of any 

statutory requirements including the late filing of quarterly reports. The commissioner may, “... 

levy an administrative penalty in an amount up to $100.00 for each day a required report is late.” 

 

This letter is reasonable notice and any ODS that files late will be fined $100.00 per day.  

 

 

    (1) The following manuals should be obtained and maintained current: 

 

(a) ANNUAL AND QUARTERLY STATEMENT INSTRUCTIONS - 

HEALTH  

 

(b) ACCOUNTING POLICIES AND PROCEDURES MANUAL      

EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2019 (AS OF MARCH 2019). 
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THIS VALUABLE RESOURCE CONTAINS THE STATEMENT OF 

STATUTORY ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES (SSAP), EXTRACTS 

FROM NAIC MODEL LAWS, INTERPRETATIONS OF SSAP, ISSUE 

PAPERS AND POLICY STATEMENTS OF THE NAIC 

 

(c)  PURPOSES AND PROCEDURES MANUAL OF THE NAIC 

SECURITIES VALUATION OFFICE (SVO) 

 

These may be obtained from: 

National Association of Insurance Commissioners 

Publications Department 

2301 McGee Street 

Suite 800 

Kansas City, MO 64108-2604 

Telephone (816) 783-8300 

Facsimile (816) 460-7593 

Email: www.naic.org/1pubcat/ 

 

(2) Original signatures are required on all filings. The President and Secretary, or in 

their absence, two principal officers must sign the quarterly statement.  All requests 

for exceptions from normal filings must be submitted at least 30 days prior to the 

due date. 

 

(3) All ODSs are required to complete the blanks and supplemental schedules in their 

entirety. If a specific schedule is not applicable, it should be so indicated using 

“N/A” or “None”. Any deviations from the instructions in this announcement, 

without the permission of the Commissioner of Banking and Insurance will be 

considered a violation of filing requirements and cause the entire statement filing to 

be rejected.  Accordingly, per N.J.A.C. 11:22-4:14, the Department may also 

impose the maximum penalties and enforcement measures available under statute 

for failure to file proper or timely financial statements. 

  

(4) See SSAP #4 “Assets and Nonadmitted Assets” for further guidance.  Assets not 

specifically identified as an admitted asset within the Accounting Policies and 

Procedures Manual shall be considered Nonadmitted. 

     

SSAP #84 “Health Care Receivables” should be reviewed for further guidance. 

 

Guidance on allowable Goodwill can be found in SSAP #68. 

    

(5)      All ODSs are required to comply with the requirements of N.J.S.A.17:B20-1 

regarding Investments. 

 

(6)       The Quarterly financial information must also include the following  

            Supplements and schedules: 

 

(a)  A Management Discussion and Analysis letter.  This letter is primarily a 

narrative document setting forth information, which enables the 

Department to enhance its understanding of the Life and Health Insurer’s 

financial position, results of operations, changes in capital and surplus 

accounts and cash flow. (See NAIC MD&A instructions for the specific 

format and detailed guidance.) 
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(b) Deposit of Restricted Assets (see Attachment “A”).  Also, see attached 

notice increasing the minimum deposit requirements from $39,068 to 

$40,357 effective July 1, 2019. 

 

(c) Analysis of Minimum Net Worth Requirements (see Attachment “B”).  

 

(d) 2019 - 2020 Projections (see Attachment “C”). 

 

(e) ODS’ Liquidity Ratio Worksheet (see attached). 

   

(7) All items must be identified. If you use the “other” category, please identify what is 

included in “other.” 

 

(8) All contract revenues should be included on line #5 “Risk Revenues” of the 

Statement of Revenues and Expenses.  They should not be included on line #2 “Net 

Premium Income”  

 

(9) All expenses paid to medical providers (including dentists) should be included on 

line #10 “Other professional services” of the Statement of Revenue and Expenses. 

They should not be included on line #9 “Hospital/medical benefits” or line #29 

“Aggregate write-ins for other income or expenses.” 

 

(10) MAILING ADDRESS 

 

Every ODS shall submit four (4) signed copies of the Quarterly Report: 

 

   Kwame Asare 

   NJ Department of Banking and Insurance 

   Office of Solvency Regulation 

 

 

BY US MAIL                                    BY OVER NIGHT MAIL 

PO Box 325                                        20 West State Street 

Trenton, NJ 08625-0325                     Trenton, NJ 08608-1206    

    

Please contact me at (609) 940-7455 or e-mail me at mariam.awad@dobi.nj.gov if you have any 

questions concerning this correspondence. 

 

Questions concerning those parts which address quality of care, network access, complaints or 

utilization appeals should be directed to the Department of Banking and Insurance, Office of 

Managed Care at (609) 940-7510. 

 

 

Sincerely,  

 

 

 

 

Mariam Awad  

Insurance Examiner 

Office of Solvency Regulations    

        

 

mailto:mariam.awad@dobi.nj.gov
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ODS

Attachment A

Restricted Deposits

RESTRICTED ASSETS ON DEPOSIT WITH THE DEPARTMENT OF BANKING AND INSURANCE

DEPOSIT AT 

REQUIRED 9/30/2019

DEPOSIT (Market Value)

Worksheet Calculation to Determine Minimum Deposit Requirement in accordance with N.J.A.C. 11:22-4.8(e)

SAMPLE #1 (The highest quarterly premium is below the minimim deposit requirement)

For the Quarter Ending

9/30/2019

12/31/2018 3/31/2019 6/30/2019 9/30/2019

1. Total Premium from Line #2 of the Statement of Revenue and Expenses

    (based on New Jersey Premium Only)

2. Highest Quarterly Premium

3. Multiply by .5 

4. Subtotal

5.The minimum deposit requirement at 06/30/19 based on the CPI annual adjustment as of 12/31/18. 40,357

6. Deposit requirement (greater of 4 or 5)

SAMPLE #2 (The highest quarterly premium is above the minimum deposit requirement during the 1st two years of licensure)

1. Total Premium from Line #2 of the Statement of Revenue and Expenses

    (based on New Jersey Premium Only)

2. Highest Quarterly Premium

3. Multiply by .5 

4. Subtotal

5.The minimum deposit requirement at 06/30/19 based on the CPI annual adjustment as of 12/31/18. 40,357

6. Amount greater than the minimum deposit requirement (Subtract 4 from 5)

7. Multipy 6 by 50%

8. Deposit requirement (Add 5 plus 7)

SAMPLE #3 (The highest quarterly premium is above the minimum deposit requirement after the 1st two years of licensure)

1. Total Premium from Line #2 of the Statement of Revenue and Expenses

    (based on New Jersey Premium Only)

2. Highest Quarterly Premium

3. Multiply by .5 

4. Subtotal

5.The minimum deposit requirement at 6/30/19 based on the CPI annual adjustment as of 12/31/18. 40,357

6. Deposit requirement (greater of 4 or 5)



ODS

Attachment B

Minimum Net Worth Requirement 

Name of ODS: For the Period Ending

9/30/2019

Date of Licensure:

ANALYSIS OF MINIMUM NET WORTH REQUIREMENTS

Prior Prior Prior Latest

Quarter 4 Quarter 3 Quarter 2 Quarter Total

12/31/2018 3/31/2019 6/30/2019 9/30/2019

(a)     2% annual compensation received but  $ $ $ $ $

          no less than $100,000 

(b)     i 8% of annual expenditures (not including

          those paid on capitated basis or managed 

         hospital payment basis)

(c)      ii 4% hospital expenditures paid on a 

            managed hospital payment basis 

           Total of (i) and (ii)

*     Mnnual Compensation is that as reported on Page #4 Line #2 Col. #2

     

***  A deficit requires a detailed plan of action, subject to the review and approval of the Commissioner of Banking and Insurance, demonstrating 

how and when the minimum net worth will be re-established and maintained.  

Minimum Net Worth Requirement -Maximum of Total Column (a) or (b)**                                                             ____________                             
Actual Net Worth as of the period ending date                                                                                ____________                      
Net Surplus / (Deficit***)                                                                                                   ____________                                                           

**   Minimum Net Worth Requirement is to be Phased-in over 48 month.  25% of minimum net worth required above at the of         
the 12th month after it was issued a license, 50% after the 24th month; 75% after the 36th month and 100% at the end of the 48th
month following the month it was issued a license. 



ATTACHMENT C

Projections 

     ODS

Attachment C

                   2019-2020 Projections

Name of ODS:

4th Qtr 1st Qtr 2nd Qtr 3rd Qtr

(All Cost in 000's) 2019 2020 2020 2020

Budget Budget Budget Budget

Total Revenues

TOTAL Medical Expenses

Medical Loss Ratio

TOTAL Administrative Expenses

Administrative Expense Ratio

Net Income/(Loss)

Net Worth

Net Worth Requirement 



ODS

LIQUIDITY WORKSHEET

COMPANY:

NAIC #

DATE ENDED:

1 TOTAL LIABILITIES XXX

2 MINIMUM NET WORTH REQUIREMENT XXX

3 TOTAL LINES #1 & #2 #VALUE!

4 CASH & SHORT-TERM INVESTMENTS XXX

5 Bonds XXX

6 Total Line #4 & #5 #VALUE!

IS LINE #6 GREATER THAN LINE #3?

DOES THE COMPANY MEET LIQUIDITY REQUIREMENTS?

Per NJAC 11:22-4.8(b), an ODS is to, at all times contain cash & cash equivalents in the amount at 

least equal to the sum of liabilities, including reserve liabilities, plus minimum net worth requirement.


