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Summary



The New Jersey Real Estate Commission (“the Commission™) in the Department of
Banking and Insurance (Department) is proposing to amend N.J.A.C. 11:5-2.2, 2.3, 2.5 and 2.6
and new rules at N.J.A.C. 11:5-12, in response to P.L. 2009, c. 238 (“the Act”), which is codified
at NJS.A. 45:15-16.2a et seq. The Act requires individuals licensed as real estate brokers,
broker-salespersons and salespersons to complete continuing education requirements as a
condition of biennial licensure renewal and provides that the Commission shall approve
continuing education courses, course providers, and instructors, including those recommended to
the Commission by a newly established Volunteer Advisory Committee established by the Act.
N.J.S.A. 45:15-16.2a.

The Act provides that not more than 16 hours of continuing education will be required as
a condition of license renewal (N.J.S.A. 45:15-16.2a.a) and that not less than 50 percent of the
continuing education courses shall be comprised of one or more of the following core topics:
agency; disclosure; legal issues; ethics; fair housing; New Jersey’s real estate licensing law and
the Commission’s rules implementing it; and any other core topics prescribed by the
Commission. N.J.S.A. 45:15-16.2e. In these proposed rules, the Commission has prescribed the
following two additional core topics: environmental laws and rules; and requirements regarding
escrow funds.

The Act and the rules permit continuing education courses to be delivered in a classroom
setting or via the Internet, distance learning, correspondence or video modalities.

The Act provides that the Volunteer Advisory Committee shall consist of 14 members to
be comprised of real estate licensees and other experts, whose members shal] be appointed by

and serve at the pleasure of the Commissioner of Banking and Insurance. N.J.S.A. 45:15-



16.2a.b(1)(b). The role of the Volunteer Advisory Committee is to review and recommend
approval to the Commission of continuing education courses, providers and instructors,

The Act also created a new license type designated as “referral agent.” N.J.S.A. 45:15-9
et seq. The holders of such licenses are not subject to the continuing education requirements.
N.J.S.A. 45:15-16.2a.a. References to this new license type are included in appropriate locations
throughout the proposed amendments and new x;ules.

The following amendments are proposed for Subchapter 2 of Chapter 5.

At NJA.C. 11:5-2.2, amendments provide that the requirements regarding continuing
education courses shall apply to existing prelicensure schools and licensed instructors that,
respectively, offer and teach continuing education courses,

At N.JA.C. 11:5-2.3, amendments provide that the Education Bureau of the Real Estate
Commission shall process applications for approval of real estate continuing education providers,
instructors and courses and for waivers of the continuing education requirement.

At N.JA.C. 11:5-2.5, amendments provide for the forms to be used by the Education
Bureau to process, and the processing times for, applications for approval of providers,
mnstructors and courses and for continuing education waivers.

At N.J.A.C. 11:5-2.6, an amendment clarifies which fees apply to applications related to
continuing education and which do not. The new fees that apply only to continuing education
applications are proposed in N.J.A.C. 1 1:5-12.17.

Proposed N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.1 outlines the purpose and scope of new Subchapter 12.
Proposed N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.2 provides the definitions of terms used in the subchapter. Among
the terms defined are “continuing education coordinator,” “distance learning” and “Volunteer

Advisory Committee.” Proposed NJ.A.C. 11:5-12.3 imposes a 12-hour continuing education



requirement for renewal on July 1, 2013 and each biennial renewal thereafter. Although the Act
permits requiring up to 16 hours of continuing education, the Commission surveyed other states,
took into consideration the costs and time factors involved and determined at this time to impose
the 12-hour requirement. It will monitor the performance of this requirement in the future and
make any adjustments it deems appropriate. Proposed N.J.A.C. 11:15-12.3 also provides that
two of the 12 hours of continuing education shall be on the topic of ethics. Tt also: permits a
licensed real estate instructor or approved continuing education course instructor to eamn credit
for teaching a course or courses; provides that successful completion of one or more broker
prelicensure education courses as set forth in NJAC. 11:5-2.1 shall fulfill the continuing
education requirement for the licensing term in which the course was taken; and provides that a
salesperson initially licensed in the second year of a biennial license term shall not be required to
fulfill any continuing education to renew their license upon the conclusion of that license term.
It further provides that a licensee who fails to complete the continuing education requirements by
April 30 of the second year of a biennial license term shall pay a processing fee of $200.00 in
order to renew. The fee is intended to reimburse the Commission for staff time for the handling
of the required documentation in an expedited and/or non-electronic manner. A fee of no more
than $200.00 is authorized by the Act. N.J.S.A. 45:15-16.2¢c. Proposed N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.3 also
provides that when applying to renew of their licenses, licensees shal] certify their completion of
continuing education credits, or the waiver of same as approved by the Commission.

Proposed N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.4 provides the curriculum for the continuing education
requirements. It requires licensees to acquire at least six of the twelve required credits in one or
more of the core topics. The core topics are: (1) agency; (2) disclosure; (3) legal issues; (4)

ethics; (5) fair housing and the New Jersey law against discrimination; (6) the New Jersey real



estate brokers and salesmen statute and rules; (7) New Jersey and Federal environmental laws
and rules pertaining to real estate brokerage; and (8) legal requirements regarding escrow monies
and financial recordkeeping. The section also provides that all courses in core topics other than
cthics shall include instruction on the manner in which ethics relates to the subject matter of the
core topic. The balance of the credits may be acquired through the completion of elective
courses approved according to these rules.

Proposed N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.5 provides for a waiver of continuing education requirements
in certain circumstances pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:15-16.2a.b(6). The section provides the process
to request a waiver from the Commission and specifies the grounds for approval, which are: (1)
incapacitating illness; (2) active duty service in the armed forces for one year or more of a two-
year license term; (3) emergency; or (4) other substantial and unavoidable hardship, It further

-provides that financial hardship, unreasonable delay and conflict with business or personal
obligations shall not constitute a basis for a waiver. This section also sets forth the process for
requesting a waiver. This subchapter also provides that requests for waivers shall be filed on or
before March 15 of the second year of a two-year license term, that the Commission may seek
additional information, including the provision of a swom statement or testimony under oath
and, except for waivers granted for active military service, any waived core courses shall be
made up in the succeeding license term.

Proposed N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.6 provides the standards and the application process for
continuing education providers. The application requires the provision of the individual business
name of the provider, a description of the courses to be offered, whether the courses will be in-
person or by distance learning, the addresses of any locations where continuing education will be

offered in-person, and the submission of a non-refundable application fee of $300.00. The



proposed section also requires designation of a continuing education coordinator who will serve
as the provider’s primary contact person with the Commission for continuing education matters.
The section also provides that currently licensed real estate prelicensure schools, the
Commission itself, and the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials {ARELLO),
together with public adult education programs and accredited colleges and universities wil] be
deemed to be approved providers. Public adult education programs and public accredited
colleges and universities will not be required to pay the application fee. The subchapter also
provides the duration of a provider approval and when applications for reapproval are required,
Proposed N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.7 sets forth the responsibilities of continuing education course
providers. Among other things, the section requires that providers generally supervise their
courses, ensure that the course and instructor have been approved by the Commission, ensure
that the instructors are knowledgeable on the subject matter being taught, and provide the
Commission with notice in writing prior to any change in the provider’s business name and
telephone number, its continuing education coordinator and the contact information for that
individual, or a change in the location where in-person courses are offered. In addition, the
section requires providers to maintain all records as required by the Commission and to verify
the attendance at each course delivered by the provider in a classroom or conference room or via
distance learning. It also imposes a condition that, prior to completion of an enrollee’s
registration for a course or the acceptance of any fees by a provider, prospective students shall be
provided with a notice specifying the number of credits, whether the offered course is a core or
elective course, the applicable fee and refund policy and the procedures and requirements for

satisfactory course completion.



Proposed N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.8 sets forth reporting and recordkeeping requirements for
continuing education providers. The section requires course providers to issue certificates of
completion to licensees who successfully complete courses and that the certifications include the
licensee’s name, the course name, date of completion, the continuing education course number,
the number of credits eamed and the provider’s New Jersey continuing education provider
identification number. It also requires providers to maintain and be capable of producing for
inspection by the Commission course and instructor evaluations, information on satisfactory
completion of courses by licensees, copies of all written material provided to students, and a
summary of written attendance reports. This section further requires that providers electronically
submit data to the Commission or its designee on a weekly basis regarding licensees who have
completed courses during the preceding reporting period. This section also requires notice to the
Commission that the provider intends to cease offering courses and requires providers to request
all students provide course and instructor evaluations In an anonymous manner, and specifies the
information to be included in the evaluations and the scoring to be used in such evaluations,
Finally, the section requires providers to, within 30 days of offering a course, report to the
Commission instances where more than 50 percent of the evaluations received on a course or
instructor indicate negative assessments on one or more performance factors.

Proposed N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.9 sets forth advertising rules for continuing education
providers. Among other things, it provides that all promotional material include the provider’s
official name and not contain any false, misieading or deceptive claims or misrepresentations.

Proposed N.JA.C. 11:5-12.10 provides the standards and application process for
continuing education instructors. This section sets forth the information required to be on the

application which, among other items, include the course topics(s) the applicant intends to teach,



a resume and other evidence of qualification to teach such topics, and any other information the
applicant may deem important, together with a non-refundable application fee of $150.00. The
section also sets forth the standards for an individual to be approved, including their educational
and professional background. It also provides that currently licensed real estate prelicensure
education instructors and ARELLOG-approved instructors of ARELLO-approved courses shall,
upon assignment of a continuing education instructor identification number by the Commission
to them, be approved as instructors of certain courses as specified in the rule. The section also
provides the duration of instructor approvals and when applications for reapproval are required.

Proposed N.JLA.C. 11:5-12.11 sets forth the application process for approval of
continuing education courses. This section provides that the application shall include the name,
address and telephone number of the applicant, the title of the course to be offered, the number
of hours required to complete the course, a detailed outline of the subject matter, a description of
the materials to be distributed to participants, and a non-refqndable application fee of $200.00. It
also provides that all ARELLO-certified distance leaming courses on elective topics shall be
approved by the Commission and assigned a course number upon request and without review of
the Volunteer Advisory Committee, The section also provides the duration of course approvals
and when applications for reapproval are required.

Proposed N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.12 sets forth the standards and requirements applicable to
_ continuing education courses. The section requires that courses be instructional and contribute to
professional competence. The section further provides that real estate salesperson prelicensure
courses, geﬁeral education or review courses intended to prepare a student to take a broker or
salesperson license examination, sales meetings, molivational classes, and courses on office or

business skills shall not qualify as continuing education courses. The section also provides that a



course shall be at least one hour in duration, that continuing education credits shall be conferred
in whole credit increments, and that a one-hour course period shall consist of no less than 50
minutes of actual instruction, with no more than 10 minutes allotted for attendance, completion
of the evaluations or other administrative functions.

Proposed N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.13 specifies nine topic areas for elective continuing education
courses and provides that other topics may be approved by the Commission upon application for
a specific course. The section also provides the process for the approval of elective courses in
other previously unapproved topics and the necessary information to be submitted with such an
application. ‘

Proposed N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.14 provides additional requirements that specifically apply to
distance learning continuing education courses. Among other things, it requires that distance
leaming courses promote students’ aétive participation by utilizing techniques that provide for
student interaction with the instructor, other students or a computer program. This section
requires distance leaming and correspondence course providers to make provisions for the
handling equipment failures, including providing appropriate technical support for students, and‘
to use procedures that provide reasonable assurances of student identity to verify that the student
receiving credit actually completed the course. It further provides that the distance learning
provider shall obtain a signed and dated statement from each distance learning student certifying
that be or she has personally completed the course,

Proposed N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.15 provides that the Commission may conduct investigations
to enforce the provisions of the Act and these rules, and authorizes the Commission to deny
appli-cations and to issue reprimands, suspend or revoke the approval of a continuing education

provider, instructor or course, as applicable.
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Proposed NJ.A.C. 11:5-12.16 sets forth appeal rights regarding initial denials of
applications for the approval of continuing education courses, instructors and providers, and of
waiver applications.

Proposed N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.17 sets forth the application fees for the approval of
continuing education providers, instructors and courses, as well as the fee to process the
completion of the continuing education requirement subsequent to May 1 in the second year of a
biennial license term. The proposed section requires fees to be submitted in the form of a
certified or bank check, money order or business account check until an online payment system
has been established. The Commission has established the fee amounts based on its experience
in licensing prelicensure education schools and instructors.  Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:15-
16.2a.b(5), the fees are set in such amounts as to reimburse the Department for the expenses it
- will incur in processing the applications.

Proposed N.JLA.C. 11:5-12.18 establishes the general makeup and activities of the
Volunteer Advisory Committee and the general format under which the Committee will conduct
its business.

This rule proposal provides for a comment period of 60 days, and, therefore, pursuant to
N.J.A.C. 1:30-3.3(a)5, is not subject to the provisions of N.JA.C. 1:30-3.1 and 3.2 governing

rulemaking calendars.

Social Impact
The proposed new rules and amendments will have a positive social impact on licensees,
the Commission and consumers of real estate brokerage services. As a result of licensees taking

continuing education courses, consumers will be served by more knowledgeable licensees and
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the incidence of complaints attributable to licensees® lack of knowledge should be reduced. Such
a reduction will enable the Commission to focus its enforcement resources on more serious
regulatory violations indicative of a lack of trust, unworthiness or dishonesty by licensees,
Licensees will benefit from increasing and refreshing their knowledge of topics that are integral
to their successful practice of brokerage activity and, through the opportunity to take elective
courses, that relate directly to the areas in which they concentrate their practice, resulting in an

enhanced level of professionalism amongst all licensees.

Economic Impact

Real estate licensees will incur costs in taking the courses required to fulfill the new
continuing education requirement. At this time, the Commission lacks information on what fees
may be charged for the- various types of courses that may be offered. Howéver, the additional
knowledge acquired by licensees may help them avoid complaints, aﬁd civil or administrative
actions, based upon their lack of familiarity with applicable laws and rules and the costs involved
in responding to such complaints and defending themselves in such actions. Apphcants for
course, provider, and instructor approval will need to pay the fees specified in the proposed rules,
but may receive income by charging for the use of an approved course or for providing or
teaching courses. The fees specified for instructor and provider approval applications are
significantly less than the corresponding license fees for pre-licensure course instructors and
schools.

Implementing the course, instructor and provider approval process will require utilization
of staff time, and the data processing resources of the Department. The application fees will

offset attendant costs on the Department.  With respect to the tracking of continuing education
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credits, that function will be performed by the Department’s license examination vendor.
However, the delegation of this function to the Department’s vendor will not have any economic
impact on new license applicants because, under the terms of the Department’s contract with that
vendor, applicants will pay the same exam fee notwithstanding the vendor undertaking the
additional work to be done in tracking the continuing education credits.

There should be no need for licensees or continuing education providers or instructors to
retain professional services to comply with the new and amended rules. Continning education
providers may need to upgrade their technology systems to ensure that they can collect and
report the continuing education credit records as required by the rules. However, providers may
offset the costs of such upgrades in the fees charged for the continuing education courses.

As was recognized by the Legislature through its enactment of P.L. 2009, c. 238, the
benefits to be realized by the establishment of a compulsory continuing education system for
New Jersey real estate licensees outweigh the costs attendant upon the implementation of that
system due to the cost of taking the courses and the reasonable application fees imposed upon

applicants for course, instructor and provider approval.

Federal Standards Statement
A Federal standards analysis is not required because the proposed amendments and new

rules are not subject to any Federal requirements or standards,

Jobs Impact
The Department does not anticipate any jobs will be generated or lost as a result of the

proposed amendments and new rules.
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The Department invites commenters to submit any data or studies on the potential Jobs
impact of the proposed amendments and new rules, together with their comments on other

aspects of the proposal.

Agriculture Industry Impact
The proposed amendments and new nules will not have any impact on the agriculture

industry in New Jersey.

Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

Essentially all real estate licensees affected by the new and amended rules are small
businesses, as defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-16 et seq., as the vast
majority of real estate broker-salespersons and salespersons operate as independent contractors.
The continuing education requirements imposed by the Act are applicable to all individuals who
hold real estate licenses except the new license category of “referral agents.” The proposed new
rules recognize this and are applicable only to individuals licensed as brokers, broker-
salespersons and salespersons. In this way, the Act and the rules have provided for flexibility in
the applicability of the continuing education requirement by creating an option for persons
whose real estate brokerage activity is limited to making referrals to become licensed as referral
agents and avoid the requirement to complete the continuing education courses. Moreover, the
public policy underlying the new statutory requirement does not provide for reduced
requirements for non-referral agent licensees based on the size of their business, as, again, the

vast majority of these individual licensees are themselves small businesses.
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The majority of continuing education course providers and instructors will also be small
businesses. Creating any exceptions to the requirements imposed by the new rules for small
businesses would undermine the efficacy of the rules, be inconsistent with the intent of the Act,
and not reflect the Department’s costs as required by the Act. Consequently, no variation in the
regulatory requirements is based on business size.

The need for professional services is addressed in the Economic Impact above,

Smart Growth Impact
The proposed amendments and new rules will not have an impact on the achievement of

smart growth or the implementation of the State Development and Redevelopment Plan.

Housing Affordability Impact
The proposed amendments and new rules will not have an impact on housing
affordability in this State because they relate to the implementation of continuing education

requirements for real estate brokers, broker/salespersons, and salespersons.

Smart Growth Development Impact
The proposed amendments and new rules wili not have an impact on smart growth in this
State and there is an extreme unlikelihood that the rules would evoke a change in housing
production in Planning Areas 1 or 2 or within designated centers under the State Development
and Redevelopment Plan in New Jersey because they relate to the implementation of continuing

education requirements for real estate brokers, broker/salespersons, and salespersons.
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Full text_of the proposal follows (additions indicated in boldface thus; deletions indicated in

brackets {thus]):

11:5-2.2 Licensed schools and instructors; requirements

(a) The following regulations are applicable to schools and instructors licensed to
conduct prelicensure courses of education in real estate subjects pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:15-10.4
and 10.5, [and] to applicants for such licenses and, as applicable, to the conducting of
continuing education courses by such schools and instructors pursuant to N.J.A.C. 11:5-
12.1.

1. {No change.)

(b) - (e) {(No change.)

H Every school licensed by the Commission shall maintain a bona fide office open
to the public during normal business hours for the purpose of assisting former and current
students. Schools shall provide adequate space, seating, equipment and instructional materials
for their students. The premises, equipment and facilities of the school shall comply with all
local, city, county and State regulations, such as fire codes, building and sanitation codes. A
certificate from a proper authority [covering] evidencing compliance with these requirements
shall accompany an application for school licensure. The Commission may require proof of
ownership or a copy of the lease if the facility is rented. Public adult education programs
conducted under the auspices of a board of education in this State and any college or university
accredited as such by the [State Department of] New Jersey Commission on Hi gher Education,

the facilities of which have been approved by a State agency, shall be presumed to have met the
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requirements of this paragraph, so long as the real estate courses offered are held at the approved
factlity.

1. Any additional teaching locations must be licensed by the Commission
and must comply with all the requirements applicable to licensed schools, their directors and
instructors as set forth in the Act and this rule. School directors shall have oversight
responsibility for these locations. All prelicensure courses conducted at such locations must be
taught by licensed instructors or guest lecturers, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:15-10.5 and this rule.
All continuing education courses conducted at such locations shall be taught by licensed
instructors or by individuals approved as continuing education instructors pursaant to
N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.10.

® - (No change.)

(m)  [The] For real estate prelicensure courses, the maximum teaching load per
instructor or guest lecturer shall not exceed the ratio of one instructor or guest lecturer to 60
students per class. Each prelicensure course offered by a licensed school shall be under the
supervision of an instructor licensed pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:15-10.5 and N.J.A.C. 11:5-2.2(k).
At least one licensed instructor shall be present in the classroom at-all sessions. However,
additional instructors or guest lecturers may be utilized for instruction so long as not more than
25 percent of the required instruction is done by guest lecturers. Broker prelicensure courses
may be taught by up to three instructors, provided that one licensed instructor is designated as
having the responsibility for the quality of instruction in that course. Schoo] directors shall
maintain as a business record the names of any persons teaching as guest lecturers or as a group
of instructors, with an indication of the desi gnated supervising instructor.

(n)-(q) {No change.)
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(r) Any school that offers real estate continuing education courses shall maintain
records of licensees’ attendance at such courses as prescribed by N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.8, Every
school shall permanently establish and maintain for cach student enrolled in a prelicensure
education course, complete, accurate and detailed records for a period of not less than three
years after student matriculation. Such records shall be available for inspection during regular
school hours by the Commission and shal] contain the following information:

1. - 4. (No change.)

(s) (No change.)

(t) Upon a student’s satisfactory completion of a prelicensure course in real estate,
the school shall issue to the student a Course Completion Certificate.

(u) - (w) {No change.)

(x)  The purpose of this subsection is to assure that there is a total separation between
instructional activity conducted by licensed schools and any solicitation of students, which, as
defined in (x)2ii below, means any recruiting efforts or brokerage activity dirécted at students.
These provisions will be construed in a manner consistent with that regulatory objective. A
violation of any of these provisions will be considered by the Commission as conduct
demonstrating unworthiness for licensure, thereby subjecting the offending licensee to sanctions
bursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:15-17(e) and (t). The Commission may also impose sanctions for a
violation of these provisions pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:15-10.11 and N.J.A.C, 11:5-12.15.
Requirements regulating the involvement of licensed schools in soliciting students to become
salespersons or referral agents for particular real estate brokers are as follows:

I.- 8. (Nochange)
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9. No licensed school shall allow any person tof,] solicit students enrolled in,
or considering enrolling in, a prelicensure or continuing education course to list, purchase or
lease any property; or for referrals of prospective sellers, purchasers or lessees at any time while
such students are on school premises.

(v) Licensed schools providing continuing education courses shall comply with
all requirements imposed upon the providers of such courses as set forth in N.J.A.C. 11:5-

12.

11:5-2.3 Applications processed by the Education Bureau of the Real Estate Commission
(a) Applications for the following licenses and approvals are processed by the
Education Bureau of the Real Estate Commission:
1. -3, - (No change.)

4. Approval of Real Estate School Director; [and]

5. Approval of experience repbrt for broker license applicant].];

6. Approval of real estate continuing education provider;

7. Approval of real estate continuing education instructor; and
8. Approval of real estate continuing education course.

(b)  Applications for the following waivers are processed by the Education Bureau of
the Real Estate Commission:
1. (No change.)
2. Partial waiver of broker prelicensure education requirement and/or

complete waiver of broker experience requirement; [and]
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3. Waiver of broker experience and certain prelicensure  education
requirements based upon status of applicant as a qualifying disabled veteran pursuant to N.J.S.A.
45:15-11{.]; and

4. Waiver of continuing education requirement pursuant to N.J.A.C.

11:5-12.5.

11:5-2.5 Education Bureau forms and processing times
(a) The following forms are utilized by the Education Bureau of the Real Estate
Commission.
1.-9 (No change.)
10. Experience report for Broker License Applicant; [and]
11.  New Jersey State Police, State Bureau of Identification Request for
Criminal History Record Information Form[.};
12. Application for approval of real estate continuing education provider;
13. Application for approval of real estate comtinuing education
instructor; and
14.  Application for approval of real estate continuing education course.
(b} Following the receipt by the Commission of complete and accurate application
forms with the required fee(s) in the correct form, the applications specified below are generally
processed by the Education Bureau within the time frames indicated:

1. -4, (No change.)
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5. Applications for waivers of the prelicensure education requirements and/or
the broker experience requirement which do not require the review of additional information -
four weeks; [and)]

6. Applications for the approval of experience as a real estate salesperson (o
fulfill the éx;)erience requirement for licensure as a broker (see N.J.S.A. 45:15-9 and N.J.A.C.
11:5-3.8} - four weeks[.];

7. Applications for approval of real estate continuing education provider
- three weeks after recommendation by the Voluntary Advisory Committee is considered
by the Real Estate Commission;

8.  Applications for approval of real estate continuing education
instructor - three weeks after recommendation by the Voluntary Advisery Committee is
considgred by the Real Estate Commission;

9. Applications for approval of resl estate continuing education course -
three weeks after recommendation by the Voluntary Advisory Committee is considered by
the Real Estate Commission; and

10. Applications for the issuance of a waiver of the continuing education

requirement - three weeks after receipt of a complete waiver application.

11:5-2.6 Education Bureau transaction fees

The fees applicable to transactions processed by the Education Bureau of the Rea] Estate
Commission that are unrelated to real estate continuing education are listed in the table
below. Fees applicable to applications for approval of real estate continuing education

providers, instructors and courses are listed in N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.17.
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EDUCATION BUREAU TRANSACTION FEES

(No change in table.)

SUBCHAPTER 12. CONTINUING EDUCATION
11:5-12.1 Purpose and scope

(a) The purpose of this subchapter is to implement N.J.S.A. 45:15-16.2a et seq.
by establishing continuing education requirements for real estate brokers, broker-
salespersons and salespersons as a condition of biennial licensure renewal, and by
establishing standards for the approval of continuing education courses, course providers
and course instructors.

(b)  This subchapter shall apply to all individuals licensed as real estate brokers,
and to all broker-salespersons and salespersons licensed in this State, and to all applicants
for the approval of continuing education courses or for approval as continuing education

course instructors or providers.

11:5-12.2 Definitions

The following words and terms, as used in this subchapter, shall have the following
meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

“ARELLO” means the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials, which may
be contacted at 334-260-2928 and at mailbox@arello.org.

“Commission” means the New Jersey Real Estate Commission.

“Continuing education coordinator” means the individual designated by an

approved continuing education provider as the person responsible for assuring compliance



22

with the provisions of N.J.S.A. 45:15-16.22a et seq., and the rules in this chapter that are
applicable to continuing education providers.

“Distance learning” means any educational process based on the geographical
separation of instructor and learner (for example, CD-ROM, disk, on-line courses,
correspondence courses, webinars or video conferencing).

“Real estate broker” or “broker” means a person, firm or corporation as defined at
N.J.S.A. 45:15-3.

“Real estate broker-salesperson” or “broker-salesperson” means a person as
defined at N.J.S.A. 45:15-3,

“Real estate salesperson” or “salesperson” means a person as defined at N.LS.A.
45:15-3.

“Volunteer Advisory Committee” means the committee established pursuant to
N.J.S.A. 45:15-16.2a.b(1)(b), which is responsible for recommending continuing education

course providers, instructors and courses for approval by the Commission.

11:5-12.3 Continuing education requirements

(a) Unless granted a waiver pursuant to NJ.A.C, 11:5-12.5, commencing with
the July I, 2013 renewal and continuing for every renewal thereafter, in order to qualify
for license remewal every individual licensed as a real estate broker and every licensed
broker-salesperson or salesperson shall, during the 24-month period prior to that renewal,
have completed 12 hours of approved continuing education as set forth in this subchapter,

two hours of which shall have been on the topic of ethics, except that:
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1. A Commission-licensed real estate instructor or Commission-
approved continuing education course instructor shall earn credit for teaching an
approved continuing education course offered by am approved provider.
Notwithstanding the number of times the instructor teaches an approved course
during a two-year license term, the instructor shall earn the number of continning
education credits granted to a licensee who attends and completes that course one
time during that license term;

2. A person who successfully completes one or more broker pre-
licensure education courses as set forth in N.J.A.C. 11:5-2.1 shall be deemed to have
fulfilled the continuing education requirement applicable to the license that such
person may seek to renew upon the conclusion of the license term during which the
broker pre-licensure course was completed; and

3 A person who is initially licensed as a salesperson in the second year
of a biennial license term shail not be required to fulfill any continuing education
requirements in order to renew the salesperson’s license upon the conclusion of that
license term. A person who is initially licenséd as a salesperson during the first year
of a biennial license term shall complete all applicable continuing education
requirements in order to renew the salesperson’s license upon the conclusion of that
license term. |
(b) A licensee for whom a renewal application is timely submitted who

completes the continuing education requirements between May 1 and June 30 of the second
year in a biennial license term, and a licensee for whom a late renewal application as

referenced in N.JS.A. 45:15-15 is submitted who completes the continuing education



24

requirements between May 1 of the second year of a biennial license term and the
conclusion of the late renewal period, shali pay a processing fee of $200.00 in order to
qualify for the renewal of his or her license. Renewing licensees who complete the
continuing education requirements on or before April 30 of the second year of a biennial

license term shall not be required to pay this processing fee,

(c) The successful completion of an approved continuing education course shall
not be considered for continuing education credit more than once within a two-year license
term.

(d) When applying to remew their licenses, licensees shall certify to the
Commission, either directly or through their broker, that they have either complied with
the continuing education requirement, were not required to do so for one of the reasons set

forth in (a) above, or have received a waiver as set forth in N.JA.C. 11:5-12.5,

11:5-12.4 Curricula

(a) The continuing education requirement may be fuifilled by acquiring credits
exclusively in the core topic areas listed below in this subsection. Licensees shall acquire at
least six of the 12 continuing education credits required for license renewal pursuant to this

subchapter in one or more of the following core topic areas:

1. Agency;
2. Disclosure;
3. Legal issues, for example, listing agreements, contracts of sale, leases,

attorney review, forms of ownership and deed restrictions;
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4, Ethics;

5. Fair housing and the New Jersey Law Against Discrimination;

6. New Jersey real estate brokers and salesmen statute and rules;

7. New Jersey and Federal environmental laws/rules pertinent to the

practice of real estate brokerage; and
8. Legal requirements regarding escrow monies and financial
recordkeeping.

(b)  The remaining number of continuing education credits may be acquired
through the acquisition of continuing education credits in excess of the core topic area
minimum requirement referenced in (a) above through the completion of elective courses
approved in accordance with this subchapter.

{c) All courses in core topics other than ethics shall include instruction on the

manner in which ethics relates to the subject matter of the course,

11:5-12.5 Waiver of continuing education requirements

(a) An applicant for license renewal who was unable to fulfill the continuing
education requirements imposed by N.J.S.A. 45:15-16.2a and this subchapter may request
and be granted a waiver, in whole or part, of the continuing education requirement by the
Commission.

(b)  An applicant requesting a waiver of the continuing education requirement
shall certify that the applicant was unable to fulfill the continuing education due to:

1. An incapacitating illness;
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2. Active duty service in the armed forces of the United States for one
year or more of the two-year licensure period;

3. Emergency; or

4. Other substantial and unavoidable hardship. Financial hardship,
unreasonable delay, and conflicts with business or personal obligations shall not constitute
a basis on which the continuing education requirement may be waived pursuant to this
section.

() An applicant for a waiver of the continuing education requirements shall
request the waiver in writing on a form prescribed by the Commission and provide
documentation that corrobdrates the applicant’s certification as to the basis upon which
the waiver is sought.

(d)  With the exception of requests based on an emergency, requests for a waiver
shall be filed with the Commission on or before March 15 of the second year of a two-year
license term. Requests for a waiver based on an emergency shall be filed within a
reasonable time given the circumstances.

(e) The Commission may seek additional information regarding the basis of an
applicant’s request for a waiver of the continuing education requirement under this
section, including, but not limited to, the provision of sworn statements or testimony under
oath by the waiver applicant.

H With the exception of waivers granted to active duty military personnel,
licensees who receive a waiver of any portion of the core course continuing education
requirement shall make up the waived core course(s), in addition to all continuing

education credits required for the current license term, as a condition of renewing their
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license for the license term immediately following the license term for which the waiver was
issued. (For example, if a licensee receives a waiver of six core credits in the first licensing
term, then the licensee must complete those six previously waived core credits and the full
12 continuing education credits, for a total of 18 credits, in the immediately following
licensing term in order to be eligible for renewal upon the conclusion of that license term.)
(g) Licensees who receive a waiver of the elective course requirement shall not

be required to make up the waived elective course(s).

11:5-12.6 Continuing education providers; standards and application process
(a) An applicant seeking approval from the Commission to become an approved

continuing education provider shall submit a completed application on forms provided by
the Commission with the required fee. The application shall include the following:

1. A non-refundable application fee of $300.00;

2. The business name which the Commission is to record as the official

business name of the provider and any trade name or alternate name under

which the provider will operate;

3. A description of the type(s) of courses to be provided (in-person or
distance learning, including the specific type(s) of distance learning course(s));

4, A designation of an individual, including their phone number and e-
mail address, who will serve as the provider’s primary contact person with the Commission
for matters relating to continuing education and who shall be designated as the provider’s

New Jersey continuing education coordinator; and
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5. I the provider will offer in-persen courses, the address(es) and a
description of the known location(s) where the course(s) will be offered.

(b) Upon the assignment to them of a New Jersey continuing education provider
identification number, the following shall be deemed to be approved providers of real
estate continuing education courses without being required to file an application for
approval as a continuing education provider or pay the provider approval application fee
specified at N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.17;

1. Real estate prelicensure schools licensed by the Commission pursuant
to N.J.S.A. 45:15-10.4 and N.J.A.C. 11:5-2.2;

2. The New Jersey Real Estate Commission; and

3. The Association of Real Estate License Law Officials (ARELLO).

(¢} Public adult education programs and all accredited colleges and universities
shall be deemed to be approved providers upon application. Public a(iult education
programs and public accredited colleges and universities shall not be required to pay an
application fee.

(d) If an applicant is disapproved, the reasons for disapproval shall be set forth
in a written notice provided to the applicant by the Commission as set forth in N.JA.C.
11:5-12.15.

(e) All approvals of providers that are conferred by the Commission prior to
June 30, 2016 shall remain in effect until that date. Providers whose approval is expiring
may seek re-approval by complying with all of the requirements set forth in this section,
including payment of the non-refundable application fee. Applications for re-approval

may be submitted commencing on January 1 of the year in which approval is scheduled to
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expire. Subsequent to June 30, 2016, approvals shall expire on June 30, 2020 and at four-

year intervals thereafter,

11:5-12.7 Continuing education providers; responsibilities
(a) Providers’ respousibilities shall include the following:
1. The general supervision of the continuing education courses;
2. Ensuring the offered course and instructor have been approved by the

Commission;

3 Ensuring that the instructor is knowledgeable in the subject matter of
each course offered by the provider that is taught by that instructor;

4, Securing, maintaining, and reporting upon evaluations of courses and
instructors as set forth in N.J.A.C. 11 :5-12.8(h) and (i);

5. All recordkeeping and supplying of information to the Commission or
its designee in accordance with the provisions of this subchapter; and

6. Ensuring that all course offerings comply with the requirements
imposed by this subchapter (for example, appropriate facilities).

(b)  Providers shall notify the Commission in writing prior to any change in the
provider’s business name(s), its continuing education coordinator and the contact
information for that individual, the provider’s business telephone number, or any material
change in its qualifications (for example, a change in the provider’s location at which
classroom-based courses are offered).

(c) Each non-distance learning course shall be conducted at a location and in

such facilities as shall be appropriate to properly present the course. The providers of such
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courses shall ensure that they are conducted at times and in locations that are conducive to
learning, free of excessive distractions and segregated from non-course related activity,
The facilities at which such courses are offered shall comply with all local, state and
Federal laws and regulations.

(d) Providers shall be responsible for verifying attendance at each continuing
education course delivered in a classroom or conference room setting, or verifying
completion of each continuing education course delivered via distance learning, by the
licensee who, based upon information reported by the provider, will receive credit for
having completed the course.

| Providers of non-distance learning continuing education courses shall
verify the identity of all individuals attending such courses. Providers may do so by
requiring such individuals to present a driver’s license or other form of photographic
identification and their real estate license pocket card to a representative of the course
provider at the location where the course is offered, or through other means that assure
that the individual attending the course is the licensee who registered for the course.

(e) Prior to a student’s completion of the process of registering for a continuing
education course and a provider’s acceptance of any fee related to such registration, the
course provider shall provide prospective students with a notice which specifies the number
of credits for which the course is approved and whether the Course is on a core or elective
topic. The notice shall also include information about course fees, refund policies, course
subject matter and learning objectives, procedures and requirements for satisfactory

course completion.
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(D Continuing education course providers shall enable representatives of the
Commission to attend an in-person course or review a distance learning course in the form

it is offered at no cost to the Commission.

11:5-12.8 Continuing education providers; reporting and recordkeeping requirements

(a) . Providers shall provide to licensees who successfully complete an approved
course a certificate of completion signed or affirmed by the provider, which shall include
the licensee’s name, the course name, date of completion, New Jersey continuing education
course number, number of credits earned for the course and the provider’s New Jersey
continuing education provider identification number. |

(b) For a period of six years, providers shall maintain and be capable of
producing for inspection by a Commission representative the course and instructor
evaluations referenced in (h) and (i) below and the information on the satisfactory
completion of continuing education courses by licensees set forth in (d) below. In addition,
providers shall maintain and be capable of producing for inspection copies of all course-
specific written material provided to students who attend a course. Presuming there is no
change in such written material, only one set of copies need be maintained, regardless of
the number of times the provider offers the course.

(c) Providers shall use recordkeeping systems that are cgpable of producing
written reports on attendance at approved continuing education courses which include all
of the information set forth in (a) above.

(d)  Providers shall electronically submit data to the Commission or its designee

on a weekly basis identifying those licensees who have completed continuing education
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courses offered by the provider during the preceding reporting period and shall include, at
a minimum, the following information in each record of the completion of a continuing
education course by a licensee:
1. The licensee’s name and license reference number;
2. The license term for which the licensee is seeking credit foi‘ having
completed the continuing education course;
3. The provider’s name and identification number; and
4. The continning education course name, course number, course
category (core or elective), completion date and number of credit hours.

(e) The data referenced in (d) above shall be submitted on forms or in a
computer readable format provided by the Commission or its designee.

(f) Providers who offer distance learning courses shall utilize systems that
assure that students have actually performed all tasks designated to assure student
participation and otherwise comply with all applicable provisions of N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.12
and 12.14.

(g) An approved provider shall notify the Commission in the event that it
intends to cease offering continuing education courses. Such notice shall be submitted in
writing no later than 30 days prior to the provider’s cessation of operations as a continuing
education course provider and shall specify that the records required by this section will be
maintained by the provider for the six-year period referenced in (b) above, and the location
at which those records will be maintained.

(h) Providers shall request all students who complete the continuing education

courses they provide to submit evaluations of the course(s) attended by the student and, for
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all courses except distance learning or correspondence courses that are not taught by an
instructor, of the instructor of the course. All students who supply such evalnations shall
remain anonymous. The evaluations shall provide for the students to indicate their
favorable, neutral or negative assessments of the performance factors referenced in (h)4
and §5 below.

1. Providers of non-distance learning courses may request that students
manually complete such evaluations during the concluding minutes of the course or
electronically subsequent to the completion of the course.

2. Providers of distance learning courses shall request that students
complete such evaluations electronically upon completing the course,

3. All evaluations shall specify the name and identification number of

the provider and the name and identification number of the instructor and course being

evaluated.
4. All evaluations of instructors shall include:
i A question on the quality of the instructor’s presentation of the
material;
ii. A question on the level of knowledge of the subject matter of

the course displayed by the instructor; and
iii. An opportunity for the licensee to comment upon the
instructor’s performance.
5. All evaluations of courses shall include:
i A question on the quality of the materials and the content of

the course:
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i, A question on the quality of the manner in which the
information in the course is organized and presented; and
ifi. An opportunity for the licensee to comment upon the course.
(i) Within 30 days after offering a course, providers shall report to the
Commission’s Education Bureau instances where more than 50 percent of the evaluations
received on a course or instructor indicate negative assessments on one or more of the
performance factors to be evaluated as referenced in (h)4 and 5 above for instructors and

courses, respectively.

11:5-12.9 Continuing education providers; advertising

(a) Any advertisement or promotional material used by a provider shall include
the provider’s official name or trade or alternate name on file with the Commission.

(b)  No advertisement shall contain false, misleading or deceptive claims or
misrepresentations. In all advertisements which make express or implied claims that are
likely to be rﬁisleading in the absence of certain qualifying information, such qualifying

information shall be disclosed in the advertisement in a clear and conspicuous manner.

11:5-12.10  Continuing education instructors; standards and application process

(a) An applicant seeking approval from the Commission to become an approved
continuing education instructor shall submit a completed application on forms provided by
the Commission with the required fee, An application for approval as a continuing
education instructor shall include:

1. A non-refundable application fee of $150.00;
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2 An indication of the core and/or elective topics the applicant considers
him or herself qualified to teach;

3. A resume and other material evidencing the applicant’s qualifications
for approval as an instructor in accordance with one or more of the criteria set forth in (d)
below; and

4, Such additional information as the applicant may wish to provide in
support of their application, for example, letters of professional reference,

(b) Real estate instructors licensed pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:15-10.5 and N.J.A.C.
11:5-2.2 shall, upon the assignment to them of a continuing education instructor
identification number, be deemed approved as continuing education instructors in core
topics as defined in this subchapter.

(c) ARELLO-approved instructors of ARELLO-approved courses in elective
topics shall, upon the assignment to them of a continuing education instructor
identification number, be deemed approved as continuing education instructors in such
courses.

(d) An individual applying to become an approved continuing education
instructor shall meet at least one of the following criteria:

| A college or university professor in real estate, finance, business,
economics or a related field;
2. A specialist with a college degree or experience teaching one or more

subjects in the topic(s) noted in their application for approval as an instructor;
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3 Possess at least three years of experience in a profession, trade or
technical occupation in the real estate field related to the subject matter of proposed
instruction:

4. A real estate instructor licensed or otherwise authorized by the agency
with regulatory authority over real estate licensees in another jurisdiction who can show
subject matter expertise;

5. A member in good standing of the State Bar of New Jersey who is
engaged in the field of real estate related law; or

0. Persons who otherwise evidence their teaching qualifications by
education or experience or a combination of the two,

(e) If an applicant is disapproved, the reasons for disapproval shall be set forth
in a written notice provided to the applicant by the Commission as set forth in N.J.A.C.
11:5-12.15.

(f) An approved instructor shall promptly notify the Commission in the event of
a material change in his or her qualifications for continuing in the statns of ag approved
instructor (for example, disbarment as an attorney).

(g) All approvals of instructors conferred by the Commission prior to June 30,
2016 shall remain in effect until that date. Instructors whose approval is expiring may seek
re-approval by complying with all of the requirements set forth in N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.10,
including payment of the non-refundable application fee. Applications for re-approval
may be submitted commencing on January 1 of the year in which approval is scheduled to
expire. Subsequent to June 30, 2016, approvals shall expire on June 30, 2020 and at four-

year intervals thereafter,



37

11:5-12.11  Continuing education courses; application process
(a) Except as set forth in (b) below, all continuing education courses shall

require approval by the Commission. An applicant seeking approval of a course by the
Commission shall submit a complete application on a form provided by the Commission
with the required fee. An application for approval of a continuing education course shall
include;

1. A non-refundable application fee of $200.00;

2. The name, address and telephone number of the applicant;

3. The title of the course to be offered;

4. The number of hours required to complete the course, which shall be

expressed in increments of entire hours;

5. A detailed outline of the subject matter of the course;

6. A description of the materials to be distributed to the participants;
and

7. With respect to distance learning courses, such other information as is

referenced in N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.14,

(b)y Al distance learning courses certified by the ARELLO that provide
instruction on one of the elective topic areas listed in N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.13 shall, upen
request, be assigned a course identification number and be deemed approved by the

Commission without review by the Voluntary Advisory Committee.
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(c) If an application for course approval is denied, written notice of such a
denial shall be provided to the applicant, which notice shall include a statement of reasons
for the denial in accordance with N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.15.

(d)  All approvals of continuing education courses shail expire on December 31 of
the fifth year following the‘ year in which the course was approved by the Commission.
Applications for re-approval of a course shall comply with all requirements set forth in (a)

above,

11:5-12.12  Continuing education courses; standards and requirements
(a) All courses shall be instructional and contribute to the professional
competence of individuals engaged in the practice of real estate brokerage.
(b) In order to qualify for approval, courses may but are not required to compel
a licensee to pass a comprehensive examination testing the licensee’s knowledge of the
entire course content as a condition of the receipt of credit for the completion of the
continuing education course,
(c) Approved continuing education courses may be offered in a traditional
classroom setting or as distance learning courses.
(d) The following shall not qualify for approval as a cdntinuing education
course;
1. Real estate salesperson prelicensure courses offered pursuant to
N.J.S.A. 45:15-10.1 and N.J.A.C. 11:5-2.1;
2. General education or review courses offered to prepare a student to

take a real estate broker’s or salesperson’s examination:
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3. Sales meetings;
4. Motivational classes or seminars; and
5. Offerings in mechanical office and business skills, such as typing,

computer training, instructional navigation of the world wide web and internet,
instructional use of generic computer software, speed reading, memory improvement,
report writing, salesmanship and sales psychology.

(e) To qualify for approval, a continuing education course shall have a duration
of at least one hour and be designed to confer credits in whole credit increments. All
courses shall consist of no less than 50 minutes of actual instruction for each hour of the
course’s duration, with no more than 10 minutes of each hour utilized for attendance, the
completion of or an explanation of the anonymous evaluations required pursuant to
N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.8¢h) and (i), and other administrative work.

M Material revisions in course content cannot be made without prior approval
by the Commission, except that changes in course content made solely for the purpose of
updating a course to réﬂect recent developments such as the enactment of new or amended
laws or rules do not require prior approval. Any such non-approved changes shall be
disclosed in any application for re-approval of the course submitted immediately

subsequent to the making of such changes,

11:5-12.13  Continuing education courses; elective courses
(a) The following are approved topic areas for elective continuing education
courses:

1. Commercial real estate;
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2, Property management;
3. Seasonal rentals;
4. Requirements of and transactions subject to the Real Estate Sales Full

Disclosure Act and the New Jersey Real Estate Timeshare Act;
5. Financing;

6. Land ase;

7. Real estate valuation;
8. Foreclosures and short-sale transactions; and
9. Specific aspects of residential real estate transactions.

(b) Continuing education courses offered in the elective topics set forth in (a)
above shall be deemed approved by the Commission upon application if they are:
1. Offered and/or approved by the Association of Real Estate License
Law Officials (ARELLO) or by a public adult education program or an accredited college
or university that has obtained from the Commission a New Jersey real estate continuing
education provider identification number;
2 Courses that are offered by providers who have obtained a New
Jersey real estate continuing education provider identification number and that are
approved as pre-licensure or continuing education courses in this State in professions
related to real estate brokerage, for example, courses approved for prelicensure or
continuing education under the New Jersey Residential Mortgage Lending Act, N.J.S.A.
17:11C-51 et seq. or the Real Estate Appraisers Act, N.J.S.A. 45:14F-1 et seq.; or
3. Courses for which continuing education credit is conferred for their

completion upon real estate licensees by another state, provided that:
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i The course is approved as a continuing education course by the
agency exercising regulatory authority over the real estate licensees of the other state;

it. The course is instructional and contributes to the enhancement
of the integrity and/or professional competence of the attending real estate licensees; and

iii. The course provider obtains a New Jersey course provider
identification number and provides the Commission or its designee with satisfactory
evidence of a licensee’s participation in and completion of such course in accordance with
N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.8.

(c) The Commission shall confer credit for the satisfactory completion of a
continuing education course offered by an approved provider on a topic deemed of a timely
nature which has not previously been approved by the Commission provided that:

1. The course is submitted for approval no later than March 1 of the
second year in a biennial license term for real estate licensees and the course is
subsequently approved prior to April 30 of that year;

2. The course provider delivers a written statement to licensees prior to
their attendance at the course notifying them that the course is pending approval by the
Real Estate Commission and, if the course is advertised prior to the time of offering, all
advertisements state in a prominent manner that the course is pending approval by the
Real Estate Commission; and

3. The course provider provides the Commission or its designee with
satisfactory evidence of a licensee’s attendance at and completion of such course in
accordance with N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.8 and complies with all other requirements applicable to

the providers of continuing education courses as set forth in this subchapter.
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11:5-12.14  Distance learning continuing education courses; additional requirements

(a) The Commission may approve distance learning continuing education
courses that include periodic progress assessments and the achievement of a satisfactory
level of performance by the licensee on such progress assessments as a condition to
continuing to a succeeding segment of the course.

(b) Except as limited in (b)1 below, distance learning courses shall meet the
following criteria:

L The course is designed to promote students’ active participation in the
instructional process by utilizing techniques that provide for substantial student
interaction with the instructor, other students or a computer program. However, upon the
recommendation of the Voluntary Advisory Committee, the Commission may approve a
correspondence course or a course offered through a video modality that does not provide
for such substantial interaction but fulfills all other requirements for course approval as set
forth in this section and in N.J.A.C, 11:5-12.12 and‘12.13;

2. The course, when taken without interruption, consists of no less than
one hour of distance learning education, in accordance with N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.12(e);

3 The time required for a student of average ability to complete the
course shall be at least equal to the number of course credit hours to be assigned in
accordance with N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.12(e), as verified by the results of studies or field tests or
other means;

4, Providers of distance learning courses shall, in addition to providing

to students the notice containing all of the information referenced in N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.7(e),
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include in that notice information on how interaction is accomplished in the course and on
any special requirements related to computer hardware, software or any other equipment
needed to complete the distance learning course;

5. Providers of distance learning courses shall make provisions for
handling equipment failures, including hardware or software failures or transmission
interruptions, and provide appropriate instructor and/or technical support, as necessary,
to enable students to satisfactorily complete the course in the event of such a failure or
interruption;

6. Providers of distance learning courses shall use procedures that
provide reasonable assurance of student identity and verification that the student receiving
the continuing education credit for completing the course is actually the individual who
p;arformed all of the work required to complete the course;

7. Distance learning courses shall be equipped with a time-default
mechanism for inactivity so that a student is not credited when not actively participating in
the program; and

8. The provider of a distance learning course shall obtain, electronically
or through other meaans, a signed and dated statement from each student certifying that he

or she personally completed the course.

11:5-12.15  Denials, suspension or revocation of approvals
{(a) The Commission may conduct investigations as may be necessary to enforce
the provisions of N.JLS.A. 45:15-16.2a et seq. and this subchapter and may deny an

application for approval and issue a reprimand to or suspend or revoke the approval of a
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real estate continuing education provider, instructor or course, as applicable, if it is
determined that:

1. An applicant, an instructor or a provider, individually or through any
of the provider’s employees, has failed to comply with applicable law or this subchapter;

2. A course submitted for approval or previously approved does not
adequately reflect and present current and accurate information;

3. The provider or instructor or applicant for approval has engaged in
misrepresentation in advertising or otherwise;

4, The provider or instructor has failed to timely and accurately
download data on course completion;

5. The provider or instructqr or applicant for approval has included
false information in an application or reported false data to the Commission or its
designee;

6. The provider or instructor is affiliated with a real estate broker or
broker-salesperson licensee that has used or threatened to use a penalty or other form of
coercion to compel a licensee to take a continuing education course from the affiliated
provider or instructor; .

7. A payment to the Commission was dishonored or, if made by credit
card, reversed;

8. The provider or instructor has been disciplined by the Commission or
any other occupational licensing agency in New Jersey or another jurisdiction;

9. The provider has collected money from licensees for a continuing

education course, but refused or failed to provide the promised instruction; or
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10.  The provider or instructor has provided to a licensee any false or
misleading information related to real estate licensing or education matters or to the
licensee’s education needs or license status,

(b)  In the event that a provider or instructor who s also a New Jersey real estate
licensee is found to have engaged in any of the conduct set forth in (a) above, the provider
or instructor shall also be subject to discipline pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:15-17 or 45:15-
10.11, as applicable,

(c) H an application for approval is denied or disciplinary action is initiated,
written notice of the grounds for denial, suspension or revocation of approval shall be
issued by the Commission to the affected party. The applicant or respondent shall
thereafter have the opportunity to be heard by the Commission in accordance with the

provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-1 et seq.

11:5-12.16  Appeals of initial denials of applications for continuing education course,
instruétor and provider approval and of applications for a waiver of the continning
education requirement

(a) Complete applications for contineing education course, instructor and
provider approval shall be reviewed by the Voluntary Advisory Committee. Should the
Voluntary Advisory Committee recommend denial of the application, the Executive
Director of the Commission shall so notify the applicant in writing, which notification shall
include the specific grounds on the basis of which the Voluntary Advisory Committee

determined to recommend the denial of the application. Such a notification shall constitute
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an initial denial of the application and shall advise the applicant of their opportunity to
appeal the initial denial to the Real Estate Commission as set forth in this section.

(b)  Applications for a waiver of the continuing education requirement shall be
initially reviewed by the Commission staff. Should it be determined that an applicant does
not qualify for such a waiver, the Executive Director of the Commission shall issue an
initial denial in writing so notifying the applicant. The initial denial shall include the
specific grounds on the basis of which it was determined that the applicant did not qualify
for a waiver and shall advise the applicant of their opportunity to appeal the initial denial
to the Real Estate Commission as set forth in this section.

(<) An applicant may appeal an initial denial as referenced in (a) or (b) above to
the Commission by submitting an original and two copies of a written submission
requesting such an appeal.

1. All appeal submissions shall incllude a copy of the initial denial of the
Executive Director denying the application.

2. Appeal submissions may include any other relevant written material
tending to support the appeal,

3. Appeals shall be filed within 30 days of the date of the initial denial
issued by the Executive Director. A failure by the applicant to timely appeal an initial
denial of an application shall result in the application being deemed withdrawn.

(d) Unless the Commission determines that there is a genuine issue of material
fact in dispute, the Commission shall consider all appeals referenced in this section on the
papers. Should the Commission determine that a genuine issue of material fact does exist,

the applicant shall be notified of the date and place at which an evidentiary hearing, which
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shall include live testi'mony and which shall be conducted in accordance with N.J.A.C. 1:1-
14, will be held.

(e) Upon the conclusion of a hearing on the papers or with live testimony on an
appeal as referenced in this section, the Commission shall issue a written order, which may
be in the form of a letter, either affirming the initial denial of the application or granting

the application.

11:5-12.17  Fees
(a) The fees for applications related to the requirements imposed by this

subchapter are as follows:

1. - Application for approval as a continuing education provider -
$300.00.

2, Application for approval as a continuing education instructor -
$150.00.

3. Application for approval of a continuing education course - $200.00.

4, Fee to process completion of continuing education requirement

subsequent to May 1 in the second year of a biennial license term - $200.00.

(b) All fees referenced in (a) above shall be payable in the form of a certified or
bank check or money order or business account check until such time as an on-line or
otherwise automated pPayment system is established. Upon the implementation of such a
system, payment shall be made via credit or debit card or otherwise in accordance with the
instructions for the use of such a system posted on the website of the Commission.

Personal checks shail not be accepted.
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11:5-12.18  Voluntary Advisory Committee

(a) The Voluntary Advisory Committee created pursuaant to N.J.S.A. 45:15-
16.2a.b(1)(b) shall elect a chairperson and a vice-chairperson from among its members.
Any member of the Committee shall be eligible for election to either position,

{b) The Voluntary Advisory Committee shall form committees and
subcommittees to review complete applications for the approval of courses in the various
core and elective topics set forth in N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.4 and 12.13 and complete applications
for approvai as a continuing education instructor or provider.

(c) The Voluntary Advisory Committee shall promptly report to the
Commission’s Executive Director its recommendations to approve or disapprove all of the
complete applications it reviews. Each subcommittee of the Voluntary Advisory
Committee shall report the results of its reviews of applications to the Voluntary Advisory
Committee promptly upon completing such reviews and shajl provﬁde to the Executive
Director copies of all recommendations for approval or disapproval contained in such
reports. In the event that the Voluntary Advisory Committee fails to recommend approval
or disapproval of a continuing education course, instructor or provider within 30 days of
the completion of a subcommittee’s review of such a complete application, the Commission
may take action based upon the recommendation of the subcommittee,

(d) A majority of the appointed members of the Committee shall constitute a
quorum and a majority vote by the members taken when a quorum is present shall

constitute an action taken by the Committee.
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1. The Voluntary Advisory Committee may meet in person or via
teleconference, video conference or through the use of similar technologies.

(e) Members of the Voluntary Advisory Committee shall recuse themselves from

the consideration of any application for approval to be considered by the Committee where

grounds for recusal as set forth in the New Jersey Uniform Code of Ethics are present.



