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RULE PROPOSALS 
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

INTERESTED PERSONS 

Interested persons may submit comments, information or arguments concerning any of the rule proposals in this issue until the date indicated in the 
proposal. Submissions and any inquiries about submissions should be addressed to the agency officer specified for a particular proposal. 

The required minimum period for comment concerning a proposal is 30 days. A proposing agency may extend the 30-day comment period to 
accommodate public hearings or to elicit greater public response to a proposed new rule or amendment. Most notices of proposal include a 60-day 
comment period, in order to qualify the notice for an exception to the rulemaking calendar requirements of N.J.S.A. 52:14B-3. An extended comment 
deadline will be noted in the heading of a proposal or appear in subsequent notice in the Register. 

At the close of the period for comments, the proposing agency may thereafter adopt a proposal, without change, or with changes not in violation of 
the rulemaking procedures at N.J.A.C. 1:30-6.3. The adoption becomes effective upon publication in the Register of a notice of adoption, unless otherwise 
indicated in the adoption notice. Promulgation in the New Jersey Register establishes a new or amended rule as an official part of the New Jersey 
Administrative Code. 

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

INSURANCE 

(a) 

DEPARTMENT OF BANKING AND INSURANCE 

DIVISION OF INSURANCE 

Producer Licensing 

Proposed Amendment: N.J.A.C. 11:17-3.6 

Authorized By: Marlene Caride, Commissioner, Department of 
Banking and Insurance. 

Authority: N.J.S.A. 17:1-8.1 and 15.e; and 17:22A-26 et seq. 

Calendar Reference: See Summary below for explanation of 
exception to calendar requirement. 

Proposal Number: PRN 2022-105. 

Submit comments by October 14, 2022, to: 

Denise Illes, Chief 
Office of Regulatory Affairs 
New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance 
20 West State Street 
PO Box 325 
Trenton, NJ 08625-0325 
Fax: (609) 292-0896 
Email: legsregs@dobi.nj.gov 

The agency proposal follows: 

Summary 

The Department of Banking and Insurance (Department) is proposing 
to amend N.J.A.C. 11:17-3.6, which sets forth the continuing education 
requirements for resident individual insurance producers licensed with 
life, accident, and health or sickness; property; casualty; surplus lines; 
title; variable life and variable annuity, or personal lines authority 
(collectively, resident insurance producers), pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-
48, which provides that the Commissioner of Banking and Insurance 
(Commissioner) may promulgate rules and regulations that are necessary 
to effectuate the purposes of N.J.S.A. 17:22A-26 et seq. (Producer Act). 

The Department is proposing these amendments to provide flexibility 
for resident insurance producers in completing the continuing education 
requirements necessary for license renewal. The proposed amendments 
include amending the requirement for the number of credit hours 
dedicated to professional ethics; allowing the carry-over of up to 12 
continuing education credits to the next licensing term; and granting 
resident insurance producers twice the approved credit hours for each 
continuing education course taught. 

The Department is proposing amendments at N.J.A.C. 11:17-3.6(a), 
which requires resident insurance producers to complete 24 credit hours 
of approved continuing education instruction, per licensing term. The 
Department is proposing amendments at subsection (a) to require that 

three of the 24 required credit hours be related to professional ethics and 
permits a one credit-hour substitution of a course related to insurance 
fraud for one hour of a course related to professional ethics. 

The Department further proposes new N.J.A.C. 11:17-3.6(a)4 to permit 
a resident insurance producer who has completed the 24 required credit 
hours of continuing education, during a licensing term, to carry over credit 
hours in excess of 24, up to 12, to the next renewal term. 

The Department further proposes amendments at N.J.A.C. 11:17-
3.6(g) to permit a resident insurance producer teaching a continuing 
education course to receive twice the approved credit hours for that 
course. 

A 60-day comment period is provided on this notice of proposal, and 
therefore, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-3.3(a)5, the notice is excepted from 
the provisions at N.J.A.C. 1:30-3.1 and 3.2, governing rulemaking 
calendars. 

Social Impact 

As set forth in the Summary above, the proposed amendments relate to 
the continuing education requirements for resident insurance producers in 
this State. 

By permitting resident insurance producers who earn credit hours in 
excess of 24, in one licensing term, to carry over up to 12 credit hours 
earned to the next term, the Department is providing resident insurance 
producers with flexibility in completing their continuing education 
requirements. 

Allowing a resident insurance producer who teaches a course to receive 
twice the approved credit hours for that course will have a positive social 
impact by incentivizing resident insurance producers to teach courses. 

The proposed amendments make one additional change to the 
education requirements for resident insurance producers—specifically, by 
requiring resident insurance producers to complete three credit hours in 
professional ethics, while permitting resident insurance producers to 
substitute one professional ethics credit hour with a credit hour in 
insurance fraud, the Department is placing greater emphasis on the 
importance of professional ethics by providing a minimum requisite 
number of hours dedicated to the topic, while also permitting resident 
insurance producers flexibility in completing their continuing education 
requirement. 

For these reasons, the proposed amendments will have a positive social 
impact. 

Economic Impact 

As noted above, the proposed amendments make changes to existing 
continuing education requirements for resident insurance producers. The 
Department does not expect that the proposed amendments will have any 
significant economic impact as there are no additional fees incurred or 
professional services required to comply with the proposed amendments. 

Under the existing rules, resident insurance producers are required to 
complete 24 total continuing education credits, three of which must be 
related to insurance fraud, professional ethics, or any other subject matter 
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required by the Commissioner, whereas, the proposed amendment would 
require a resident insurance producer to earn three credit hours in 
professional ethics, while offering the option to elect to substitute one 
professional ethics credit hour with one credit hour related to insurance 
fraud. The proposed amendment does not alter the total number of credit 
hours required. Thus, the Department believes that any additional costs 
incurred should be minimal. In addition, this proposed amendment does 
not require instructors or schools to offer new courses, as insurance fraud 
and professional ethics are already contemplated by the original rule. 

The incentives created by permitting resident insurance producers to 
receive twice the approved credit hours for courses taught and the 
flexibility provided by allowing resident insurance producers to carry over 
up to 12 credit hours, per term, should not impose any additional 
economic costs. 

Accordingly, the benefits to be achieved far outweigh any minimal 
costs that may be imposed. 

Federal Standards Statement 

A Federal standards analysis is not required because the proposed 
amendments are not subject to any Federal requirements or standards. 

Jobs Impact 

The Department does not anticipate that any jobs will be generated, or 
lost, as a result of the proposed amendments. The Department invites 
commenters to submit any data or studies on the potential jobs impact of 
the proposed amendments, together with their comments on other aspects 
of the rulemaking. 

Agricultural Industry Impact 

The proposed amendments will not have any impact on the agriculture 
industry of New Jersey. 

Regulatory Flexibility Analysis 

To the extent the proposed amendments will apply to “small business,” 
they will apply to persons seeking renewal of their resident insurance 
producer license. The Regulatory Flexibility Act, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-16 et 
seq., defines a “small business” as any business resident in this State that 
employs fewer than 100 full-time employees, is independently owned and 
operated, and is not dominant in its field. The cost of compliance and 
professional services required to comply are addressed in the Economic 
Impact above. Costs associated with the proposed amendments are 
minimal, if any. 

The proposed amendments do not provide any differentiation in 
compliance requirements based on business size. As noted above, the 
proposed amendments relate to the continuing education requirements for 
resident insurance producers. The policies underlying the need for the 
Department’s adequate oversight of the industry for consistency and for 
sufficient protection of the interests of New Jersey consumers and do not 
vary with the size of the business. 

Housing Affordability Impact Analysis 

The proposed amendments will not have any impact on housing 
affordability in this State because they relate only to the continuing 
education requirements for resident insurance producers and are unlikely 
to evoke a change in the average costs associated with housing. 

Smart Growth Development Impact Analysis 

The proposed amendments will not have any impact on housing 
production in Planning Areas 1 or 2, or within designated centers, under 
the State Development and Redevelopment Plan in New Jersey because 
they relate only to the continuing education requirements applicable to 
resident insurance producers. 

Racial and Ethnic Community Criminal Justice and Public Safety 

Impact 

The Department has evaluated this rulemaking and determined that it 
will not have an impact on pretrial detention, sentencing, probation, or 
parole policies concerning adults and juveniles in the State. Accordingly, 
no further analysis is required. 

Full text of the proposal follows (additions indicated in boldface thus; 
deletions indicated in brackets [thus]): 

SUBCHAPTER 3. PROFESSIONAL QUALIFICATIONS 

11:17-3.6 Continuing education 
(a) No resident individual insurance producer licensed with life, 

accident, and health or sickness, property, casualty, surplus lines, title, 
variable life and variable annuity, or personal lines authority shall be 
renewed unless the renewal applicant demonstrates that he or she has 
completed 24 credit hours of approved continuing education courses 
during the previous licensing term, [three of which shall be in approved 
courses related to insurance fraud, professional ethics, or any other subject 
matter required by the Commissioner for the protection of consumers.] 
including three credit hours related to professional ethics per 
licensing term, one credit hour of which may be substituted with a 
credit hour related to insurance fraud. 

1.-3. (No change.) 
4. Resident individual insurance producers who complete in excess 

of 24 credit hours during one licensing term may carry over up to 12 
credits to the next renewal term. These credit hours may only be 
carried over once. Credit hours earned in ethics may not be carried 
over. 

(b)-(f) (No change.) 
(g) The insurance education director or authorized personnel for an 

approved insurance education provider shall report the names and 
producer or public adjuster license reference number, as applicable, of 
those persons completing each continuing education course within 15 
days of course completion or certification of continuing education credits, 
whichever is later, either in hard copy or through electronic submission. 
The instructor teaching the course [may be deemed to have completed it] 
will receive twice the credit hours as received by the persons 
completing the course for the purpose of securing continuing education 
credit. Instructors may only receive credit once for teaching any one 
approved course once during each license cycle. The report shall be made 
to the Department, or its designee, in a format prescribed by the 
Department, and shall include the following information: 

1.-3. (No change.) 
(h)-(l) (No change.) 

__________ 

INSURANCE 

LABOR AND WORKFORCE 
DEVELOPMENT 

(a) 

DIVISION OF WAGE AND HOUR COMPLIANCE 

Industrial Home Work Law 

Proposed Readoption with Amendments: N.J.A.C. 
12:59 

Proposed Repeal: N.J.A.C. 12:59-1.11 
Authorized By: Robert Asaro-Angelo Commissioner, Department of 

Labor and Workforce Development. 

Authority: N.J.S.A. 34:6-120 et seq., specifically, 34:6-137.17. 

Calendar Reference: See Summary below for explanation of 
exception to the calendar requirement. 

Proposal Number: PRN 2022-106. 

Submit written comments by October 14, 2022, to: 

David Fish, Executive Director 
Office of Legal and Regulatory Services 
NJ Department of Labor and Workforce Development 
PO Box 110-13th Floor 
Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0110 
email: david.fish@dol.nj.gov 

The agency proposal follows: 

Summary 

Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 52:14B-5.1.c, N.J.A.C. 12:59, rules pertaining to 
Industrial Home Work Law, were scheduled to expire on July 17, 2022. 
As the Department of Labor and Workforce Development (Department) 


