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February 18, 2020 

 

To: Domestic Fire & Casualty Insurers 

 

Re: Annual Statement Filings 

 

 

Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:23–1, every insurer transacting business in this State must file with the 

New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance (“the Department”) on or before March 1, 

annually, a statement showing its financial condition as of and for the preceding year ending 

December 31.  The annual statement must be in the National Association of Insurance 

Commissioners (“NAIC”) approved format and properly bound.  All appropriate supplemental 

exhibits and schedules must be submitted by the NAIC due dates.  In addition, as noted in 

Bulletin No. 00-08, insurers are advised that to the extent that there are differences between the 

requirements set forth in the Accounting Practices and Procedures Manual and any applicable 

New Jersey statute or rule, insurers should continue to comply with the applicable New Jersey 

statute or rule.  Please review Bulletin No. 00-08 and the chart of New Jersey prescribed 

differences from SSAP.  Late filings will be subject to the penalties imposed by N.J.S.A. 17:23–

2.  Carefully review the enclosed annual statement checklist, as some of the instructions listed on 

the checklist are not duplicated in this letter. 

 

The Jurat Page of the annual statement must be subscribed and sworn to by the president and 

secretary or, in their absence, two of the principal officers.  The Jurat Page must bear original 

signatures and must be manually signed by the appropriate corporate officers, have the corporate 

seal affixed thereon where appropriate, and be properly notarized.  The absence of the signature 

of the president or the secretary must be fully explained.   

 

Insurers must file with the Department three copies of the annual statement filing, 

including its supplemental exhibits and schedules.  

 

 

SCHEDULE T 

 

The workers’ compensation portion of the homeowners’ multiple peril premium must be 

reported on the New Jersey State Business Page (Exhibit of Premiums and Losses – Business in 

the State of New Jersey), line 16 (workers’ compensation), not on line 4 (homeowners’ multiple 

peril).  This requirement pertains to any annual statement exhibit, schedule or supplement that 

distinguishes lines of business. 
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Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 11:3–28.9(a), for the purposes of completing the New Jersey State Business 

Page, the insurer must include the total amount of losses, including those in excess of $75,000, 

for private passenger automobile and commercial automobile personal injury protection 

payments (lines 19.1 and 19.3).  Insurers must also provide a footnote on the same page that 

indicates the amount of losses reported, excluding losses from payments of private passenger 

automobile and commercial automobile personal injury protection payments in excess of 

$75,000. 

 

Pursuant to the provisions of the Fair Automobile Insurance Reform Act (P.L. 1990, Chapter 8), 

certain lines of business are subject to a tax and/or assessment (“assessment”).  Accordingly, to 

ensure an accurate assessment, the data filed with the NAIC must be consistent with the data 

filed with the State of New Jersey.  In addition, the New Jersey State Business Page filed with 

the NAIC, and the State of New Jersey, must be identical and reflect all New Jersey reporting 

requirements. 

 

Furthermore, to properly classify those lines of business subject to the aforementioned 

assessment, insurers are required to provide a detailed description of certain insurance coverages 

currently presented on the “Exhibit of Premiums and Losses”, of the annual statement. 

 

Line 34: Aggregate Write–Ins for other lines of business 

 

Line 34 Aggregate Write–Ins are often required for specific purposes.  To ensure this section is 

used for the purposed intended, any insurance business listed under Line 34 requires a detail 

explanation of the insurance risk involved and the line from which it originated.  For example, a 

write–in line for Excess Workers’ Compensation Insurance which, were it not broken out, would 

have been included in Other Liability, would be shown as follows: 

 

3401.  Excess Workers’ Compensation Insurance (Line 17.3) 

 

Other lines – Guaranty Fund Assessments 

 

For purposes of the New Jersey Property Liability Insurance Guaranty Association, the following 

lines must be separately identified in the “Exhibit of Premiums and Losses” under the section 

pertaining to “Details of Write–ins”.  If the lines listed below are not separately listed, they will 

be subject to the assessment. 

 

The lines to list separately, starting at line 3401 on the State Business Page, are as follows: 

 

1. Mechanical Breakdown (“warranty” instruments only) 

2. Political Risk 

3. Residual Value 

4. Collateral Protection – Consumer Lending, Personal Property, Auto Floorplan 

Inventory and Tractor and Equipment Floorplan 

5. Hospital Deductible 

6. Nuclear 
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7. Miscellaneous Surety 

8. Private Passenger Death and Dismemberment 

 

This is not an all–inclusive list.  The criteria for including a line in the assessment base depends 

on whether the line is covered by the New Jersey Property–Liability Insurance Guaranty 

Association (“NJPLIGA”).  See N.J.S.A. 17:30A-2b.  Polices written for these covered lines may 

represent unique coverages.  Therefore, these policy forms, unless already evaluated, are subject 

to review by NJPLIGA.  Once this review is completed, the Department will issue a 

determination concerning the inclusion or exclusion of the business in question from the 

assessment.   Subsequent to the Department’s receipt of the annual Statement filing, and if 

applicable, the insurer will be notified of any requirements to file a new policy form.   

 

 

ACTUARIAL OPINION 

 

In accordance with N.J.A.C. 11:1–21.3, all property and casualty insurers must annually submit 

the opinion of an appointed actuary entitled “Statement of Actuarial Opinion”, regarding the 

adequacy of loss and loss adjustment expense reserves for all lines of business. The Statement of 

Actuarial Opinion must be filed in accordance with the appropriate NAIC Property and Casualty 

annual statement Instructions.  New Jersey domestic insurance companies must submit an 

opinion with an original signature. 

 

 

SCHEDULE F 

 

Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 11:3–28.9(b), for purposes of completing Schedule F of the annual 

statement, insurers must consider the assumption and reimbursement by NJPLIGA of private 

passenger automobile and commercial automobile personal injury protection payments in excess 

of $75,000 as a reinsurance transaction (the NAIC has assigned NJPLIGA the pool number of 

AA–9991160).  Insurers must consider assessments paid to NJPLIGA pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:6-

63, based on the insurer’s premiums for private passenger automobile liability insurance 

(including PIP) and commercial automobile liability insurance (including PIP) as ceded 

premium, prorated for the appropriate line of business on which the assessment was based.   

 

 

AMENDMENTS 

 

Any amendment to an annual statement filing (including the New Jersey State Business Page) 

must be filed with the NAIC and the State of New Jersey on a timely basis.  This is to ensure that 

the database remains accurate and up-to-date. 

 

 

QUARTERLY STATEMENT FILINGS 

 

Every domestic insurer transacting business in this State must file with this Department 

quarterly, on or before May 15, August 15, and November 15, three copies of a statement 
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showing its financial condition as of and for the preceding quarter.  The quarterly statement must 

be in the NAIC approved format.  Each company is responsible for implementing any changes 

required by the NAIC.   

 

 

PREMIUM TAX 

 

A premium tax is imposed by N.J.S.A. 54:18A–1 et seq. on all direct premiums written on New 

Jersey business.  Premiums must be reported annually on or before March 1 on forms supplied 

by the Division of Taxation.  Except for fire insurance premium taxes, that are payable to the 

Firemen’s Association on local fire districts, all taxes are to be submitted to the Director of 

the Division of Taxation and made payable to the State Treasurer of New Jersey. 

 

The Firemen’s Relief Association has identified all fire districts with an association code 

number.  Accordingly, all taxes must be allocated to a valid local fire district code.  As a 

reminder, insurers are not permitted to allocate fire insurance premium taxes to a 999 code for 

local fire districts not activated.  A current listing of the codes may be obtained from: 

 

New Jersey State Firemen’s Association 

Attn: Barry Osborn 

1711 Route 34 South 

Wall Township, NJ 07727 

(732) 798–8137  

 

 

BIOGRAPHICAL AFFIDAVITS 

 

Within forty–five (45) days of the date of an officer’s or director’s appointment or election, 

the company must provide to the Department, the officer’s or director’s biographical affidavit 

duly executed on Form 11 NAIC Biographical Affidavit.  The form is available on the NAIC 

website (at https://www.naic.org/industry_ucaa.htm).  In addition, the company must notify the 

Department, within forty-five (45) days, of the date of an officer’s or director’s death, 

resignation or termination. 

 

Please mail all notifications to the Department, at the address below. 

 

New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance 

Office of Solvency Regulation 

Admissions Unit, Attn: Biographical Affidavits 

P.O. Box 325 

Trenton, NJ 08625 
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