A RESOLUTION amending Resolution No. 2000-8 by modifying the membership of the Delaware River Basin Flood Advisory Committee.

WHEREAS, the Flood Advisory Committee ("Committee") was established by Resolution No. 2000-8 to develop recommendations for the improvement of flood warning and response within the Basin and to recommend additional strategies and programs to improve flood loss reduction throughout the Basin; and

WHEREAS, Resolution No. 2000-8 provided that the Committee's membership would consist of one representative from each of 19 enumerated agencies and categories; and

WHEREAS, in the wake of major floods within the Basin during 2004 and 2005, the Committee recognizes the value of including as members local emergency response representatives; and

WHEREAS, the Committee also recognizes that, contrary to the provisions of Resolution No. 2000-8, a "Media" representative has never been appointed to the Committee, because membership by a single such representative cannot ensure the broad coverage of flood-related news and information that the Commission and the Committee desire; and

WHEREAS, at its meeting on February 8, 2006, the Committee recommended that its membership be expanded to include one municipal or county emergency management representative from each of the four basin states, that the requirement for a "Media" representative be dropped, and that the Commission's Communications Manager serve as a media outreach liaison to the Committee; now therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the Delaware River Basin Commission that:

- 1. The Flood Advisory Committee membership is hereby modified to include one municipal or county-level emergency response representative from each of the four basin states and to no longer include one representative from "Media."
- 2. The Communications Manager of the DRBC will serve as a liaison to the Flood Advisory Committee to provide outreach to the media.
- 3. The Executive Director will solicit nominations to fill the four new openings on the Committee.
- 4. Based upon the nominations received and following consultation with the Commissioner from each state, the Executive Director will appoint the new local emergency response representative from that state.

5. All other aspects of the Committee's composition and charge shall remain as set forth in Resolution No. 2000-8.

This resolution shall take effect immediately.

/s/ Kevin C. Donnelly Kevin C. Donnelly, Chairman *pro tem* 

/s/ Pamela M. Bush Pamela M. Bush, Esquire, Commission Secretary

Adopted: March 1, 2006