
 

 

   

 
Date:  September 7, 2022 
 

To: Local Educational Agency Leads 
 

Route To: District Test Coordinators 
 

From: Jorden Schiff, Ed.D., Acting Assistant Commissioner 
Division of Teaching and Learning Services 

 

Deadline: October 1, 2022 

 
Parental Notification of Standardized Assessments 

 
This memo serves as a reminder to school districts, charter schools and renaissance school projects of statutory 

requirements (N.J.S.A. 18A: 7C-6.6) to annually notify parents or guardians by October 1 of any statewide student 

assessment or commercially developed standardized assessment that will be administered over the course of the 

school year. Districts are encouraged to schedule the administration of state and local assessments within the 

context of their local scope and sequence to maximize the amount of instructional time students have before 

participating in the assessments.  

 
If a school district, charter school or renaissance school project elects to administer an additional commercially 
developed standardized assessment after October 1, then the information shall be provided within 30 days of that 
determination. 
 
Districts are required to provide the following information to parents or guardians:  

• The subject area of the assessment. 

• The grade levels covered by the assessment. 

• The date or range of potential dates for the administration of the assessment. 

• The time allotted for the student to take and complete the assessment. 

• Any accommodations or accessibility options available to students. 

• Information on how and when the student and their parent or guardian can access both sample questions 

and answers from the assessment, as well as the student’s results. 

• Whether the assessment is required by the federal government, state government, or local district. 

The New Jersey Department of Education’s Office of Assessments NJSLA Resources webpage offers a sample 
template to support districts in implementing the provisions of this statute. It is not required that districts adopt 
the template, but it is required that the above-mentioned information is disseminated to parents/guardians by 
October 1 of each year or within 30 days of the decision to administer a standardized assessment after October 1. 
 
Additionally, details regarding the administration windows for the New Jersey statewide assessments are 
provided in the 2022-2023 statewide assessment schedule. This schedule provides for a listing of all 2022-2023 
statewide assessments. 
 
For additional information, contact the Office of Assessments at (609) 376-3960 or assessment@doe.nj.gov. 
 

 
c: Members, State Board of Education    Garden State Coalition of Schools 
 NJDOE Staff       NJLEE Group 
 Statewide Parent Advocacy Network 

https://www.nj.gov/education/assessment/resources/district/
https://www.nj.gov/education/assessment/resources/district/StatewideAssessmentsTestingSchedule20223.shtml
mailto:assessment@doe.nj.gov

