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INTERESTED PERSONS 

Interested persons may submit comments, information or arguments concerning any of the rule proposals in this issue until the date indicated in the 
proposal. Submissions and any inquiries about submissions should be addressed to the agency officer specified for a particular proposal. 

The required minimum period for comment concerning a proposal is 30 days. A proposing agency may extend the 30-day comment period to 
accommodate public hearings or to elicit greater public response to a proposed new rule or amendment. Most notices of proposal include a 60-day 
comment period, in order to qualify the notice for an exception to the rulemaking calendar requirements of N.J.S.A. 52:14B-3. An extended comment 
deadline will be noted in the heading of a proposal or appear in subsequent notice in the Register. 

At the close of the period for comments, the proposing agency may thereafter adopt a proposal, without change, or with changes not in violation of 
the rulemaking procedures at N.J.A.C. 1:30-6.3. The adoption becomes effective upon publication in the Register of a notice of adoption, unless otherwise 
indicated in the adoption notice. Promulgation in the New Jersey Register establishes a new or amended rule as an official part of the New Jersey 
Administrative Code. 

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

BANKING 

(a) 

DEPARTMENT OF BANKING AND INSURANCE 

DIVISION OF BANKING 

Dedicated Funding Assessment 

Proposed Readoption with Amendments: N.J.A.C. 
3:5 

Authority: N.J.S.A. 17:1-8, 17:1-8.1, 17:1-15.e, and 17:1C-33 
through 48. 

Authorized By: Justin Zimmerman, Acting Commissioner, 
Department of Banking and Insurance. 

Calendar Reference: See Summary below for explanation of 
exception to calendar requirement. 

Proposal Number: PRN 2018-124. 

Submit comments by February 15, 2019, to: 

Denise Illes, Chief 
Office of Regulatory Affairs 
New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance 
20 West State Street 
PO Box 325 
Trenton, NJ 08625-0325 
Fax: (609) 292-0896 
E-mail: legsregs@dobi.nj.gov 

The agency proposal follows: 

Summary 

The Department of Banking and Insurance (Department) is proposing 
to readopt with amendments the rules at N.J.A.C. 3:5. The rules at 
N.J.A.C. 3:5 were scheduled to expire on November 15, 2018. In 
accordance with N.J.S.A. 52:14B-5.1.c(2), the filing of this notice of 
proposal with the Office of Administrative Law extended the expiration 
date by 180 days to May 14, 2019. The rules in this chapter were 
promulgated to implement N.J.S.A. 17:1C-33 through 48. The 
Department has reviewed the rules and has determined that they continue 
to be necessary, reasonable, and proper for the purpose for which they 
were originally promulgated. The purpose of this chapter is to set forth the 
funding mechanism for the support of the Division of Banking in the 
Department of Banking and Insurance (Division) as required by N.J.S.A. 
17:1C-33 through 48 and to distribute the financial burden proportionately 
among depository institutions and other financial entities. The rules in this 
chapter set forth the following: 

N.J.A.C. 3:5-1 sets forth the purpose and scope of the chapter. 
N.J.A.C. 3:5-2 sets forth the definitions of terms used throughout the 

chapter. In N.J.A.C. 3:5-2.1, the Department proposes to amend the 

definition of “call report” to delete reference to the Office of Thrift 
Supervision because the Office of Thrift Supervision no longer exists. 

N.J.A.C. 3:5-3 sets forth the procedure and time frames for the 
Department of the Treasury to certify, to the Commissioner, the total 
amount of expenses incurred in connection with the administration of 
special functions of the Division of Banking in the Department of Banking 
and Insurance. It also sets forth the time frame for the Commissioner to 
issue an assessment to a regulated entity. 

N.J.A.C. 3:5-4 sets forth the assessment computation formula. 
N.J.A.C. 3:5-4.1 sets forth the rule for the allocation of expenses for the 
Offices of Depositories and Consumer Finance. N.J.A.C. 3:5-4.2 sets forth 
the components of the total assessment for the regulated entities. N.J.A.C. 
3:5-4.2(a) states that all regulated entities shall be assessed a total 
assessment and the total assessment shall consist of the total of a base 
assessment and a volume assessment, if applicable. 

The Department proposes to delete N.J.A.C. 3:5-4.2(b). This 
subsection was designed to provide for assessments against multiple 
“authorities” held by one licensee. Legislative amendments since the 
November 15, 2011 effective date of the last readoption of the rules, have 
eliminated the use of the “authorities” upon which this provision is 
predicated. All authorization to conduct regulated business is now subject 
directly to a license, and authorities are no longer issued. Further, no 
authorities exist from prior practice. 

N.J.A.C. 3:5-4.3 sets forth the regulations for determining base 
assessments for all regulated entities. N.J.A.C. 3:5-4.4 sets forth the rules 
for the calculation of volume assessments. 

N.J.A.C. 3:5-5.1 sets forth the rules for determining the maximum 
assessments. 

N.J.A.C. 3:5-6.1 sets forth the rules for timely submission of objections 
and decisions regarding assessments. 

N.J.A.C. 3:5-7 contains rules regarding collection of unpaid 
assessments and issuance of notices of delinquency. N.J.A.C. 3:5-7.1 sets 
forth the procedures to be followed in the event of a non-payment of an 
assessment. N.J.A.C. 3:5-7.2 sets forth the procedures for the collection 
of unpaid assessments, with legal interest, by the State Treasurer, by 
seizure and sale of any goods or chattels. N.J.A.C. 3:5-7.3 sets forth an 
additional remedy the State Treasurer may take, which is to docket a 
certificate of indebtedness as a judgment with the Clerk of the Superior 
Court. 

N.J.A.C. 3:5-8 sets forth the general rule that regulated entities paying 
assessments are exempt from other fees or charges imposed by the 
Division of Banking, with some delineated exceptions. 

N.J.A.C. 3:5-9 sets forth the penalties, including the imposition of an 
administrative penalty up to $10,000 for each erroneous submission, and 
initiation of an action to revoke, suspend, or refuse to renew a license, if 
a regulated entity submits figures used to compute an assessment that are 
substantially or materially in error. 

As the Department has provided a 60-day comment period on this 
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notice of proposal, this notice is excepted from the rulemaking calendar 
requirement pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-3.3(a)5. 

Social Impact 

As discussed in the Summary above, the proposed amendments delete 
outdated provisions to conform with existing statutory provisions. This 
should eliminate any confusion regarding the application of the rules, 
which should have a positive social impact. 

The readoption of dedicated funding of the Division of Banking will 
continue to have a positive effect on the Division of Banking, the 
industries and individuals that the Division regulates, and the general 
public. The use of dedicated funding ensures that the Division has 
adequate funding to effectively protect and educate consumers and to 
regulate the industries in an efficient and timely manner. 

Economic Impact 

The Department does not expect that the rules proposed for readoption 
with amendments will have a significant economic impact on most 
regulated entities. The Department believes that its assessments and 
assessment system are reasonable. Entities that generally transact a larger 
volume of business and require the expenditure of a larger percentage of 
the Division’s resources to effectively regulate and service their 
operations are subject to higher assessments, but only commensurate to 
the regulatory burden they place upon the Department. Ultimately, 
regardless of an entity’s size or business volume, regulatory fees are a 
necessary cost of transacting business in New Jersey. 

Regulated entities will continue to be required to compile the necessary 
information for the assessment funding system and forward it to the 
Department in their annual reports. 

Regulated entities may employ outside professional assistance from 
accountants and attorneys for compliance, but such assistance should not 
be necessary. The costs of this will vary depending on the professional 
utilized and the services requested. No new costs will be imposed. 

The rules proposed for readoption with amendments will economically 
affect all the industries and individuals who are regulated by the Division 
of Banking. The rules proposed for readoption with amendments allow for 
the fair and equitable allocation of the cost of regulation among those who 
are regulated by the Division. The rules proposed for readoption with 
amendments seek to assure that all the regulated entities, regardless of 
size, pay the costs associated with the basic services provided by the 
Department that those entities that generate more work and expense for 
the Division, due to its greater regulatory responsibilities with respect to 
such industries, bear the cost of their regulation in a manner which takes 
that greater burden into account. 

Because the proposed amendments delete outdated provisions, they 
should impose no adverse economic impact. No new costs will be 
imposed. 

Federal Standards Statement 

The proposed readoption with amendments do not contain any 
standards or requirements that exceed standards or requirements imposed 
by Federal law. 

Jobs Impact 

The Department does not anticipate that any jobs will be generated or 
lost as a result of the rules proposed for readoption with amendments, 
which delete outdated provisions. 

The Department invites commenters to submit any data or studies 
concerning the jobs impact of the rules proposed for readoption with 
amendments together with written comments on other aspects of this 
proposal. 

Agriculture Industry Impact 

The rules proposed for readoption with amendments will have no 
impact on the agriculture industry in New Jersey. 

Regulatory Flexibility Analysis 

The Regulatory Flexibility Act, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-16 et seq., defines a 
“small business” as any business resident in this State that employs fewer 
than 100 employees full-time, is independently owned and operated, and 
is not dominant in its field. Many of the licensees affected by the rules 
proposed for readoption with amendments are small businesses. 

The rules proposed for readoption with amendments will impose no 

new recordkeeping, reporting, or other compliance requirements on these 
entities, as discussed in the Summary above. As stated in the Economic 
Impact above, no new costs will be generated by the amendments. The 
costs of compliance with the rules proposed for readoption are set forth in 
the Economic Impact above. Further, as set forth above, the proposed 
amendments eliminate provisions to conform to existing law and impose 
no new reporting, recordkeeping or compliance requirements on small 
business. Licensees who chose to use the services of outside professionals, 
such as accountants or attorneys, for assistance with compliance may 
continue to do so. The costs for this will continue to vary based on the 
professional chosen and the amount of work requested and will not be 
affected by these amendments. Accordingly, no differentiation based on 
business size is needed or provided. 

Housing Affordability Impact Analysis 

The rules proposed for readoption with amendments will not have an 
impact on the affordability of housing in this State and are unlikely to 
evoke a change in the average costs associated with housing in that the 
rules proposed for readoption with amendments relate to the funding of 
licensed entities by the Division of Banking. 

Smart Growth Development Impact Analysis 

The rules proposed for readoption with amendments will not have an 
impact on smart growth in this State, and there is an extreme unlikelihood 
that the rules proposed for readoption with amendments would evoke a 
change in housing production in Planning Areas 1 or 2, or within 
designated centers, under the State Development and Redevelopment Plan 
in New Jersey, in that the rules proposed for readoption with amendments 
relate to the funding of licensed entities by the Division of Banking. 

Racial and Ethnic Community Criminal Justice and Public Safety 

Impact 

The Department has evaluated this rulemaking and determined that it 
will not have an impact on pretrial detention, sentencing, probation, or 
parole policies concerning adults and juveniles in the State. Accordingly, 
no further analysis is required. 

Full text of the rules proposed for readoption may be found in the New 
Jersey Administrative code at N.J.A.C. 3:5. 

Full text of the proposed amendments follows (additions indicated in 
boldface thus; deletions indicated in brackets [thus]): 

SUBCHAPTER 2. DEFINITIONS 

3:5-2.1 Definitions 
The following words and terms, as used in this chapter, shall have the 

following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. 
. . . 

“Call report” means the report of general financial condition submitted 
by all insured depository institutions to the Federal Deposit Insurance 
Corporation[, the Office of Thrift Supervision,] or the National Credit 
Union Administration, as the case may be, on a quarterly basis and shall 
include reports filed with the Department by limited purpose companies 
on a semiannual basis pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:9A-256. 
. . . 

SUBCHAPTER 4. ASSESSMENT COMPUTATION FORMULA 

3:5-4.2 Total assessments 
[(a)] All regulated entities shall be assessed a total assessment. The 

total assessment shall consist of the total of a base assessment and a 
volume assessment, if applicable. 

[(b) For the purposes of determining the total assessment for licensees 
under the Licensed Lenders Act, N.J.S.A. 17:11C-1 et seq., the New 
Jersey Residential Mortgage Lending Act, N.J.S.A. 17:11C-51 et seq. or 
the New Jersey Consumer Finance Licensing Act, N.J.S.A. 17:11C-1 to 
43, licensees with more than one authority shall pay an aggregate base 
assessment consisting of a separate base assessment for each separate 
authority, which shall be added to a single volume assessment, if any, 
based on the aggregate dollars loaned or the equivalent for all their 
authorities.] 

__________ 


