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To: Foreign Fire & Casualty Insurers 

 

Re: Annual Statement Filings 

 

 

All insurers licensed to transact business in this State must file with the New Jersey Department 

of Banking and Insurance (“the Department”) an annual statement showing its financial 

condition as of and for the preceding year ending December 31.  The annual statement filing is 

due on or before March 1st of every year.  See N.J.S.A. 17:23–1.  The annual statement filed with 

National Association of Insurance Commissioners (“NAIC”) in its approved format, will satisfy 

this requirement.  Therefore, Foreign Fire and Casualty insurers do not have to send a hard copy 

of their annual statement to the Department.  However, a foreign company with more than 

90% of its direct written premiums in New Jersey should follow the instructions for a New 

Jersey domestic carrier.         

 

 

SCHEDULE T 

 

The workers’ compensation portion of the homeowners’ multiple peril premium must be 

reported on the New Jersey State Business Page (Exhibit of Premiums and Losses – Business in 

the State of New Jersey), line 16 (workers’ compensation), not on line 4 (homeowners’ multiple 

peril).  This requirement pertains to any annual statement exhibit, schedule or supplement that 

distinguishes lines of business. 

 

Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 11:3-28.9(a), for the purposes of completing the New Jersey State Business 

Page, the insurer must include the total amount of losses, including those in excess of $75,000, 

for private passenger automobile and commercial automobile personal injury protection 

payments (lines 19.1 and 19.3).  Insurers must also provide a footnote on the same page that 

indicates the amount of losses reported, excluding losses from payments of private passenger 

automobile and commercial automobile personal injury protection payments in excess of 

$75,000. 

 

Pursuant to the provisions of the FAIR Act (P.L. 1990, Chapter 8), certain lines of business are 

subject to a tax and/or assessment.  Furthermore, to properly classify those lines of business 

subject to the aforementioned assessment, insurers are required to provide a detailed description 
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of certain insurance coverages currently presented on the “Exhibit of Premiums and Losses”, of 

the annual statement. 

 

Line 34: Aggregate Write–Ins for other lines of business 

 

Line 34 Aggregate Write–Ins are often required for specific purposes.  To ensure this section is 

used for the purposed intended, any insurance business listed under Line 34 requires a detail 

explanation of the insurance risk involved and the line from which it originated.  For example, a 

write–in line for Excess Workers’ Compensation Insurance which, were it not broken out, would 

have been included in Other Liability, would be shown as follows: 

 

3301.  Excess Workers’ Compensation Insurance (Line 17.3) 

 

Thus, any Line 34 Write-In must provide both a detailed description of the line of business as 

well as the line of business from which it was taken. 

 

Other lines - Guaranty Fund Assessments 

 

For purposes of the New Jersey Property Liability Insurance Guaranty Association, the following 

lines must be separately identified in the “Exhibit of Premiums and Losses” under the section 

pertaining to “Details of Write–ins”.  If the lines listed below are not separately listed, they will 

be subject to the assessment. 

 

The lines to list separately, starting at line 3401 on the State Business Page, are as follows: 

 

1. Mechanical Breakdown (“warranty” instruments only) 

2. Political Risk 

3. Residual Value 

4. Collateral Protection - Consumer Lending, Personal Property, Auto Floorplan 

Inventory and Tractor and Equipment Floorplan 

5. Hospital Deductible 

6. Nuclear 

7. Miscellaneous Surety 

8. Private Passenger Death and Dismemberment 

 

This is not an all–inclusive list.  The criteria for including a line in the assessment base depends 

on whether the line is covered by the New Jersey Property–Liability Insurance Guaranty 

Association (“NJPLIGA”).  See N.J.S.A. 17:30A-2b.  Polices written for these covered lines may 

represent unique coverages.  Therefore, these policy forms, unless already evaluated, are subject 

to review by NJPLIGA.  Once this review is completed, the Department will issue a 

determination concerning the inclusion or exclusion of the business in question from the 

assessment.   Subsequent to the Department’s receipt of the annual Statement filing, and if 

applicable, the insurer will be notified of any requirements to file a new policy form.   
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SCHEDULE F 

 

Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 11:3-28.9(b), for purposes of completing Schedule F of the annual 

statement, insurers must consider the assumption and reimbursement by NJPLIGA of private 

passenger automobile and commercial automobile personal injury protection payments in excess 

of $75,000 as a reinsurance transaction (the NAIC has assigned NJPLIGA the pool number of 

AA–9991160).  Insurers must consider assessments paid to NJPLIGA pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:6-

63, based on the insurer’s premiums for private passenger automobile liability insurance 

(including PIP) and commercial automobile liability insurance (including PIP) as ceded 

premium, prorated for the appropriate line of business on which the assessment was based.   

 

Insurance companies not domiciled in an NAIC accredited state, or a state with credit for 

reinsurance statutes that employ substantially similar standards regarding credit for reinsurance 

to those set forth in N.J.A.C. 11:2-28.5, are required to recalculate their unauthorized reinsurance 

liability on a New Jersey basis. 

 

 

PREMIUM TAXES 

 

A premium tax is imposed per N.J.S.A. 54:18A–1 et seq. on all direct premiums written on New 

Jersey business.  Premiums must be reported annually on or before March 1 on forms supplied 

by the Division of Taxation.  Except for fire insurance premium taxes, that are payable to the 

Firemen’s Association on local fire districts, all taxes are to be submitted to the Director of 

the Division of Taxation and made payable to the State Treasurer of New Jersey. 

 

The Firemen’s Relief Association has identified all fire districts with an association code 

number.  Accordingly, all taxes must be allocated to a valid local fire district code.  As a 

reminder, insurers are not permitted to allocate fire insurance premium taxes to a 999 code for 

local fire districts not activated.  A current listing of the codes may be obtained from: 

 

New Jersey State Firemen’s Association 

Attn: Barry Osborn 

1711 Route 34 South 

Wall Township, NJ 07727 

(732) 798–8137  

 

 

EXAMINATION REPORT 

 

Unless previously submitted, provide a copy of the report of any examination of the insurer 

during the year covered by the annual statement to the Department.   
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PRE–ACQUISITION NOTIFICATION 

 

Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:27A–4.1 et seq., when an insurance company is acquired by another 

corporation, a pre–acquisition notification must be sent to the Commissioner in advance, with 

ample time to comply with the thirty–day waiting period.  The notification should conform with 

the NAIC model holding company law for Form E filing. 
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